HISTORIC CHARM AND PERFECT LOCATION!

Tanguy Libbrecht

Speaks english, french, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Tanguy Libbrecht

Speaks english, french, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HISTORIC CHARM AND PERFECT LOCATION!

Seward House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Located in the original 1913 Seward town site. Charming and quaint, it has everything you want from a Alaska summer vacation rental.

After a full day of sightseeing, touring, fishing, hiking and shopping, you can relax in our comfortable and fully appointed home-like setting.

Conveniently located in downtown Seward you are steps away from why you came to our historic and exciting town.

Step out our front door for a breathtaking view of Resurrection Bay, walk to the Sea life center for an afternoon of discovery, or visit Brown and Hawkins for home made Gelato and fabulous fudge.

If you like to walk, follow the waterfront towards the Marina or stroll towards Lowell Point for an afternoon of Kayaking or a try at Catching a King or Silver Salmon at the nearby Waterfall.

For those who like to get the kids out of the house and relax, send them to the local library, skate park or movie theater, all within walking distance.

If you prefer to read and relax, sit on the back deck or settle into a comfortable chair and enjoy a book. Games and videos available for the kids.

For Dinner, invite friends and cook dinner on our back deck BBQ or in the fully appointed kitchen. We have what you need from pots, pans, to plates and utensils and a Gas BBQ out back.

Fresh linens await you upon arrival and there is no cleanup required when you leave-Just no dirty dishes, please.

We hope you enjoy our home away from home, it is a paradise retreat we are proud to share!

Keywords: House, cottage,vacation rental,downtown

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Tanguy Libbrecht (Owner)
Advertiser since 2007
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, french, spanish

About Tanguy Libbrecht

Tanguy Relaxing in Anchorage, wishing he was at his Seward House listening to the seagulls and watching Bald Eagles.

Tanguy Libbrecht purchased this house in 2007

Why Tanguy Libbrecht chose Seward

My family and I really enjoyed the serenity and majestic beauty of resurrection bay as well as the friendly people, fishing and wildlife.

The cottage has an unexplainable, simple charm that makes it difficult to leave. Worries melt away while you enjoy yourself with friends and loved ones. Board games, anyone?

What makes this house unique

Walking distance to everything downtown. Quiet, convenient location in a charming seaside home. Home has a warm, historic feel without being formal.

Guestbook comments from the owner

From the guest book:

This is a wonderful little cottage, its very clean and cozy. Its also very convient, very close to downtown, and the sea life center. I was with a party of 9 and we all slept comfertably in the house. We had a great time, and thanks for having us.
Aug 2008
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.1
based on 36 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
average rating of 4.0882354 based on 36 reviews
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vb
-(907) 529-9709
Seward Alaska
Houston, TX
5

Charming and very comfortable, perfect location

  • 5 of 5
We very much enjoyed our overnight stay at this charming old house, perfectly located.
We came by train from Anchorage, a scenic ride not to be missed. The (free) shuttle took us to the house, perfectly located to walk to the shops, restaurants and the famous Sea Life Center and the new Library/ Museum.
The house is very well equipped, comfortable beds, large kitchen, and well decorated, prettier than the pictures!
The owner provided us with good recommendations and returned our phone call promptly .
We will come with friends for a fishing trip and explore the area.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments about the home. I hope you caught a lot of fish and also a leisurely nap or two in our quiet, comfortable cottage. We hope to see you again soon!
Tanguy and Marcella Libbrecht
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vb
-(907) 529-9709
Seward Alaska
San Francisco, California
1

Avoid if practicable

  • 1 of 5
My wife and I rented three VRBO houses in Seward for our family members who with us were in Alaska for our son's wedding later in the week in Homer. I must say that of the 3 house, this one was by far the least attractive and the dirtiest. The house has not been properly kept up, nor has it been kept clean. Moreover, to say that there are 3 bedrooms is stretching it, as one bedroom is in reality a dark closet without a window. While relatively inexpensive when compared to the other 2 houses we rented, we feel we got much better value for our money in renting the other houses. I would not recommend renting this house, unless you are in dire need of a roof over your head. This being said, the house did keep my wife and I, and our son and daughter-in-law and their two infant children warm and dry during our stay. As my son described this house prior to my arrival, the place is "rustic," which upon staying in the house I found an overly complimentary description.
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. The house is advertised as a two bedroom and the "bunk room" is a favorite of many and an added bonus, decorated to look and feel like a ship's bunk (as per the pictures on the site). We are affordable and clean, albeit a 100 year old cottage. The place is "rustic," as you say, or as others call it, "historic" and charming and we believe a good value. It is a home we are proud to call our own, and which we will always strive to care for and maintain.
I hope your event and your travels were pleasant and uneventful.

Kindest Regards,

Tanguy Libbrecht
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vb
-(907) 529-9709
Seward Alaska
Virginia, US
1

Very disappointing!

  • 1 of 5
The house is in a good location for Seward shopping and touring; however, it was not clean, and the more we went through the house the grungier it was. There is no way we would cook on that stove or prepare food in that kitchen. It is completely outdated and there are years of grunge that need to be cleaned up. The most acceptable part of the house was the small living room. Truly we cringed the whole time we were there.
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Susan,

I am disappointed to hear that you did not have the experience you were hoping for in our Downtown Seward Cottage.

With a caretaker close to the property (available 24 hours a day), any challenges we were made aware of would have certainly been taken care of immediately.

"Charming, great location, exactly what we were looking for" are more common comments about our home. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of the home and usually achieve that result with positive comments about how well we maintain this circa 1913 seaside home.

I wish you safe travels and a safe trip home.
Tanguy Libbrecht
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vb
-(907) 529-9709
Seward Alaska
Colorado Springs, CO
5

Just what we wanted

  • 5 of 5
Our stay at the "Downtown House" was wonderful! This truly is a charming home in a great location. The cottage is well-appointed and comfortable. There was plenty of room for our family of 5. The pictures do not do it justice - it is bigger, brighter and airier than advertised. The beds and linens were clean and soft, and the kitchen was well-stocked with basics - spices, condiments, and coffee filters (the one thing we ALWAYS forget when we VRBO!) The house is a block away from the Alaska Sea Life Center, restaurants and shops, though protected from noise and bustle (not that there is much of that in Seward). We easily walked along the waterfront to the pier for our Kenai Fjords cruise (we did the Northwestern Glacier cruise...while 9 hours seems like a long time, it really didn't feel like it - we saw porpoises, whales, otter, many birds - highly recommend it).
We very much enjoyed our stay in this cottage and would recommend it.
In response to some other posted comments - we found the cottage to be clean and bright. It is an old house - the floors creak, the wood has cracks, there are imperfections. We love old houses and found these things to add to its character. If you want a modern condo or resort-type rental - don't rent this house. If you want a quaint, comfortable, private cottage to spend your time in Seward, you will appreciate this home. We would stay here again and recommend it to others.
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the home as much as we do. As you said, "it's not a new condo" and it has its quirks but we love it anyways. Seward has a special feel and so does the house. Hope you and your family enjoy a safe trip back to your home.
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vb
-(907) 529-9709
Seward Alaska
-
4

Charming

  • 4 of 5
I loved it. Very charming and quaint. It is not for someone seeking high end finishes. It suits those who love historic charm. I was very comfortable and slept great in the upstairs attic area. Fantastic location being walking distance to downtown, parks and beach. Beautiful ocean views. The only negative is that it could have had better shades for those bright summer Alaskan nights. Overall wonderful place.
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vb
-(907) 529-9709
Seward Alaska
4

Great location, wonderfully stocked

  • 4 of 5
This house was great for a large group traveling through. Loved having 5 beds (all were comfortable, I tested them out). The house was fully stocked with all the kitchen appliances and condiments you will need. Also loved having a cable for the rainy evenings and wifi. Only negatives are no washer/dryer and the house is a little dated. But didn't bother us whatsoever.
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Downtown Seward House. Best wishes and safe travels.

Tanguy and Marcella Libbrecht
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Tony's
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Seward Train station
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Seward Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Several
Nearest Beach
Seward waterfront

Ocean Views. Home is located close to many coffee shops, art galleries, a brewery/restaurant, as well as various restaurants. Also walking distance to movie theater and playground for kids.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Seward House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season 2
Sep 16 2014 - May 15 2015
1 night minimum stay
$145
$850
 

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning Fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%
Notes NOTE EXCEPTION TO PEAK RATES, WITH SPECIAL PREMIUM RATES CHARGED JULY 2-6 (MOUNT MARATHON WEEK). Those rates are $395 per night plus cleaning fee and taxes.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Seward House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Full size Bed and Twin Bed Upstairs in the Bay Room, One additional twin upstairs. Queen Bed downstairs, Downstairs (1) Sleeper Sofa with extra padded bedding and all linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • whitewater rafting
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$2,050 per week
1 - 2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote