Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Great Pool, Great Views, Great House - Great Vacation!

John Hagerty

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

John Hagerty

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 11, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Great Pool, Great Views, Great House - Great Vacation!

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


San Juan del Sur House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

We invite you to our vacation home, located next to San Juan del Sur, an up and coming eco-tourism mecca. The Tortuga Azul is a luxury home and is exactly what you are looking for in a vacation home! The house is designed and built to North American standards and has all the conveniences of home... plus a few!


We have A/C for the hot days and the house can be opened up for an indoor/outdoor living environment leading directly onto the open pool deck. We also designed the home to provide fabulous views from almost every point in the house.

Wake up in the morning in the Master Bedroom and you overlook the infinity pool with views of the Pacific Ocean as a backdrop! The master bedroom is an oasis of its own. At about 600 sq.ft., it has a wonderfull round built-in sitting area designed for lounging, french doors opening directly to the pool deck, a King size bed that will make you want to stay in bed all day, and an awesome walk in tile/glass block shower with double heads for two!

The second master is also spacious and is complete with a tile and glass block bath/shower, a nice window seating area and has a queen size bed. The two masters are separated for privacy by the kitchen and living area.

We designed the main living area in a Great-Room design where everything flows together and again views abound! From the elevated kitchen there is a sitting bar made from the local wood. The entire home is accented with the beautiful woods and canes of the area. The great-room area is vaulted to a stunning 16 feet with open wood beams and a cane ceiling for an exquisite effect. Open the double doors and again experience indoor/outdoor tropical living at its best. The giant glass doors lead to a covered porch area spanning the entire length of the house and open to the pool deck area for suntanning and pool fun! You will enjoy some of the most spectacular sunsets on earth lounging in the swinging porch chairs or relaxing in the infinity edge pool.

The pool itself was a creation from the many pools we have seen in our travels, combining a Waterfall spilling into the pool at one end, a curved infinity edge that spans the entire pool, and seating along the back side of the pool with jets to massage your back, all facing the incredible sunsets you will see while soaking an evening away!! The pool also has a large shelf that is appx 18 inches deep and is perfect for small children and lounging! A turtle 'swims' on the floor of the pool. For the evening, we've equiped the house with satelite tv with western U.S. feeds. We are also set up with both back up water and power systems, for those occasional unexpected outages.

We are located overlooking the bay to the North of San Juan, Nacascola Bay, which puts us about a 15 min. walk to San Juan, or a 5 min. drive. We are right on the way to the surf beaches to the North, Marsella, Maderas, Majaguel, etc. Guests of the house can look forward to relaxing privacy in close proximity to points of interest both North and South.

The home comes with a fully equipped kitchen with all the utensils and cookware you might need to prepare your best seafood feast. San Juan del Sur boast many outstanding resteraunts including El Jardin which is right next door to Tortuga Azul.

Our caretaker, William, lives in a separate quarter in order to help clean the pool and home. People love him and he will take great care of you.

We are happy to share our knowledge of the San Juan area as well as other parts of Nicaragua, just send us an email with questions!! Please contact us for actual availability and pricing! We love to help people get the most out of their trip, and we have great people in the area to help as well.

We know that you will enjoy a wonderful vacation, as we have many times, to this enchanting part of the world.


If you would like more information or to see more pictures, please send me an email!

Thanks for visiting our Home, John and Stacia Hagerty


Keywords: House

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
John Hagerty (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 11, 2015

About John Hagerty

We fell in love with Nica, San Juan Del Sur, and the people of the country over 10 years ago now! Our older daughter started traveling to Nica when she was about 3, now we have another daughter who is 3 and learning all about the beaches and fun, we are older parents, so it is like doing it all again! We have traveled extensively throughout the country and a lot of Central America, and yes, this is one of the 'Great Spots'. We are fortunate to live in Idaho, in the mountains, one of the other awesome spots of the world, so we get to experience both the warm and the cold. We would be happy to help you with an awesome vacation, feel free to ask questions! Thanks for reading....NicaJohn

John Hagerty purchased this house in 2006

Why John Hagerty chose San Juan del Sur

If you are looking for a special Nica experience, let us help you, our extensive knowledge and travel can really make each trip that experience of a lifetime. Tortuga Azul is set up to make you not want to leave, but it is worth exploring too, because that is part of the fun of Nica. We have great people that can help with your needs, and help you with the local knowledge of the area, beaches, etc. Our home is just outside of town, which is very nice because town can get quite noisy and busy, we are located close enough for easy access, but far enough to be peaceful and quiet:) Again, please ask for any additional help or info, we most likely have it or can get it!

What makes this house unique

Perfect location with easy access to town and beaches. Excellent privacy, we have had many honeymooners.

Great people, with the knowledge to help and local people to help with any needs once there, just read reviews, Elie is a great resource!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We thoroughly enjoyed the Tortuga Azul! It was our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better spot. The house was very comfortable with all the amenities. Beautiful views of the bay below from the front porch and in the pool ( saw whales swimming by one morning ). Perfect location, 10 mins to San Juan Del Sur and 10 mins to Maderas beach. Serene, relaxing and beautiful! We'll be back.

P.S. William is awesome! Make sure to do something nice for him, he's a good man.
Apr 2008
  • 1 of 6

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 47 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great Pool, Great Views, Great House - Great Vacation!
average rating of 4.744681 based on 53 reviews

Amazing property, wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just came back from an 8 day stay at Tortuga Azul with another couple, and to say we had a wonderful time is an understatement! The house is absolutely stunning and the photos do it no justice at all. It is a straw bale construction, so the walls are all curved and organic looking, which is really different to what we are used to in the north but the result is amazing!

The pool and the outdoor area are perfect, so private and peaceful. You really feel like you are out on your own in the middle of nowhere! William the caretaker keeps everything very clean, and we saw only a couple of bugs (no cockroaches-yay!!). The other reviews have talked about how writing things down in english was really the best way to communicate with him and they were not wrong! We had a few minor water problems during our stay and he fixed them within a couple of minutes, he really is a great asset.

The location was great, far enough away from town for it to be nice and secluded, but also close enough that you can walk (during the day time only, and it takes about 30 minutes). Taxis can get a little expensive however, and I think we were overcharged quite a bit while we were there. We were getting charged $15 each way in/out of town, and once or twice we were even charged $20 each way! I have heard that this is unusually expensive, however if it is the norm I would recommend hiring the owners car with the driver Elie as that would probably be cheaper.

Lots of the reviews mention Elie, and he really is such a gem. A genuine person, and he seems to really enjoy his job. The other reviews however make it sound like he is quite readily available, however this was not the case when we were there. We needed to book him at least one day in advance as he was so busy, and he doesn't like to work past 5 as he has 2 young children, so keep that in mind! He will recommend other taxis however if you need them!

The only downside about the house is the noise of the dogs barking at night, but that is nothing some ear plugs can't fix! Also the internet is complicated and slow, but the owners are trying to rectify that!

In short-GO AND STAY HERE!! It was a truly wonderful stay and we can't wait to return as soon as we can!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christine, thanks for your visit to Tortuga Azul! We are glad you enjoyed and had a good time. I appreciate the input and yes we are always making improvements for our guests. Wifi is a hard one to have perfect in Nica, we have tried different systems and this new one is not perfect either, if anyone says they have it better in it can be good, or can be inconsistent. We are always looking for better, it is happening, but slowly. As for Elie, he is a great resource, but he does get busy, especially during the busier seasons, so we try to encourage people to schedule him in advance, even book him through us prior to arrival, you can get him with our nicer car for $100 day(about the same as a comparable size rental), then go where you want and have him booked ahead! As for the taxi's, I think they are charging more as tourism increases and they can get it, but I also like to be able to help our guests control these costs, if you go with the people we work with, then you can have a better price and not get a "tourist" price. I will ask some people in the area about the barking dogs and see if we can fix that. Please send us an email if you have any questions about Tortuga Azul! NicaJohn
San Jacinto, CA. USA

Great Location and Super clean and Quiet!

  • 5 of 5

We have lived in Nicaragua for many years and have stayed in a variety of places to say the least. We were two couples and enjoyed the privacy the layout provided. If you are looking for peace and quiet this is the place to stay. It was great having our own pool and the house has everything you need to feel comfortable. We have our own car which made access to the beaches easy and close. We could pop into town and then escape back to the house. This is a much more reasonable and quieter location then a very expensive resort close by--we definitely would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your stay at Tortuga Azul! I think you are referring to a hotel on the hill above SJDS that is very nice, we had stayed there too, and loved it so...that we built our own version, borrowing some of the workers that knew what we wanted, yes a quieter version with private pool vs community pools. All this for half the price of staying at the other resort:) It is always a pleasure when people compare us and like us even better....because they do a great job too! Thanks for the nice words and we will hope to have you back again soon!!

Beautiful House but bad luck during our stay

  • 3 of 5

My husband, Mother and I stayed a little over a week. John was very helpful with providing us with lots of information for our trip. The house is beautiful! Its only a short drive from San Juan. We did have problems during our stay. There are dogs that bark all night right around the house and we had to shut the windows at night and use the A/C to drown out the barking. My Mom woke up two nights in a row with the room flooded out from her a/c, after that we put a cooler underneath to catch the water which then made dripping noises as the water is falling from some 8-10 feet. We eventually placed a towel in the cooler to muffle the sound. Each morning the cooler was full to the brim with water from the a/c and had to be emptied. William the caretaker of the property kindly did this for us each day. William did say he would try to get someone to fix the a/c but the problem could not be corrected during our stay. Next, the roof was full of bats, you could hear the bats scurrying around during evenings and mornings as the were coming and going, I would sit in the pool some evenings and watch some 50-60 bats fly out of the roof. Every morning near the main entrance to the house and in the bath tub we would find a fair amount of bat droppings which had to be swept up. Our second night in the house my mother awoke to find a bat on her feet and another flying in the room, I had to get William at 6am and he was able to capture one of the bats but the other had gotten away through the small hole in the ceiling that went right outside. My mother slept with the lights on in her room for the rest of our stay. William said he put a gel out for the bats to get rid of them. Perk to having bats is there were no bugs to bite us! About mid-week the pools filter broke and the pool became so murky and green you couldn't see the bottom. William managed to get it fixed and by our last day the pool was sparkling again. The furniture was very uncomfortable to sit on for very long and I do think the pillows on the bed could use replacing. I have to say how great William was during our stay, he took out our garbage, washed our car several times, and washed our bedding and made our beds one day. We didn't find him to hard to communicate with and even got a few good stories out of him. He is a great person! I would stay here again! I just think we had bad luck with the stuff that happened.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Steve and Amber, Thanks for your stay, and even stating that you will come back! I am truly sorry that some things did go wrong, we try very hard to make the experience the best that it can be for our guests. Some of these things were out of our control as you know and stated, and the ones that we can fix, we were on right away. We did have a pool pump break and William fixed it as fast as possible, great job William! The a/c, we did not realize was even leaking, we had it fixed within 24 hours of knowing it was a problem. In a separate email, I had asked if Kerstin the property manager was alerted to this, and she had not been. This is important for me to address, because this is Kerstin's job on the ground for us, to get things corrected when not right. William is sometimes too easy going, so definitely they both need to know if something is wrong. The dogs...I am not sure how to fix that one....not normal, but I have had dogs in the area wake me at times as well....and the roosters sometimes....and once we even had cows break through the fence and there they were mooing and depositing unwanted ground mines too, yes we fixed them too....not steak:) Also the parakeets can get a little wild early in the mornings sometimes...I enjoy them whenever we get the pleasure of that one! We have been fighting a bit of a bat issue, as have the neighbors, I am working with to correct the issue, we have had issues with one house in the neighborhood that is not being maintained and the bats are coming from it to ours and other homes...not good, but we have been successfully getting rid of the tropics we are constantly dealing with bugs and critters and we keep them at bay the best we can, usually to good success! We are constantly upgrading and fixing and working on things, so I want you to know that we will be ready for your next visit! Thanks for giving William credit too, he tries to take great care of our guests, he is not a servant, as some have mistaken him for, but he usually goes above and beyond to help and do extra, so we do ask that people take note of that and tip him nicely for a job well done! Thanks again for the good, and we will work to improve the areas we can. Nica is changing a lot, and I have been working on a new email that I send out to people with add'l info. Anyone who has stayed at Tortuga Azul, knows the amount of helpful information that I send out on the area. If wondering where to stay, email me Q's! NicaJohn

Amazing Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with friends for over a week in this amazing private home overlooking the ocean. It was our first time to Nicaragua and San Juan Del Sur and our stay here both exceeded our expectations and “made” the trip. On arriving our first night, it was late in the evening and walking through the private gate to see the large lit pool and ocean spread out in front of us was breathtaking. Despite all the research we did before coming to San Juan Del Sur, it is difficult to understand the lay of the land and how important location really is. While we did have a car, this property is really one of the few truly private view properties that permit relatively easy pedestrian or bicycle access to town. It is centrally located between both legendary beaches and surf spots, and downtown San Juan Del Sur. The property also feels incredibly private and safe and the pool is an indispensable amenity I wouldn’t go without. The rooms are clean and private, and the living and kitchen area are spacious and conveniently set-up for cooking when you want to stay-in. The pool and patio however are the center of live here with tons of room and friendly for use by both kids and adults. Finally, the homes position provides the most incredible unobstructed front-row sunsets I have experienced. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jason, Thanks for your stay and nice comments, it is nice to hear in guests words, what we experience and try to share with people. We are out of town just a bit, and that keeps it quiet and peaceful, yet as you say, pretty easy to town! I agree with you, I think we have one of the best pools and the indoor/outdoor living is awesome! I hope that we can help you to have more great experiences when you return to Nica and I hope that your words can help inspire others to have a great time at Tortuga Azul!! Elie is now available for "rent", he comes with the car...what could be better? NicaJohn
Olympi, WA

San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua vacation

  • 5 of 5

I had a fantastic vacation experience. When I arrived the rental was ready to go. The caretaker of the property lives on the property and kept the pool and surrounding area clean and ready at all times. The pictures of the property were exactly what you get. Beautiful views and peaceful. The infinity pool at sunset was great. San Juan is central and makes easy access to other towns if you have a car. It's the best way to see the country. I'd rent this house again. The owner lives in the U.S. and is very knowledgeable. He and his family have traveled extensively throughout Nicaragua and was able to provide travel plans, places to visit and how best to get around. It was not difficult and the Nicaraguans were very nice.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your stay and thoughts! Glad to hear that you experienced how nice the people are, that is one of the best things Nica. We pride ourselves in a high level of local knowledge about the whole country. If you are thinking about a trip, I have write ups I have done on different areas like Ometepe and the Rio San Juan river trip, just send me an email:) We also have a new service in which you can rent our car with driver(Elie) and this makes getting around easy, the rate to have a car and driver is the same or less than renting a comparable vehicle, and your driver knows the "out of the way" spots, and will help you learn to surf if you would like, now that is full service! Tortuga Azul!!! The place to stay:) NicaJohn

Tortuga Azul - Three years in a row

  • 5 of 5

We love Nica and the town of SJDJ! This is our third year in a row staying at Tortuga Azul and we're already planning to come back for a fourth visit in 2015. The views of the sunset are spectacular from the patio, the pool has got to be the cleanest in all of the country, the amenities are well appointed and perfect for us and the friends we bring. The caretaker, William, is up early every morning cleaning the pool and sweeping the patio. He even washes our rental car! He's very quiet but friendly. San Juan Del Sur is a quick drive or reasonable walk from the house. We love that there are great beaches just a quick drive north or just south of SJDS. The downtown market is wonderful. Ellie has been a great guide, driver and surf instructor for us over the years. Tortuga Azul is our home away from home.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your stay and input! We like that our home away from home, can be others "special place" as well :) We look forward to having you back. You will have to try our new service of having Elie and our car ready for you when and where you want at the same or less than a comparable rental, it makes for a gourmet experience:) SJDS is amazing and people are figuring it out, but as good as it is, get out of town and experience the real Nica too! On our last trip, we finally found the route to the costal border of Nica/CR, of all the people I talked to locals and expats, nobody else had been to this spot....this is exploring Nica style, we have been on so many back roads...lost some of the time, and the Nica people always I always say...getting there is half the fun! NicaJohn


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Managua, MGA
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
San Jorge to Ometepe
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
El Jardin

San Juan del Sur is one of the most visited beaches, by both foreign tourists and Nicaraguans. The beach is located inside an almost perfectly U-shaped bay. In San Juan del Sur you can enjoy a variety of seafood in the numerous restaurants that are situated right in front of the bay. Casual beachfront bars with thatched roofs are the norm! For more adventure you can hire a boat and visit the pristine, neighboring beaches or take a shuttle from downtown. Go surfing with Joey the Ausie at “Action Tours”! There is a great canopy tour (Flyin Frog) just outside of SJDS, they also offer great horseback rides where you can see local animals and great views! Big game fishing, diving, and surfing are also among the options. We are about 1 1/2 hour from Granada. It is easy to visit the twin Volcanos of Ometepe from the house, or Mambacho! From Managua it takes about two hours to get to San Juan del Sur. We can arrange a shuttle pick up for you or you can easily rent a car at the airport!

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Boating, Shelling


Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

San Juan del Sur House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
High Season
Nov 1 2014 - May 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
Jun 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
Oct 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200.00
Notes Holiday and other rates subject to change until contact with owner to confirm rate and availability.
Rates based on 2 people and may be higher for additional people.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


San Juan del Sur House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Town
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) We do have inflatable beds as well if needed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote