Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Marsha Evans-Mielke

Advertiser since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Marsha Evans-Mielke

Advertiser since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 31, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SAPPHIRE BEACH--A JEWEL

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

East End Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Location! Location! Location! Sapphire Beach is simply the best place to stay on St. Thomas. Why drive to the beach when you can have it as your front yard? Sapphire is the best all-around beach on St. Thomas, offering white sand, shade and great snorkeling. Our unit is totally remodeled and waiting for you. Need side-by side units? Our neighbor has also updated; we will be glad to check availability.

St. Thomas - Everything You're Looking For: Duty Free Shopping

Nightlife/Activities

Beautiful Beaches and Mountain Views

Excursions to St. John and British Virgin Islands

Water Sports

Need a car or jeep for all or part of your stay? We highly recommend Zip Rentals. We've used them many times. They're happy to meet us at the airport or deliver the car right to Sapphire. Their prices are competitive and the service is great. Call Lisa @ 340.715.1501 or email @ ziprentalsvi@gmail.com

The second largest of the U.S. Virgin Islands, St. Thomas spans 32 square miles of tropical paradise and lies off the coast of Puerto Rico. The island embraces the Atlantic Ocean on the North side and the Caribbean Sea on the South. It is located in the northwest corner of the US Virgin Islands. Its mountainous peaks rise to 1,550 feet above sea level, providing breathtaking views from almost every direction. Drake's Seat is particularly famous for its vistas. The capital of the Virgin Islands is Charlotte Amalie, a charming and gracious town named in 1692 for the Queen of Denmark. A natural deep water port, it has one of the most stunning harbors in the world. It is also known as a mecca for duty-free shopping in the Caribbean Islands. Our newly remodeled condo is located on beautiful Sapphire Beach which boasts a wide white sand beach and great snorkeling.

St. Thomas can be a quiet retreat or a destination for visitors who enjoy the bustle of duty-free Shopping, fine dining, and exciting nightlife. Sports and activities are abundant on St. Thomas. Golf enthusiasts will enjoy the George and Tom Fazio-designed Mahogany Run course. St. Thomas is also well known for its world-class yachting and sport fishing. A number of dive shops serve the island and provide a safe, comfortable scuba experience for beginners or experienced divers. Advanced certification courses are available here, as well as complete instruction for beginners

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Marsha Evans-Mielke (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 31, 2015

About Marsha Evans-Mielke

We retired early as we'd much rather travel than go to an office each day. We are by no means wealthy and owning apiece of paradise doesn't come cheaply. Renting our condo when we can't be here helps us meet expenses and we know our guests will love it here. Many return year after year and become part of our extended Sapphire family.

Marsha Evans-Mielke purchased this condo in 2007

Why Marsha Evans-Mielke chose East End

After visiting this beautiful island twice on a cruise we decided a longer stay was in order. After coming a few years for a one week stay we decided that wasn't enough time either. So, the search was on. We looked at properties all over the island and decided no place but Sapphire would do as a second home. We haven't regretted our decision for a moment. The beautiful white sand beach that greets us each morning, the great snorkeling and million dollar views make this a place we love coming home to again and again.

What makes this condo unique

Sapphire Beach has it all: beautiful white sand, great snorkeling and million dollar views. We have Seagrape trees for those who crave the shade, a wide sand beach for those who want the sun. There's a marina on site with charter boats for day or sunset sails and power boats for fishing or going to other islands or snorkeling spots. Or rent a pocket yacht and go on your own. There's also para sailing and jet skis available.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wonderful family vacation



Date Submitted: February 28, 2009 Date of Stay: February 2009

Sapphire Beach is beautiful, and the condo is great. Since many of the other reviewers were couples, I'll provide the "traveling with kids" perspective. We have two children, 8 and 10. The air mattress in the living room was fine for them--they loved to lie there and watch the ocean! The condo is just as described and shown in the pictures--very clean, and everything in working order. The view is EXACTLY as described, and can't be beat! Marsha provides nice extras like DVD's, a cooler with ice packs for picnics, and of course the use of snorkeling equipment and beach chairs from the local dive shop is a great benefit. If you like to snorkel, the rental costs could really add up otherwise. Speaking of snorkeling--Sapphire is a very good place for this, whether you are a beginner or experienced. We saw tons of fish, a green turtle--even a little moray eel! For those who prefer the pool, it is lovely. There's a separate shallow pool (3 feet) for little ones, and then a five foot pool, right on the ocean.

I would recommend renting a car for at least part of your stay, Budget rental is right on the premises. Red Hook is walking distance (not even a mile) but the roads are narrow and not really walker-friendly. The other option is taxis, which are expensive.

The best thing about Sapphire is that it is very quiet--no nearby bars or restaurants going at all hours. You can easily get to Red Hook if that's what you like, but if you want to fall asleep listening to the waves on the shore and the wind in the palms . . . this is your place!

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway, Families with Young Children
Feb 2009
  • 1 of 4
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 29 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sapphire Beach--A Jewel
average rating of 4.862069 based on 33 reviews
business
Sapphire Beach--A Jewel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159445
-(309) 507-2560 (Illinois, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Arlington, VA
5

If you want relaxation, stay here!

  • 5 of 5
We had a lovely time at this condo. It is on one of the most beautiful beaches on St. Thomas and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. Your close to the water, the Dive shop has chairs, floats, and even wind surfers you can use for free, and the location is great. You can hear the waves from the condo, and you're only a 5 minute ride from red hook or a 2 minute walk from the Marina.
The condo had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The cooler that was provided was very handy on more than one occasion, and the bed was very comfortable. My husband and I would definitely stay here again!
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love hearing our guests had a great time and found everything they needed in our condo. We provide free rentals of beach loungers, snorkel gear and floats. There should have been a charge for the wind surfer.
business
Sapphire Beach--A Jewel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159445
-(309) 507-2560 (Illinois, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Papillion
3

Nice location. Friendly people.

  • 3 of 5
Condo was comfortable except that air conditioner barely worked or didn't work, had water leaking out of the a.c. closet all week. Wet smelly towels found in closet when repair man arrived to fix it, so not the first time for this problem.. He was back several times and it never did get fixed. It was a dirty mess inside, showing little to no maintenance. Our go to person Jeannie was very nice, and tried to help. We were somewhat afraid to touch anything in condo, due to the long list of "don't dos" listed by the owner. The "safe" in the closet was rusty and never worked from the first time we tried it. The location is beautiful, and the ocean is nice there. I would go back, but I think I would try a different unit.
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel badly about the air conditioner. Unfortunately, the air conditioning units do not belong to the owners. We have to wait for the COA to replace the unit which they did right after this guest left. There had been problems in the past, but it had always been a quick fix. The a/c unit could not be replaced during this guest's stay as that would have been even more disruptive.

We don't think our rules are excessive. We ask people to not break into the locked cupboards and drawers. We ask people to return the furniture to where it was on arrival, do the dishes and leave the safe unlocked on departure. All things we would expect to do if we were staying in a rental. We've stayed in rentals that had so many rules a check-list was required. We never found this objectionable as we understood this was the owner's home which they took great pride in.

We advise people not to move the internet router as their internet speed will suffer. We also advise our guests to take the trash out every couple of days as it's the tropics and no one wants 6 legged visitors.

If the guests had informed our property manager the safe wasn't working she would have replaced the batteries. We arrived shortly after these guests left. We noticed the lights were flashing so we replaced the batteries and the safe worked perfectly. There is some rust here and there, but in the tropics rust on metal is hard to avoid.

We are sorry these guests were unhappy. We've only ever had 5 star reviews so this one is quite concerning to us. We will leave the rules in place because experience has taught us we need them. The air conditioner issue is resolved. We will let our property manager know she needs to check the safe batteries every month or so.
business
Sapphire Beach--A Jewel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159445
-(309) 507-2560 (Illinois, USA)
East End St. Thomas
-
5

Super Location

  • 5 of 5
We had our home on St. Croix Rented and wanted to visit some other Islands. The beach and reef here are outstanding. Property is located very near Red Hook. Lots of restaurants and all the boating opportunity you could want. The condo is as described and very comfortable.
  • Submitted: May 31, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Perfect guests. It is always wonderful having guests that are also vacation home owners. Thank you for being such thoughtful visitors. We look forward to staying at your place on St. Croix in the future.
business
Sapphire Beach--A Jewel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159445
-(309) 507-2560 (Illinois, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

A little slice of heaven.

  • 5 of 5
Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina is without a doubt the most gorgeous place we have ever been. The condo is very well-maintained and we really appreciate all the work the owners have put into it. It has a beautifully remodeled kitchen and bathroom. Nice new king size bed, you can leave the sliding door open and let the ocean waves to lull you to sleep. And, of course the balcony that is just yards away from the ocean. There was very nice snorkel equipment in the condo.

There is a bar and grill within walking distance and during the day a food truck just up the hill called Off The Grid that serves BBQ. If you want other dining options there is a quaint village called Red Hook a mile down the road with many dining options. This is also where you can catch the ferry to St. John. We rented a car so we took the car barge but you can still ferry over there and then take the bus around St. John. You can easily take the bus right from Sapphire Beach around the island too.

The Sapphire Marina offers many options for day sails, dinner cruises, jet ski rental, fishing trips, and more.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone interested in relaxation on the beach.
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It always thrills us to hear that our guests have enjoyed our condo as much as we do,
business
Sapphire Beach--A Jewel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159445
-(309) 507-2560 (Illinois, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Great convenient beach getaway

  • 5 of 5
We loved this condo: great location (right on the beach) and great amenities.
The condo is very comfortable and was perfect for our family vacation!
Great location to get to Red Hook and take the ferry to the other islands. Highly recommend this rental!
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It always thrills us to hear that our guests enjoy our bit of paradise as much as we do.
business
Sapphire Beach--A Jewel
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159445
-(309) 507-2560 (Illinois, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Paradise for sure...

  • 5 of 5
Still basking in the glow from a wonderful 10 day stay @ Sapphire Beach Resort & Marina.... Couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. The description on the website was totally accurate. The unit is clean,well maintained and recently renovated as well as very very comfortable. The view off the terrace is breathtaking & there's nothing like the sound of the surf to lull you to sleep every night. The beach is right outside & never crowded. The pool is beautiful with a fabulous view of St John & the surrounding smaller islands. Security personnel make regular rounds & are very friendly. The Sapphire Grill halfway up the hill @ Sapphire Villiage served delicious reasonable meals & great Happy Hour cocktails. Don't miss the conch fritters with the mango sauce. Yummy! Marsha, the owner was easily accessible & Jeanne,the resident manager was delightful.

Really enjoyed a day trip to St John on the ferry. The beaches there are the best I've ever seen. Coral world & Coki Point were also great. And there are tons of really good restaurants nearby. Especially enjoyed Pesce & Fishtails in Redhook.

The one thing I will do differently next year is rent a car,at least for a few days, now that I'm learning my way around the island. I would definitely recommend this island & this rental unit.
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Cyril B. King
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Sapphire Grill
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Red Hook
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Mahongany Run
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Sapphire Grill
Car: recommended

Why Sapphire Beach? Because it's the best one, of course. We've been vacationing in St. Thomas for many years. When it was time to buy we knew where we wanted to be. We've completely remodeled and updated; we know you'll be comfortable here. White sands and good snorkeling, a beautiful view of St. John, convenience to Red Hook and ferries to surrounding islands, close to shopping and fine dining and yet in a secluded gated resort. We chose the second floor so we could leave the sliders open at night and enjoy the sounds of the surf and the island breeze. Leave your daily stresses behind. We will greet you with a welcome basket of drinks & snacks. Guests staying 5 nights or more will have a mid-week towel exchange. Our guests enjoy free use of wi-fi, beach chairs and snorkel equipment.

Other Activities: Coral World is a short drive away. This is an educational fun day enjoyed by all ages. Of course St. Thomas is known world wide for the duty free shopping in Charlotte Amalie.

Golf: Mahogany Run Golf Course is well known. A convenient drive from Sapphire.

Zip lining is now available nearby.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

East End Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Nov 23 2014 - Apr 11 2015
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Apr 12 2015 - Aug 29 2015
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Aug 30 2015 - Nov 21 2015
4 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak
Nov 22 2015 - Apr 2 2016
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes $10.00 per person per night for 3rd & 4th occupant. $300 Security Deposit, returned at end of stay.
2 or 3 Night stays require a $165 cleaning fee.
Rates are subject to change and cannot be guaranteed until the rental agreement is agreed to and the first payment is received.
All rentals are subject to an 10% USVI Hotel Tax.
A $300 refundable damage deposit is required
Welcome basket; complim

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.

Amenities

East End Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is newly remodeled from floor to ceiling.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Fold Out Couch
  • Luxurious king size bed faces the ocean. New memory foam mattress. Fall asleep and wake to the sound of the surf. Pocket doors between the bedroom and living area where you'll find a queen-size fold out couch. We provide a queen size airbed to put on top of the fold out. condo sleeps 4 comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Pedal Boat
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Have your morning coffee overlooking the beach from the balcony sitting at our raised table. Beach loungers for owner and guest use only located between B & C building. We provide snorkel equipment. Snorkeling trips, sailboat cruises, fishing trips and jet skis available at the resort marina.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote