We stayed at this condo from July 9, 2013 through August 8, 2013. I spoke to the owner on the phone several times and he was very nice and made me feel comfortable renting his unit. The pictures are lovely although some of the realtor websites list it as "moderate" so I wasn't expecting luxury. When we arrived there were 16 light bulbs out and no handles on the windows so they could not be opened or closed. The towel bar in the master bath was sitting on the floor and the towel bar in the master shower was missing. The carpets smelled musty. The window screens were absolutely filthy. We weren't comfortable using the pots and pans because of their condition so I purchased some.
I called the owner, who lives in Aspen but was in Hawaii at the time. He said he would send over a maintenance man who showed up a few days later.
By the way, the tub in the master is a big jacuzzi/shower combination. It was a good 2 foot step to get into it . I would caution anyone with a mobility issue about this.
We have rented in Aspen from VRBO for almost 20 years and have never been disappointed..I've also never written a review but I felt the need to write this one. This owner lives in Aspen and the magazines on the coffee table were from 2009! He obviously doesn't check this unit out or just doesn't care about the condition his renters find it in. At these prices I think the place deserves a walk-through to be sure it's up to par.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, inaccurate as it may be..Please note that my caretaker was over literally the next day to replace the 3 or 4 bulbs that were out, not 16 as exaggerated..I guess you're forgetting to note that you were not flipping the right switch as we discussed..You also fail to note that I immediately sent and paid for a dishwasher repairmen to come over and fix the dishwasher and low and behold you simply weren't hitting the "on" button..Thank you for also not noting that I purchased at your request both a humidifier AND fan so you would be comfortable during your stay (both unnecessary items in my opinion and requested after our deal was struck) but did so as a good will gesture..Thanks for noting that as well as my generous rate reduction since you new my old girlfriend's parents..My repairman fixed the window crank IMMEDIATELY with a temp solution and replaced the crank once the backordered piece arrived..My condo is immaculate and is cleaned after every stay by a professional cleaner who works at Aspen Valley Hospital..Yes, she did neglect to tell me the towel rack fell and apologized..I think there are worse things in life and my repairman fixed that IMMEDIATELY as well..Your pots and pans comment is a joke and requires no response due to it's ridiculous nature as does the tub comment..I've rented my unit well over 60 times and NEVER received a comment about pots/pans nor the depth of my tub..The windows are cleaned monthly by the association and are completely fine..My magazines are simply restaurant guides and "things to do" guides..Yes, there is one from a couple of years ago, however I keep it for nostalgia since my unit is featured in it..Thanks for noting that! I welcome any and all comments however, when they are inaccurate and imaginative like this, I feel like I must respond..My condo is fabulous and I have tons of repeat business..That says it all in my mind..Thanks and always feel free to call me to discuss..
Helpful votes: 2/3
Did you find this review helpful?