Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Beachfront Home with Sunrise & Mt. Baker Views

Virginia Barry

Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Manager

Virginia Barry

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 10, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Beachfront Home with Sunrise & Mt. Baker Views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Lummi Island House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Great Family Beachfront Home where you can watch the sun rise over majestic Mt. Baker, stroll the long beach or just relax in one of the lounge chairs on the patio. This beach is noted for agate hunting and is a great spot to start your kayaking trip. Children love to make forts from the driftwood on the beach

The home has been remodeled yet still retains the cozy atmosphere of 'Grandma's Beach House'. It comes with everything needed for a fun getaway. The kids can play on the beach and the parents can watch from the patio. The Kitchen has been totally remodeled and the furniture almost all new. There is a large Family Room, Living Room with Queen Sleeper Sofa, Master Bedroom with Queen Size Bed and guest bedroom with 2 Twin Beds and 2 baths. It comes with BBQ,TV,DVD,VCR, picnic tables & lounge chairs. The home has a delightful history which we have set down in writing for you to enjoy. SECOND BATH REMODELED THIS YEAR. PET FRIENDLY

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Virginia Barry (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 10, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beachfront Home with Sunrise & Mt. Baker Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
5

Great little beach house!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great time at this beach house. It was very private and relaxing, and super clean and comfortable! We loved our stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Bellevue, WA
5

Wonderful Place! We Loved It!

  • 5 of 5

Our family just returned from a stay at this property. We had a wonderful time! The property was just as described. It was immaculately clean and well maintained. The kitchen was well equipped and the beds were very comfy. We spent hours at the beach (which was just steps away) and then enjoyed our evenings relaxing at the house. It was a great size for our family of five. The only drawback was that we regret not staying longer! We hope to be back next summer-- and rent kayaks! Virginia was wonderful to work with! We highly recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Denver, CO
5

Perfect for Wedding Guests!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I recently attended a wedding on Lummi Island, and had the great good fortune of staying for a long weekend at "Grandma's Beachhouse." We could not have had a nicer welcome for our first trip to the Pacific Northwest. The house was as advertised (the photos really don't do it justice!), was in excellent condition, was easy to get to, and was well situated, with great views. We would highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy that you had a good time at the home. It is a relaxing home with gorgeous views. I try hard to make my guests have a good time and am always here to help out.
Geneva, OH
5

Relaxing and Comfy

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I made the trip from Cleveland to visit our niece and nephew for a vacation and they thought we would enjoy the San Juan Islands and how right they were. We found Grandma's House on VRBO and were excited that we could include their 2 dogs - they are both busy veteranarians and a vacation from their busy practice in Seattle was just what the doctor(s) ordered! Lummi Island is charming, quaint, remote and full of amazing views and ! Grandma's House was situated right on the beach with an amazing view of Baker Mountain. The house was large and the kitchen was very well equipped and obviously remodeled and the house was very well maintained and very clean. The bedrooms were older but I think that added to the charm and the beds were VERY comfortable. The second bathroom is located at the back of the house away from the bedrooms but convenient if coming in from enjoying the beach. There kitchen had everything including some spices and things that you might not want to buy for a vacation trip but would need for cooking. There were extra beach chairs, lots of extra towels (even those designated for the dogs!) and beach blankets for the cool evenings outside! We liked having evening snacks and wine at the picnic table outside enjoying the view. There were beautiful flowers in planters outside that added to the charm and games available so we enjoyed a game of scrabble on the picnic table. The only thing that was missing was a firepit - we would have really enjoyed that outside at night. The days were very warm and the house did heat up a little but quickly cooled down in the evening in the bedrooms with the window fans. I did find it interesting that none of the windows in the front opened at all and so we couldn't get any breezes to flow through except for the front door.

There were games that we enjoyed and I thought it was nice that there were paperback books for our enjoyment and a nice note that we could take them with us if we started one we enjoyed! We enjoyed lunch at the Beach Cafe (I think that is what is was called) that is owned by the Willows Inn and their outside beer garden. All in all, this was a perfect home for our stay and we would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
lake forest, ca
5

Can't wait to get back

  • 5 of 5

Loved it!! Felt like home only miles away and right on the water. Very comfortable and everything needed was there. Made friends with a neighbor and went out crabbing. Look forward to going back as often a possible. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that my guests have a good time at the home. This is exactly what I want for everyone who stays at "Grandma's" and strive hard to make it happen.
Sammamish, WA
5

Relaxation at its best!

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time on Lummi Island, so wasn’t sure what to expect. I am happy to say we (two adults, a 21-month old and a dog) were not disappointed!

**Lodging** Grandma’s Place was a delight. It offered excellent access to the water and great views of Mt. Baker when the weather permitted. The house was modest and comfortable (the bedrooms are out of date, but the beds were comfortable; kitchen is updated). They have all the amenities you need. In fact, I encourage anyone who plans to stay here to connect with the owner first to see if it is already provided. There was plenty of room to spread out both in- and outside. We were there during a week in August and enjoyed an almost deserted beach and neighborhood. It picked up on the weekend but still wasn’t too bad. My two year old loved the beach and water. A large rock stairway off to the side of the yard provides access to the beach so my toddler wasn’t able to run right into the water. We had to move a lot of the décor on the tables out of reach but found the house to be safe (and quiet) for kiddos. Lastly, there was plenty of room in the backyard to store our kayaks for easy launching (tip: it takes about six hours to kayak around Lummi Island). I would also say it was a pleasure interacting with the owners. They were attentive and gracious hosts who made the experience stress-free. All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much and plan to book it again next summer and possibly during a long weekend in the winter.

**Island** The thing I hate most about vacations is the time and energy it takes to get somewhere before you can relax. This was not the case with Lummi Island. We live in Sammamish and were at the house on a Tuesday within 90 min. The Ferry is small but speedy (just a seven minute ride one way) and the house was less than 10 minutes from the dock. It is a good idea to do your grocery shopping before you arrive since the market is well stocked but small. The library is open T/Th. We were a bit disappointed that the only way to walk around the island was on the small road, which isn’t really relaxing to me. We did not hike the trail to the top of the island, but will do that next time. We tried the café and the food was excellent! We missed Willow’s Lodge because there was a 20 name wait list so make reservations early! In summary, the island was a relaxing, low-maintenance getaway and we will definitely come here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is nice to know that guests had a good time. The reason it is called Grandma's Beach House is because of the furniture in the bedrooms which is reminiscent of yesteryear. If you wish to dine at the famous "Willows" you must have a reservation and do it early. Let me know and I will help you on that one. Virginia

Map

Car: necessary

Casino, 7 minute ferry ride then approximately 6 miles. Hike to the top of Lummi Mt. and get an absolutely spectacular view. There are quite a few walking trails in the area. Bring your hand held GSP and go Geocaching. It is a great 'scavenger hunt' for adults and children.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $175 Per night

Lummi Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Value
Jan 10 2015 - May 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$234
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Cleaning $141.05
Service $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%
Notes Cancellation is 60 days before arrival. Within 60 days you may rebook up to 6 months or if I can rebook your dates I will refund with $50 fee. Bike and kayak rentals available. Book early as they go fast. Good hiking trail and several walking trails. This is an Artist's Island with many venues. Artist's Tour Memorial Day and Labor Day weekends. Well worth going to.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Lummi Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Sleeper Sofa
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
Notes:
7 Minute Ferry Ride and 6 miles to Casino

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

  • 2 BR,
  • 2 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$690 - $750 per week
2 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,470 - $1,800 per week
3 - 4 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote