HomeAway is the world leader in vacation rentals with over 1 million listings. We offer the largest selection of properties for any travel occasion and every budget. We're committed to helping families and friends find a perfect vacation rental to create unforgettable travel experiences together.
Fewer than twelve historic houses remain from the original Lake Place Club. All the houses have names and this house, Mt. Ash, was faithfully restored by an architect in 2003. The house is designed to take full advantage of the spectacular views of the Adirondack High Peaks from both inside and the screened and unscreened porches. From the living room the only thing man-made that one sees is the Olympic ski jump & from the den the only evidence is the Olympic bobsled run. Both are still in use.
There are four fireplaces; one in the living room and three others in three of the bedrooms. There is a library w/ a rich selection of books & games. For those who must do business while vacationing, there is high speed internet access and a printer/copier/fax machine in the den.
The Spa Room contains a hot tub large enough for six people and a Nordic Track cross country ski exerciser.
We love this house because it is close to all we want, including a short
walk to Lake Placid
Availability : Please look at the calendar carefully before inquiring about dates. Thank you.
We spent just over a week at Mountain Ash with our young (newly walking 11 month-old) child last December and could not recommend it highly enough! The house feels more like a home than a vacation rental- it has many personal touches (nice artwork, games, interesting books) and is very well supplied in terms of kitchen things, etc. The weather was gorgeous/ beastly (depending on your preference- LOTS of snow) and the home has a beautiful picture window with unobstructed tree and valley views that made it the perfect place to just hang out. We barely felt the need to leave (especially given the wonderful hot tub in the basement.) It was an easy walk to downtown, and drive to food stores, skiing, etc. Our son loved exploring the new house (one set of stairs to watch out for- might recommend bringing a simple pressure mounted door gate if you're concerned). The bedrooms were a good size and everything in tip-top condition. Fireplaces were SO cozy and well used by us! The club/ grounds are lovely and it is easy to see how this would be a perfect place in warm weather too. A heavenly escape in the mountains!
Submitted: Mar 2, 2009
Stayed: Dec 2008
Tourists without a Car,
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children,
Our family (two kids, grandparents) had a truly wonderful time staying here. The house is spacious, comfortable and well appointed, with a fantastic view as well. Close enough to town to walk there, yet removed enough for quiet and tranquility. An ideal spot for those looking to explore Lake Placid's wintertime activities. Highly recommended.
Submitted: Jan 13, 2015
Stayed: Dec 2014
VRBO, from HomeAway
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children
This place was acclaimed as excellent by my entire family. I thought the owner did a great job restoring this place. You got a feel for a bygone era, but with modern amenities. The rooms are airy with lots of natural light. The deck loomed large during our cocktail hours, and as a plus, it had a phenomenal view of the High Peak region.. The beds were comfortable. I cook often and the kitchen, while compact, had largely what i needed implement-wise. The golf clubhouse was an 8 minute walk down the road. The brew pub and public beach on Mirror Lake were less than a 15 minute walk away. The wifi worked well. If you and your fellow occupants need a flat screen and big cable/satellite networking, this is not the place for you. There was just a 90's era tv and local channels available; but that was fine by us. Also, your neighbors are just a football toss distant. So, if you're looking for an isolated Adirondack experience, this ain't the place. But you're not going to get that anywhere so proximate to Lake Placid. In sum, i would very happily go back to this place.
I stayed at this house recently and I would not recommend this property. The listing is misleading. The house is small, the rooms are claustrophobic, the kitchen is very poorly stocked, the entire house has a musty odor and it is full of dog hair. I have a dog at home but I vacuum periodically to pick up the dog hair so it doesn’t end up looking like tumbleweeds on my floors. Take my word for it, do not rent this house.
Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
Stayed: Aug 2013
VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Owner Response #6978763 "DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY"
From: Bill Date: October 31, 2013 6:33:57 PM EDT To: HomeAway Subject: Re: Owner Review Notification - Property: 162087 Review: 6978763 Dear Homeaway, This is another member of the family about which we corresponded in my email of October 1, which I have attached. As a result of their visit there was considerable damage to the house, which was documented by my care taker. To try to make amends, I returned 1/3 of the security deposit and paid for the labor cost of making the repair myself. It was my understanding that the issue was settled. Now this review arrives from another family member. As the architect and owner of this carefully resorted Lake Placid Club house with 2000 sq. ft., two floors, four bedrooms, three bath rooms, four fireplaces, an interior hot tub for six, original art work and a panoramic view of the Adirondack High Peaks it is sometimes difficult to be modest about this, our second home. Perhaps it was too modest for these guests, we all have different standards; however to call the home small and the rooms claustrophobic is not accurate. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything guests would need to cook and to eat. The house does sometimes have a left-over smell from the large fireplace in the great room. Musty it is not. I do allow people with dogs to stay in the house as long as the dogs are not allowed on the furniture or the beds. I will talk to my cleaning lady about being extra careful as she vacuums. I need to emphasize that this is our house as well. We enjoy it, I dare say, love it and are very proud of it. We hope our guest will love the house as well. There may be a rare time this does not happen; things can always be improved; however, unless criticism is fair and accurate it does not help me improve my house and does not help future guests truly understand what to expect.
Although this house was nice and had a beautiful view, I was very disappointed with the lack of cleanliness. The hot tub had slime on the interior walls and not all the jets were working. The garbage can in the house had garbage in it, and the furniture, floors and bathrooms appeared to not have been cleaned recently. I think the most disappointing thing of all, was when I returned the keys to the property owner, I wrote him a note to let him know (as he lives in NYC) that he should be aware that his caretaker was not doing their job well. I was VERY disappointed when he sent me my deposit back, as there was NO response to my note. Why wouldn't you appreciate someone letting you know this? It's not like I was asking him for any money back . We had a good time and we all made the best of the situation with the house.
Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
Stayed: Oct 2012
Owner's Response: I am very saddened by this review, both because I take great pride in my house and also because the guest had a less than pleasant stay, while giving me no opportunity to respond to her needs. The few times when guests have found something less than satisfactory and have come to me or my caretaker in Lake Placid, the response has been immediate. When a note arrived with the returned keys two weeks after the stay it seemed that the more impotant response was to the caretaker, who maintains the hot tub, and to the housekeeper, who was replaced. All guests have my telephone number and the local phone number of the caretaker.
Great house in a great location. Could have spent my entire stay admiring the view from the porch. House is clean and well maintained. Walked to Mirror Lake for a swim almost every day. Not quite as secluded as I thought based on the picture (house has a shared driveway; neighbor's house is right next door) but not really a problem. Would definitely stay there again.
Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
Stayed: Aug 2011
VRBO, from HomeAway
Families with Teenagers,
A two minute walk takes one to 45 holes of golf on three different golf courses designed by Scotsman for the Lake Placid Club. Those same two minutes will get you to 15 clay and hard surface tennis courts. Three minutes will get you to a private beach on Mirror lake. The golf courses are criss-crossed with marked hiking trails which take one up into the mountains. In the winter that same golf course and hiking trails are groomed for cross country skiing. The Olympic ski mountain, Whiteface, is a 15 minute drive. For the less athletic, the shops, outlet stores, museums, movie theaters and restaurants of Lake Placid are a five minute walk. If one continues through the town and around Mirror Lake those two plus miles also afford some bragging rights. The two winter Olympics which were held in Lake Placid are never far from site or mind. Many of the 1980 Olympic facilities are still in use. One is able to watch ski jumping, ice skating or bobsledding in the winter or the summer!
Bedrooms 1 and 2 are on the entry floor level and bedrooms 3 and 4 are on the lower level. In one of the bedrooms with twin beds the beds may be pushed together or left apart as one wishes. Bedroom 4 is an extra large bedroom and has a chaise lounge and its own TV/DVD/ with an outlet for a game player.All bedrooms have linens.
Books for Adults
Books for Kids
Games for Kids
Satellite / Cable
Communication / Internet:
Screen Porch / Veranda
Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Walkway to Water
6 garden chairs
Long-term Renters Welcome
suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
Indoor Hot Tub
Sports & Adventure Activities:
There is a washing machine and clothes dryer.
There are deck chairs on the screened and unscreened porches.
There are terry cloth robes and towels in the hot tub room.