CUSTOM HOME WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEWS OF MT. ALYESKA - GIRDWOOD, AK

Enter your travel dates

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CUSTOM HOME WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEWS OF MT. ALYESKA - GIRDWOOD, AK

Girdwood House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft + Office, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-12)

Available May 1st thru October 15th, this beautiful 5 bedroom custom-crafted home is in the heart of the Girdwood Valley. Located conveniently between Anchorage and the Kenai Peninsula, Girdwood is the perfect place to enjoy the best of Alaska. Great halibut and salmon fishing awaits just down the highway in Seward. Fabulous skiing, hiking, mountain biking, wildlife viewing, and gold panning are right out the front door.

Enjoy stunning views of Mt. Alyeska and the surrounding glacier-capped mountains from the living room and wrap-around decks. Relax by the fire, enjoy a movie on the home theatre system, or cook a meal in the gourmet kitchen.

The custom kitchen is on the main floor and features Viking range, hickory cabinets, granite countertops, and stainless appliances. The home features five bedrooms with private master suite located on the top floor. Master bath has custom travertine tile work, jetted tub, separate shower, and granite countertops.

The main floor living area features spacious living and dining areas, gas fireplace, leather furniture, and custom home theater system with large-screen Sony LCD HDTV. The top floor balcony features a spacious office area stocked with great reading material, a built-in desk, and high-speed wireless internet access. Full laundry facitlites are also located on the main floor.

Garage is not available for use by guests.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Anchorage
5

Fabulous stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We just had a family reunion for my husband's 80th birthday. 26 family members from around the country. The cabin was perfect and made the celebration a success. Clean, spacious, and a one of a kind view! Couldn't have been better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
5

Could not have been better

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We could not have asked for a better fit for our families that we reunited with from across the country. The main floor is open with enough seating to feel comfy, not stuffed. The view is gorgeous. The house was clean. There were plenty of bathrooms. Excellent communication between owner and myself.

Just a wonderful experience.

Thank you so much for making our family reunion more memorable...Jim and Heather
Owner's Response: We are so glad to hear you had a great reunion and that the house worked well for your family. Thank you for renting. We hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
2

Overpriced for the money

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house does not have an air conditioner. Windows don't have screens so master bedroom gets to 88 degrees around 5-6pm on a warm day. Not fun. The owner charges taxes equal to 1 night stay, never seen this before. Disposal was not working, i called the owner, they fixed it but asked not to pit anything in it. I put cucumber peels in there, really? They have a a specified check in and check out time just like in hotels and hold you to it. They charged us for late check out. There are 2 flight per day on average out of Alaska : morning and evening, make sure you take the morning flight or you end up paying. Overal, overpriced for what you pay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We make no claims to have air-conditioning in our Girdwood home. We are in Alaska after all. Very few homes here in the 49th state are so equipped. You were fortunate enough to visit during an extended period of sunny, warm weather. I’m sure most travelers would be completely thrilled with similar weather for their Alaska visit. There are only two opening windows in our entire home that do not have screens, so closing blinds and opening windows should have sufficiently cooled the home.
We charge room tax for our rental as required by the Municipality of Anchorage (12% of rental rate). This tax is charged by each and every hotel, motel, B&B, and lodging establishment within the municipality.

Our rental agreement clearly states that check out time for our rental is 11am. This allows the cleaning crew time to have the home cleaned and ready for the next renters who could be checking in as soon as 4pm the same day. Your party did not leave until after 4pm on the day of your check out. Only then after a phone call from us and finally someone in person requesting you to do so. This caused us to miss our cleaning appointment. Fortunately, no one was checking in that same day or they would have arrived to a dirty house with prior guests who were stubbornly staying well past the stipulated check out time. We incurred additional fees for cleaning because there was fudge/chocolate ground into the carpet and along one of the walls. For these reasons we charged you an additional fee – which was withheld from your security deposit.
According to Anchorage International Airport figures there are over 100 domestic passenger flights that depart daily from Anchorage during the summer months. 1.6 million summer visitors can’t arrive on two flights a day…
As renters of a beautiful home, which we live in part of the year, we try to be as fair and accommodating to our renters as possible. We enjoy this home for part of the year and are happy to share it with guests while we are not there. We try to keep the home in excellent condition and request that renters treat it with care and abide by the rules we have set out. This ensures that the home is always clean and ready for the next guests or the return of our family.
Helpful votes: 3/6
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
sun valley, idaho
5

SURPRISE WEDDING PRESENT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We rented this property to have preparation accomodations for my daughter's (the bride) wedding party. Were we ever pleasantly surprised to have such spacious areas and the view and kitchen exceded our expectations. The owners were extremely pleasant to work with in answering questions prior to booking. We rented just after solstice and even though the weather was not the best, the views of the ever changing scenery (mama and baby moose) was beautiful and only added to the beauty of the bride!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165316vb
(907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Roswell, GA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
AMAZING home! Our family rented this property for summer solstice in 2008. The accomodations are luxurious & spacious, and the views breathtaking. We didn't want to leave.
Helpful votes: 3/3

Map

Alaska halibut and salmon fishing charters available in Seward with ProFish-n-Sea Charters (see link below).

Photos

Availability & Rates

Girdwood House Rental Rates

Notes

  • $449/nt - $2829/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Base Rate $449/night for 1-8 guests (3 night minimum stay).
  • $25 fee per additional guest per night.
  • 10% discount for stays of 7 nights or more.
  • Rate subject to 12% MOA Bed Tax.
  • $500 refundable reservation/security deposit required to confirm reservation.
  • Full payment of rental rate due 30 days prior to arrival.
  • Written notice of cancellation must be received 30 days prior to stay to receive
  • a full refund of security/rental deposits.

Amenities

Girdwood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Broadband Access
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone
  • Gas Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Cooking Utensils
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full sized futon in loft area.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Satellite / Cable
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • zoo
  • restaurants
  • playground
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snowmobiling
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • hunting
  • parasailing
  • cycling
  • rafting
  • cross country skiing