ONE BLOCK TO OCEAN, 3 SMALL BLOCKS TO LANIKAI BEACH. PRIVATE SWIMMING POOL!

Teresa Johnston

Speaks english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ONE BLOCK TO OCEAN, 3 SMALL BLOCKS TO LANIKAI BEACH. PRIVATE SWIMMING POOL!

Lanikai Studio Rental Photos and Description

Studio with full bathroom, kitchen and deck, sleeps 4.

Only one block from the ocean and three short blocks to famous Lanikai Beach, our Lanikai Vacation Home is a large, private, studio apartment with bath/laundry room and barbecue lanai/porch surrounding a large Mango tree. Everything is provided for your comfort, including full service kitchen, television, phone, and air conditioning. The new (6/15/2013) pillow-top queen-size bed has an overhead fan and lamp lighting. The punee (single) bed has a pull-out trundle for a fourth person. Just lay your suitcase on the dressing table, hang up your mainland clothes, and get ready to enjoy a swim at the beach or in our garden pool. Only five minutes from Kailua Town for shopping centers and restaurants. Also close to Honolulu and Waikiki. Cable internet access available in the studio at no extra charge. Just bring your laptop computer. Covered parking: Drive up, park your car and open the door to the Lanikai Vacation Home.

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Teresa Johnston (Owner)
Advertiser since 2007

Guestbook comments from the owner

Cheers Teresa,

Wonderful beach home. Air conditioner a big plus! Thank you for the generous fruit bowl! Was a pleasure to stay.

Chauncey & Ivanda
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 141
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.4
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
One Block to Ocean, 3 Small Blocks to Lanikai Beach. Private Swimming Pool!
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
business
One Block to Ocean, 3 Small Blocks to Lanikai Beach. Private Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153919
Lanikai Oahu
5

The place was so beautifully decorated and clean.

  • 5 of 5
The place was perfect for a couple. It had all that you need to start living life ie. the kitchen had all supplies; the owner even left a basket of fruit and organic coffee. The laundry in-unit was clean and laundry soap was supplied - unbelievable considerate. The studio came with private parking and the private pool was so perfect. And if the beach is what you want, very nice beaches in walking distance or a short car ride. And don't forget to visit Buzz's, really great service and very good food.
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
One Block to Ocean, 3 Small Blocks to Lanikai Beach. Private Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153919
Lanikai Oahu
Vancouver
5

Keep this place a secret!

  • 5 of 5
This place is incredible. My mother, my daughters, and myself stayed there for 10 days and it was a 5 min walk to Lanakai Beach. The snorkeling there was incredible. If Hanauma is a 10 to you, then this would be an 8. The suite was clean, smelled great, was nice and naturally or artificially breezy if you chose, was in a beautiful location, and was more than we expected. I’ll admit, we were nervous sending the payment as a Money Order through the mail for the discount, but Teresa’s as honest and kind as humans come. We were 200% satisfied with this place, and the girls absolutely loved it too! Nice and safe area where you could let the kids go out and explore without worry. Day two back from vacation, and I’ve already got three other friends looking into it ?. Mahalo Teresa!
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
One Block to Ocean, 3 Small Blocks to Lanikai Beach. Private Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153919
Lanikai Oahu
Eugene OR
1

Tenant Above Garage Rental-NOISE!

  • 1 of 5
While Teresa is a lovely person, and she is gracious and welcoming, her rental is a converted garage shop with extremely poor insulation. The ventilation is quite poor. You can hear the tenant who lives above your island getaway blow her nose, hear the beeps of the microwave, the blasting tv... and the sounds go past 11 pm and can start as early as 5 am. The inside of the rental is wonderful but this is only a good choice if you don't mind a third party (upstairs tenant) as party of your stay., and you don't mind not having a view, and very little natural lighting inside. Teresa will not give you a refund based if you are dissatisfied. I wish I could be more encouraging but this was our experience.
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do our best to make our vacation studio a “home away from home” for our guests, addressing any problems that might arise as quickly as possible, but sometimes things can snowball out of control. After their first night Diane & Lou mentioned that they were experiencing a lot of noise from upstairs. The studio is on the ground floor of a two story building at the back of our property, and we had just rented the upstairs on a long term basis. That day I talked to our upstairs tenant, mentioning that the rental contract defines a quiet period between 10:00 pm and 8:00 am. A very nice lady, she agreed to be more sensitive during that time. Unfortunately, Diane & Lou still felt uncomfortable and left the next day. When a few of our guests have arrived and found that the studio did not suit their needs, we refunded the nights they decided to cancel. Diane & Lou have received a check for the three nights they chose to find other accommodations. We have also insulated the ceiling between the two levels with one to two feet of figerglass foam which cancels out most of the upstairs noise. Hawaii usually has trade winds that keep us relatively cool, even on hot summer days. But when the winds stop, we can experience what is known as Kona Weather and the air can be still, heavy and moist. We do provide two fans and the option of air conditioning for the comfort of our guests while visiting our tropical climate. The studio looks out onto a private porch (with barbecue) that surrounds a 50-year old mango tree. Some of our guests enjoy taking their complimentary Kona coffee, local fruit and chocolate out onto the porch to enjoy the morning sunrise and bird song. Many of our guests have mentioned that it is nice to come back to our cozy, Lanikai studio after exploring O’ahu for fun in the sun. We hope you do too! Much Aloha, Teresa Johnston
business
One Block to Ocean, 3 Small Blocks to Lanikai Beach. Private Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153919
Lanikai Oahu
Northern California
5

Little corner of paradise

  • 5 of 5
You want to go to Oahu but hate the bustle and crush of tourists of Waikiki? Well, this is the place for you. It took a few short hours before we felt like locals in this charming town. The studio was very comfortable, clean, and furnished with anything one would need on a beach getaway. The owner was very helpful, friendly but not obtrusive. We had a problem with the tv our first day and the owner had a new tv installed the same day! (Not that you need it much, but it was nice to snuggle in and watch a movie after a long day exploring).The pool was lovely but we never used it as the perfect (I mean PERFECT) beach was just a short walk away. This Lanikai location is just right for a quiet getaway or as a home base to explore the entire island. Kailua/Lanikai are great beach towns with restaurants, pubs and the best shrimp truck around. Everything was just a short drive. If you are a walker or jogger the quiet lanes of this neighborhood will be perfect for you. It was just the two of us, but I plan on bringing my kids the next time and stay again in this lovely studio. My only complaint is the lack of window treatments to keep the sun out in the morning- but too not terrible as I was able to make it to the beach to watch the incredible sunrise on a quiet beach access several mornings and greet the myriad of walkers, joggers, and their dogs! If you see a beagle named Tuba on our stroll, tell him we said hi!
  • Submitted: May 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
One Block to Ocean, 3 Small Blocks to Lanikai Beach. Private Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153919
Lanikai Oahu
Canada
3

Nice but needs improvements

  • 3 of 5
This property is in a wonderful location, easy walking distance from amazing beaches. The owners are very nice and a beautiful fruit basket, coffee, and chocolate awaited our arrival with a friendly greeting. We enjoyed our stay here for the most part but did have quite a lot of issues with cockroaches. Cockroaches are very common in Hawaii but with proper extermination regularly they can be minimized. The bedding towels and pillows definitely need some upgrading as they were very old and worn. The queen size bed was good but the daybed needs to be replaced as it was extremely squeaky and uncomfortable. The kitchen was nice but a few more cooking utensils, bowls, and upgraded knives for cutting and chopping are needed. The lanai was gorgeous and the pools was very well maintained. With a visit from an exterminator, a few improvement,s and furniture upgrades this little hideaway could be amazing.
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sometimes it takes a youthful, discerning eye to jolt a perhaps more complacent one out of its rut. We do upgrade our linens and towels from time to time, and this is a good reminder to resupply. There are now new sheets on all the beds, four new sets of towels in the bathroom, six new pillows, a set of new bowls, and we have placed a new mattress topper on the day bed to make it more comfy. We are in the process of fixing the squeaky springs, sharpening the knives, and upgrading the cooking utensils.

Unfortunately, Bonnie, Becky, & her friend were here for the birthing time of the new spring crop of cockroaches, which caught all of us unaware. Tropical Hawaii is buggy, and we do our best to live in harmony with nature while keeping the bugs out of our home. There are ant & roach traps hidden inside and out of the studio. We supply natural bug spray and punk coils, as well as a more chemical mosquito spray so that our guests can decide which they would like to use. We have now replaced all the cockroach traps and plan to do this more often than recommended. And we have two very excellent housekeepers who thoroughly clean the studio after every visit. Our intention is to create a wonderful home away from home while our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Much Aloha,
Teresa Johnston
business
One Block to Ocean, 3 Small Blocks to Lanikai Beach. Private Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153919
Lanikai Oahu
Morgan Hill, CA
5

Peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5
We loved the surrounding sounds of the birds and breezes each morning and night. We went to so many wonderful places on the island...the introspective USS Arizona memorial, the playful town of Haleiwa and North Shore beaches, the exhilarating city of Honolulu at night. But the best time of all was relaxing in your studio and walking down to lounge on Lanikai beach. Thank you for our wonderful vacation in your peaceful studio. Love, Katie, Edmond, Carlos, Ruth & Elias
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lanikai Beach
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Buzz's
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Buzz's
Car: recommended

Other Activities: Just one block from our driveway to the nearest Lanikai Beach right-of-way & three small blocks to the large Lanikai Beach; kayaking, boating, parasailing, biking, health/beauty spa; Lanikai Park with basketball court & swings.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lanikai Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
October - November
Oct 2 2014 - Nov 30 2014
5 night minimum stay
$145
$1,000
$2,820
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$170
$1,100
$2,820
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 13.96%
Notes 8% discount for a full payment by Cashiers Check or Money Order for a visit under 30 nights.
The Cleaning Fee and the Hawaii State Taxes are included in a reservation of 30 days or more.
$2530/month available for a 6-month lease or longer.
Tax ID #W01346316-01

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Lanikai Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Garage
  • Parking Off Street
  • Activities Guide
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone
  • Internet
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Freezer
  • Blender
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom includes toilet, shower, vanity, washer/dryer, hair-dryer, iron and board, washer and dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen Bed: Sleeps two. Day Bed: Single bed with a single pull-out transom bed underneath.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • Walkway to Water
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • live theater
  • arboretum
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • coin laundry
  • reefs
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • whale watching
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • wind-surfing
  • cycling
  • mountain climbing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • hiking
Notes:
Lanikai Vacation Home is one block from small Lanikai beach at low tide (a tidal calendar is provided for the use of our guests,) and three short blocks away from large Lanikai beach, available at low or high tide. The studio is air-conditioned, or all the jalousie windows and glass doors can be opened for a wonderful Hawaiian breeze. Large washer & dryer. Decorative Hawaiian covers and pillows. Covered parking right in front of studio door. Outside lighting. The pool is only shared by our small family and is available for the use of our guests all day. Easy to use kitchen, plus other electric appliances and utensils, glasses, cups, and dinner ware. We provide a complimentary taste of organic coffee, Hawaiian chocolate and a variety of local fruit. Outdoor dining on private porch for four under a 60+ year old Mango tree. Large desk and very comfortable beds! Total quiet privacy or get to know friendly family. Receive more for your rental investment at the Lanikai Vacation Home
Email Owner Contact Me