Nice but needs some updates
First of all, we really did enjoy our stay overall. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and clean. The price is great! Having said that, we were very disappointed to come and find a queen size bed in the lower unit - I see he has updated the website now because previously it just listed King size beds for both master bedrooms. That is something I really look forward to on vacation. I could have gotten over the disappointment if the bed was decent but it is in sorry need of replacement. We rolled into each other all week and woke up with a backache. Looking under the mattress pad we found two very thin, creased and yellowed foam pads, so someone knew it needed help long ago! Hopefully he will take our advice to replace it soon. Our other complaints are rather minor but could easily be remedied. There are only 2 teaspoons in the silverware caddy...plenty of soup spoons however. Also only 3 somewhat normal drinking glasses- the rest are wine glasses, mugs or strange plastic cups. The refridgerator fan is annoyingly loud - unusually so. The toilet in the hall bath wobbles -again an easy fix to have someone secure it better. We did appreciate the provision of the wagon for toting beach supplies though it was a bit awkward to know if the upstairs renters wanted to use it and how to share that fairly. We found the beach umbrella was missing the lower extension pole so my husband went and bought a dowel rod to fit it so we were able to use it. Never did see the cooler that is supposed to be there but we really didn't need it. It's not a bad walk to the beach and in a nice residential setting - we would consider coming back, maybe choosing the upper unit. To the owner's credit, he did call to have someone come clean the pool as soon as the upstairs renters complained. It did not stay clean long which I'm sure is a battle there with the trees but it seemed maybe the skimmer needed some more thorough cleaning. Nice looking pool though.
Tourists without a Car,
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: In terms of the bed, I advertise a duplex. The upper unit has a king bed in the master bedroom. On the website, I am unable to differentiate between the units in terms of amenities. However, I now a special note on the amenities page indicating the size of the lower unit bed. I have also made plans to change-out the mattress. This was the first complaint I have ever had in regard to its size and condition.
The pool is uncovered (without a lanai). I have a cleaning service that comes once a week. However, leaves and such will obviously drop in. There is a skimmer located next to the dock box on the pool deck.
In terms of the beach equipment, I provide two wagons and beach chairs. Anything else that may be there was left by previous guests. This is also the first I have heard regarding the cooler. I will be removing it from the amenities.
I have also instructed my cleaning service to rebalance the silverware and drinking cups. Many times families will rent both the upper and lower. In the process, the kitchen utencils can be moved from one unit to the other.
As an independent property owner, I rely on the guests to help me maintain the rentals. I appreciate this guests input. I have made the necessary improvements and I sincerely hope they will vist my property again.
Helpful votes: 4/7
Did you find this review helpful?