Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!

Tamara Meeks

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Tamara Meeks

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Golden House Rental Photos and Description

Duplex - 2 Bedrooms + 2 Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 6-7)

This beautiful home overlooks charming downtown Golden. Nestled at the base of the foothills west of Denver, Golden offers fine dining, shopping, and an endless number of outdoor activities. Golden is laced with walking and biking trails, allowing you to explore the foothills of Colorado or take a leisurely stroll along the beautiful Clear Creek River to watch the kayakers play in the tumbling waters.

Ready for refreshment? Grab a tube and float down the river to the Coors Brewery where an exciting tour and cold brew await. Golden boasts ten museums, numerous restaurants, and even an alpine slide and water park. If the snow is falling a short drive up the mountain will put you in the best ski country in the West. If you're feeling lucky, gambling in historic Central City is only minutes away.

Need a big city fix? Downtown Denver is fifteen minutes away, and offers everything you could ever need.

We have 2 additional vacation rentals in Golden as well so if this property is showing booked please send and email to enquire on our other properties.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Tamara Meeks (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2015

About Tamara Meeks

Casey & Tamara have owned the property since 2007 and have been managing the duplex style home ever since. The Charming Townhouse has been a vacation rental since the purchase of the property and in late 2009 they also turned the second unit (the Comfy Cottage)into a vacation rental as well. Casey and Tamara take great pride in their rentals and hope that our renters feel the passion that we have for the property.

Tamara Meeks purchased this house in 2006

Why Tamara Meeks chose Golden

We have always loved Golden and when we decided to purchase a rental property here location was very important to us. We wanted a house that was within walking distance to downtown Golden but located in a quiet family friendly neighborhood.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
average rating of 4.3157897 based on 19 reviews
Durango, Colorado1

Perfect fit for our use

  • 4 of 5

This is a no frills rental that can meet your needs perfectly! I traveled to golden for surgery and needed a place to recover before traveling home. It was great for that purpose, quiet and comfortable with lots of room and space for my family to move about. The only negative I can think of is the bed mattresses were worn out, in my opinion, it is time for,them to be replaced. They are saggy and very soft. I am not too picky, but if that is the only issue--- I say that is ok!

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Great for the weekend

  • 4 of 5


-5-10 min walk to downtown Golden. its all downhill on one road, so a very easy walk to town

-unit was clean, and everything was as listed.

-kitchen had everything we needed, including some random items we never anticipated needing. there's even a brita in the fridge.

-small private courtyard, great for sitting outside, has a grill, etc.

-street and private parking. street for convenience, driveway for loading/unloading.

-this is a 2-unit house, and this unit is the top one. the floors squeaked when we walked, so i'm glad we weren't on the bottom.

-no strange smells or other weirdness. if you rent enough on VRBO, this can be an issue. i was initially wary, because the entryway has the laundry machines which can have a specific odor, but the actual unit itself was aroma and funk free.

not-Cons: (none of these are really cons, just not Pros)

-remember that delightful 5-10 min downhill walk to downtown? well, what goes down must come up, and keep in mind the altitude. If you're young and active, its not going to be a problem, more of an obstacle to overcome after the bars close. If you're elderly or physically disabled, with very young kids and have strollers, or otherwise health-compromised, it may be a challenge to get up the hill.

-sort of tricky to find the unit the first time, even though it is right off the main road. hard to describe w/o giving away the actual unit location. but, after you find it, the private parking space is accessible by turning on the street before and following an uphill driveway till the end.

-entering unit from driveway was very easy and straightforward. entering from street was a little confusing and awkward, due to stairs, multiple fence-gates, a staircase that is blocked by a faux-gate that does not open, forcing one to either climb up the landscaping or walk all the way through to the driveway and walk in normally.

Bottom line: good property, great location, and the unit had everything that was listed.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Felt like home

  • 5 of 5

My husband, two year old daughter and myself stayed in this property for a week and loved it! We used to live in Golden, actually only a couple of blocks away, and found the location and feel of the place just perfect for us. There was plenty of room for us and our stuff. My daughter loved the bathtub with feet and the owner even supplied some toys for her. Parking was easy, the place was very clean and well-kept, and the view of the foothills was great. We had some confusion getting into the lockbox with the key in it upon our arrival date. We attempted to contact Tamara, but when we couldn't get ahold of her after a couple of hours we tried the emergency contact number she gave us, which was her husband, and he cleared things up for us right away. She later stopped by just to check and make sure we got in okay. They were both very pleasant, and we knew if we had any issues we would have been comfortable contacting them again. Otherwise they left us alone to our vacation, which made the place feel like our own apartment for a week. The only recommendations I would make to the owners would be to get a door for the shower. The curtain is small and doesn't extend all the way on both sides of the small shower, and I felt like I was getting water all over the floor outside the shower, which over time will damage the floor. Also we tried to grill out one night and the propane tank was stuck shut. There are not any tools in the house to try and pry it open, maybe leave a wrench and screw driver in the kitchen for future renters. We were also pleasantly surprised with all of the kitchen amenities. There was plenty to use to cook and eat with, also came with a full spice rack, sugar, and coffee. Our stay at this house was fantastic, and we highly recommend it to others, especially small families. We will most definitely be contacting these owners and renting this place again for future vacations.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I checked the grill and have fixed the propane issue. Thank you also for bringing it to my attention that there are no tools. I have replaced the missing tools and the shower curtain for future guests. I am so happy to hear that you and your family had a great trip.
Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

Great Location/Easy Management

  • 5 of 5

We arrived and found the house to be clean and well appointed. We were traveling to visit our daughter what attends college in Colorado. No itinerary, just some family time together. Enjoyed the large screen TV as the Winter Olympics were in full swing!! Usually don't watch much TV during holidays, but the Olympics are, well, the Olympics. Not the fanciest place we've stayed but for the price we were very comfortable. The unit is well off the street and very quite for sleeping. Suited our chilled out weekend needs very nicely. Just a quick jot up the street to downtown Golden. Definitely a walkable distance in warmer weather.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

We love Golden!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I traveled to golden to explore the area, were there several days and loved the house and Golden.

I found the unit to be quite clean. The sheets were a bit wrinkled, but for the price we weren’t looking to stay someplace with starched sheets! I particularly enjoyed soaking in the large claw foot bathtub, a feature you don’t find in many places anymore.

I found the kitchen to be stocked full of cooking gadgets. I had everything I needed to prepare our meals. There was even a blender for our cocktails!

We enjoyed our stay, and overall, found it to be a great little “mountain retreat”!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Very negative experience

  • 1 of 5

I had a very negative experience.

Owner issues:

1 - I am local & was interested in staying for a month, so requested to see it before renting. I was told I could see it on Mon., but then owner did not return my phone calls until Tues. I was out of town, so my boyfriend agreed to go look at it for me. She was an hour late & only showed after he called. She said she had forgotten.

2 -A week into my stay, the owner called 3 times within a 1/2 hour leaving increasingly disturbing messages about my dog barking. She said the neighbors complained & she had been outside for 2 hours listening to him. I had not been gone for 2 hours so that was not factual. Further, I work from home & he rarely barks. She also said she had gone inside. I am not clear why she would enter if her complaint was about barking. Other reviews indicated she did the same thing, so be forewarned she will enter at will. While inside she adjusted my thermostat from 70 to 63.

4 - After I left, I received 2 phone calls accusing me of changing the lock box & threatening to file an incident report with VRBO. I responded that I had not changed it. She said her records indicated I was using one of two codes neither of which was the code she had actually given me. She never apologized.

Unit issues:

1 - The unit is not clean. The kitchen drawers are grimy inside & the molding and vents are thick with dust. The sofas are stained & there is a taped up broken window. The main issue was the sheets. When I pulled back the sheets on the 1st night, they looked dirty but I made an assumption that they were clean, just stained. Bad assumption. The next day I washed them & they came clean. I won't put in the review what they were stained with, but you get the idea.

2 - The bed was sagging horribly in the middle. If two people sleep in it, you roll towards each other.

3 - The shower is extremely small & low. If you are over 5' 6", you will be standing over the shower head. That may be preferable to having the water shoot directly in your face which you cannot escape b/c the shower is so small.

4 - There is no chest of drawers to unpack or a luggage rack. When I asked about this, I was told it was not that type of rental. Even hotels have chests in them.

5 - The unit is poorly stocked, for example only 5 forks an no lamp in the living room.

6 - If you have a pet, read the lease. Your pet must be constrained to the non-carpeted areas when you leave. That is only the kitchen which TINY.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We regret to have to respond in a public manner to the above complaint, but want to address the issues made in this review. We value our guests’ perspectives and do everything in our power to ensure that their stay is enjoyable. We make every effort to accommodate special requests, and in fact did so in allowing a large dog to stay on the property with the assurance that it would not create a disturbance to other tenants on the property. After receiving barking complaints from the other tenant and witnessing the barking ourselves during routine maintenance of the other unit we were left with no option but to bring the issue to the attention of the guest. The issue was not well received by this individual. Each rental is professionally cleaned after each visit, and any issues that are brought to our attention are immediately addressed to the satisfaction of our guests. Unfortunately this guest never contacted us during her stay to highlight these perceived issues and instead chose to write this negative review. Since this rental both beds have been replaced with new beds and the rental has been deep cleaned again. The sheets were inspected and found to be stained with Bleach, and have been replaced. Again, we respect the perspective of our guests and work diligently to use all feedback to improve the property. We have decided to re-commit to our long standing restriction on large dogs on the property as the effort required us to re-habilitate the property after their visit which was prohibitively expensive.


Car: recommended

This charming house is just a 5 minute walk to Downtown Golden. Spend the afternoon at the Coor's Brewery and you can be home in just minutes!

Come and relax at this charming home. This property features vaulted ceilings, hand carved cabinets, even an antique claw foot tub to soak in. Relax at the bistro table outside while you grill your dinner in the lush yard, a perfect ending to your day. Once you move inside you will be comforted by the beautiful and simple decor.

If this sounds good to you, send us a note and we'll make you feel welcome in Golden. Special request and catering available.

Other Activities: Hang Gliding, River Tubing, Water Park, Alpine Slide, Bungee Jumping.


Rates & Availability

From $100 Per night

Golden House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
November 2013 - March 2014
Nov 1 - Mar 31
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 7.6%
Notes Winter special excludes holidays

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Golden House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View ...
  • Town
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Baby Gate
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Antique Claw Foot Tub.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • House has two private bedrooms with queen beds as well as a convertible bed in living room with a queen mattress and a fold out ottoman with a twin mattress.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Yard
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
There is a portable crib available upon request. Toys are also available Pets require approval and carry an extra charge, please inquire.

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote