Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island


Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner


Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


Catalina Island House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom Home + 2.25 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This is your opportunity to experience why we love our vacation home and our little island paradise of Avalon. We are only an hour by boat from Los Angeles, but guests often comment it seems like another world. This special home, in our family since 1956, has every amenity to make your stay in Avalon comfortable and relaxing. Our lovely deck is the perfect place to read a book, enjoy friends, or enjoy a warm summer evening with a perfect meal from the barbeque.

During the summer, the town and beaches of Avalon bustle with activity. For those inclined, there are walking trails throughout the island for hiking. There is a zip-line and climbing wall, bicycles and segways to tour the town. Visit the Botanical Gardens, Wrigley Memorial and play a round at the nine-hole golf course. Most tantalizing are the crystal clear waters of Avalon Bay where our state fish, the bright orange garibaldi, abound and delight visitors. You can rent paddle boats, paddle boards, scuba equipment, kayaks, snorkels, masks and more to enjoy the best part of Avalon. Snorkeling Lover’s Cove, our own Marine Reserve, is an experience not to be missed! You can rent a boat, replete with tackle and fishing poles, from Joe’s Rent-a-Boat on the pier and try your hand at fishing the island coast.

Avalon is a wonderful place for our young visitors as well. Did you know that we are the home to the oldest miniature golf course west of the Rockies? Besides all the fun the beach and ocean affords, there is also an arcade with a small bowling alley and the latest arcade games. Generations of children have marveled at the taffy machine in the window at Lloyd’s of Avalon, churning out the delicious taffy that made Lloyd’s famous.

After a busy day, return to your beautifully appointed oasis, above the hub-bub of the town, and enjoy the quiet environment of your beautiful surroundings. There are upstairs and downstairs living rooms affording guests the option to choose what vacation means to you, with a 3D/Blue Ray flat screen downstairs, wi-fi, a variety of games and game table, and another small deck. Upstairs is the kitchen and an expansive living area to read, relax or nap as you desire.

There are a variety of dining experiences in Avalon and we would be happy to help you choose the spot that is right for your taste. Our on-site host is happy to help point you in the direction of those activities you choose to pursue, from a spa experience at our beautiful new Island Spa to the best place for breakfast. We look forward to sharing our island home with you!

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Kathe (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2015

About Kathe

This a family home and is very quiet.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lovely, Quiet Home - Santa Catalina Island
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
San Clemente

wonderful vacation experience!!

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleasantly surprised with how nice this property was. The proximity to the water front was very close by as well as to all of the towns restaurants and activities. The house was stocked almost as well as our home. We will most definitely come back. The owners were also very nice to deal with.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Nicole. We loved having you as guests and are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves!

Very Dirty - So disappointed!

  • 2 of 5

We arrived before the cleaning man had completed but stayed out of his way on the patio. I'm not sure if he cut his time short because we were waiting to get in, but I observed that he did not even mop the kitchen/dining floor - he just swept (at) it a bit......the bathroom floors were filthy and there was dust in ALL of the bathroom rugs. The bathmats had NOT been washed and they were in dispictible condition. There were old (very used and cracked) soaps in the showers and dirty sponges as well.....

There was a mildew odor to the downstairs bedrooms and we had to keep the windows wide open and purchase special sprays to try and cover these odors. The downstairs tentant smoked outside on his patio all hours of the day and night and the smoke came in through the upstairs master bedroom all night long - we had to shut out the ocean air to save ourselves from the cigarate smoke filling our room.

The upstairs livingroom only had about a 13" inset television whereas the downstair (with the bedrooms mildew odors) had the large TV.....As the upstair livingroom was off the main floor with kitchen/dining room it seemed that the televisions should have been the other way around. Our son had to put a diningroom chair in front of the TV to watch the golf game....he said he couldn't see it well from other areas and we all agreed - trying to follow a golf ball in the air on TV is difficult enough without trying to follow it on a 13" (inset) TV!

I would not rent this house again. I'm hoping that they shook out the bathroom rugs if not washed them before the next rental. Perhaps they don't do the laundry but every other week for this home - but we were NOT impressed - very, very dirty!

We rented this particular house based not only on the sleeping accommodations but also because it said there was a deck with an ocean view. Unfortunately, when we received the key (the week prior to our stay) we were told that they had a problem with the railing on that deck and we would not be able to use it during our stay. Very disappointing because we would have loved the view.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was much chagrined reading your review regarding the experience you had staying at our home. As we stay at the house as much as guests do, we try very hard to make it as comfortable for guests as we do for our family. I was at the island when I received your review and found the house to be in satisfactory condition. Cleanliness has never been an issue, however, I immediately contacted our housekeeper, who we have had for the past 7 years. I shared with them your experience, and the only misstep we could conclude was perhaps the turnaround time of departure of the previous tenants and your arrival, did not leave enough time to complete cleaning the house as we would hope for you. We apologize sincerely. I also contacted the tenants that were there both before and after your stay. As cleanliness has never been an issue, I was extremely concerned. Cleanliness and comfort are our two most important objectives for our home and anyone that stays there. Both tenants found the house to be in the condition we strive to maintain. Please know that I did address your complaints with the housekeepers. I shared your review with our tenant. He is aware that there is absolutely no smoking allowed on the premises. I was not aware that he was smoking or I would have resolved this issue immediately. He has been put on notice that he must discontinue smoking on the premises or move from them. Regarding the railing, I received a call from our housekeepers when the damage to the rail occurred. It happened just before you were scheduled to stay. We were not able to schedule repairs before your arrival, nor did we want to burden you with the mess and confusion of repairs. We were gravely concerned with safety and liability, and decided the most prudent action would be to close that portion of the deck. You were notified with your rental instructions. We have scheduled our handyman to repair the damage after the summer season. I understand it was disappointing. We love that little area, particularly for morning coffee, but we do have lovely views elsewhere on the premises particularly from the upstairs living room. It is stated in the house instructions to please contact me if there are any problems. I am easily accessible by email, phone or cell phone, and I would have done anything possible to make your stay up to expectations.

Unexpected Treasure!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home on a hillside street with a view of Avalon Bay. Very wooded out back with deer visiting nightly. Not what you would expect at a seaside resort! The home is very well maintained and decorated. The best place we have rented in our 23 years of Avalon vacations!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mrs. Memmott Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so pleased you enjoy our little paradise as much as we do!
Castro Valley, CA

A week in the Spacious Cabin

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at this house with our family the week of our wedding, excluding the night before the wedding and the wedding night. As soon as we walked into the house, everyone was so surprised at the size. It was so bright and sunny with lots of large windows and tall ceilings. My husband is a chef, so he was loving the spacious kitchen! If you like to cook, this is a great place to stay.

Not only was the house super spacious, but it was cozy as well with picturesque views of the ocean. It's up the hill on Whitley Ave, but the walk up hill is well worth the burning in your thighs. It's in a prime residential location, yet quite and peaceful. This house is just a walk downhill to public transportation, restaurants, shops, bars, and of course, the beach.

In addition, the house was super clean, with everything we needed for our week in Catalina. The house had a large washer and dryer, towels, lower and upper patio, a grill, and a golf cart. I truly felt at home in that house and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

One of the best part of our stays was the great hospitality and the constant correspondence from the woman who owns the home. She always replied to my emails within a couple of hours and she even sent us the most beautiful flowers the day before our wedding. It was really sweet.

I can honestly say that I'll never forget staying in this house, and not just because it was the week of our wedding. It's a great house and we had such a fantastic week there!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed twice here and it Is our family favorite week. Our Adilt children ask Every Year, "When is Catalina?". We Love the Homey House, golf cart rental is a Bonus, owners are awesome, and the location, amenities are Perfect. A true treasure.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Island Retreat

  • 5 of 5

"The Hut", as we repeat guests have come to call it, is truly a home away from home. It is a wonderful haven where you can either escape or take part in the busy Avalon township just at the bottom of the street. I love summer on the island with its carnival atmosphere and cocktail-service on the beach, but the off-season is also a wonderful time to see the island in its more natural state - early morning walks along the waterfront past the Casino and on down to Descanso Beach or watching a gentle rain fall through the floor-length living room windows. The house is leveled in such a way that it is not to big for two people or to small for a family of ten. The well-equip kitchen makes it a pleasure to cook meals, and the numerous amenities and well-organized manner of the house make it a pleasure to arrive and make the space your own. The upper level has lovely natural light as well as a beautiful parquet floor. Whether you are there at the height of the busy summer season or there in quiet November, the Hut is a lovely retreat from the world with its many decks and lovely views... I have been known it just follow the sun around all day with a sunhat and a book from deck to deck.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Snorkeling Catalina
"Clear ocean waters give divers great viewing of ocean life."
Lobster Trap
"Casual dining with great fresh fish."
Original Jack's Country Kitchen
"Great for breakfast & great hamburgers. Nicely decorated."
Catalina Zip Line Eco Tour
"Wonderful adventure with beautiful scenery!"
Steve's Steakhouse
"Wonderful venue for dinner - beautiful views from the upstairs balcony. Service is excellent!"
Catalina Express
"70 minute ride to the island. Boats are clean and efficient."
Casino Ballroom
"Catalina Museum is located here and also a beautiful art deco theater. Upstairs is the famou..."
Wrigley Botanical Garden
"Beautiful garden with plants indigenous to the island"
Parasailing Catalina
Catalina Glass Bottom Boat Co
The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar
Bluewater Grill
"Great Happy Hour"
Discovery Tours-Flying Fish Boat Trip
Catalina Island Golf Course
Inn on Mt. Ada
"Formerly William Wrigley's home. Now a bed and breakfast. Open to the public for lunch. Rese..."
Eric's on the Pier
Descanso Beach Club Catalina Island
"Great venue and beautiful beach. Completely redone this year!"
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Car: not necessary

Come and experience the new zipline, underwater sea trek and rock climbing attraction at the new Descanso Beach!


Rates & Availability

From $543 Per night

Catalina Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Sep 5 2014 - May 16 2015
4 night minimum stay
Summer Rate
May 17 2015 - Sep 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $200

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Catalina Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 1 and a half bath upstairs, 1 bath downstairs
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Upstairs includes: Large open living room with fireplace, stereo, WiFi & cable TV with Blue Ray DVD player and convertible sofa Spacious master bedroom with king size bed, large master bath, cable TV with DVD player and deck with ocean view. Large master bath with shower Plus 1/2 bath Full kitchen and utility room with washer/dryer, utility sink Large deck with patio furniture and gas bbq Downstairs: Large open living room with private patio, fireplace, game table, 47' Flat screen TV with Blue Ray DVD player One bedroom with 2 queen beds, TV One bedroom with 2 twin beds Bathroom with Shower
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 10 garden chairs
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,440 - $1,850 per week
2 - 7 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote