Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

OCEANFRONT, MILLION-DOLLAR-VIEW, SPACIOUS LANAI

Owner

Advertiser since: 2002
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANFRONT, MILLION-DOLLAR-VIEW, SPACIOUS LANAI

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Overview

Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

THE VIEWS DON'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS! True Oceanfront with a panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean, the island of Lana'i, the West Maui Mountains and Maalea Harbor. Spectacular sunsets and swaying palm trees. Great Whale watching (December through April).

LOOK AT ALL 24 PICTURES ... be sure to scroll to bottom of this listing to see enlarged photos!

DATES AVAILABLE - Simply click on the calendar located in the center of the page under the thumbnail photos. We keep our calendar up to date to save you time in your search.

PREMIUM CONDO Our home is beautifully and tastefully furnished with great amenities including free high speed Wireless Internet. Condo is fully tiled. Our living room has a queen sleeper sofa, love seat, and chair. Large LCD HDTV (cable), with DVD, stereo (hook-up your MP3 player). Oceanfront Living Room wall is all glass with doubly-opening slider. Master Bedroom with King bed, wall-mounted LCD HDTV, and handy plugs for recharging your phones and other electronics.

KITCHEN granite slab counters with all the appliances and utensils you could need.

BATHROOMS totally renovated with fully tiled, walk-in showers

BEDS: Master BDR King, 2nd BDR Two twin beds

Living Room Sleeper Sofa: Queen

WASHER & DRYER in our unit.

FULLY AIR CONDITIONED and ceiling fans in all rooms.

LANAI 22-foot long, private Lanai provides relaxation in Maui's soothing trade winds with the incredible ocean view. Two ceiling fans create breezes on windless days.

TENNIS COURTS on the ocean!

TOY CLOSET towels, mats, chairs, boogie boards, snorkeling gear, sand buckets, cooler, tennis equipment, etc. (You can leave your toys at home!).

Manicured grounds, Large Pool, Hot Tub, Small Exercise Room with Dry Sauna, Putting green. There are better equipped gyms nearby, contact us if you need additional information.

While our beach is not the best for swimming, it is an uncrowded beach to enjoy walks on. There is great windsurfing and kitesurfing to participate in or observe. Our panoramic lanai view is incredible and you will find no better views on Maui.

If you are looking for something truly special ... contact us.

If you know the Maui Sunset you'll want to know our location: Our condo is in the B building, Number 421. The first number (4) indicates the floor, and the remainder (21) denotes the 21st unit. Each floor has 23 units with Number 1 being the farthest from the ocean and Number 23 the very closest to the ocean. There is not a finer condo to rent at the Maui Sunset in terms of furnishings and our view.

Kihei's warm, sunny weather is the best on Maui. Our home is conveniently located within easy driving time of the airport, Lahaina, and Wailea. Walk to nearby grocery store, gift shops, craft market, drug store, Post Office, restaurants, fast food and gift shops. Excellent golf courses are nearby. Activity Desk on the property can assist with coordinating special trips and activities.

HI Tax Registration ID: W0037090802

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Advertiser since: 2002
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2014

About The Owner

Paul and Joan currently reside in West Virginia. Prior to that they lived in Corpus Christi, Texas and Albuquerque, New Mexico. Paul was lucky to have spent two years on Oahu as a child. A medical meeting on Maui rekindled the passion for Hawaii. They love to visit the different beaches, snorkeling, kitesurfing (Paul), and relaxing on the lanai - especially the mornings and sunsets.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2002

Why The Owner chose Kihei

After exploring all the condos in Kihei we chose the Maui Sunset for it's ambience, impeccable grounds and pool. Everyone was so friendly. When we first walked into the condo we ultimately purchased we were left breathless by the view, and knew it was the right one. Our beach is never crowded and perfect for daily walks. The central location of our condo makes it easy for us to explore the rest of Maui.

What makes this condo unique

We keep our condo equipped the way we like to enjoy it. We've taken care in updating our condo with modern features. Our guests appreciate these touches and all the amenities we leave for them to enjoy. Joan loves to cook, and we always have dinner parties with friends when we visit. Most days we take small half-day trips to enjoy all that Maui has to offer. By late afternoon we love to soak in the pool and hot tub, read, and talk with our friends (old and new). We cook most of meals in the condo or outside on the BBQs. Morning coffee out on the lanai and watching the West Maui mountains light up with the rising sun never gets old with us.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 30 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanfront, Million-Dollar-View, Spacious Lanai
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 30 reviews
business
Oceanfront, Million-Dollar-View, Spacious Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17278vb
-(361) 728-3054 (USA)
Kihei Maui
San Leandro
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
When it came time to plan our family trip to Maui, I knew I wanted to stay somewhere that felt like home. I found this condo on VRBO and once I saw the photos of the condo, I knew I had found our home away from home. My two teenagers and I had a great time while we there for a little over a week. We had all of the conveniences of home but also enjoyed some awesome adventures on the island and spectacular views from the condo. The property and condo are immaculate. The toy closet had everything we needed to enjoy the beach, the pool, the tennis courts and even our road trips around the island. The kitchen was supplied with every gadget we needed and having stopped at Costco and Safeway really helped to save some money on eating out. On our nights out, we enjoyed Café O’Lei and a few other local spots. The owner was very helpful with the booking of the condo and suggestions of where to go for meals and activities. I can't wait to go home again!
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, Million-Dollar-View, Spacious Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17278vb
-(361) 728-3054 (USA)
Kihei Maui
Portland Oregon
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
This was our second trip to Maui. The year before we had stayed in the same complex but in a different unit. This unit was far superior. The view, the rooms and the amenities were all incredible! My sister, another friend and myself all had the most wonderful time.
it's a very quiet, laid-back place. They even have a security guard that patrols the grounds in the evening. We know, because they knocked on our door to kindly let us know our TV was too loud! We didn't realize that with the lanai door open you could hear the TV in the courtyard. "Quiet" time starts at 10 PM and they mean it. It really is quiet and peaceful.
The kitchen is fully equipped. We used the barbecue in the center courtyard twice and it worked out beautifully. There was even an espresso machine for me to use!
This condo is well-maintained and a bargain for the price. The owners couldn't have been nicer. Upon returning home I had my security deposit returned within three days. We plan on coming back again next year!
  • Submitted: May 30, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront, Million-Dollar-View, Spacious Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17278vb
-(361) 728-3054 (USA)
Kihei Maui
5

Can't beat this view!

Can't beat this view!
  • 5 of 5
We stayed at this wonderful condo for 6 days, and it surpassed my expectations. The location was excellent for touring and sightseeing, and lots of restaurants close by. We actually enjoyed listening to the local roosters, they just added to the local charm.

We shared the condo with my parents and there was always plenty of room. The rooms were exactly as portrayed in the photos on the website. Everything was very clean, kitchen had updated, good quality small appliances, and was equipped with everything you need, and more. Yes, the bathrooms were a little small, but it was great that there were two bathrooms in the unit, and very clean. (The large living area and balcony more than make up for the size of the bathrooms!!)

We enjoyed many walks along the beach, and came across a huge turtle taking a nap in the sand. But, best of all.... Where I spent most of my time...Sitting out on the very large balcony.... Watching the windsurfers and kite surfers during the day and that gorgeous sunset in the evening. If the view is important to you, then this is the place to be! I hope to come back some day! Thanks for a great vacation, I only wish it wasn't so far away!!!
  • Submitted: May 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, Million-Dollar-View, Spacious Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17278vb
-(361) 728-3054 (USA)
Kihei Maui
Kelowna British Columbia
4

Not quite what we expected

  • 4 of 5
My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks over spring break with our 16 year old son and his friend. This was not our best holiday due to the fact that I fell very ill on the 5th day and spent the remainder of the holiday sick. We also were there at a time that it was very windy and that put a damper on some activities especially going to beaches as that blowing sand is a problem.

PROS:
- Joan the owner was excellent to deal with and very prompt with her replies and with returning our deposit
- the view really is very stunning and the lanai is quite large which was a big plus, We however did not see any whales while we were there
- the grounds are extremely well maintained
- unit is well stocked with most everything you need
- the complex is close to grocery shopping, etc
- very helpful staff at the activities desk, helped my husband plan a lot of excursions
- nice pool, and aqua classes 3X a week
- sunsets

CONS:
- this complex is older and when you drive into the parking lot it has a run down look to
it, we found it disappointing when we got off the elevator to walk to our unit how run down this side of the building was. However, to be fair the other side (ocean side) is much nicer.
- for us we found having the bedrooms facing the parking lot side of the unit an issue. You cannot open blinds or a window as there is a common walkway right outside. In the past, we have stayed in units that face the ocean and allow for sleeping with windows open all night. Also the bedrooms back onto each other, so that doesn't allow for much privacy especially with teenagers.
- Roosters. My husband isn't a great sleeper at the best of times, and every single morning starting anywhere from 3:30 - 5:00 a.m., (this is with closed windows) we were woken by roosters. This would go on for a good hour plus. I could fall back asleep, but my husband could not.
- the bathrooms are not luxurious, and the shower/toilet combo in the master is a bit claustrophobic. No counter space in either bathroom.
- This was not a great complex for the teenagers. The beach is not a swimming beach, there were very few other teens and unless we had a planned activity for them, there was not much for them to do.
- the fitness room is poor
- no seal under unit door, wind howls thru condo.

All in all, it is good value for the price, we were just expecting more based on the reviews. This is not a 5 star property. We have given it a 4 because of the view/grounds.
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your balanced review. It's unfortunate to hear you were ill for most of your trip. It's difficult being ill when away from home.
Although you were there in whale season, it can be quite variable in what you see. Others have commented positively on watching the whales from our lanai.
We too have heard roosters in our neighborhood, and all the other islands in Hawaii. Unfortunately Hawaiian law allows homeowners to keep them.
We agree the exercise room needs improvement, however it has not been a priority of our homeowner's association. There are nearby gyms. Perhaps we'll need to give out information to guests who wish to take advantage of them.
Not so long ago we also had three teenagers. At our complex, they enjoyed stand-up paddle boarding, windsurfing, kitesailing, tennis, bocci ball, shuffleboard and kicking a soccer ball around or playing frisbee on the expansive grounds. In all our visits our boys were fortunate to meet other kids their age hanging out by the pool or hot tub. They enjoyed the close proximity to Kihei's cafes and shops, and often rode rented bikes to the nearby beaches.
This complex was built in 1975, and that is reflected in the exterior architectural style (as shown on our website's picture) Large bathrooms were not standard in the 70s, however we have remodeled both to maximize the space. During our last remodel, my wife added a ledge to the master vanity area to increase counterspace. We provide pictures on the VRBO site of both bathrooms.
Though we have exterior walkways adjacent to the unit, we always sleep with the windows open, and the blinds adjusted to allow ventilation, but not views into the bedrooms. Very few people walk by as there are only 3 units beyond ours.
We chose to buy, and most guests choose to rent our condo because of the beautiful grounds and oceanfront view, affordability, and it's close proximity to some of the best beaches in Hawaii. If you investigate you will find to stay on the best beaches can cost two to three times what we charge.
We are always happy to answer all of our guest questions openly and honestly.
business
Oceanfront, Million-Dollar-View, Spacious Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17278vb
-(361) 728-3054 (USA)
Kihei Maui
5

Had a wonderful stay - will be back!

  • 5 of 5
My family shared this wonderful condo while we attended a conference in Wailea. 3 adults, 1 toddler - we fit comfortably in the 2 rooms and LOVED the open concept kitchen and living area. The sliding glass doors additionally allowed us to expand the living space even further. This unit has a larger lanai than the majority of Maui Sunset units, because it's on the end. It also has an unparalleled view. The grounds are kept clean and there's plenty of room to roam. Pool was great for the little one, though it wasn't so overrun with kids that the childless couples at the pool couldn't also enjoy themselves - it was a nice balance. My husband loved grilling every night - steak, shrimp, lobster, yum! and of course, drinks on the lanai watching the sunsets made for great memories. The unit has everything you might need in order to eat in (utensils, cooking pots, appliances, etc) and the separate bathrooms made for a comfy stay for all. We will be back!
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront, Million-Dollar-View, Spacious Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17278vb
-(361) 728-3054 (USA)
Kihei Maui
Ridgecrest, CA
5

Definitely Returning!!

  • 5 of 5
This condo is nicely updated, conveniently located, and the view is as advertised. I felt like I had stepped into a postcard! I stayed here with friends to attend a wedding and upon returning home, I booked another week later this year so I can bring my family. I don't usually like going to the same place twice, but for this condo I'll make an exception. We have children ages 5, 13, 18, and 20 and I know they will all enjoy staying there. I really appreciated how well stocked the condo is with spices for cooking, tennis equipment, boogie boards, and snorkel equipment, etc. There are even games and books. Tip - Maui does not allow plastic bags for groceries so you have to buy reusable bags at the store. Check the closet in the master because there are some already there. We left some too! I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with this place.
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Kahului
Car: recommended

Snorkeling-On site, ACTIVITY DESK-On site. Nearby Shopping, Restaurants, Fast Food, Post Office, Drug store. Windsurfing-on site, Kitesurfing-on site

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $209 Per night

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter 2015
Jan 5 2015 - Apr 14 2015
3 night minimum stay
$299
$2,093
$8,100
 
 
Spring 2015
Apr 15 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$209
$1,463
 
 
Summer 2015
Jun 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$235
$1,645
$6,000
 
 
Fall 2015
Sep 1 2015 - Dec 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
$209
$1,463
 
 
Christmas 2015
Dec 19 2015 - Jan 3 2016
10 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Winter 2016
Jan 4 2016 - Apr 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$299
$2,093
$8,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150 + Tax
> 4 guests, Per night $15 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%
Notes Large Party Charge: Extra $15 per person per night for guest numbers more than 4.
Reservation dates that span the seasonal cutoff dates are fine. Just contact owners by email for quote.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Stays of more than 14 nights may be eligible for discount.
1. All guests required to pay a $300 damage deposit. This is returned to guests after their stay, provided of course, there are no damages.
2. To reserve dates requires a deposit of $300 or 10% of the total (Whichever is greater).
3. Balance becomes due 90 days prior to check in.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 951 sq. ft.
  • 5 stories
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size Bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Sleeper sofa is queen sized.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ceiling Fans, Binoculars, Coffee Maker, Blender, Rice Maker, Ironing Board & Iron, Washer & Dryer in Unit, Toy closet with Beach chairs, cooler,snorkeling gear, tennis rackets, boogie boards, beach towels, etc. Exercise Room (Shared).

Other Vacation Properties

$1,512 - $1,680 per week
4 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,575 - $1,855 per week
5 - 14 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$2,275 - $2,835 per week
5 - 14 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote