Vanessa Patrick

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Vanessa Patrick

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SECRET FALLS COTTAGE - WATERFALL!

Cashiers House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

Secret Falls Cottage is furnished and decorated to match the ambience of the mountains high above Cashiers, NC: natural, yet with the modern conveniences of home. You'll find a unique blend of rustic furniture, antiques, and traditional pieces enhancing the structure of the cottage itself, characterized by lots of wood and windows. With over 2100 square feet, three huge bedrooms and three full bathrooms, the cottage can easily accommodate two families or three couples!

A large covered porch is perfect for reading, relaxing, rocking, and sleeping to the soothing sounds of rushing water. Robinson Creek borders the three-acre grounds, and is great for wading, photography, or just quiet contemplation. The centerpiece of Secret Falls Cottage, of course, is a private 65-foot waterfall accessible by several pathways winding through lush rhododendron thickets. The pathway to the bottom of the falls is strenuous, but the path to the creek atop the falls is more moderate.

Play in the creek...look out over the distant mountains from the huge covered porch...fix a snack or a meal in the fully-equipped kitchen...watch the snow fall...or get rested for the next day while listening to the roaring waterfall from your bedroom window.

Easy day trips include boating on nearby Lake Glenville, horseback riding at several venues, whitewater rafting, canoeing, antiquing, and more! It is only minutes from a major trailhead of Panthertown, one of the area's best-kept secrets!

Visiting Secret Falls Cottage is a great way to experience a true mountain vacation getaway, high up the mountain, accessed by winding roads in a more remote, peaceful neighborhood. You can imagine how the early settlers felt each morning as they awoke to the sounds of rushing water and the singing of birds - NOT the sound of traffic. Hiking down to the base of the waterfall on the steep path is an adventure that will send you back in time before everything was covered in pavement.

NOTE: Home is high in mountains and involves some travel on winding gravel roads.

Keywords: House,waterfall,trout stream,private,mountains

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Guestbook comments from the owner
If you could sell this place in a bottle, you'd be a millionaire!
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 6

Vanessa Patrick

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.4
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Secret Falls Cottage - Waterfall!
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Secret Falls Cottage - Waterfall!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174985vb
(803) 521-3614
Cashiers Cashiers Area
New Orleans, LA
5

Loved being off the grid!!!!

  • 5 of 5
My family and I had a terrific time at Secret Falls Cottage. It is definitely away from everything. We had no traffic around the cottage and even though there are other houses, they are quite a way away. No one was at the nearest cottage but I believe even if they were we wouldn't have noticed.
This is the perfect place for getting needed relaxation without being interrupted by every day life activities like cell phones. We had no cell reception on Verizon or AT&T. The best part of the trip was that everyone spent time together and talked. Evening suppers were the best.
The falls were amazing! It was quite a challenge to get to the falls and I wish there were steps to get up and down to the falls. If we had brought our parents they would not been able to enjoy the time at the falls because they physically couldn't make the climb.
We spent days white water rafting in Dillsboro, hiking and sighting seeing the various falls and a trip to Biltmore.
We are hoping to make another trip in the fall season.
Highly recommend this location for a peaceful relaxing time.
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Secret Falls Cottage - Waterfall!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174985vb
(803) 521-3614
Cashiers Cashiers Area
Hanover, PA
1

Never Again

  • 1 of 5
On August 3, 2013, we had made plans to stay at Secret Falls Cottage for the week. Upon arriving at the cottage, we were very disappointed.
* The floors were dirty to the point that you could feel the dirt under your shoes. They were also sticky and there were dead bugs in the middle of the floor.
* There were dirty dishes in the sink, a Mountain Dew can on the counter, and the microwave oven was dirty.
* The toilets were “stained” and had not been cleaned.
* There was hair in the shower drain and in the Jacuzzi.
There was also a towel/blanket hanging on the porch railing.
The beds were made, but with everything else so dirty how could we be sure the bedding had been cleaned?
One of the main reasons why we picked Secret Falls cottage was because we were to have access to the falls, but that wasn't the case at all. My son and husband had gone down to the waterfall. There was a wooden ladder that had been broken and could not be used. My 19 year old son, who is athletic and use to climbing, had almost fell 8 ft. trying to get back up to the house.
We found the place unsanitary and unsafe and we could not stay there. We called Vanessa (the owner) right away and she said she would give us a full refund, which we had not received. She did not send us a full refund. She didn’t feel that we should get the extra money because she had lost money. We had also lost money due to having to change our plans by finding a place to stay at the last minute. We had also brought some food (meat) with us that ended up going to waste.
We were over 500 miles away from home and had driven 12 hours to get there, which is not new to us. The last three years, we had traveled to the Cashiers area and stayed at a different cabin, which had always been a pleasant trip.
In all the years we had gone to North Carolina, this is truly the worst accommodations we had come across. I would not recommend Secret Falls Cottage to anyone, not even my worst enemies.
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, Ms. W had a few valid complaints - the living area floors were not up to par, a can was in the kitchen, and the ladder on the waterfall path was broken. Due to a family emergency, the woman who cleaned was unable to quite finish just prior to Ms. W's arrival; I was not told until that evening. Ms. W does not mention that, once notified, I IMMEDIATELY offered to travel 3 1/2 hours to personally correct the situation, and to refund a portion of their rental for the inconvenience. My offer was refused. Ms. W's daughter informed me they had car trouble twice on the trip and "this was the last straw" so her mother "just wanted to leave." I warned Ms. W's daughter (Ms. W never spoke to me) that they would have a hard time finding local accommodations if they left after 7 pm on a weekend at peak season, so they should stay put FOR FREE until I got there to check the situation out. Once again, my offer was refused. Later that evening, the cleaning lady told me beds were made, refrigerator and stove cleaned, bathrooms cleaned (yes, my water does stain the bowls a little but they are clean), entire master suite cleaned, downstairs carpets had been vacuumed, trash taken off, porch swept, etc. She was in progress of vacuuming the downstairs hardwoods when the emergency occurred, and confessed to probably leaving the soda can on the counter in her haste. When I arrived at my home, I was amazed to confirm that the house required only about an hour of my time to be restored to tip-top shape: certainly NOT the disaster described to me! Ms. W also failed to mention that her large party stayed at my home for several hours before reporting the problems to me. If the house was uninhabitable, how did some of the group have time to go hiking before I was notified of the issues? Regarding the wooden ladder to the falls, I did find that a portion of the bank had broken off in a storm and broke the ladder. My roommate Christina (age 64) and I (age 55) repaired the damage in about 2 hours the next morning, so I cannot fathom that a young man could not navigate the climb, as we did it carrying lumber and tools. Nonetheless, I immediately issued a full refund of the rental and security deposit, as promised. I did not refund the cleaning fee. Since the party stayed several hours before contacting me, they used the toilets, tracked in their own dirt, etc. and my policy is that the house must be cleaned again after each use. I am sorry for the trouble.
business
Secret Falls Cottage - Waterfall!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174985vb
(803) 521-3614
Cashiers Cashiers Area
Auburn, AL
5

Relaxing and Private Getaway

  • 5 of 5
Secret Falls Cottage made for an awesome spring break. Five of my friends and I went up to the cabin for a week to get away from our high paced, over connected college lives. With no internet or cellphone service (we all have AT&T) at the cabin all you could do was explore the beautiful surroundings and spend time together. We were greeted with the roaring sound of the waterfall down below. The climb down, notice I didn't say stroll, is fun and you can either look at it as an inconvenience or a very rewarding challenge. Once at the bottom the sound and sight overwhelmed us and we all felt like kids again, immediately striking off into the woods to explore. Well worth your time. The majority of our time was spent around meals together. It was very enjoyable to cook together in the spacious and fully stocked kitchen and then sit down at the table for a meal. This cabin promotes a warm atmosphere that put everyone at ease and made for a relaxing stay. Will definitely return one day and refer to everyone.
Cabin is well maintained and clean. Quality appliances in the fully stocked kitchen. Gas fire place was much appreciated after a day enjoying the outdoors. Location is very private. The whole cabin is spacious. The owner rocks, she was very helpful and gracious.
Spent a day at Panthertown to hike and mountain bike. Easily two days worth of fun. Awesome waterfalls everywhere! The city center of Cashiers is a neat little place to explore.
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secret Falls Cottage - Waterfall!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174985vb
(803) 521-3614
Cashiers Cashiers Area
Chapel Hill, NC
5

Amazing Thanksgiving Weekend

  • 5 of 5
We had an incredible Thanksgiving holiday at Secret Falls Cottage. The cabin and surrounding area far exceeded our expectations (the pictures don't do it justice). We were hoping to get away to somewhere rustic and secluded and we were not disappointed. The views are amazing and we really felt like we were the only people on the mountain.

The cabin is beautifully done and very comfortable ... we especially enjoyed the gas fireplace. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare a full Thanksgiving meal. It was also very nice to get into the hot tub during the cold nights and look up at the stars.

The hike down to the falls was a little bit of a challenge with our 4 and 7 year old, but it was well worth it once we got to the bottom, and they had a blast ... the falls are amazing.

My little girl said it all ... "this is what makes memories", and she couldn't be more right. We will definitely be back ... thanks again Vanessa.
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secret Falls Cottage - Waterfall!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174985vb
(803) 521-3614
Cashiers Cashiers Area
Kansas City, MO
5

Secret Falls Cottage

  • 5 of 5
beautiful cottage, great location, amazing view; just the perfect spot for a quiet, relaxing getaway.
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secret Falls Cottage - Waterfall!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174985vb
(803) 521-3614
Cashiers Cashiers Area
Atlanta GA
5

Your own private waterfall

  • 5 of 5
Loved our stay at Secret Falls Cottage! Met my husband's brother and his wife for a long weekend in the mountains. We wanted somewhere not too far from Cashiers, but very private. We were not disappointed.
Secret Falls is about 1/2 hour drive from the center of Cashiers. One of the only downfalls I can say about the location is that the drive on the gravel road limits the number of times you would want to travel into town. Not a problem for us, as we were only interested in visiting and hiking.
Hiking in the area is beautiful. We saw three waterfalls while hiking nearby.
The view from the house is excellent. There seems to be different opinions regarding the 'treacherous' path down to the waterfall that is on the property. I will say it is not easy...however, it is so worth it!!! The waterfall is gorgeous and there is a lovely pool at the bottom. Our day on Saturday was spent playing in the water and on the rocks below the falls. The biggest bonus? It was totally private!!!
The photos of the house and description of the listing is right on. We were not disappointed.
Property was clean and well maintained. Not sure the cleaning crew is really looking for the cobwebs high up, but that didn't affect our weekend.
We are already looking forward to returning to Cashiers and Secret Falls. It is a small piece of heaven. Thanks Vanessa!
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Play in the Deep Pool Below the Waterfall. Wade in the Creek Above the Waterfall - Wade a Mile Upstream Until You Reach the Base of Another Large Waterfall!

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cashiers House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
$3,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Notes 20% rental deposit must be received within 10 days of booking, and the balance must be received at least 5 business days prior to arrival. I accept personal checks, money orders, or can issue you a PayPal invoice.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Cashiers House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Telephone
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master Bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Step-in shower with seat, 36' doors
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Main level, with private bathroom.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master w/bath, single bed in adjacent sitting room.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Main level with private bathroom.
    Other (See Description) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Single, in sitting room adjacent to Master.
  • Queen size Beds (2) In second floor Master and one of the main level BR's, Twin or Single Beds (1) In one of the main level BR's, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) In sitting room off second floor Master
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Ping Pong Table
  • CD Player
  • Video Library
  • Television
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Books
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • skiing
  • mountain biking
  • fishing
  • rafting
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • kayaking
  • water skiing
  • golf
Notes:
Secret Falls Cottage is Located on 3 Acres on a Large Mountain Stream Atop a 65 Foot Waterfall.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$800 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$2,055 - $2,405 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$255 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8