Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

1 mile from one of America's cleanest lakes - 3BR/2BA Sleeps 9

Jake Pigue

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Jake Pigue

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
20%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

1 mile from one of America's cleanest lakes - 3BR/2BA Sleeps 9

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

Hot Springs Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Beautiful lake in less than a mile, downtown Hot Springs in less than 30 miles

Do you want to be in nature, away from city noise...but still be close enough to enjoy fine dining and roller coasters? If so, you're in the right place!

Very cozy - only 3/10 mile away from the nearest boat landing.

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath mobile home. Great family get-away or hunter/fisherman's paradise. Enjoy Arkansas' untouched natural beauty at a stay in our beautiful cabin. Surrounded by Ouachita National Forests, Arkansas largest lake (40,000-acres) is a great, relaxing stay for anyone.

Cabin Amenities: Full Kitchen, Linens Provided, Dishes/Cutlery Provided, 42' Big Screen TV (w/ Satellite), Charcoal Grill, Covered Porch (details on amenities page), Free Local/Domestic Long-Distance Calls

Location: 3 Blocks from Boat Landing, Marina less than 1 mile, Off-street parking + room for boat trailer.

Kids: 30-45 mins. from theme/water park (Magic Springs: Hot Springs), 30-45 mins. from children's educational science museum (Mid-America Science Museum: Hot Springs)

Hunting: Winona Wildlife Management Area (deer, turkey, squirrel, bear, furbearers, cottontail, bobwhite, raccoon, mourning dove, coyote, woodcock, snipe and ducks)

What does 'Ouachita' mean?: Ouachita is a Name given to the Ouachita river during the French occupation of the region, originally the name was 'Washita', roughly translated meaning, .'River of good hunting grounds...and sparkling silver water'...

The major Indian tribes that lived along the OUACHITA were the Washita, Caddo, Osage, Tensas, Chickasaw and Choctaw. Time brought about a great change to their primitive world as the white settlers moved into the Ouachita Valley.

Is Lake Ouachita a natural lake or man-made?: Lake Ouachita (Pronounced WAH-shi-tah) is a lake created by the damming of the Ouachita River by Blakely Mountain Dam. The lake is located near Hot Springs, Arkansas. Lake Ouachita is the largest lake in Arkansas, with over 975 miles of shoreline and over 40,000 acres (160 km²). It is completely surrounded by the Ouachita National Forest. Lake Ouachita is located near two other lakes, Lake Hamilton and Lake Catherine. These three lakes, DeGray Lake to the near south, and the thermal springs of Hot Springs National Park make the Ouachita area a popular tourist getaway.

More about Lake Ouachita: The purpose of the man-made Lake Ouachita is flood control, navigation, recreation, and hydroelectricity. It is one of the cleanest lakes in Arkansas, and its wildlife is very diverse. Some people say that there is a species of rare, non-stinging jellyfish in the lake. These jellyfish are said to have been seen mostly by scuba divers diving in the lake. Also sponges are said to live here. One area of Lake Ouachita features large crystal veins, some of the largest in the world. Largemouth, Smallmouth, and Spotted bass are abundant in the lake. So is Bream, Crappie, Catfish, Walleye, and Striped Bass. In fact, Lake Ouachita is known as the Striped Bass Capital of the World. Blakely Mountain Dam started construction in 1948,was completed in 1953, and started generating electricity in 1955, the dam is 1,100 feet long, and has an average height of 205 feet. There are 21 recreational parks and areas, 150 picnic sites, 1,106 campsites, 13 swimming beaches, and 24 boat ramps.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jake Pigue (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
20%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.7
based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
1 mile from one of America's cleanest lakes - 3BR/2BA Sleeps 9
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
Helena Arkansas
1

Filthy and Unkept

  • 1 of 5

The last review here doesn't even go with this property. This property is a trailer so there is no elevator. That review is suppose to go to property 167027 in New Jersey, this property is 167027ha. This property is by far the worst property we have ever vacationed in. It is basically in a trailer park and is renting like it's a four star hotel. When we got there we could either drive the three hours back home with our two cars, six people, jet skis, and dogs or stay here and call owner as we left since there was no way we could find another place to stay with pets and six people at the last minute. The place has holes in the ceiling and walls, dog food was left in fridge, food was burnt on the oven and microwave. The pictures on this site are even outdated. It looks good on here. The place now has vinyl that has been there for a while since it is coming up on all the edges. There was even used bar soap left in both bathrooms. The master bedroom door wouldn't latch and there is no door on the master bath. Therefore our kids and my mother in law saw my wife and I naked during this trip. The other bathroom also didn't latch so one of my sons saw him grandma naked. Yeah we had a great trip in this shack. The porch door also didn't latch and the front door didn't shut right. There is a window broken with fridge sitting in front of it. Cob webs everywhere. Was able to write on mirror in the dirt that everything's filthy. The ac filter looked like it hadn't been changed in a year or more. The grass hadn't been mowed and the place has ants and roaches. Had mildew in cabinets. Ceiling fans filthy. The owner said at first he was going to give us a credit but haven't heard from him again after several calls and emails. I wish that there was a link to load up pictures of the filth. We took over 50 of this dump. A total rip off. Don't stay here.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would first of all like to say I'm sorry that Jim and his family did not have a good time. Vacations get ruined and refunds have to be given. This is definitely not what we want, and in this scenario, no one wins. The core of the issue was a scheduling mix-up for the people who clean our properties. They were unaware that another visitor had just left, and so when Jim and his family arrived, the property had been "lived in". I did give them a full refund, but still allowed them to stay, and even offered to help them find accommodation elsewhere. They chose to stay for the full duration, completely free of charge. He mentioned having difficulty getting in touch with me at the end of his review -- and cell service is very splotchy in the remote/rural area where the property is located, so that is understandable -- but I was available, and again -- did issue a full refund because of the problems. That said, there were some exaggerations, and I would like to clear them up. --About the New Jersey Review: I'm still not sure what this is, as I haven't seen it. As of this writing, our property only shows me 3 reviews since 2008, including the one from Jim, and they are all accurate and relevant. Due to our property's close proximity to Lake Ouachita (<1 mile), the land it is located on is owned by the Corp of Engineers, and as part of the code to keep the lake clean, they don't allow permanent structures. As such, our property and 90% or more of the surrounding properties around Lake Ouachita are mobile homes. Each time someone calls, I do my best to make this clear. Again, no one wins when our guests are unhappy. --About dog food in fridge, food in oven/microwave, soap in bathrooms, cob webs, dirt on mirror, AC filter: As I mentioned above, the people who clean our properties had a scheduling mix up. As a result, someone had JUST LEFT the property a day or two prior, and the property was exactly as the previous renters had left it. We have steady rentals between May-September, and Jim's August 11th was in the heart of that. The dust and cobwebs were definitely an exaggeration, but the state that the property was left in (cleanliness wise) was why he received a full refund. As for the air filters, we do change those out every 3 months, but of course the closer to the 3-month mark you are, the dirtier the filter will appear. --I am going to continue this response, but am running out of room, so I'll continue on another entry...
Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
5

Wonderful place!!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed in the cabin for the 4th of July weekend and we had a wonderful time. We did fireworks, went walking, we cooked outside, we went boating with my sister and friends. I highly recommend the cabin; the place is just beautiful, spacious, clean, the beds are very comfortable, the porch is big, friendly neighborhood, the perfect place to have a good time. I promise you will love it.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5

We currently just stayed in this property. It was great! I would reccomend this property to anyone. Dealing with the property owner was a pleasure and the location was perfect. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Little Rock National
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Hwy 298, Hwy 7
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Car: recommended

Pirate's Cove Cabin Rental - Hideaway Cabin on Lake Ouachita, 3 Blocks from Boat Ramp, 20 miles to Hot Springs Village, 27 miles to Hot Springs

There's definitely something to be said about having your own private cabin settled on Lake Ouachita (3 blocks from nearest boat ramp), one of Arkansas' proudest State Parks, featuring over 1000 miles of shoreline... And yet only needing to travel a short distance to be in the middle of Hot Springs, Arkansas' most attractive locations for entertainment and tourism.

Probably the best thing about the location is the ability to mix the pleasure of the secluded - hiking, biking, boating, swimming, hunting, and enjoying the great outdoors like none other than 'The Natural State' can offer, along with the niceness of Hot Springs - fine dining, horse races, casino slots, bath houses, museums, and so much more.

Feel free to call and ask about nearby restaurants and attractions - we're available most of the time and always happy to help. ;)

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $195 Per night

Hot Springs Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$195
$975
$3,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $45
Tax Rate 13.0%
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Hot Springs Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 1120 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dialup Access
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Attached to master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • First bathroom is attached to master bedroom and has garden tub, shower, and toilet. Second bathroom has tub/shower combo and toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master Bath Attached
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen futon with twin-size bunk top
    Living Room - 1 queen , Hide-a-Bed Couch in living area
  • Master bedroom has king size bed and attached bathroom with garden tub, shower, and toilet. Bedroom 2 has queen size bed, bedroom 3 has queen size futon bunk bed with full size mattress on top.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Very cozy cabin, 1120 square feet. Main living area contains hide-a-bed couch, love seat and large cushioned chair. Coffee table raises for dining purposes. 42 inch big screen TV with Dish Network's Top 200 Programming (Comedy Central, USA, E!, BET, Spike, AMC, IFC, Encore, Disney, Cartoon Network, CMT, MTV1-2, VH1, etc). Board games and playing cards supplied for entertainment. Kitchen has electric stove-top/oven, refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot (coffee grounds/creamer supplied). Charcoal grill outside for grilling.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,210 - $2,000 per week
2 - 3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$300 - $350 per night
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$150 per night
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote