Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Ski on and Off Slopes Ski Windham

Don

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Don

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 27, 2015
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Ski on and Off Slopes Ski Windham

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Windham House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-20)

Ski on and ski off the slopes of Ski Windham. This house is built for a large family and friends and is only 2.5 hours from Manhattan and 3 hours from the Jersey Shore. Two of the bedrooms are bunked for sleeping bags so ten children can sleep together easily and have a blast.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Don (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 27, 2015

About Don

Home built for our family for skiing

Don purchased this house in 1974

Why Don chose Windham

We built it for skiing for our families

What makes this house unique

We love to nordic ski and go to Mountain Trails in Tannersville, as well as skiing in and out all day at Windham

Why HomeAway

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Ski on and Off Slopes Ski Windham
average rating of 4.1875 based on 16 reviews
Essex County, NJ
2

Great location, plenty of space, in dire need of a refresh

  • 2 of 5

Finding a place that holds four families (16 people) in Windham is hard. We were thrilled to find this house which is perfectly located on the mountain. The pros: location, location, location; well-heated, spacious; 80% clean (a few walls had stuff splattered and smeared on them, cobwebs) funky kids sleeping arrangements. The cons: the furniture and carpets are falling apart; the bedding is tearing from wear; the decor hasn't been touched since the 60s and the kitchen is far from fully stocked (three wine glasses, 6 plates and six bowls?? We had to wash plates and eat in shifts because there weren't enough pieces for all of us to eat at once! The listing says it sleeps 20 so one would think they'd have enough to feed at least 16!!). With HomeGoods and Target everywhere, a couple hundred bucks on new blankets and some plates and glasses could really go a long way. Also, the house should get a serious deep clean once or twice a year. This is a house for frat boys or young partiers looking for a ski house but families and professional adults: be forewarned!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I alway tell guests that we built the house in the 1970's and it is definitely retro, so that was not a surprise to the guests. However the house is larger and the kitchen has many cabinets well stocked with more then enough bowls, utensils and plates for over 20 people. I do not know why they were unable to see them. I asked my cleaning crew if they disappeared but they were still there. The next group that rented just wrote to me the following: We really appreciate your quick responses to all of our questions and concerns. We were able to get the internet working after your e-mail suggested to make sure the plugs were securely in the modem. There was definitely an abundance of plates and utensils. I'm not sure what the VRBO reviewer was talking about when he or she said there was only 6 plates. We left the place as clean as possible.
5

Wonderful time !!! We will be back :)

  • 5 of 5

Convenvient, clean, fun and easy walk to the slope made our ski weekend at Windham a great experience in this wonderful house. The kids loved the layout and the big kitchen & dining area were perfect, we could have invited 20 more and still had plenty of room for everyone. We totally enjoyed our experience and this place will be our first choice whenever we have another free weekend to hit the slopes.

Scott

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
United States
1

Really tried :(

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house for Warrior Dash weekend. We arrived on Fri an were hit by the most awful smell. I understand this house is not normally rented in the summer, but if you have paying renters, it would have been nice to have it aired out a bit. In addition there were cobwebs and spiders everywhere, bugs in the bathtub, bathrooms were filthy, full garbage can in the kitchen, a load of wet laundry in the washer and a small rusty grill that wouldn't even sit level (we had told all our friends to bring food to grill :( ). Talk about disappointing for the amount of money and the fact that we invited our friends up to this mess for the weekend.

I called and the owner stated that he'd have someone come on Sat morning to clean while we were at our race. No one came. We were forced to purchase a brand new grill, our own cleaning supplies and some Febreeze so that we could make the best of this horrible situation.

I contacted him after we had left and asked him to at least reimburse us for the grill and cleaning supplies and a partial refund due to the state of the house and what we had to do to make it livable for the weekend. He agreed. Unfortunately we were only given our deposit back and no partial refund. I know the owner doesn't live there full time, but it was his responsibility to have the house ready for renters and his responsibility to make this bad situation right. He lost potential return renters :(

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes unfortunately our new cleaning person failed to finish the job she was hired and paid for. I tried to get another after being notified, but on short notice it was not possible. On the other hand, I paid for the new grill and other supplies they purchased and I offered to refund some of the cost, but alas, she was not patient for my response, which came a couple days after her email request. On the other hand, it could not have been all that bad in the house because a couple families arrived on Sunday and loved the house and plan to rent it for most of the ski season. Could this be a case of arachnophobia?
Brooklyn
5

Great Place, Great Memories, Great Location, Great Family Room, Great Kitchen, Great TIme!

  • 5 of 5

Whelp, I was there skiing for a weekend and I have to say I had a great time. This house is perfect for large groups of friends, single family or a few families even. It is huge, and would really be great for kids. There are rooms with entire matressed levels of bunks! The livingroom has tons of space for lounging, games, sitting by the fire, looking out the glass porch doors to the great scenery it is awesome. The kitchen was super great, we had more cooks than we knew what to do with and there could be several of us, I'm talking 6 or 8 all hovering around, chopping, mixing, frying, washing and generally preparing a great meal. The kitchen table is so great; for big meals it was perfect, or quiet reading times or playing games with just a few people it was a great place to be. The house was great all the way around tons of room, beds were great, bathrooms were wonderful.

On to the house's location. I've never been to a "ski off/on" place and honestly, before I went to this house I didn't get the appeal. After one day of taking a mid day break to come back to the house to relax/warm up/get something to drink and eat and then go right back to the mountain across the street!! It was cool and convenient, I'm feeling kinda spoiled now.

Anyway, awesome place, tons of space, would be perfect for large group of friends/couples and/or families with kids would definitely love this place. Can't wait to go back

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Very Special and Charming Ski House

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in this house for two weekends in 2011, and I had a blast. I love the layout of the bedrooms (they're all different sizes and well-decorated with a simple retro feel). The children's bedroom is great because kids can bring their sleeping bags and choose a different level in room that is set up like bunk beds. It makes me wish I could have slept there as a kid!

The living room is beautiful, with a high ceiling and a fireplace. We played charades and had so much fun. Skiing is easily accessible and it's so nice to be able to ski on and off.

I highly recommend this place if you are a group who wants a comfortable place to stay that has a lot of character!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Sea Girt, NJ
5

GREAT FOR LARGE GROUPS AND FAMILIES

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in this house many times over the years. We absolutely love it. It is perfect for large groups and families with two large dorm rooms, each can accomodate 6-8 kids. The tower room is a perfect romantic hideaway. The large table in the dining room is great for either buffet style or sitdown meals. The recreation room in the basement has a pool table which provides a nice after dinner diversion for the guys. The house is in a perfect location. Just walk down the driveway, put on your skies and ski down the slopes. Very convenient.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Excellent cross country skiing at Mountain Meadows in Tannersville. Rosemary has very good rentals too.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $1,000 Per night

Windham House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,000
From
$1,000
Fri,Sat
$15,920
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $69
Refundable damage deposit $500

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Windham House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (9) Multilayered bunks in two of the bedrooms sleep many people or children in sleeping bags
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
two of bedrooms are bunked for many children to be together, which is a blast

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,800 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 6 BA,
  • Sleeps 16
$3,900 - $4,900 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 20
$750 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 14

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote