Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Luxury Home, Sleeps 13, 5 min to ski resort

Cheryl Harte

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Cheryl Harte

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Luxury Home, Sleeps 13, 5 min to ski resort

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


Angel Fire House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 11-13)

Located in Angel Fire, New Mexico, 'Mountain Serenity' is a beautiful luxury mountain home ideal to rent for family vacations. It is a wilderness playground for elk and deer with a large backyard and a forest of trees behind it. The house sleeps up to 13 people with 4 bedrooms and a kids room. It's located just 5 minutes from the ski resort and is close to the golf course. Perfect for families, adults can entertain themselves on the main floor while the children have fun on the bottom gameroom floor that has a TV, DVD player, air hockey table, kids room and large amount of games and toys for the kiddos.

One of the best features of the house is the view from the back deck. There is an expansive view of a greenbelt where all you see are trees, sky and wildlife. The house sleeps up to 13 and has the following configuration: 1 br with King bed, 3 br with Queen beds, and a kids room with 1 set of bunks and an elevated twin bed, and a sleeper sofa in the gameroom

It has satellite TV with many family/sports/movies and local channels. Both TVs have DVD players. The stereo has cassette, CD and a connector for an iPod. The house has high speed Internet and wireless DSL. Gameroom has an air hockey table.

It has a huge, family-size dining room that seats 8 and a kitchen table that seats 4.

The house is close to the ski lift, about a 5 min drive.

We have hiking trails adjacent to the house which are great for family walks. Our yard is a nice size to play around - in the summer, it's fun for the kids to explore nature. In the winter, our driveway is perfect for sledriding and the yard perfect for snowmen and snowball fights.

We also own the house next door and it's available for rent -

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Cheryl Harte (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2015

About Cheryl Harte

Our family is from the Dallas, TX area. The Mountain Serenity house is our family vacation home that we now share as a rental home.

Cheryl Harte purchased this house in 2006

Why Cheryl Harte chose Angel Fire

We love the outdoors, so we enjoy Angel Fire in all seasons: in winter of course for the skiing, in spring we love to see the baby elk and deer, summers we enjoy hiking/golfing/rafting/fishing, and the fall colors are absolutely beautiful.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Luxury Home, Sleeps 13, 5 min to ski resort
average rating of 4.826087 based on 23 reviews

Frustrating experience

  • 2 of 5

We had 6 adults and 6 kids staying at the home. The house had plenty of room and a great view, but we had several issues. First, the driveway required four wheel drive. The only way to get down the driveway without it was to slide uncontrollably all the way down towards the house. We could not even get out of the driveway the next morning until they sent someone to cinder it. I felt this should have been taken care of in advance by the property manager or owners. Another issue was the lack of hot water. There was enough hot water for two people to shower (very quickly) each night, but that was it. There is only one electric hot water heater for the entire house and for a house this size, it needs a lot more! We couldn't even bathe all the kids each night. The final issue we had was a set of French doors on the balcony that were broken and couldn't be locked. The doors would not even stay latched so continuously came open throughout the day and night. I did contact the property manager about the door as soon as we got there and she told me the owners were aware of it. Once again, I felt this issue should have been resolved before we arrived. I felt that this home was not as luxurious as described in the ad. There were even sticky handprints all over the windows in the living room. It was a frustrating experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As an owner, I am saddened and embarrassed by this review. I know that getting time away with your family is such a special time and you want it to be amazing, not frustrating. We have owned and rented this house for 8 years and our “brand” is that it presents itself as your luxury home in the mountains, not your typical old ski rental with decades old furniture, signs everywhere telling you what you’re not allowed to do and no upkeep. Besides our local property manager in Angel Fire who takes care of the housekeeping and maintenance, we come to Angel Fire every 2 months and spend a day doing deep cleaning and paying attention to details in order to return it to the high standards we set for it. Each year in the summer we invest several thousand dollars back into the property to continually upgrade and enhance it. As you can see from our many 5 star reviews, guests nearly always have the experience that we intend. However in this case, there were several circumstances that contributed to this family not having the experience they should have and led to their frustration. I have already reached out to them to personally apologize and their experience has caused us to change a few things with our local help to ensure that the house is kept up to our standards in between the times when we are there to work on it. I am a super-responsive owner, so my only regret is that they would have notified me while they were there so that I could have addressed their issues during their stay to improve their experience.

Awesome place, lots of wildlife and views.

  • 5 of 5

Great place, great neiborhood

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Fantastic location, Amazing Home, and Wonderful Owners

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I joined friends for a 3-day weekend stay at Mountain Serenity. This was our third trip to Angel Fire and first stay in this home. Our family has rented other homes, but Mountain Serenity tops our experiences!

Of particular note, other homes we've rented felt a bit stifling due to "rules", but Mountain Serenity's subtlety in framing the expectations makes it feel so comfortable and relaxing. The home feels like home; it is in impeccable condition and it's clear to me the owners take great pride in making the stay comfortable.

The kitchen is, by far, the best-stocked you will find at a property. This makes cooking a snap and is more enjoyable.

The location is fantastic- really great to make a quick run to the store when needed, plus it's just a short zip across the street to the ski area.

The kids had a BLAST hanging out with each other in the basement. The set-up there is incredibly spacious and has so much to offer them by way of activity after a day out on the mountain.

The outdoor fire pit was also one of the highlights of the trip.

The view from the livingroom/kitchen is fantastic. Peaceful and beautiful. Though we were there with snow on the ground, I imagine it to be even better for hiking and exploring in the summer.

I have raved to friends and family about how awesome this property is... couldn't let it pass without writing this review. Thanks for making our getaway such an overwhelming success with this beautiful home to come back to each night!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Nice house, but dont forget anything

  • 4 of 5

This house was great for my extended family and family. We had singles, married couples and 5 kids, 5 and under. We had plenty of room. The kitchen was nice and spacious for us all and the kids had a great time sledding on the sleds in the garage. Since there are 2 sets of stairs and we had two 10-16months old, a baby gate for each set of stairs would have been a great addition to help keep them on the main floor. The playroom downstairs- games, animals and such kept the 3 older ones entertained a lot.

The biggest problem my little family had, was forgetting our overnight bag on the bed upstairs in an effort to clean, load, and get everyone out of the house. As soon as we realized it was missing we called the property manager and the housekeepers had brought it to her already. She said she would mail it to us and she did. We paid for the postage costs. We were grateful to get our bag back with several items our 3 little ones needed, but the saddest part to discover was someone had stolen our money. This person had to dig in the bag to find the envelope with the $640 cash in it. It was disappointing to realize how depraved man can be, and to think someone would willingly go through another person's belongings. We know it was in our bag as my husband had put it in, behind a book, in the bag that morning. We called the property manager the day the mailman dropped off the package and informed her of the loss. She said we should have had her insure it. I debated when asking her to send it, to even mention the money. Now I wish I had. My dad rented the house and talked with the owner. They offered to give us a $600 credit. The problem is we are much closer to Colorado, and we will probably not have another reason to go back to the Angel Fire area. It was a one time family event. It would have been nice to have been given a refund for that amount. Not sure the difference in a refund or credit for them, unless they were hoping we would not take them up on it; which would be a sad way to do business. We did file a police report and were pleasantly surprised that the officer, over our case, went and interviewed the ones in contact with our bag. It is obvious one of them took it, but with it being cash, there is no way to trace it and no way to know which person. The Angel Fire PD is very thorough and took us seriously, unlike the others we had talked to about the issue. So, learn from us having our Christmas money stolen and DONT leave anything behind!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’ve had over 300 families as guests in our home in the 7 years that I have owned the house and yes, things are left behind from time to time. Everything that has been left at the house is returned to the guests if requested. Not once has a situation like this happened previously. I have a high degree of trust in my property manager whom I’ve done business with for several years. One of the reasons I hired her and continue to work with her is because she has one main housekeeper who she has worked with for many years and whom she trusts. That being said, I know them well and they are ethical people. In this type of situation, it’s difficult to prove what the truth is. My property manager and housekeeper have both offered to take lie detector tests as long as the family does as well. To date, they have not been taken up on their offer. As an owner, I was faced with a situation where there is no evidence to reach a conclusion. So I tried to compensate the family in some way and I offered to credit them $600 on a future visit. My advice to travelers to avoid situations like this is to avoid carrying large sums of cash (ATMs are easily accessible and most stores/restaurants accept credit cards) and to buy travel insurance.
Plano, TX

Excellent Rental Property. Perfect for families.

  • 5 of 5

This property is the the best maintained property I have ever rented. The property was amazingly clean and had all amenities imaginable. The kitchen is extremely large and has everything you would need to cook during your stay. The kids have an amazing "cove" to play and sleep it. It is stocked with puzzles, games and stuffed animals. My children instantly felt at home. The outdoor space is simply ideal. I would highly recommend this property and look forward to returning next year.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful property that provides most everything you would need. Was exactly what we expected from descriptions. Was very clean. Would absolutely recommend to anyone interested in a getaway.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


We are located 5 min drive from Angel Fire Resort for skiing and summer activities.


Rates & Availability

From $375 Per night

Angel Fire House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mar 16 2015 - May 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
May 22 2015 - Sep 12 2015
4 night minimum stay
Fall I
Sep 13 2015 - Nov 20 2015
3 night minimum stay
Nov 21 2015 - Nov 29 2015
4 night minimum stay
Fall II
Nov 30 2015 - Dec 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Block I
Dec 19 2015 - Dec 25 2015
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Holiday Block II
Dec 26 2015 - Dec 30 2015
5 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Holiday Block III
Dec 31 2015 - Jan 3 2016
4 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning/Booking $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.17%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total


Angel Fire House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Main floor master - 1 king
    Upstairs br - 1 queen
    Upstairs br - 1 queen
    Bottom floor Kids room - 3 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , bunk beds & twin
    Bottom floor br - 1 queen
  • Air Hockey
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 9 garden chairs
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
air hockey table

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote