Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Weeks open: June 13, June 27, July 4, July 11, August 22, August 29 check rates

Marian Brady

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Marian Brady

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Weeks open: June 13, June 27, July 4, July 11, August 22, August 29 check rates

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Traverse City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Direct sandy beach frontage, 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, central air, WiFi, cable TV

Thank you for your interest in the Willow cottage. It is located just 10 minutes from Traverse City, The Willow cottage is a 2 bedroom, 1 bath. ft.home, and sleeps 4**. on Silver Lake with 1.2 acres, 100 ft of private lake frontage with a firm sandy lake bottom beach. The Willow has direct frontage, just 10ft. away. The cottage is 10 min. from Traverse City. Silver Lake is a 600 acre spring-fed lake with clear sparkling water, surrounded by pines and hardwoods with islands and peninsulas, great for boating, fishing and swimming. There are 2 docks, one for boats if any, and one for people, and a swimming raft. The row boat, paddle boat and kayak are shared by all guests at no charge. Picnic tables, charcoal grills and campfire pits with wood provided. Swing set, hammocks.

**Maximum occupancy is no more than 4 adults. Since we get many requests to accommodate additional children with sleeping bags, beginning in our 2015 season we will allow up to 2 additional children to our maximum of 4 adults, but note there are no additional beds provided. The children are welcome to use sleeping bags.

Boat information: Bring your fishing, or ski boat and enjoy Silver Lake’s 3½ mile long stretch of shoreline or rent a boat from area marinas. We have the ability to dock two boats, so you need to let us know if you are bringing your own or renting a boat in order to reserve a spot on the boat dock.

We have been hosting visitors to the Traverse City area since 1989. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable home for you during your visit to the Traverse City area. Our own home is located on the property so we are available for sight-seeing advice, restaurant recommendations as well as just being here for our guests. Our reservation process is a traditional up-north cottage rental process with a bit of modernization. We send all the information via the Internet, but once someone wants to make a reservation, we reach out and contact them so we can personally answer questions, and establish a connection with our future guests. We know that vacations are a time to relax, have fun and be as hassle free as possible.

We are open from May to October. Join us in the Spring for nature's peace and beauty. Summer visits become a family tradition. Autumn is filled with cool, crisp days in all their color. Numerous golf courses are minutes away. Canoe, kayak or tube trips down the Boardman River- just down the road, or down the Platte River-25 minutes away. Bring your bikes as there are numerous bike trails in the Traverse City area.

You can Google search these activities or get the information when you arrive at the cottage in our resource book

So much to do in the area.: There is so much to do in the Traverse City area. Some examples are: winery tours and tasting rooms, Children’s Museum, Moomers Homemade Ice Cream (voted #1 in U.S.), Pirate’s Cove Adventure Park, the State Theatre (home of the Traverse City Film Festival), The village at Grand Traverse Commons, Dennos Museum, Interlochen Arts and Performance Academy, Music House Museum, Sleeping Bear National Lake Shore Park, Wuerfel Park (home to the minor league baseball team-Beach Bums) as well as all the biking, hiking, canoeing, and kayaking available in our area.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Marian Brady (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2015

About Marian Brady

My husband, Tom and I were married in 1979. We moved to Traverse City in 1980 from the city of Detroit. My mother was raised on an local farm. My maternal great grandparents were pioneers to the area. My mother moved away when she was a young adult. I developed my love for the area as a young child as we vacationed every year in Traverse City. Tom and I honeymooned in Traverse City. We moved here 9 months later. The photo I chose for our 'Property Story' shows 4 of our 5 children at Sleeping Bear Dunes, just 20 minutes away.

Marian Brady purchased this cottage in 1989

Why Marian Brady chose Traverse City

We discovered and purchased our small resort in 1989. It was a diamond in the rough, but it had a great private sandy beach and was in close to Traverse City. We remodeled the cottages as we raised our 5 children. We worked on the cottages as a family. Over the years, our children have learned many skills and developed a great work ethic as everyone helped over the years. Our youngest are twins and are seniors in high shool and still help with maintanence.

What makes this cottage unique

We take great pride in providing clean/comfortable/updated homes that our guests will call home during their stay. You will be able to relax and enjoy your vacation as we are very available for assistance as we live on site.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Nice cottage, clean, all the comforts of home, with an up-North feel.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Families with Young Children
May 2009
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Weeks open: June 13, June 27, July 4, July 11, August 22, August 29 check rates
average rating of 4.8 based on 7 reviews
Bourbonnais, il
5

Best value in TC

  • 5 of 5

The cottage exceeded our expectations! As we walked in we were impressed with the updated kitchen, bathroom and comfortable living room. The 2 bedroom cottage is very cozy and very welcoming. The deck allowed us to sit outside right on the water, and take in the natural beauty of this spot. Fantastic value!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Great Family Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned a few days ago one of our top vacations ever! The cottage was excellent, only complaint was no washer and dryer, but everything else was great. We loved the beach, the lake, and the cottage. There is so much to do within a short drive. Our must see is Sleeping "Bear Dunes, can't stop showing all our pictures of this amazing place. The owners were great to us every step of the way. We rented a boat for 3 days and our oldest one learned how to water ski, a vacation he will never forget. We are considering a return trip next summer and several of our friends are interesting in visiting Michigan after hearing how much we enjoyed our trip. Michigan is beautiful, we will never forget this great vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words about your cottage experience. We try to make your visit to this great area as comfortable and as pleasant as possible. Thanks again Marian and Tom Brady
Lansing, MI
5

Nice clean cottage

  • 5 of 5

This is a nice cottage. We rented the smaller cottage and found it to be perfect for our family of 4. A great place to stay, very quiet and yet a short 15 minute drive to downtown Traverse City or the mall. The best of both worlds, all that Traverse City has to offer and yet then we could go back to the quiet, peaceful lake. Great yard, lots of lawn chairs, picnic table and we really liked having a fire pit right in front of our cottage. Our only complaint was that the smaller cottage does not get WIFI. You could get it if you sat on the back porch. Nice vacation we will always remember.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very happy the family thought our cottage was perfect for their family. We found out that the WIFI wasn't working once we read the review. I am sure limited WIFI had an impact on the enjoyment for the teens. We fixed the problem as soon as we found out. WIFI reception is great in the Willow Cottage now.
New Hudson, Michigan
5

Nice and spacious, a great time!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the cabin/house for a long weekend in early May for my daughter's State Gymnastic Meet in Traverse City. My husband and I have 4 girls ages 11, 10, 6, and 5. We all just loved the cabin! The girls loved the bedroom with the bunkbed. The cabin was nice and spacious, very clean. It had a very welcoming feeling to it. The girls had fun playing in the sand on the beach, and on the swingset and hammock. Unfortunately it was cold while we were there and we did not get to go swimming or use the outdoor firepit. Traverse City was just minutes away which was nice. We arrived late at night and the cabin was very hard to find in the dark. The owner was very congenial and greeted us when we got there. Our only complaint was that the furnace was very loud, and the cabin was situated very close to the other properties, not much privacy, though we were gone a lot and it didn't really matter. The yard was big and we all still loved it and had a great time! We would definitely go back again given the chance. Thank you for a wonderful, memorable weekend!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank your for the positive review. I wanted to comment on the review though as it has raised some questions from our potential guests. We too were glad the family could find us. They came after midnight and we knew it would be difficult to find as it is dark out in the lake area at night. The driveway is long and The family didn't have a GPS, so that made it more difficult. We stayed up waiting for them with a flashlight out on the driveway hoping that would help them find the cottage. The comment about the furnace was helpful as the furnace doesn't get used in the summer and we didn't know it was an issue. We remember the weekend and it was a cold, rainy one. The furnace issue was resolved. The concern that the cottages are very close to the other properties: The cottages are on fifty foot lots, we live next door. The cottages are off set from each other so they are not lined up next to each other. The family was here in mid-May and were the only family at our resort. I don't know if they were projecting what they thought it would be like with 2 families sharing 100ft. of private frontage and a large lot, not sure. I find out what people are looking for and I do tell them if it sounds like they are looking for a cottage in a remote area, that this is not our place. Silver Lake is community of lake side homes that are mostly year round residences with a few rental cottages scattered in amongst the year round folk. It is close to Traverse City and all that it has to offer. Again, i am glad they enjoyed their stay, but some of the comments have caused potential guests to email me and ask for clarification. I decided it would be best to post my comments here to clarify the issues. Thanks for looking. Marian Brady
Okemos, MI
4

Nice cottage

  • 4 of 5

Nice cottage, clean, all the comforts of home, with an up-North feel.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Cherry Capitol Airport is 15 minutes away
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
The Crown
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Boone's Long Lake Inn

The Willow Cottage is located 10 minutes from Traverse City on Silver Lake. The cottage is a few minutes from golf courses, wineries,shopping, live theater (world renown Interlochen Arts Academy) restaurants, hiking, biking and fishing. Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lake Shore Park is 25 minutes away. Historic Mackinac Island is a day trip adventure away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $110 Per night

Traverse City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Seasonal Rates
Apr 24 2015 - May 22 2015
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
Seasonal Rates
May 23 2015 - May 29 2015
3 night minimum stay
$110
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
Sesaonl Rates
May 30 2015 - Jun 8 2015
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
Seasonal Rates
Jun 9 2015 - Jun 19 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Seasonal Rates
Jun 20 2015 - Jun 26 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,700
 
 
Seasonal Rates
Jun 27 2015 - Jul 3 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Seaonal Rates
Jul 4 2015 - Jul 10 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
Seasonal Rates
Jul 11 2015 - Jul 24 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Seasonal Rates
Jul 25 2015 - Jul 31 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
Seasonal Rates
Aug 1 2015 - Aug 14 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Seasonal Rates
Aug 15 2015 - Aug 21 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Seasonal Rates
Aug 22 2015 - Sep 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Seasonal Rates
Sep 5 2015 - Sep 11 2015
3 night minimum stay
$140
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
Seasonal Rates
Sep 12 2015 - Oct 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes First is a 50% installment within 7 days of the taken reservation. The second installment is the remaining 50% plus a 6% MI Use tax which is due 45 days prior to arrival. Also due at that time is a refundable Damage and Excessive Cleaning Deposit in the amount of $500.00. Property must be left as found in order for this amount to be returned.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is a full, ceramic tiled bathroom with a tub/shower combination.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Both bedrooms have a queen size bed and flat screen cable TV. All bed linens are provided: note, we DO NOT provide towels-bath or beach towels)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Pedal Boat
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Central air conditioning, natural gas forced air furnace.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote