Extremely disappointed in this home and the professionalism of the renter
My rental agreement began at 2:00 pm on Friday, but at 8:00 that evening the house still hadn’t been cleaned since the previous renters. The house was filthy. Beer cans everywhere, no clean linens, food left out on the balcony with cigarette butts, pots and pans with food in them left on the stove (these had an incredible amount of mold growing) and the smell was so bad my friends couldn’t set food inside the kitchen. I called the property manager at 8:00 to let her know we had a huge issue and that the house hadn’t been cleaned and she said “I know, I am sorry, I couldn’t get anyone over there.” How unprofessional. If she had known the home wasn’t clean, why didn’t she call me at 2:00 to tell me? I was astonished that this was allowed to happen, especially because I had e-mailed her some concerns based off of a bad review that I read about the cleanliness of the home and she assured me that the home would be professionally cleaned and we would be provided with clean linens. This is a quote from the e-mail that she sent to me on June 27: "The cleaning crew comes in after each checkout . Bedding is washed between each checkout. I provide toliet paper, paper towels, dish rags ect." This, in fact, was a lie. She told me someone would be out in the morning, but when I didn’t accept that (I had 10 friends coming – including a baby) and we could not stay in this filthy house, she moved us to another home about 10 minutes away. The beach house that she moved us into was cleaner than the first, but it still wasn't up to the standards that I was expecting. There were dead bugs everywhere, including large moths on the floors. If a cleaning crew really did enter, this would have been cleaned. A dirty t-shirt was found on one of the couches, there were ants all over the sink, and there were only 5 rolls of toilet paper in the entire house. I'm not sure how 5 rolls of toilet paper would get 10 people through an entire weekend. In an e-mail sent to me from the property manager, I was told that we would be provided with paper towels and dish rags. There was 1/2 a roll of paper towel and no dish rags, so we had to go out and purchase our own. This home had a lot of things broken including a missing drawer in the kitchen, no door handle on the fridge, and a broken exterior handle on the sliding door. The bathroom upstairs had a leak in the hot water nozzle and leaked water onto the bathroom floor. After the first night, we noticed water damage on the kitc
Owner's Response: The house was not completely cleaned but beds and sheets had been done, due to death in family and was unable to contact tenants due to lateness. Once they arrived which was late at night I took them to a another house on Lake Michigan which they loved. Once they left that house at the end of the rental period it looked like a frat party had occurred. It is interesting to me that the comments of which were made about another house were exactly how this party left the new house that I put them into. It is clear to me that this post was done to excuse the condition that they left the house in at the end of the rental period.
Helpful votes: 1/2
Did you find this review helpful?