PEACEFUL BASEMENT WALKOUT EFFICIENCY IN COUNTRY BUT CONVENIENT TO ACTIVITIES!

Kathleen Pearson

Speaks english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Kathleen Pearson

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PEACEFUL BASEMENT WALKOUT EFFICIENCY IN COUNTRY BUT CONVENIENT TO ACTIVITIES!

Leesburg Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Efficiency w/ bdrm/living rm/kitchen combo & seperate bath; max2-short term

This walkout efficiency is in the basement of a log house on 15 acres & overlooks over 850 acres of farm land. It is 5 miles to Leesburg & not far from Northern Virginia or the big cities of Washington, DC (45 mi.) and Baltimore, MD (80 mi.).

Many people, visiting or here on business for a short duration, have found this to be convenient to many local businesses as well as those in Northern VA. It is also well situated for those needing temporary residence while seeking permanent housing in the area. This cozy apartment has a living room/queen bedroom area, divided by a screen, a large eat-in kitchen area & a separate bathroom. There is also a nice side yard area to relax in. Some of the furnishings include a nice sized desk, couch & a couple of dressers. The kitchen is equipped w/ a refrigerator, microwave, convection oven, coffee maker, toaster, blender and a single burner. All bowls, pot with lid, casserole dishes, etc. needed for cooking are supplied as well as glasses, dishes & utensils.

Other activities: The Shenandoah National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway are lovely all year round and within easy driving distance. A favorite 'new' attraction to the area is the Udvar-Hazey Center (part of the Air & Space Museum), but advanced reservations are recommended for that! If you wish to visit DC, the Park and Ride is about 40-45 minutes away.

Local websites:: Need a larger space?: loghouserental-va dot com might be a great spot for you!

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Low Allergen Environment
Guestbook comments from the owner
There is so much good storage in the efficiency. Folks can fully unpack and don't have to live out of a suitcase. It was delightful to be clutter free and comfortable.



The efficiency is well supplied. All we had to bring in was food, laundry detergent, and linens (although linens are available if needed). The owner was responsive and helpful.



Bring a flashlight.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Kathleen Pearson

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.9
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Peaceful Basement Walkout Efficiency in Country but Convenient to Activities!
average rating of 3.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Peaceful Basement Walkout Efficiency in Country but Convenient to Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167008
Leesburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
New York
5

LOVELY AND SECLUDED!

  • 5 of 5
I have stayed in the studio for 3-months while working in the area. The efficiency is secluded away from major roads but still only a 10-minute drive to historic downtown Leesburg, outlet mall, and shopping and restaurants. The area is beautiful; there were more than one occasion where a fawn strolled pass the front door. There are also many wineries in the area and windy roads that are great for biking. Overall, a lovely stay that does not break the budget!
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Xiang; I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to have you there too. Good luck to you!
business
Peaceful Basement Walkout Efficiency in Country but Convenient to Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167008
Leesburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
KIRKLAND
1

PROPERTY NICE, OWNER, NOT SO MUCH

  • 1 of 5
The Property was nice, BUGS in apt, she obviously KNEW, has a vac just for them, no mention, tho...got in my nose at night... furniture was OK, bed not great, pillows HORRID. 1 washcloth for each of us, stayed 10 days...so plan on your own! INTERNET FIASCO ...NO password, so hackers can get in easily, AND owner left her I pad in common room - ON!(took us many days to notice it) We were gone every day, most all day...charged us over 160.00 EXTRA for internet...MANY unpleasant exchanges with her over it...do NOT count on getting deposit back, she even said we left it VERY clean, but kept it all...great location, lovely setting...awful owner, AND STINK BUGS!
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This couple stayed & paid for NINE NIGHTS at this apartment during their daughter's wedding; it cost the 2 of them less than $65.00/night w/an additional $150.00 for a “Good Care deposit (refundable w/no damage, loss, excessive cleaning or BREACH OF CONTRACTS)”. If they had read the comments from the links under my signature, they would have known about the stink bugs, which invaded many areas in 2010. I also say in the email with the cost & contract, that the efficiency is in a fairly wooded area & that there are bugs & allergens around, “The VARIED CONDITIONS OF THE ENVIRONMENT are not under our control.” After their call about having difficulty with getting onto the internet, THEY NEVER CALLED me with any questions, concerns or complaints.

I leave all guests with a set of towels for each person but there is also a WASHER & DRYER in the basement that they knew of & used.

The most efficient way to get internet to this log house in the woods, is via Verizon’s 4G LTE modem/router; it's installed in the basement so that those staying there can get reception as well as the guests that might be using the area above (although no guests stay in both locations at the same time). The signal doesn’t reach the bedroom floor of this solid house, let alone someone outside, hence no need for password!

She asked in an inquiry email if there was cable & wifi. I called & spoke with her explaining the wifi was limited & she said that she was asking for her husband who wouldn’t want to be attending all the pre wedding activities that she would, & he would be using it. SHE SIGNED THE INTERNET CONTRACT EXPLAINING THE LIMITATIONS & CONSEQUENCES OF OVERAGE. In response to the usage warning I received from Verizon, she said, “Sorry… We are old in tech savvy people… Yes we are used to unlimited, and have been getting a lot of business stuff going thru…”

The night before they arrived, I was completing preparation & had used my iPad to check the internet strength, accidentally leaving it behind; the cover was on and password protected. I sent them an email that night explaining my mistake. I also called and texted them when I was notified from Verizon that there was massive usage occurring. THEY USED 1597MB; that’s 832MB OVER THE ALLOWABLE 765MB; 832MB times $.20/MB equals $166.40. The deposit was $150.00.

There are always two sides to every story and I would welcome any questions about any of our three rentals; we are proud of all of them!
business
Peaceful Basement Walkout Efficiency in Country but Convenient to Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167008
Leesburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
4

EXCELLENT VALUE! WONDERFUL SETTING!

  • 4 of 5
This efficiency was a great place for us to launch visits with family and friends from Romney, WV to Bowie MD and from Front Royal VA to Harrisburg PA, as well as a trip into Washington, D.C. We lived in the D.C. area for a long time so we knew this location would work well for this visit. This was my first experience with HomeAway. The property listing was accurate. It was clean and well-maintained and the owner was very responsive and fair to deal with. I would like to stay here again if I were in the area and recommend it to others.

Some minor inconveniences: I was confused about how to track my share of Internet usage because the Web site for doing so seemed to give conflicting information. I probably curtailed my usage probably more than necessary to avoid going over my allotment. Another thing was that the kitchen closet doors were locked. I didn't realize they were supposed to be available to me and didn't ask for them to opened, although the owner had arranged to unlock the door to access the Internet connection. Another thing: I arrived at night. A light was on as promised, but I was a little surprised to find the path down the hill, the height of the basement of the home, to be made of large, stable but very irregular stones like those pictured by the entrance. If you are not sure on your feet, this could be a challenge and you won't be rolling your luggage to the door. Still, these concerns were minor in context and did not dampen my enthusiasm for this property. I would much prefer to stay here than any hotel under similar circumstances.
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I'm so glad you would like to come back but regret that you might not have felt comfortable enough to contact me about your issues/concerns while you were there! You did explain them to me when I asked you for suggestions at the end of your stay and I have since updated my info email to let future inquirer's know that I leave the closet doors ajar, that they may use the grassy area next to the stones to roll their luggage to the door and to feel free to call me concerning the internet usage allotment. Hope you come again, take advantage of the "friend" discount and please call with any questions!
business
Peaceful Basement Walkout Efficiency in Country but Convenient to Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167008
Leesburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
St Petersburg FL USA
5

RELAXING ROMANTIC GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
We enjoyed our week at this peaceful, quiet location. The rolling hills were a lovely sight and leaves gradually turning red, orange and yellow during the week were beautiful. The accomodations were comfortable, clean, well-equipped, and conveniently close to Dulles Airport. It was a pleasure to drive "home" every evening from our explorations and be greeted by deer, rabbits and dark romantic starry skies especially after busy traffic-filled days in Washington DC. We like driving (had a rented convertible) so also took day trips to Baltimore MD, Silver Spring MD, Charlottesville VA for Jefferson's Monticello home, the amazing Luray Caverns, and several historic parks and home tours in the surrounding area. We sampled a few local restaurants in Leesburg on King St, and enjoyed the historic architecture of the buildings in town and everywhere we went. It was very different from where we live, and that made it a unique and memorable vacation for us. We definitely recommend this place. Thanks for sharing your place with us!
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You two were the most adventurous couple we've had stay at the efficiency! So glad you enjoyed Virginia, especially your "home" away from home.
Thank you for taking good care of our efficiency; we were fortunate to have you as guests too!
business
Peaceful Basement Walkout Efficiency in Country but Convenient to Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167008
Leesburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Manassas, VA
1

NICE BUT DISSAPOINTED

  • 1 of 5
The efficiency is part of a big house in the midst of beautiful surroundings. The atmosphere of the location is truly magnificent. Every morning there were squirrels and deer in the backyard.

The interior of the efficiency is basic, but very well maintained, all that one needs is there. The utility room wasn't finished yet, but washer and dryer were installed.
Down Town Leesburg was only minutes away.

The whole payment transaction went through mail. We never met the owner in person, not when we arrived nor when we checked out. After we left the apartment in the same mint condition we found it in, ten days later we got an e-mail stating that we supposedly left the door open and that the place was a mess. Until this day we are waiting on a refund of our deposit. Several e-mails could not help to solve this situation.
After a wonderful stay at the efficiency, it was a dissapointing ending.
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As always, there are two sides to every story.
The deposit was returned to George. It was sent to the address on the last of many emails received, all from the Netherlands.
We do agree that this efficiency is close to town, clean, well furnished and in a lovely, quiet location!
Please refer to other reviews of this rental and feel free to email or call the owner with questions.
Thank you for your interest in this efficiency!
business
Peaceful Basement Walkout Efficiency in Country but Convenient to Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167008
Leesburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Edinburgh, UK
5

RURAL HEAVEN

  • 5 of 5
I stayed in the apartment with my girlfriend in November 2008. It was clean and had everything necessary for 2 people. Whilst Hamilton is small the seafood restaurant was excellent and well worth the visit. Nearby Leesburg and Purcelville cater for shopping and there is an excellent outlet mall in Leesburg. It is only a short drive to Dulles and the surrounding countryside is lovely. The only downside was the length of time commuting to Northern Virginia e.g Arlington (up to 90 minutes) but other than that - just perfect!!!
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was delightful to have another respectful renter who enjoyed the efficiency and the surrounding area so much! I wish I could do something about the traffic to Northern Virginia; it's best to go when commuters are least expected and to use the Park & Ride too.
You are welcome to stay again!

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Dulles - IAD
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Whites Ferry
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Point of Rocks, MD
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
15 & 7
Nearest Beach
75 Miles
beach
Car: necessary

This apartment is roughly 17 miles to Dulles and 45 to Washington, DC; it's between Hamilton & Leesburg, VA; both cities have shops & attractive sites all within walking distance of their downtown area. Just outside of Leesburg is Leesburg Corner Outlet with great, popular discount stores. There are many historical buildings in the county; one, just south, is Oatlands Plantation & offers tours most of the year. Luray Caverns & Charles Town Races are within an easy drive too. The Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority owns & operates many parks in the area, some with golf courses, pools, farm demonstrations, corn maize & all sorts of recreational activities. White's Ferry can take you across the Potomac River to Maryland & Civil War history abounds in Loudoun Co with the largest engagement taking place at Ball's Bluff. For a more physical or mental challenge there are the newly renovated Ida Lee Park & Recreational Center & the Rust Library, conveniently located next to each other & offer many varied activities.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Leesburg Apartment Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%
Cleaning USD85

Notes

  • Holiday Rates = $450/wk
  • WEEKS WITH A HOLIDAY = $450.00/wk., minimum
    GUESTS MUST BE AT LEAST 25 YEARS OLD
    Linens provided @ $35.00/week; Cleaning fee=$85.00; Good Care security deposit=$150.00
    50% deposit required to hold weekly rental; CONFIRM w/ balance or at least by 45 days prior to arrival.
    Any dates requested are only tentatively offered as available; payment of the deposit amount quoted, together with completed and signed forms must be received before a reservation is confirmed. Without deposit and forms any contact is only considered an inquiry and until confirmed with 100% payment, rates are subject to change without notice.  100% payment of the total equals 100% commitment, from both of us, to the rental dates and total fees associated with them. Security deposit required & refundable w/ no damage, loss or excessive cleaning.
  • Payment: Check, Wire Transfer, Money Order or Credit Card Via PayPal (any service fees will be deducted from damage/loss deposit).

Amenities

Leesburg Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Town
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Kitchenette
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Studio - 1 queen
  • If you bring your own QUEEN size bed linens, there are, depending on the season, a light blanket (flannel sheet), coverlet or light bedspread, quilt and pillows; if any of these are soiled, $25.00 would be deducted from the deposit.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Patio
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Low Allergen Environment
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • live theater
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
Notes:
NO GUESTS UNDER 25 YEARS OLD There is a shared pool table and treadmill that can be enjoyed. MiFi now available! Most cellular companies have coverage in this area. DIRECTV now available! Linens can be provided for extra charge. No smoking, no exterior fires or cooking and no hunting on this property!

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website: