Overpriced for the money
The house does not have an air conditioner. Windows don't have screens so master bedroom gets to 88 degrees around 5-6pm on a warm day. Not fun. The owner charges taxes equal to 1 night stay, never seen this before. Disposal was not working, i called the owner, they fixed it but asked not to pit anything in it. I put cucumber peels in there, really? They have a a specified check in and check out time just like in hotels and hold you to it. They charged us for late check out. There are 2 flight per day on average out of Alaska : morning and evening, make sure you take the morning flight or you end up paying. Overal, overpriced for what you pay.
Owner's Response: We make no claims to have air-conditioning in our Girdwood home. We are in Alaska after all. Very few homes here in the 49th state are so equipped. You were fortunate enough to visit during an extended period of sunny, warm weather. I’m sure most travelers would be completely thrilled with similar weather for their Alaska visit. There are only two opening windows in our entire home that do not have screens, so closing blinds and opening windows should have sufficiently cooled the home.
We charge room tax for our rental as required by the Municipality of Anchorage (12% of rental rate). This tax is charged by each and every hotel, motel, B&B, and lodging establishment within the municipality.
Our rental agreement clearly states that check out time for our rental is 11am. This allows the cleaning crew time to have the home cleaned and ready for the next renters who could be checking in as soon as 4pm the same day. Your party did not leave until after 4pm on the day of your check out. Only then after a phone call from us and finally someone in person requesting you to do so. This caused us to miss our cleaning appointment. Fortunately, no one was checking in that same day or they would have arrived to a dirty house with prior guests who were stubbornly staying well past the stipulated check out time. We incurred additional fees for cleaning because there was fudge/chocolate ground into the carpet and along one of the walls. For these reasons we charged you an additional fee – which was withheld from your security deposit.
According to Anchorage International Airport figures there are over 100 domestic passenger flights that depart daily from Anchorage during the summer months. 1.6 million summer visitors can’t arrive on two flights a day…
As renters of a beautiful home, which we live in part of the year, we try to be as fair and accommodating to our renters as possible. We enjoy this home for part of the year and are happy to share it with guests while we are not there. We try to keep the home in excellent condition and request that renters treat it with care and abide by the rules we have set out. This ensures that the home is always clean and ready for the next guests or the return of our family.
Helpful votes: 3/6
Did you find this review helpful?