HEADLAND HOUSE **TWO HOMES**PANORAMIC VIEWS**BEACH ACCESS

Lisa Strauss - Headland House

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HEADLAND HOUSE **TWO HOMES**PANORAMIC VIEWS**BEACH ACCESS

Deer Harbor Estate Rental Photos and Description

Estate, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Headland House is a luxuriously appointed Orcas Island vacation rental home located in the upscale community of Spring Point above the glistening waters of Deer Harbor. Situated on a private 8-acre estate with BEACH ACCESS.

Headland House is one of the few homes on the island that has a central Air conditioning system in the main house. We are adding split a/c unit to the guest house for summer 2015 as our summer months seem to be getting hotter every year.

Headland House offers one of the most stunning panoramic water views on Orcas island and is considered to be one of the finest vacation rental homes in the San Juan Islands. Headland House welcomes you with its Asian contemporary inspired design, enter the home through a walkway bridge and you will find yourself in this magical and whimsically decorated 5,750 sq ft, 5 bedrooms and 3.5 bath home that sleeps 10 guests. One of the nicest features is that every room has windows galore, bringing the outdoors in. An open floor plan provides wonderful togetherness from the professionally outfitted gourmet kitchen to the cozy luxurious living area to the wraparound covered porches with numerous private decks and patio areas adorning this special home.

Unique decorative accents will delight you as you make yourself at home. In every nook and cranny you will discover delightful accents and provisions such as, top of the line Spring Air pillow top mattresses, TV's in most bedrooms hooked up to Dish network satellite premium movie channels, luxurious bath towels, spa towels and robes, 1000 thread count professionally pressed linens with matching duvet covers, down alternative pillows and comforters to make your stay 'heavenly'.

A special feature of Headland House includes a detached guest house which is separated by a walkway bridge from the main house. Each of the homes has its own separate entry and parking area making this ideal for the couple who would love their own private space. A cozy two bedroom one bath house in its own right, this delightful 'guest house' has a master suite with Queen size bed and has been decorated in a Serengeti theme with beautiful giraffe accent lamps and magnificent custom bedding. The second guest bedroom has magical tree monkey theme capturing your imagination for your restful repose at the end of the day, a trundle bed that makes up into two twin size beds and even has an African monkey sitting on the bed welcoming you. The living room area features a queen size sofa bed , a lovely dining area with enough seating for six guests, full kitchen complete with a stove, refrigerator, microwave, a full size bath, flat screen TV’s, DVD, guest house has its own laundry area with washer and dryer, and best of all - French doors opening up to the wrap around deck with the most amazing views where the ocean and mountains suddenly take on an unparalleled majesty.

In the main house you will find the first Master bedroom suite beautifully decorated in a Taj Mahal theme with a King size canopy bed with privacy panels, a 42” flat screen TV and DVD tucked away in an exquisite armoire. The adjoining master bathroom features double sinks, shower, large soaking tub. The second master bedroom suite is located on the lower level which has been decorated in a lovely Japanese Tea Garden theme with a King size platform style bed, triple dresser and a TV is housed inside the armoire. Both master suites feature a comfortable seating area. You cannot miss the adjoining full size bathroom with a whimsical wall covering of Chinese cloths. The third bedroom theme will cause you to day dream of far off places riding camels through the desert, located on the lower level and features a queen size sofa bed , with a pillow topper with lush soft bedding, this bedroom also serves as a dual purpose with a two person office set up for guests that need to stay in touch with work while on vacation, free long distance, a speaker phone, 3-in one printer, fax machine with fax line and wireless high speed internet.

As you enter the great room living and dining room area you will be immediately drawn to the expansive ocean views with a full bank of windows that expands across the entire length of the room, large leather circular sofa which serves as a media room with a 105” projection theater room system with HD satellite TV, surround sound, Sony play station, DVD library in addition to a plethora of books for your reading pleasure, the most discerning chef will find himself in heaven in this gourmet kitchen, as preparations for sumptuous meals using upscale appliances, the dining area can comfortably seat 10 guests, laundry area with super large capacity Maytag Bravos washer and dryer. Head downstairs to the African elephant theme game room where you can enjoy a game of billiards, wet bar, flat screen TV, Ipod station, board games, or sit in front of a cozy fire in the beautiful contemporary fireplace.

Outside you will find a hot tub. A nice private and tranquil setting with old growth tall trees surround a wonderful picnic area with a horseshoe pit and badminton area, a top of the line gas grill and outdoor oven. Enjoy walking down a gently sloping hiking path which will lead you to a private owners beach and dock where you can enjoy fishing, kayaking, or beach combing.

For planning sleeping capacity and booking sequence the bedroom layout for Headland House is as follows:

Main House

#1 Bedroom Master Bedroom Main floor – King size bed

#2 Bedroom Master Suite Lower level – King size bed

#3 Bedroom Lower level – Queen size sofa bed

Guest House

#4 Bedroom – Master Bedroom Queen size bed

#5 Bedroom – two Twin size beds

Rental Summary Fees:

*Rate Information: The Headland House property has two homes the main house has 3 bedrooms and the guest house has 2 bedrooms for a total of 5 bedrooms. Our rates are based on the total number of bedrooms required for the entire stay (each bedroom is double occupancy). Bedrooms in each of the houses that are not ordered are closed off during the stay.

We offer the option to rent just the main house, guest house or a combination of both homes. If a guest chooses to rent just the main house and would like exclusive use of the property please refer to our other VRBO listing for renting one bedroom in the Headland Guest House listing #440453.

* The base 1 bedroom rate is shown on the rate schedule. Each additional bedroom is $100.00 per night, plus tax, cleaning is included the rate. .

Maximum Occupancy = 10 people (includes visitors)

*Reservations Deposits: A 20% deposit is required at time of booking, the balance is due 60 days prior to arrival.

* Application Fee - $35.00 (waived for repeat guests)

* Damage Insurance - $45.00 (required to rent this home).

* Time Change Option - $20.00/hr Early or Late Check out (not available summer season or on back to back bookings)

* Pet Fee - $25.00 /nt based on pets 25 lbs or less for pets over 25 lbs. $10.00 additional fee.

* Refundable Security Deposit - $250.00

* Refundable Pet Deposit - $100.00

Minimum Stay Requirements:

*June, July and August minimum 7 nights (Sunday to Sunday).

*We will consider shorter stays during the peak season if a full week stay has not been booked by the 15th of April with a surcharge of $250.00 for less than 7 nights.

*Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Years Week minimum 5 nights.

*All other Federal Holidays 3 nights.

*Balance of the year flexible

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FINDING OUR WEBSITE:

1. Click Owner Information Tab

2. Scroll down to bottom and look for the words: Links to more information.

3. Just below the words look for the blue highlighted link that says CLICK HERE – to visit Headland House Website.

4. This will automatically take you to our own website.

5. Please note: Our reservation system is disabled for use with third party links. If you would like to obtain a Quote or Book a Reservation do not use this link enter Headland House into your browser.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Lisa Strauss - Headland House (Owner)
Advertiser since 2004
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Lisa Strauss - Headland House

My husband and I live on Orcas island and manage our own vacation homes so this enables us to respond to our guests needs quickly. You will find that we provide over the top amenities that are not typically found in most vacation homes as our goal is to exceed our guests expectations! Please read the reviews about Headland House on the Trip Advisor website as this is the review site we have chosen for guests to write reviews about us.

Lisa Strauss - Headland House purchased this estate in 2007

Why Lisa Strauss - Headland House chose Deer Harbor

One of the major benefits in renting from us is we have a legal vacation rental permit and proudly list our permit number on all of the listing sites. Guests can be reassured by renting from us that you will not have the worry of losing your lodging and your vacation spoiled by renting from an owner that is operating an illegal rental.

We have owned Timber Lodge another vacation rental home on Orcas Island for a number of years and found that everyone that visited Orcas Island had wonderful things to say about it and it has fast become our most popular vacation property in our portfolio. When we made the decision to purchase a second vacation home we had seriously considered buying a property on San Juan Island but Orcas Island felt more comfortable especially since we had our entire infrastructure already in place. We considered a waterfront home but the views were actually more spectacular from a distance than up close. The main factor was all that Headland House really needed was some interior design touches to make it a truly special home. The water views and eight acres of privacy makes Headland House is one of the best attributes along with having a totally separate guest house that has the same quality construction as the main house. The Guest house is a miniature version of the main house. The architect created the most gorgeous skylight in the kitchen that is actually more beautiful than the one in the main house. I would say the decking and patio areas attached to every bedroom is another super nice feature and best yet we are walking distance to our own private beach and have dock privileges. Oh..yes and everyone loves the projection TV in the great room!

What makes this estate unique

Headland House sits at the end of a point which is why the home has spectacular views. One of the nicest features of the property is that the main house and guest house face in opposite directions and have parking at both locations so each home has really nice privacy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Headland house is an amazing vacation home. Lisa left us a little card welcoming us to the house. There was pancake mixes and scone mixes for the morning to prepare which was an added bonus. The view was amazing and wish we had more days to enjoy the house and the area. Will for sure be back. Don't try to use iphone maps to get you there though. It will take you to the wrong location on a private road. Also make sure to plan ahead for meals. Only one restaurant in Deer Harbor and a little deli and store but limited hours. We made the mistake of not having planned dinner or groceries before arrival, but the Deer Harbor Inn is fantastic for a nice dinner and Eastsound is not too far, just not that late at night. A wonderful trip and hope to be back soon.



Original review posted on Airbnb

Date of Stay 9/20 - 9/22/14
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 27

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 31 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Headland House **Two Homes**Panoramic Views**Beach Access
average rating of 4.5 based on 31 reviews
business
Headland House **Two Homes**Panoramic Views**Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166452vb
-Toll Free: (800) 418-7990 ext, 7
Deer Harbor Orcas Island
Atlanta Ga
5

Exceeded expectations!

  • 5 of 5
This house has everything including a phenomenal view. Very comfortable with every amenity you could desire. The owners are very easy to work with and take a personal interest in your stay. You will not be disappointed!
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Tom, thank you for the kind and gracious review. All the extra effort in providing all the extra goodies and surprises warms are hearts when we hear that we exceeded your expectations. Our goal is to provide a wonderful place to enjoy time with family and friends as memories are ever lasting. Orcas is certainly a little piece of Heaven and we enjoy having folks that come who appreciate all the beauty and wonder that nature has to offer right at our doorstep. You and your friends were dream guests, we would love to have you back again!
Warmly, Lisa and Richard
business
Headland House **Two Homes**Panoramic Views**Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166452vb
-Toll Free: (800) 418-7990 ext, 7
Deer Harbor Orcas Island
3

Renter beware

  • 3 of 5
This beautiful home is everything the listing describes. However, if a renter does not carefully examine and follow precisely all the terms and rules of the 7-page rental agreement, he/she will lose the prepaid security deposit and/or perhaps more. In addition to having prepaid the rental fee, application fee, cleaning fee, damage insurance fee, guest service fee and security deposit, it is imperative that you follow the owner's Check-in Instructions which requires upon arrival a "walk-through inspection ...review of an inspection report and the known issues list .... and notify the caretaker immediately of any inconsistencies between the report and your findings." Upon check-out you will be sent a minutely detailed report with photos of fingerprints, scratch, stains (magnified to appear horrible) and charged for time spent "looking for misplaced items but later found" such as 1 washcloth, 2 cups, 1 teaspoon etc found in the wrong hamper, drawer or shelf. You will be charged for re-positioning (about 24 -36 inches) a sectional sofa that slipped off an area rug onto wood floors. And the list continues. Be fully prepared to lose your security deposit.
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were saddened that this stay did not go well. This was a case where this home was not a good fit for these guests. Every stay in summer is a back to back and with two houses it is critical that guests leave the home neat and orderly. This is not a basic bare bones rental, our turnaround time not only includes the needed cleaning but necessary prep and restocking time for the many extra amenities that we offer our guests that are not provided in most vacation rentals. When we entered the house and observed the condition in which these guests left the home we were appalled. We can and do over look minor infractions but this was a case of total disregard for our beautiful furnishings. These did not appear to be well behaved children, carpets and upholstered chairs were terribly stained, damaged window screen with kids climbing out the bedroom window causing a lamp to fall and dent the night table, glass patio table placed upside down over the hot tub, kitchen and bathrooms were all left in shambles. This was blatant disregard not just for us as owners but for the next guests that could not check in on time due to the extra cleaning time required. Most guests treat our home with respect and as if it is their own and it is a given the security deposit is returned.
business
Headland House **Two Homes**Panoramic Views**Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166452vb
-Toll Free: (800) 418-7990 ext, 7
Deer Harbor Orcas Island
Nebraska
5

What a beautiful house, and nice view!

  • 5 of 5
The Asian and African themed decor in this house....wow! We got a lot of decorating ideas for our own home. :) Nicely done. Spacious, clean, well-maintained home with a view to the mountains on the mainland east of the island as well as a peek-a-boo view of the Olympics. In addition, a view of Deer Harbor and a bit of a view of the waterway between islands, so we could see the ferry coming and going. We even got the thrill of watching a float plane take off from the harbor several times! The owners went above and beyond on what they provided for kitchen amenities/appliances. Good selection of cookbooks, spices, breadmaker (with some of the ingredients provided -- thank you), coffee/espresso/tea, all sorts of utensils and cooking vessels and appliances and gadgets. If you're a cook, you're going to love this kitchen with the large, beautiful countertops, big double sink, nice stove and double oven, etc. <-- with emphasis on the etc. You'll just have to see it. Really modern, large washer and dryer. Awesome master bedroom, bath, walk-in closet, and big French doors out onto the big deck with patio chairs and BBQ. Pool table and games in the basement. Roomy, warm hot tub we enjoyed by moonlight. There's even emergency equipment and lanterns in one of the cabinets. Coolers in the coat closet. The owners thought of everything. Music, tv, good speed Internet, hall bathroom, bridge approach to front door, nice drive in. Great place!
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: My husband and I were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our home.
business
Headland House **Two Homes**Panoramic Views**Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166452vb
-Toll Free: (800) 418-7990 ext, 7
Deer Harbor Orcas Island
Rocklin, Ca.
5

Spectacular

  • 5 of 5
What an amazing home with spectacular views of the water. The house is decorated beautifully, with special touches everywhere. The gourmet kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed to cook our meals. We rented both the main house and guest house which gave our 2 families more then enough room. The big projection screen was great for watching movies, or sports. Everyone enjoyed the hot tub and pool table down stairs. We loved exploring Orcas Island. Eastsound is a cute small town with great restaurants, and shops. We could not get enough of the beautiful views that surrounded us. The owners were great to work with and very accommodating. We had such a wonderful stay, we can't wait to go back!
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Headland House has a walking trail to access a private beach and dock privileges perfect for fishing, lauching a kayak or beach combing. Arriving late...ask about our food provisioning service where we can stock the referigerator and pantry ready for your arrival

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Deer Harbor Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Oct 1 2014 - Nov 22 2014
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bdrms)
Nov 23 2014 - Nov 30 2014
5 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Dec 1 2014 - Dec 18 2014
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 4 2015
5 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Jan 5 2015 - Mar 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Apr 1 2015 - May 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
May 31 2015 - Jun 27 2015
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Jun 28 2015 - Sep 5 2015
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Sep 6 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Oct 1 2015 - Nov 18 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bdrms)
Nov 19 2015 - Nov 29 2015
5 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bedrms)
Nov 30 2015 - Dec 17 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
1 Bdrm (see notes more bdrms)
Dec 18 2015 - Jan 2 2016
5 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Application Fee $35
Pet Fee $275 + Tax
Damage Insurance $45
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 10.1%
Notes Rates are based on the total number of bedrooms for entire stay. Base rate is 1 bedroom (double occupancy) additional bedrooms $100.00/nt (order in multiples of 2 people). Please include all adults, children, babies and infants in the total headcount.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Deer Harbor Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 Master Upper - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 Master Lower - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 Guest House - toilet , shower
    Powder Room - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 Master Upper - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 Master lower - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 Guest House Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 Guest House - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 lower level - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
Notes:
Amenity soaps, shampoo, bubble bath, spa towels and bath robes. We are over the top when it comes to amenities. LOADS more that what is provided are provided to our guests. We prefer to keep this as a Surprise!
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote