Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH HOME WITH VIEWS/ WATER ACCESS

Owner

Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH HOME WITH VIEWS/ WATER ACCESS

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Holland House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Beautiful Beach Home in the dunes with a view and access to Lake Michigan. New appliances and full amenity kitchen with views of Lake Michigan from most every room. Bedrooms are large and spacious.

Master bedroom has a deck off from it. Two decks one full shade one full sun. Deck on the front of the house has gas grill and seating to watch sunsets. Private beach area around the home. Deck in the back of the house comes off from the master bedroom very private. On site laundry and linens provided. Located between Holland and Grand Haven. Close to bike paths and golfing.

Keywords: Home

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

1.8
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lake Michigan Beach Home with Views/ Water Access
average rating of 1.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Lake Michigan Beach Home with Views/ Water Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172212vb
-(616) 399-8421 (Michigan, USA)
Holland Western Michigan
Plymouth
1

Extremely disappointed in this home and the professionalism of the renter

  • 1 of 5
My rental agreement began at 2:00 pm on Friday, but at 8:00 that evening the house still hadn’t been cleaned since the previous renters. The house was filthy. Beer cans everywhere, no clean linens, food left out on the balcony with cigarette butts, pots and pans with food in them left on the stove (these had an incredible amount of mold growing) and the smell was so bad my friends couldn’t set food inside the kitchen. I called the property manager at 8:00 to let her know we had a huge issue and that the house hadn’t been cleaned and she said “I know, I am sorry, I couldn’t get anyone over there.” How unprofessional. If she had known the home wasn’t clean, why didn’t she call me at 2:00 to tell me? I was astonished that this was allowed to happen, especially because I had e-mailed her some concerns based off of a bad review that I read about the cleanliness of the home and she assured me that the home would be professionally cleaned and we would be provided with clean linens. This is a quote from the e-mail that she sent to me on June 27: "The cleaning crew comes in after each checkout . Bedding is washed between each checkout. I provide toliet paper, paper towels, dish rags ect." This, in fact, was a lie. She told me someone would be out in the morning, but when I didn’t accept that (I had 10 friends coming – including a baby) and we could not stay in this filthy house, she moved us to another home about 10 minutes away. The beach house that she moved us into was cleaner than the first, but it still wasn't up to the standards that I was expecting. There were dead bugs everywhere, including large moths on the floors. If a cleaning crew really did enter, this would have been cleaned. A dirty t-shirt was found on one of the couches, there were ants all over the sink, and there were only 5 rolls of toilet paper in the entire house. I'm not sure how 5 rolls of toilet paper would get 10 people through an entire weekend. In an e-mail sent to me from the property manager, I was told that we would be provided with paper towels and dish rags. There was 1/2 a roll of paper towel and no dish rags, so we had to go out and purchase our own. This home had a lot of things broken including a missing drawer in the kitchen, no door handle on the fridge, and a broken exterior handle on the sliding door. The bathroom upstairs had a leak in the hot water nozzle and leaked water onto the bathroom floor. After the first night, we noticed water damage on the kitc
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house was not completely cleaned but beds and sheets had been done, due to death in family and was unable to contact tenants due to lateness. Once they arrived which was late at night I took them to a another house on Lake Michigan which they loved. Once they left that house at the end of the rental period it looked like a frat party had occurred. It is interesting to me that the comments of which were made about another house were exactly how this party left the new house that I put them into. It is clear to me that this post was done to excuse the condition that they left the house in at the end of the rental period.
business
Lake Michigan Beach Home with Views/ Water Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172212vb
-(616) 399-8421 (Michigan, USA)
Holland Western Michigan
South Lyon, MI
3

Beach House Vacation

  • 3 of 5
We stayed in this house with our close friends, two of whom had a two year old child. We made it a point to to ask about the safety and sleeping accomodations for having a child there and the owner said it would not be a problem and it was kid-friendly. Upon arrival, we noticed the house wasn't very clean and one of the rooms didn't have a door on it. There were no window treatments in any of the rooms and the stair bars are set very wide, which was NOT safe to have the child around. We ended up having to put a piece of plywood up against the stair railing so she wouldn't fall through.

As for cleanliness, we understand that its a beach house and that there will be sand around; it just kind of comes with the territory. However, some of our guests found sand in their beds which lead us to believe that the sheets were not laundered before we arrived. This was a big red flag to us because it made us question the cleanliness of the rest of the house. Also, someone must have used the downstairs restroom prior to our arrival and forgot to flush :/

Some of the great things about the house included the spacious kitchen/dining area. It was a great setting to get everyone together for big meals and great conversation. The kitchen was fully stocked and the big front porch was great for dining and watching sunsets... We really did have a great view of the lake. Our trip was at the end of the summer, so the wall AC units weren't a problem for us because it was a little cooler anyway. We absolutely loved the beach and thought it was a nice upgrade from the small public beach we stayed at last year. The kitchen was well stocked but I would suggest that you bring your own forks because there was only five or six to choose from.

Overall, we got what we wanted out of this vacation: a week on the beach! I would suggest you pack your own towels and laundry detergent if you stay here. Unfortunately, we had the same issue as the previous reviewer regarding communication with the owner. It was hard to get answers out of her in a timely manner and we found ourselves getting more information from the neighbors than we got from her.

If you're looking for some fun on the beach, this is a great house. I personally would not bring small children to this house again and we will probably try a new vacation spot next year.
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Lake Michigan Beach Home with Views/ Water Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172212vb
-(616) 399-8421 (Michigan, USA)
Holland Western Michigan
United States
2

Very disappointed for the cost we paid

  • 2 of 5
When we booked the house, it had advertised "central air conditioning". When we arrived we found out it was just one window unit upstairs upstairs and one downstairs. I asked the owner about it and she said it was "central air units". (since then, she has changed the advertisement) They did not keep the house cool and it got very warm in the bedrooms & kitchen upstairs. All except for one bedroom, there are no window coverings at all for protection. Also, one bedroom did not even have any door covering. The house was not well maintained. The air-conditioner upstairs was not fitted properly for the window (open hole underneath) and leaked a lot of condensation on to the carpet. I would imagine the floor beneath was not in good shape.
The owner was not very good about answering my questions on email. I had several questions about what should be provided at the house & what we needed to bring. She would only answer one question so I would have to email multiple times. Toilet paper & paper towers were supposed to be provided. We had to purchase 10 rolls of toilet paper and another roll of paper towels during our stay. The owner did bring over 4 rolls of toilet paper that lasted less than 2 days. She did make sure we had a crock pot & blender that I asked about.
The phone service was very poor and we could not use our cell phones in the house.
The beach that we were allowed to use was only in a certain area. We had not been aware of that and people had to tell us. It was a pretty small area that we were supposed to be in.
The last evening it was extremely hot in the house. the AC units could not keep it cool. We had just cleaned the house and the power went out. It stayed out. We could not use anything (including the toilet) and it was only getting hotter. We had to leave. I emailed the owner to let her know & asked her about getting some money back since we could not stay the last night. She did not respond except to say she would send a DVD to me that we could not get out (with no power). We still have not received the DVD.
We did have a wonderful 3 generational family vacation. The weather was wonderful. We would not recommend this property to others for the price
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house is listed correctly that it has window units. It does not say central air and has never. It is my belief that there were more people in the house then should have been. I filled up the toliet paper holders and put extra toilet paper in each bathroom. I recieved a call the next day that more toilet paper was needed. Four rolls in one day? As for the power being out It was a huge storm and the power was not out for that long. But totaly out of my control. The house was not very clean when left and downstairs toilet was plugged and I needed to clean the carpets. There was no video in the DVD player, that why I did not send it. The family before is a doctor from Chicago and they loved the house. I consistainly maintain everything in the house.
business
Lake Michigan Beach Home with Views/ Water Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172212vb
-(616) 399-8421 (Michigan, USA)
Holland Western Michigan
1

House

  • 1 of 5
Positive: fantastic view
The house was dirty with a lot of property faults:

• beds were made but not clean. We had to wash it before using.
• Crumbs on the dining table
• wet sheet in washer
• quilt and sheet in dryer
• spills in the refrigerator
• dirty windows
• kitchen glasses stained
• dishes stained and in poor condition
• barbeque is extremely polluted and not usable
• clean sheets from dryer thrown on folding table unfolded
• drips and smudges on the fridge
• dirty toilets scum build up
• bathrooms not cleaned

Besides this dirt a lot of things are broken, do not work or are missing:
• No keys and only one opener for the garage. For 7 persons
• Icemaker does not work and is full of insects
• Broken lamp in the entrance area – Danger !!
• No WiFi and Internet
• Broken window in the dining room
• the toilet in the basement looses water
• broken garden furniture just thrown in the garden
• cell phones do not work in this area and in case of emergency you first
have to drive!
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway

Map

Map

Nearest Beach
2 Metres
Kirk Park
Car: necessary

Bike paths that you can bike to both Holland and Grand Haven from.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $315 Per night

Holland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Base Rate
3 night minimum stay
$315
$2,205
 
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Holland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (5)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Other Vacation Properties

  • 4 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$3,500 - $4,300 per week
3 - 30 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 2 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 18
$3,300 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 13

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote