CUSTOM HOME WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEWS OF MT. ALYESKA - GIRDWOOD, AK

Steve & Elle Zernia

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Steve & Elle Zernia

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CUSTOM HOME WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEWS OF MT. ALYESKA - GIRDWOOD, AK

Girdwood House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft + Office, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11)

Available May 1st thru October 15th, this beautiful 5 bedroom custom-crafted home is in the heart of the Girdwood Valley. Located conveniently between Anchorage and the Kenai Peninsula, Girdwood is the perfect place to enjoy the best of Alaska. Great halibut and salmon fishing awaits just down the highway in Seward. Fabulous skiing, hiking, mountain biking, wildlife viewing, and gold panning are right out the front door.

Enjoy stunning views of Mt. Alyeska and the surrounding glacier-capped mountains from the living room and wrap-around decks. Relax by the fire, enjoy a movie on the home theatre system, or cook a meal in the gourmet kitchen.

The custom kitchen is on the main floor and features Viking range, hickory cabinets, granite countertops, and stainless appliances. The home features five bedrooms with private master suite located on the top floor. Master bath has custom travertine tile work, jetted tub, separate shower, and granite countertops.

The main floor living area features spacious living and dining areas, gas fireplace, leather furniture, and custom home theater system with large-screen Sony LCD HDTV. The top floor balcony features a spacious office area stocked with great reading material, a built-in desk, and high-speed wireless internet access. Full laundry facitlites are also located on the main floor.

Garage is not available for use by guests.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome

Steve & Elle Zernia

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Burleson, TX
5

WONDERFUL VIEWS AND LAYOUT

  • 5 of 5
This property was exactly as described and pictured: it had beautiful views of the mountains, had 5 bedrooms/3 baths and slept 10 people comfortably (one person used the futon in the loft). We were in Girdwood for a wedding as well as to fish (Homer and Seward) and do some sightseeing (glacier hikes, Alaska Railroad), and needed a place that would be functional for multiple family members/generations - this fit the bill perfectly. We priced some hotels in the area but soon discovered that it would cost more for each family to be stuck in their own room for the week. Renting this property made the week extremely enjoyable since we had a living room with wonderful views, a large and well-appointed kitchen, a grill on the deck, and even a washer and dryer. We were fortunate to enjoy several sunny days and found that by closing the shades in the living room and opening windows (and the door to the deck) for a cross breeze we could stay quite comfortable. The owner gave clear and simple instructions for gaining access well before our arrival and even provided information on local restaurants/activities. The house was immaculate when we arrived which was most welcome after a 6 hour flight and two trips to the airport to pick up other family members. I would rent this house again in a heartbeat.
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Awesome to hear the house worked out well for your family! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and were fortunate enough to have some nice weather too...
Thanks for the review.
Steve
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Schaumburg, IL
5

BEAUTIFUL HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5
We just stayed here this past week and it was an incredible experience. It was my parents anniversary and they decided to take our whole family (12 people) to Alaska. We were happy to see that there was so much to do in Girdwood.
The owners of the house were great. Some of us went on a fishing charter with the owner of the house who owns a fishing company/charter out of Seward (HIGHLY recommend!). They went above and beyond to take care of us. The house was spacious and fit all of us nicely. The only nit picky thing that we didn't care for was the dog hair all over. Luckily there was a vacuum cleaner which quickly took care of that. Other than that, there was plenty of clean towels, sheets and even food in the pantry that we were able to use.
We would all go back to this property in a heart beat! We had an amazing experience and were more than happy with everything about this house! :)
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! It was great to get to meet your group in Seward for some fishing. Hopefully you're enjoying all the fish and some great memories of Alaska too.
I will address the dog hair with the cleaning crew and make sure they are more thorough in the future.
Thanks for the review!
Steve
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Anchorage
5

FABULOUS STAY!

  • 5 of 5
We just had a family reunion for my husband's 80th birthday. 26 family members from around the country. The cabin was perfect and made the celebration a success. Clean, spacious, and a one of a kind view! Couldn't have been better.
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
5

COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER

  • 5 of 5
We could not have asked for a better fit for our families that we reunited with from across the country. The main floor is open with enough seating to feel comfy, not stuffed. The view is gorgeous. The house was clean. There were plenty of bathrooms. Excellent communication between owner and myself.

Just a wonderful experience.

Thank you so much for making our family reunion more memorable...Jim and Heather
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad to hear you had a great reunion and that the house worked well for your family. Thank you for renting. We hope to see you again!
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
2

OVERPRICED FOR THE MONEY

  • 2 of 5
The house does not have an air conditioner. Windows don't have screens so master bedroom gets to 88 degrees around 5-6pm on a warm day. Not fun. The owner charges taxes equal to 1 night stay, never seen this before. Disposal was not working, i called the owner, they fixed it but asked not to pit anything in it. I put cucumber peels in there, really? They have a a specified check in and check out time just like in hotels and hold you to it. They charged us for late check out. There are 2 flight per day on average out of Alaska : morning and evening, make sure you take the morning flight or you end up paying. Overal, overpriced for what you pay.
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We make no claims to have air-conditioning in our Girdwood home. We are in Alaska after all. Very few homes here in the 49th state are so equipped. You were fortunate enough to visit during an extended period of sunny, warm weather. I’m sure most travelers would be completely thrilled with similar weather for their Alaska visit. There are only two opening windows in our entire home that do not have screens, so closing blinds and opening windows should have sufficiently cooled the home.
We charge room tax for our rental as required by the Municipality of Anchorage (12% of rental rate). This tax is charged by each and every hotel, motel, B&B, and lodging establishment within the municipality.

Our rental agreement clearly states that check out time for our rental is 11am. This allows the cleaning crew time to have the home cleaned and ready for the next renters who could be checking in as soon as 4pm the same day. Your party did not leave until after 4pm on the day of your check out. Only then after a phone call from us and finally someone in person requesting you to do so. This caused us to miss our cleaning appointment. Fortunately, no one was checking in that same day or they would have arrived to a dirty house with prior guests who were stubbornly staying well past the stipulated check out time. We incurred additional fees for cleaning because there was fudge/chocolate ground into the carpet and along one of the walls. For these reasons we charged you an additional fee – which was withheld from your security deposit.
According to Anchorage International Airport figures there are over 100 domestic passenger flights that depart daily from Anchorage during the summer months. 1.6 million summer visitors can’t arrive on two flights a day…
As renters of a beautiful home, which we live in part of the year, we try to be as fair and accommodating to our renters as possible. We enjoy this home for part of the year and are happy to share it with guests while we are not there. We try to keep the home in excellent condition and request that renters treat it with care and abide by the rules we have set out. This ensures that the home is always clean and ready for the next guests or the return of our family.
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
sun valley, idaho
5

SURPRISE WEDDING PRESENT

  • 5 of 5
We rented this property to have preparation accomodations for my daughter's (the bride) wedding party. Were we ever pleasantly surprised to have such spacious areas and the view and kitchen exceded our expectations. The owners were extremely pleasant to work with in answering questions prior to booking. We rented just after solstice and even though the weather was not the best, the views of the ever changing scenery (mama and baby moose) was beautiful and only added to the beauty of the bride!
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Email

Map

Alaska halibut and salmon fishing charters available in Seward with ProFish-n-Sea Charters (see link below).

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Girdwood House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$449
$2,829
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Girdwood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Telephone
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Broadband Access
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full sized futon in loft area.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Satellite / Cable
  • CD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Books
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • zoo
  • playground
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • sledding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hunting
  • parasailing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snowmobiling
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • cycling
  • rafting
  • cross country skiing
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Email