WALK TO DOWNTOWN, ACL,SOCO, 6TH STREET, SXSW, YET QUIET, SEMI-FOREST SETTING

Kirk

Advertiser since 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Kirk

Advertiser since 2005
Speaks english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WALK TO DOWNTOWN, ACL,SOCO, 6TH STREET, SXSW, YET QUIET, SEMI-FOREST SETTING

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Austin House Rental Photos and Description

Nestled among Oaks 3BR (sleeps 10), 2 interesting baths, shaded deck, driveway

Avoid cabs and finding parking for festivals and Downtown. A short pleasant walk to most events. A great 1750 square foot, three bedroom, two bath, two story home with an incredible location one block from South 1st and six blocks from South Congress Ave.

Garage Apt (additional charge) has bedroom and living room/kitchen and deck. Sleeps 4 in 2 beds. One bathroom. Nestled among oak trees and bamboo.

Just minutes from downtown Austin (walking or biking), fine dining, and quaint local restaurants with entertainment. This cozy and inviting home is fully appointed with all furnishings, appliances, well equipped kitchen is excellent for cooking and entertaining guests. The home has hardwood floors throughout and is very comfortable for both adults and children.

The first floor features the Master bedroom with a king-sized bed, and a second bedroom with a queen size bed. Also on the first floor is a multi-person sunken tub in the first bathroom. The second full bathroom, also on the first floor has a red 'clawfoot-type' footed tub in the Wild-West bathroom.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a stove, oven, refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher. Coffee maker, French press and coffee grinder as well as all the normal kitchen stuff are included. The washer and dryer are also on the first floor.

The peninsula kitchen has a breakfast bar. There is a flat screen on the wall of the living room, as well as a convertible full sofa, which converts to a sofa-bed..

The second floor contains the loft style living area, with a king sized bed as well as a full sized futon. Access to the outside second story deck is thru the sliding glass doors. The deck is crowned by large oaks and secluded in a forest of lush bamboo.

Behind the property is a one bedroom garage apartment. (Sleeps 4; 2 in queen bed in bedroom and 2 in living room) with it's own kitchen and 3/4 bath. This also has a deck nestled among the oaks and bamboo. Available for additional space, if needed. Ask about rates, for the additional one bedroom apartment.

Only Minutes to Downtown, SxSW, ACL, UT, Zilker Park, Mopac and Hwy 35. 15 Minutes to the airport, 10 minutes to Amtak station.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Kirk (Owner)
Advertiser since 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.4
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Walk to Downtown, ACL,SoCo, 6th Street, SxSW, yet quiet, semi-forest setting
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
business
Walk to Downtown, ACL,SoCo, 6th Street, SxSW, yet quiet, semi-forest setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154740vb
-512-699-3391 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Ft Worth, TX
4

Great value

  • 4 of 5
I found this house to be the best value available when taking into consideration price, location, and how many it sleeps. We had a group of 8 guys so many of the houses in the area were too small. It was less than a mile from S Congress, and a stone's throw from 1st St Food trucks- so we walked most everywhere and didn't have to deal with parking. Good price and location, with lots of places to sleep!
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you Justin, very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kirk
business
Walk to Downtown, ACL,SoCo, 6th Street, SxSW, yet quiet, semi-forest setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154740vb
-512-699-3391 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Great house in a quiet yet accessible area

  • 5 of 5
I stayed here with a group of 9 guys. The house easily accommodated all of us, was clean and located by plenty of restaurants and food trailers. I'm used to walking in a city, so the 1 mile walk downtown each night wasn't an issue.

Unless you're expecting something luxurious, you won't be disappointed with this place. Would definitely rent again.
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Austin at my place. -Kirk
business
Walk to Downtown, ACL,SoCo, 6th Street, SxSW, yet quiet, semi-forest setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154740vb
-512-699-3391 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Great house and location

  • 5 of 5
My family stayed here for a wedding. We used both the house and garage apartment. We were pleased with the location of the home, really close to S. Congress, 1st St. and downtown is easily accessable, as well. The street was quiet even thought major roads are close by. The home was comfortable and we had no problems with anything. Yes, the sunken tub is weird at first, but I grew to like it. Owner was great to work with and answered all our questions. For the reasonable price, you can't beat this house.
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I appreciate your kind review. If there is anything I can do better please let me know. I enjoyed having you here. Kirk
business
Walk to Downtown, ACL,SoCo, 6th Street, SxSW, yet quiet, semi-forest setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154740vb
-512-699-3391 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Such a lovely home!

  • 5 of 5
I stayed here for a business trip with two colleagues. Kirk was wonderful leading up to the visit and while we were there. He answered all my questions, gave me all the information I needed and we felt very welcomed.

The house is a bit older, but very clean and accommodating. The beds were all comfortable and while the sunken tub seems strange, it was a very pleasant experience. The location is prime for enjoying the local food truck scene, vintage shopping and a short bike ride or drive to downtown.
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind review. I enjoyed having y'all. Happy to have you back anytime.
business
Walk to Downtown, ACL,SoCo, 6th Street, SxSW, yet quiet, semi-forest setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154740vb
-512-699-3391 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Dallas, Texas USA
2

Great location, rustic, lacking amenities

  • 2 of 5
Since a review has not been written in over a year, I felt compelled to post one after staying at the house with five friends. We were underwhelmed by the house.

I agree with the last reviewer in saying the house is rustic. I'll go a step further and say that part of the house is not quite finished out. This is apparent in one bathroom and one bedroom. Raw wood, gaping seams in the wall and no dry wall. Obviously, this is not shown in the online photos. The house is also sparsely furnished and decorated which is apparent in the pictures.

One note of caution, if you're planning to use the kitchen for any amount of cooking, beware that there are no measuring spoons, liquid measuring cups, dish towels, paper towels or napkins. Additionally, there's no hand soap or bar soap/shower gel provided. These are general items that I've typically found in all VRBO houses.

The positive aspects are that there is no shortage of electrical outlets, so when you have multiple people staying in the house, all devices can be charged. Also, the house is conveniently located close to good restaurants.

The owner is easy to reach and answered all questions. I hope he takes this review and improves upon the house for future renters. If you're just looking for the basics and a rustic atmosphere, this is your rental house. I guess we were just looking for something a little nicer.
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Walk to Downtown, ACL,SoCo, 6th Street, SxSW, yet quiet, semi-forest setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154740vb
-512-699-3391 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Washington, DC
3

A few friends reunite for an Austin Wedding

  • 3 of 5
A group of 6 (2 couples, 2 singles) stayed at this property in early November. We were all from out of town, visiting for a wedding. This property worked out well for this size group, but couldn't accomodate much bigger. {The listing accurately reflects the number of bedrooms/set-up, etc, but some of the reviews alluded to more space than actually exists, although I believe the owner has another unit too.} There were plenty of games, TV, movies to keep you entertained if you decided to stay inside, which we did not.

This property is in an awesome location. We were able to walk (day and night) to downtown Austin and there's plenty to do in the immediate neighborhood (within a 5-10 minute walk). For those reasons, I wish we could have stayed longer! The street was quiet, even in the evening. No city noise at all. We felt very safe.

The property was clean, well stocked with towels, dishes and appliances. It seemed a bit more rustic than the photos. The owner was very easy to reach and provided us with helpful information prior to the trip.

Being out of towners was a bit tricky in a residential neighborhood. Taxi drivers didn't always know where we were headed and neither did we and some streets were closed due to a big event, which added to the transportation woes. I recommend familiarizing yourself with the area, if you opt to rely on public transportation and taxis.
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback.
I will contact you to see how I may improve my place.
kirk
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
7.5 Miles
Austin Bergstrom (AUS)
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
El Mercado Bar & Restaurant
Nearest Golf
0.7 Miles
3 hole course
Nearest Train
1.9 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-35
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
El Mercado Mexican
Nearest Ski
4.6 Miles
Lake Austin Walsh Boat Ramp
Nearest Beach
1.3 Miles
Zilker Park Barton Springs Natural Spring fed Pool

6th Street - 7 minutes car, 28 minute walk. 1.6 miles

SoCo (South Congress) Entertainment Area - 4 minutes car, 13 minute walk. 0.6 miles

Downtown and South by Southwest (SXSW) Music Festival - 4 minutes car, 22 minute walk. 1.1 miles

Austin City Limits (ACL) Festival - 5 minutes car, 26 minute walk. 1.3 miles

South 1st St. Trailers & Restaurants - 3 minutes car, 5 minute walk. 0.2 miles

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Austin House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Formula 1
Oct 30 2014 - Nov 2 2014
2 night minimum stay
$325
From
$599
Fri,Sat
 
 
South by Southwest
Mar 13 2015 - Mar 22 2015
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Summer 2015
Jun 1 2015 - Sep 3 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$300
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$400
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.0%
Notes Rates maybe higher due to special event such as Austin City Limits Fest, Formula 1, South by Southwest, Independence Day.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Austin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1757 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 One sunken two person tub One footed vintage tub Both with showers
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Detached Unit - 1 queen , 1 double , Extra charge sleeps 2 beds separated by wall and bath
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Ground Floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Ground Floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Upstairs
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa (1), Futons (1) Convertible Sleep Sofa bed in downstairs living area, no privacy; Futon upstairs in bedroom with one of the Kings
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote