HISTORIC, CONVERTED MILL W/BEAUTIFUL WATERFALL & STREAM, 2 HR DRIVE FROM NYC

Dawn

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Dawn

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HISTORIC, CONVERTED MILL W/BEAUTIFUL WATERFALL & STREAM, 2 HR DRIVE FROM NYC

Millbrook House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, large living & dining room, eat in kitchen, large deck

This historic Mill, converted into a dramatic and inviting living space by the owner's parents, an architect and an interior designer, is available for seasonal or long term rental. Open living spaces combine with intimate private nooks to make this property a unique opportunity to experience. This large property has extensive outdoor living spaces also, such as decks, lawns, and of course, the Mill's stream. The Mill's waterfall provides an incredible swimming experience in the summer months. The Mill is a rustic and charming home located in extremely peaceful & private setting.

Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Dawn

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
business
Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159392
+1 646 256-9355
Millbrook Hudson Valley
Brooklyn, New York
5

WEEKEND RETREAT

  • 5 of 5
I just spent a magical, birthday weekend with friends and family at The Mill. Sleeping with the rushing water underneath us made for restful dreams. Waking up and dipping in the private swimming hole and sitting under the waterfall. Enough space to accommodate a large party of people with plenty of little knooks to get away and have a moment to oneself to nap or read or meditate. I can't wait to go back.
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159392
+1 646 256-9355
Millbrook Hudson Valley
Manhattan
5

EXCELLENT

  • 5 of 5
I had read a couple of bad reviews on the property and i have no idea where they are coming from (smell of sulfur, etc.) - the place is beautiful, an absolute hidden gym. We had no problems, it was lovely, it's an amazing and convenient escape from new york city, and I will be heading back. I don't typically write reviews, but the mill provided for an amazing weekend. thank you
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159392
+1 646 256-9355
Millbrook Hudson Valley
Boston, MA
1

BEAUTIFUL SETTING BUT MAJOR DRAWBACKS. BEWARE!

  • 1 of 5
My husband and I rented the Mill House in September 2009 for what we hoped would be a restful week's vacation with our son and daughter-in-law. We knew the house would be somewhat rustic, but never imagined it would have the serious problems we encountered. Staying in the house turned out to be such an unpleasant experience that we left after two days, even though we had prepaid for a week. Here are some of the issues we faced: The water had such a strong sulfur (rotten egg) odor that we could not drink it, and did not even want to wash or shower in it. The entire house had a musty, moldy smell and feel, causing two of us to have an allergic reaction. When we arrived, we were told we might encounter bats in the house, and were given instructions on how to get rid of them in case they should appear. Truck traffic noise all night was so loud that we could not sleep in the master bedroom that faced the road. Despite our requests, the owners were unwilling to offer us any kind of refund. In the past, we have rented vacation homes online many times -- in Hawaii, New Hampshire, Vermont, Cape Cod, Culebra, Vieques, Jamaica, Costa Rica and Mexico. We thoroughly enjoyed all of those rentals; none of them had problems anything like those we encountered at the Mill House.

This region of New York state is beautiful, and there are a lot of interesting things to do in the area. However, we definitely would NOT recommend staying at the Mill House.
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always strive to ensure that our tenants enjoy their stay.

We take pains to fully disclose information about the house so that we do not end up with tenants who do not appreciate its quirks and charms. We recognize that the house is not for everyone- and that all parties are happier when it is a good match. We’d rather rent the house to the ‘right’ tenants or not at all. This house is a very special place, built by hand and upkept with love, passed down from father to daughter, and we prefer to fill it with people who can enjoy the experience that it offers.

Prior to arrival, tenants are emailed a comprehensive guide. It clearly states that the water is from a well, which sometimes runs ‘soft’. The house is regularly and thoroughly cleaned. We’ve had a full season of renters, none of whom complained of mold. These tenants DID NOT encounter any bats; they were simply informed that it is important to keep the doors shut at dusk, or risk letting a bat in (or mosquitoes, squirrels, raccoons, etc...the house is on an 11 acre wooded lot and is next to water). The implication of excess noise is stunning- we have had many, many tenants over the years who fall in love with the house for the peaceful retreat that it offers.

The lease is written in straightforward, fair and clear language that outlines our rules and policies. In the past, we’ve been willing to operate outside of the lease to rectify a complaint or to let tenants out of a lease in emergency situations. We’ve offered money back in situations that we felt that it was appropriate. We are more than happy to work toward a reasonable resolution, when approached respectfully, with problems or complaints.

For whatever reason, these tenants did not mention any of their complaints, such as the smell of mold or excess noise, while I personally showed them around the house and grounds for over an hour upon their arrival. After their arrival on a Friday afternoon, we simply got an email at 10pm on Tuesday night, stating that they have gone home and are demanding their money back. I'm not clear on how they believe that they only stayed for two days (?) or that this aggressive email is the way to approach us about a refund.
business
Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159392
+1 646 256-9355
Millbrook Hudson Valley
Brooklyn, NY
5

GORGEOUS!

  • 5 of 5
We rented this mill for a weekend in the country last fall. Simply stunning! The kitchen needs updating and the stairs between the main floor and the bedroom floor are STEEP, but otherwise it is an amazing find! Will go back again and again for our fall getaways! A fantastic retreat from the city.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159392
+1 646 256-9355
Millbrook Hudson Valley
5

BREATHTAKING . . . GREAT FENG SHUI!

  • 5 of 5
If the power or water in the surroundings energizes the soul, then this provides the ultimate rejuvenating experience.

The stream didn't just trickle near my window . . . it powerfully (yet quietly) cascaded under the flooring of my sleeping quarters.

Quaint, comfortable and inspiring . . . this renovated, and modernly architected property was magnificent for its style, ambience and comforts. Immaculately clean, well-kept and with the provision of every amenity imaginable, I'm reluctant to provide such a glowing (yet true and accurate) review, for fear that others would rush to rent it, and preclude me from future rental opportunities - - I want it all to myself!

Outstanding care of the property, and superb customer services by its management provider, any family or fun-loving group of friends would enjoy the house and surroundings immensely. We stayed Super Bowl weekend, and the only thing that we may have enjoyed more (yet, maybe not) was the Giants winning the game.

It was truly delightful, and we stayed there during the dead of winter. I can only imagine what the warmer and summer months must be like, with the lush vegetation filling in the gaps of the empty branches, and the adjoining stream with its multiple cascades fully usable.

Walking onto the deck and back lawn felt like you were going back 2+ centuries in time, at a place that George Washington and his troops would be resting and recharging for battle -- it's that rustic and charming.

It's scenic, it's romantic, it's historic and it's simply a wonderful place to spend a relaxing weekend or longer with your loved ones.
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Stewart International
Car: recommended
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Millbrook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Base Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,000
From
$1,000
Fri,Sat
$4,250
$12,400
 
 
Summer
May 28 - Aug 29
2 night minimum stay
$1,000
From
$1,000
Fri,Sat,Sun
$17,130
 
Discounts: 6 nights or more: $500 Nightly
 
Labor Day weekend
Aug 30 - Sep 2
3 night minimum stay
$775
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 27 - Dec 1
4 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 20 - Jan 1
4 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Memorial Day weekend
May 24 - May 26
3 night minimum stay
$775
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees And Taxes Housekeeping fee $200
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Millbrook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
General:
  • Firewood
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Parking
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Telephone
  • Heating
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Grill
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Blender
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Powder room - toilet , on main floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , on upper level
    Master bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , private master bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master bedroom - 1 queen , w/full bath & woodstove
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , view of waterfall,overlooks living room
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , view of waterfall, overlooks living room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , view of waterfall
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Music Library
  • Piano
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Email