LOVELY, QUIET HOME - SANTA CATALINA ISLAND

Kathy

Speaks english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Kathy

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LOVELY, QUIET HOME - SANTA CATALINA ISLAND

Catalina Island House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom Home + 2.25 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

WEEKLY RENTALS ONLY JULY AND AUGUST. 3 NIGHT 4 DAY MINIMUM JANUARY-JUNE & SEPT-DECEMBER 2014

Beautiful, spacious two-story family home.

Upstairs includes:

Large open living room with fireplace, stereo, WiFi & cable TV with Blue Ray DVD player and convertible sofa

Spacious master bedroom with king size bed, large master bath, cable TV with DVD player and deck with ocean view.

Large master bath with shower

Plus 1/2 bath

Full kitchen and utility room with washer/dryer, utility sink

Large deck with patio furniture and gas bbq

Downstairs:

Large open living room with private patio, fireplace, game table, 47' Flat screen TV with Blue Ray DVD player

One bedroom with 2 queen beds, TV

One bedroom with 2 twin beds

Bathroom with Shower

No children under 10 years of age, no pets and no smoking

$500.00 security check is required. Will be refunded by mail at the end of your stay.

Keywords: Lovely, Quiet Home

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for children

Kathy

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english

This a family home and is very quiet.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.7
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166214vb
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
San Clemente
5

wonderful vacation experience!!

  • 5 of 5
We were very pleasantly surprised with how nice this property was. The proximity to the water front was very close by as well as to all of the towns restaurants and activities. The house was stocked almost as well as our home. We will most definitely come back. The owners were also very nice to deal with.
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Nicole. We loved having you as guests and are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves!
business
Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166214vb
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
2

Very Dirty - So disappointed!

  • 2 of 5
We arrived before the cleaning man had completed but stayed out of his way on the patio. I'm not sure if he cut his time short because we were waiting to get in, but I observed that he did not even mop the kitchen/dining floor - he just swept (at) it a bit......the bathroom floors were filthy and there was dust in ALL of the bathroom rugs. The bathmats had NOT been washed and they were in dispictible condition. There were old (very used and cracked) soaps in the showers and dirty sponges as well.....

There was a mildew odor to the downstairs bedrooms and we had to keep the windows wide open and purchase special sprays to try and cover these odors. The downstairs tentant smoked outside on his patio all hours of the day and night and the smoke came in through the upstairs master bedroom all night long - we had to shut out the ocean air to save ourselves from the cigarate smoke filling our room.

The upstairs livingroom only had about a 13" inset television whereas the downstair (with the bedrooms mildew odors) had the large TV.....As the upstair livingroom was off the main floor with kitchen/dining room it seemed that the televisions should have been the other way around. Our son had to put a diningroom chair in front of the TV to watch the golf game....he said he couldn't see it well from other areas and we all agreed - trying to follow a golf ball in the air on TV is difficult enough without trying to follow it on a 13" (inset) TV!

I would not rent this house again. I'm hoping that they shook out the bathroom rugs if not washed them before the next rental. Perhaps they don't do the laundry but every other week for this home - but we were NOT impressed - very, very dirty!

We rented this particular house based not only on the sleeping accommodations but also because it said there was a deck with an ocean view. Unfortunately, when we received the key (the week prior to our stay) we were told that they had a problem with the railing on that deck and we would not be able to use it during our stay. Very disappointing because we would have loved the view.
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was much chagrined reading your review regarding the experience you had staying at our home. As we stay at the house as much as guests do, we try very hard to make it as comfortable for guests as we do for our family.

I was at the island when I received your review and found the house to be in satisfactory condition. Cleanliness has never been an issue, however, I immediately contacted our housekeeper, who we have had for the past 7 years. I shared with them your experience, and the only misstep we could conclude was perhaps the turnaround time of departure of the previous tenants and your arrival, did not leave enough time to complete cleaning the house as we would hope for you. We apologize sincerely.

I also contacted the tenants that were there both before and after your stay. As cleanliness has never been an issue, I was extremely concerned. Cleanliness and comfort are our two most important objectives for our home and anyone that stays there. Both tenants found the house to be in the condition we strive to maintain. Please know that I did address your complaints with the housekeepers.

I shared your review with our tenant. He is aware that there is absolutely no smoking allowed on the premises. I was not aware that he was smoking or I would have resolved this issue immediately. He has been put on notice that he must discontinue smoking on the premises or move from them.

Regarding the railing, I received a call from our housekeepers when the damage to the rail occurred. It happened just before you were scheduled to stay. We were not able to schedule repairs before your arrival, nor did we want to burden you with the mess and confusion of repairs. We were gravely concerned with safety and liability, and decided the most prudent action would be to close that portion of the deck. You were notified with your rental instructions. We have scheduled our handyman to repair the damage after the summer season. I understand it was disappointing. We love that little area, particularly for morning coffee, but we do have lovely views elsewhere on the premises particularly from the upstairs living room.

It is stated in the house instructions to please contact me if there are any problems. I am easily accessible by email, phone or cell phone, and I would have done anything possible to make your stay up to expectations.
business
Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166214vb
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

Unexpected Treasure!

  • 5 of 5
Beautiful home on a hillside street with a view of Avalon Bay. Very wooded out back with deer visiting nightly. Not what you would expect at a seaside resort! The home is very well maintained and decorated. The best place we have rented in our 23 years of Avalon vacations!
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Mrs. Memmott
Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so pleased you enjoy our little paradise as much as we do!
business
Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166214vb
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Castro Valley, CA
5

A week in the Spacious Cabin

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I stayed at this house with our family the week of our wedding, excluding the night before the wedding and the wedding night. As soon as we walked into the house, everyone was so surprised at the size. It was so bright and sunny with lots of large windows and tall ceilings. My husband is a chef, so he was loving the spacious kitchen! If you like to cook, this is a great place to stay.

Not only was the house super spacious, but it was cozy as well with picturesque views of the ocean. It's up the hill on Whitley Ave, but the walk up hill is well worth the burning in your thighs. It's in a prime residential location, yet quite and peaceful. This house is just a walk downhill to public transportation, restaurants, shops, bars, and of course, the beach.

In addition, the house was super clean, with everything we needed for our week in Catalina. The house had a large washer and dryer, towels, lower and upper patio, a grill, and a golf cart. I truly felt at home in that house and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

One of the best part of our stays was the great hospitality and the constant correspondence from the woman who owns the home. She always replied to my emails within a couple of hours and she even sent us the most beautiful flowers the day before our wedding. It was really sweet.

I can honestly say that I'll never forget staying in this house, and not just because it was the week of our wedding. It's a great house and we had such a fantastic week there!
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166214vb
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Rooke
5

Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed twice here and it Is our family favorite week. Our Adilt children ask Every Year, "When is Catalina?". We Love the Homey House, golf cart rental is a Bonus, owners are awesome, and the location, amenities are Perfect. A true treasure.
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166214vb
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Mendocino
5

Island Retreat

  • 5 of 5
"The Hut", as we repeat guests have come to call it, is truly a home away from home. It is a wonderful haven where you can either escape or take part in the busy Avalon township just at the bottom of the street. I love summer on the island with its carnival atmosphere and cocktail-service on the beach, but the off-season is also a wonderful time to see the island in its more natural state - early morning walks along the waterfront past the Casino and on down to Descanso Beach or watching a gentle rain fall through the floor-length living room windows. The house is leveled in such a way that it is not to big for two people or to small for a family of ten. The well-equip kitchen makes it a pleasure to cook meals, and the numerous amenities and well-organized manner of the house make it a pleasure to arrive and make the space your own. The upper level has lovely natural light as well as a beautiful parquet floor. Whether you are there at the height of the busy summer season or there in quiet November, the Hut is a lovely retreat from the world with its many decks and lovely views... I have been known it just follow the sun around all day with a sunhat and a book from deck to deck.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Beach
1 Miles
beach
Car: not necessary

Come and experience the new zipline, underwater sea trek and rock climbing attraction at Descanso Beach!

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Catalina Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Rate
Jun 1 2014 - Sep 1 2014
7 night minimum stay
$3,600
 
 
FALL RATE
Sep 5 2014 - Nov 30 2014
4 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$600
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $500

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Catalina Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Living Room ...
Kitchen:
  • Oven ...
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Pantry Items
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 1 and a half bath upstairs, 1 bath downstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Books
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • Video Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Music Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Golf
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for children ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • marina
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • walking
  • miniature golf
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • tennis
  • parasailing
  • golf
  • snorkeling/diving
  • kayaking
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • deepsea fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • mountain biking
  • basketball court
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,440 - $1,850 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8