Submitted: July 24, 2012
Stayed: June 2012
We rented this property for the last week in June. It was our 6th VRBO rental and the first disappointment. My main complaint is the place wasn't clean. The owner mentioned she was having problems with the cleaning person who works for her, but that is not an excuse for the way the house was. It was quite evident that it has been a while before the place has been given a good cleaning. The refrigerator had a drawer that had some kind of stuff stuck to it. When I went under the sink looking for a drainboard...it was covered with what looked like mouse or some insect or creature droppings. I didn't feel comfortable cooking there. There are a lot of cosmetic repairs needed and the carpet is badly stained in the dining area. One of the windows in the living room had a crack that was taped up.
On the positive side, the view was great from the yard (good from inside too ... but would have been better with clean windows). The a/c and plumbing worked well and it was in a good location. It was quiet except when the other apartment in the duplex was occupied....when they used their shower, it sounded like it was in the same apartment. I had no complaints about the furniture. The bedrooms were small with limited storage place, but we worked around it. While we didn't find it walkable to downtown...it would be if you are a walker. We drove in and had no problems finding parking.
The welcome basket mentioned under amenities did not exist....not a deal breaker, but that should be removed from the website. We paid a significant amount for both a pet and a cleaning fee. I felt that it was a lot considering the place wasn't clean. Usually a pet fee is charged because a deeper cleaning is required to remove any pet hairs in case future renters have allergies. I have a little dog that barely sheds. I did email the owner about these issues and about being charged the fees, but she never responded. The apartment isn't that large and for the fees involved, it should have been sparkling clean! I have never minded paying the fees for other rentals because I like being greeted by a nice clean place to stay.
I wouldn't stay there again.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review of our rental. While it is not always easy to receive negative feedback on one of our rentals, that feedback enables us to evaluate and modify our transition work flows between rentals and plan for future updates. We pride ourselves on maintaining clean, comfortable, and safe properties for our guests.
We always ask our guests to call us at any time during their stay should they feel something needs to be repaired, or a problem needs resolution. Unfortunately, sending an e-mail after the experience doesn not allow us the opportunity to rectify the situation.
Thank you again for your feedback, each item that you mentioned has been resolved.
Helpful votes: 0/1
Did you find this review helpful?