HISTORIC CHARM AND PERFECT LOCATION!

From
$145
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Tanguy Libbrecht

Speaks english, french, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HISTORIC CHARM AND PERFECT LOCATION!

Seward House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Located in the original 1913 Seward town site. Charming and quaint, it has everything you want from a Alaska summer vacation rental.

After a full day of sightseeing, touring, fishing, hiking and shopping, you can relax in our comfortable and fully appointed home-like setting.

Conveniently located in downtown Seward you are steps away from why you came to our historic and exciting town.

Step out our front door for a breathtaking view of Resurrection Bay, walk to the Sea life center for an afternoon of discovery, or visit Brown and Hawkins for home made Gelato and fabulous fudge.

If you like to walk, follow the waterfront towards the Marina or stroll towards Lowell Point for an afternoon of Kayaking or a try at Catching a King or Silver Salmon at the nearby Waterfall.

For those who like to get the kids out of the house and relax, send them to the local library, skate park or movie theater, all within walking distance.

If you prefer to read and relax, sit on the back deck or settle into a comfortable chair and enjoy a book. Games and videos available for the kids.

For Dinner, invite friends and cook dinner on our back deck BBQ or in the fully appointed kitchen. We have what you need from pots, pans, to plates and utensils and a Gas BBQ out back.

Fresh linens await you upon arrival and there is no cleanup required when you leave-Just no dirty dishes, please.

We hope you enjoy our home away from home, it is a paradise retreat we are proud to share!

Keywords: House, cottage,vacation rental,downtown

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Tanguy Libbrecht

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english, french, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Tanguy Relaxing in Anchorage, wishing he was at his Seward House listening to the seagulls and watching Bald Eagles.

Tanguy Libbrecht purchased this house in 2007

My family and I really enjoyed the serenity and majestic beauty of resurrection bay as well as the friendly people, fishing and wildlife.

The cottage has an unexplainable, simple charm that makes it difficult to leave. Worries melt away while you enjoy yourself with friends and loved ones. Board games, anyone?

Walking distance to everything downtown. Quiet, convenient location in a charming seaside home. Home has a warm, historic feel without being formal.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

32 Reviews Write a Review
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
average rating of 4.266667 based on 32 reviews
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vbi
(907) 771-9907
Seward Alaska
Houston, TX
5

Charming and very comfortable, perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We very much enjoyed our overnight stay at this charming old house, perfectly located.
We came by train from Anchorage, a scenic ride not to be missed. The (free) shuttle took us to the house, perfectly located to walk to the shops, restaurants and the famous Sea Life Center and the new Library/ Museum.
The house is very well equipped, comfortable beds, large kitchen, and well decorated, prettier than the pictures!
The owner provided us with good recommendations and returned our phone call promptly .
We will come with friends for a fishing trip and explore the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments about the home. I hope you caught a lot of fish and also a leisurely nap or two in our quiet, comfortable cottage. We hope to see you again soon!
Tanguy and Marcella Libbrecht
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vbi
(907) 771-9907
Seward Alaska
4

Great location, wonderfully stocked

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This house was great for a large group traveling through. Loved having 5 beds (all were comfortable, I tested them out). The house was fully stocked with all the kitchen appliances and condiments you will need. Also loved having a cable for the rainy evenings and wifi. Only negatives are no washer/dryer and the house is a little dated. But didn't bother us whatsoever.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Downtown Seward House. Best wishes and safe travels.

Tanguy and Marcella Libbrecht
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vbi
(907) 771-9907
Seward Alaska
maryland
1

Smelly and Dirty

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Do yourself a favor and dont stay here. the house smelled like diesel really bad. The owner told us to turn the heat on high but that was the problem. We had to leave the windows open the whole time and coincidentally the maid had left them open when we arrived so they were aware of the problem. The house was old and dirty, the towels were all stained and we were pretty sure the linens werent just changed. The kitchen sink smelled so bad we had to try and clean it with bleach. We ended up eating out . The neighbor next door is a pig too, and was living in a broken down trailer in the driveway, and drunk everytime we saw him. we feel cheated renting this property and wont use vrbo again . How about a refund?
Owner's Response: 2014 Season Owner's Note: Furnace has been addressed. There are plenty of fresh towels and a new housekeeping service as well.

Sir, We have recently checked the furnace that you describe. My suggestion of turning the heat to the highers setting was to burn out any residue that would have been left with the unit off for a while. I wish that I could have sent someone to rectify the situation at the time as I offered, when you called. That said, I am sorry that you were uncomfortable during your stay.
The house is quaint and 100 years old, charming but older with lots of interesting touches. I was not aware of stained towels. and appreciate you bringing it to my attention. I have discussed this with my housekeeper as we have plenty of fresh, fluffy towels available.
The house was inspected and sheets are always changed. Upon investigation, we found that a previous guest cleaned fish in the sink. This did not start to smell until after the house was cleaned and you arrived. Again, my apologies, I will contact you again to discuss your experience. I wish I could have fixed our problems during your stay, when I could have fixed the furnace and brought you some crisp towels.
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vbi
(907) 771-9907
Seward Alaska
Santa Monica, CA
4

great location, very cozy

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house was a perfect home base for all the activities we wanted to do in and around Seward. It was great to have a kitchen, because the options for dining out in town are limited and pricey. I would rate "Excellent" if the house had new mattresses/bedding. The beds weren't horrible, but a bit old.
Owner's Response: Thank you for our kind words. The location is in fact perfect for activities from a BBQ out back to a stroll along the waterfront. With the Sealife Center, shops, restaurants and live music just steps away, we love to call it home! Travel safely and thank you for staying at the Downtown Seward House!
business
Historic Charm and Perfect Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157896vbi
(907) 771-9907
Seward Alaska
Warwick,Pa
3

Old house

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I must say the location is nice, 2 blocks from sea life center and ocean view from the porch. It's still far from the harbor on the quite side of the town. But, to be frank, though I know everything is expensive in Alaska, with 2 other nice rental at this trip with lower price, my expectation is high for this one. What I saw is a lot different from the picture on the web, the furnitures is as old as this house, the windows can not be closed. And the smell of the old house. If not considering the average hotel rate of Seward, I would give this house a poor rating.
Owner's Response: Hello, we are delighted that you enjoyed the location, 2 blocks from sea life center and ocean view from the porch.

You are right that lodging during the peak summer season can be expensive in Alaska and we are happy to be able to share our classic Seward cottage at a very affordable rate with those who prefer a home to a hotel stay.

There is in fact an eclectic blend of the old and the new, including some antiques in the home, which we believe adds to the charm of a 1913 home.

We will, of course check out and address the window issue that you mentioned. Wishing you safe travels!

Tanguy and Marcella Libbrecht
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Train
1 Miles
Seward Train station
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Seward Highway
Nearest Beach
Seward waterfront
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Tony's
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Several

Home is located close to many coffee shops, art galleries, a brewery/restaurant, as well as various restaurants. Also walking distance to movie theater and playground for kids.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Seward House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Off Season 1
Jan 21 2014 - May 14 2014
$145
$850
1 night
 
 
Peak Season
May 15 2014 - Sep 15 2014
$285
$1,785
2 nights
 
 
Off Season 2
Sep 16 2014 - May 15 2015
$145
$850
1 night
 

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning Fee $60.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%
Notes NOTE EXCEPTION TO PEAK RATES, WITH SPECIAL PREMIUM RATES CHARGED JULY 2-6 (MOUNT MARATHON WEEK). Those rates are $395 per night plus cleaning fee and taxes.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Seward House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Microwave ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1) Upstairs in the Bay Room, Twin or Single Beds (4) Total of four twin beds in house., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sleeper Sofa with extra padded bedding and all linens.
Entertainment:
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Television
  • Books ...
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • paddle boating
  • whale watching
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fly fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • whitewater rafting
  • rafting
  • cross country skiing
  • deepsea fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • mountain biking
  • snowmobiling
  • rock climbing
  • basketball court
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,750 per week
1 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10