THREE GABLES LUXURY HOME - THE GALENA TERRITORY

Three Gables Rentals

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THREE GABLES LUXURY HOME - THE GALENA TERRITORY

Galena House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedroom, 4 bathroom, 6 person Hot Tub/Spa, High Speed Wireless Internet

Bright, spacious, contemporary home in a tranquil setting. With five bedrooms and four baths, the layout is perfect for a comfortable family weekend getaway. 6 Person outdoor hottub (March - December 1st) with high speed wireless internet throughout. Enjoy the golf courses, spa and club in the Galena Territory. Private outdoor pool and recreational facility available within the Galena Territory with guest passes when you stay at Three Gables. Skiing and Snowboarding is just 15 minutes away at Chestnut Mountain Resort. Enjoy dining and shopping right in the territory or in historic Galena. Enjoy great views from the large deck of this 5 bedroom, 4 bath home. Below is a large patio with 6 person hottub overlooking Private Greenspace . The attached 2 car garage with electric entry is comfortable for quick and convenient unloading of ski or golf equipment.

High Speed Wireless Internet Throughout Property:

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome

Three Gables Rentals

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.9
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Three Gables Luxury Home - The Galena Territory
average rating of 3.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Three Gables Luxury Home - The Galena Territory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158155
+1 8478770930
Galena Illinois
West Des Moines, IA
4

ENJOYABLE

  • 4 of 5
This was a great place for a girls weekend away to celebrate a couple of "milestone" birthdays. There were 10 of us and there was plenty of room for all of us. The kitchen and dining room were spacious enough for a large group. The bedrooms upstairs did get a little warm, and no covers on the skylights made for some earlier than planned mornings! Also, the low bed downstairs is a little harder for "mature" people to use (great for kids though). It would also have been nice to have a table outside (we understand there usesd to be one, but it was destroyed in an earlier storm). The living room worked well for all of us to get together and catch up. Good place for a large group. We enjoyed our time in Galena!
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Three Gables Luxury Home - The Galena Territory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158155
+1 8478770930
Galena Illinois
5

GREAT WEEKEND IN GALENA!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time at the Three Gables house. The house was very nice and clean. It was spacious enough for all of us. The yard was huge the kids had a great time playing and the deck was great for all the adults to sit and visit. The Petersons were very easy to work with. Overall, it was a great weekend at a great house.
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Three Gables Luxury Home - The Galena Territory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158155
+1 8478770930
Galena Illinois
2

BEWARE-DISAPPOINTING RENTAL/UNRESPONSIVE OWNER

  • 2 of 5
Beware! We have frequently rented through Home Away and VRBO in several states as well as in Galena previously. The rental this weekend was our most disappointing experience by far.

When we arrived, it became clear that the hot tub had not been in a working condition for quite some time based on the green mucky water that was sitting in the bottom of the tub. We rented this place for a special occasion to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday with friends and family. We specifically selected your rental because it had a large hot tub. Owner only contacted us day before to let us know it was broken.

The kitchen was dirty when we arrived and there is an ant infestation. We had to clean the kitchen and purchase ant trap. Unfortunately, the ant traps were insufficient for the infestation and we had to battle ants all weekend. The house also had many other bugs including earwigs which got into clothes hanging in the closet.

The patio did not have a table as featured in the photos which impacted our plans to dine outside. There were not enough chairs for 8 adults to sit on the patio. The patio furniture was filthy and we had to clean it before being able to sit.

The patio has a hornet's somewhere which meant we had to contend with 3-5 hornets when we did sit outside. Given the ant and hornet spray under the kitchen sink, I am guessing that you may already be aware of these conditions.

The bathroom on the main floor has a horrible stench coming from it. I do not know if anyoone has reported this, but it smells like a mouse or something died in the wall.

Here are some of the other problems we encountered:
- Several of the blinds are in bad shape and do not function
- 1 small kitchen garbage bag provided for the entire weekend
- 1/2 a roll of paper towels (we had to buy this basic that is usually provided with rentals)
- no kleenex in bathrooms (we had to buy this basic that is usually provided with rentals)
- no garbage cans in several bathrooms
- insufficient towel racks to hang 2 wet towels in bathrooms
- No salt shaker (we had to go buy this basic that is usually provided with rentals)
- Stained towels and stained bed linens - gross orange stains on towels and pillow cases
- No pool towels provided

We paid for a deluxe home for a long weekend rental that had many unacceptable, easily addressable issues. The cleaning fee seems insulting given that we had to spend time ourselves when we arrived to clean
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is difficult to respond to. We do not agree with 90% of their comments and believe they wee posted inappropriately. We did have difficulty with the hot tub, and offered $150 back or one nights free stay. The hot tub is now in great shape, but it was difficult as it required ordering two pumps and a heater element which took four weeks longer than expected.

When they first arrived the family liked the home. We have had several renters before and after that have been very pleased with the home, some of which have posted reviews. I do take issue with several of the points from beginning to end. This renter wanted to be credited back for half of their stay, and when we could not agree to do so, put forward this review.

The only claims that had to be addressed were the Hot Tub (now in great shape after replacement of parts) and there were 10 ants the renter saw in the kitchen, as noted. The Galena Territory has open woods throughout. We have had the service people increase presence as the spring was quite wet.

The deck is very high and large and unfortunately a storm 3 weeks prior to their arrival damaged the table. We are now looking to replace it with one heavy enough to prevent this from re-occurring.
business
Three Gables Luxury Home - The Galena Territory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158155
+1 8478770930
Galena Illinois
1

UNWARRANTED ACCUSATION...

  • 1 of 5
A couple days prior to arrival we were informed that the hot tub at the property was broken and would not be fixed by the time we got there. Initially we thought the gentleman was very pleasant and willing to work with us given the fact that it was an inconvenience. When we got to the property, the broken hot tub was not covered, full of nasty green water and was clearly a nest for mosquitos. Yuck! To top it all off, in the main room there are a few glass tables with sharp edges. We ended up taking the glass out immediately so that our children didn't hurt themselves after having a very close call. We carefully placed it in the closet off of the room. Completely my fault I forgot to place the glass back before I left. Two days later I received an unwarranted accusation from the owner very sarcastically stating "looks to me like you had a really good time huh?" I responded by saying " Yes, we did thank you" He then says, sarcastically of course, " No you had a reeeaaaally good time" I finally caught on and said, "excuse me?" He says " Well you shattered the glass in all my tables" He didn't take the time to ask how our stay was or what had actually happened. He was not concerned that those tables are unsafe for children. We were willing to say not the best, but the stay was ok. But after being treated like that we would never rent from them again. Hope this give you some insight as to who they really are.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The renter's review is accurate on a couple of points. We have had trouble with two blown pumps on the Hot Tub which has required ordering parts which has been very delayed and caused difficulties for three renters. I offered each renter either a $150 refund or a free nights stay. This renter chose a free night stay which we were happy to offer for the inconvenience. They were also appreciative for the offer.

When the cleaning team arrived the home was not left in acceptable shape. There was open food left throughout the kitchen, and four garbage bags left in the garage. In the bathrooms all the garbage cans were full with trash, and there were dirty diapers left on the floor of the lower level bathroom. The house was left very dirty. The cleaning team assumed that the glass was broken because of the state of the rest of the home. I tried to call for two days with no answer. When I did get in touch with the renter, I did respond as she noted, mainly because of the mess left. The point she left out was when she stated that the glass was left in the closet, I apologized three times for making the statement and causing the misunderstanding. She noted that she did not know where the glass was stored and would text me after she found out. She chose not to and posted the review instead.

Additionally, her statements about the table were inaccurate. It is glass, but the glass drops into a steel frame with no exposed edges. We have never received similar concerns. For it to be a concern kids would have to lift it out of the table frame and drop it on the wood floors. If that is her worry, I believe she has other issues she should be concerned with.
business
Three Gables Luxury Home - The Galena Territory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158155
+1 8478770930
Galena Illinois
Illnois
5

SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE

  • 5 of 5
Beautiful, spacious home. Wonderful views from deck. This was our second year renting this property and we enjoyed it every bit as much this time.
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Three Gables Luxury Home - The Galena Territory
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158155
+1 8478770930
Galena Illinois
Burbank, IL.
5

AN VERY PLEASURABLE RELAXING OVERALL EXPERIENCE

  • 5 of 5
Would strongley recommend reading/reviewing the Galena Territory Information Book upon Arriving at the home, then a trip to the Territory Owners club house for parking passes and a quick tour of the facility. The Owners marina/beach facility offers both "John" motorized as well as pontoon boats for fishing at nominal rates. Golf courses are on-site as well as many local courses within a short drive time. Galena and Dubuque are close by for sight seeing.
Our stay was extermely pleasurable and relaxing, we would highly recommend for families looking for a Great Time.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
180 Miles
O'Hare International - Chicago
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Highway 20
Car: necessary

The Galena Territory - Beautiful In All Seasons.

The Territory offers beautiful surroundings and activities in all seasons.

Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa offers fantastic Golf and Dining as well as acclaimed Spa Services

Chestnut Mountain's Skiing and Snowboarding just 15 minutes away are the best in the Midwest

Small motor boating (5hp max) and fishing from the Territory Marina on serene Lake Galena.

Extensive hiking, cross country skiing, sledding, horse back riding, sleigh rides and even hot air baloon rides all available right in The Galena Territory.

The wildlife is abundant and the fall colors rival any in the midwest region.

The General is a Top 100 course according to Golf Digest and Chestnut Resort is rated as one of the top ski area in the Midwest.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Galena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer / Fall
Jun 14 2014 - Nov 8 2014
2 night minimum stay
$365
From
$465
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,100
 
 
Winter / Spring
Nov 9 2014 - Jun 13 2015
2 night minimum stay
$365
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50.00 + Tax
Cleaning $180.00
Property Damage Protection $89.00
Tax Rate 8.25%
Notes Tax rate reflects 6.25% IL sales tax plus 2.00% Galena Hotel tax

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Galena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Parking
  • Garage
  • Iron & Board
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Grill
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
  • All Beds/ Pillows/ linens Are Extremely Comfortable. All Bedrooms also have full closets, complete lighting, lots of space, reading lights, alarm clocks/radios, dressers.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Tennis Court
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • sledding
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hunting small game
  • hunting
  • freshwater fishing
  • ice skating
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • ski privileges optional

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Email