Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

120 year old Historic Beach Cottage

Cape Charles Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Contact the Manager

Cape Charles Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

120 year old Historic Beach Cottage

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Cape Charles Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9-14)

Please contact manager for stays less than a week

Located in the historic district of Cape Charles, Randolph House is a beautifully decorated beach cottage. Built in 1898 this 100+ year old home comfortably accommodates up to 14 people with three private bedrooms, a large dining room, and laundry room, eat in kitchen, and two family rooms. The Star-Fish Bedroom features a four poster queen size bed, cable TV, VCR and DVD player. The Sand-Dollar Bedroom includes an antique double bed with pull out trundle bed, cable TV and DVD player. The Seashell bedroom sleeps 6 with one single bunk and pull out trundle bed and a single over full bunk bed. This room also includes cable TV and a video game system. The upstairs family room serves as a fourth bedroom with a pull out double bed, cable TV, and DVD/VCR player; an additional pull out single bed is located in the first floor family room.

Painted and professionally decorated with a blue and white theme this quaint beach cottage offers all the modern amenities needed to enjoy your stay. The game room is stocked with puzzles, games and a vintage poker table and there are two bicycles for use as well as beach chairs, beach umbrellas and an expansive library of books as well as DVD and VCR movies.

The house is located a short five blocks to a beautiful sandy beach where you can stretch out and enjoy the sun. Around the corner is Cape Charles’ historic main street with quaint shops, restaurants, upscale boutiques and a coffee shop.

Golf on Jack Nicholas and Arnold Palmer signature courses, take a fishing trip and experience some of the best fishing on the East Coast or take a self guided walking tour of homes dating from 1883 - 1920. Stroll along the beach and take in the most amazing sunset at the town pier or walk/bike throughout the entire town on safe quiet streets. Make sure to take a day trip up the peninsula to visit local wineries, as well as historic homes and plantations.

Cape Charles has an inexplicable charm and is a short drive to historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Virginia Beach, downtown Norfolk, and is only a few hours to Ocean City MD, Annapolis MD and Washington DC.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Cape Charles Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2015

About Cape Charles Vacation Rentals

We are a beach loving family who love to spend time on the Eastern Shore of VA

Cape Charles Vacation Rentals purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Cape Charles Vacation Rentals chose Cape Charles

We are located just 25 minutes from Virginia Beach (via the Bay Bridge Tunnel) yet most Virginian's have no idea where Cape Charles is. We like it that way since it means that even during the month of July when the beaches are packed with people we can stretch out and enjoy the sun.

What makes this cottage unique

In Cape Charles you are certain to have a truly RELAXING and affordable beach vacation. Stretch out on our clean sandy beach, walk to shops and restaurants where you will never have to wait in line.

Cape Charles has one of the largest concentrations of late-Victorian and turn-of-the-century buildings on the East Coast, with most of it's structures built between 1885 and 1920. The entire town is designated as a Historic District on the Virginia Landmarks Register and is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Guestbook comments from the manager

My family loved the Randolph House! It was exactly what we expected. I love older houses, I would love to live in one just like this one! We loved the Catholic church across the street, it was amazing and we loved the music it chimed on the hour. We enjoyed our visit to Cape Charles and to Virgina Beach! Thanks for letting us enjoy your home!
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
120 year old Historic Beach Cottage
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 12 reviews
New Jersey
5

Great House Great Town Great Time

  • 5 of 5

Our first time in Cape Charles and it exceeded our expectations. The house was great and they have the best wave free beach for small kids....our two kids spent hours playing and we could actually relax at the beach..... The house has lots of games and a ton of movies for young and old. The kitchen is well stocked and the house is decorated splendidly. Our 5 year old cried when we left.....guess we will have to come back!!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Small Town Vacation Truly Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The owners of this house certainly have their guests in mind down to the pillows on the beds. Recommend staying here for the 4th of July celebration - with a small town parade complete with golf carts decorated to the hilt and a celebration down at the nice sandy uncrowded beach.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Old Town 4th of July Loved It

  • 5 of 5

4th of July in a must do in Cape Charles. This little town is like a quaint Cape May NJ. This house is perfect - and felt just like home. Plan to return

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Tiverton RI
5

So Glad We Stayed Here!

  • 5 of 5

This is our third vacation in Cape Charles and this house was far and above the best! It had everything a family with small children and a dog could need. Clean and bright it was decorated adorably. Highly Recommended!!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Norfolk VA
5

Amazing House Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Squeezed in a last minute trip and our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cape Charles and this house had everything we needed to relax and spend time together. We plan to be back next year! Highly recommend Randolph house!!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Hampton Roads, Virginia
2

Great house ... poor rental agency

  • 2 of 5

We loved the house, but the service was terrible. Things that were advertised were not there or were not working and renovations were in progress on the back of the house. The refrigerator failed on the first day and wasted a week's worth of food. This was not their fault, but no one returned my calls that evening and there was little urgency even the next day as we tried to keep our remaining food in coolers. When our agent brought a refrigerator, he had no one to install it, so my Dad and I helped bring it in and then completed the installation and set-up. The agent apologized profusely and said that he would "take care of us". Well, two months later, and after numerous phone calls, I received a reimbursement for less than half of the token amount that the agency said they would provide. For an agency to give so many outward signs that it is a professional rental agency managing a lot of great properties, it was very surprising to have such poor service.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are located in a rural area and although we react quickly, the stores here do not. I made a 2.5 hour round trip to buy a refrigerator. When I said I had to find someone to install it, the guest and his father offered to help. We also offered to pay for their food and were told they would keep it in their coolers, that all they lost was their ice cream. We refund security deposits within 2 weeks of check out. Checkout was June 29 and the check was mailed on July 12 and was cleared from our bank on July 29. We sent the additional refund out on August 12, 2014. The work in the backyard was out of our control. An outdoor shower was being installed and the guests were able to use it while they were there. We understood when their payment was late and we let them check in much earlier than the 4:00PM check in to accommodate their family. We understand that the family was annoyed but we did try to make it right as quickly as possible.

Map

Aqua
"The nicest place to eat within a 10 mile radius of CCVA. Located in the Bay Creek "Marina"...."
Kiptopeke State Park
"If you're wondering about the beach - stay in Cape Charles. But if you want to interact wit..."
Bay Creek Marina
"Restaurants and shopping"
Kelly's Gingernut Pub
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cape Charles Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season 2014
Mar 2 - May 22
2 nights
$237
 
 
Peak Summer 2014
May 23 - Sep 12
4 nights
$307
 
 
Fall 2014
Sep 13 - Oct 31
2 nights
$270
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Notes PLEASE CALL MANAGER FOR STAY LESS THAN A WEEK.
One Third is due with the reservation.
One third is due 60 days prior to check in and the balance is due 30 days prior to check in
This is an all inclusive rate except for the $200.00 damage deposit and $100.00 non-refundable pet fee per pet if you are bringing your dog.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Cape Charles Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Queen size Beds (1) Four Poster bed with pillow top mattress, Double Beds (1) Antique Iron Double bed includes a twin pull out trundle, Twin or Single Beds (5) There are a total of 5 twin mattresses/Beds when counting sofa beds and trundles, Baby Cribs (1) Pack and Play crib with crib sheets, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Pull out sofa bed located in the upstairs living room. Room can be made private with both doors closed. There is also a pull out twin sofa bed in the downstairs living room, Bunk Beds (1) Two bunk beds. One with a pull out trundle and the other with a Full Futon bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Spacious front porch with wicker swing and seating,

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,099 - $1,680 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$1,250 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,100 - $1,450 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote