Decent, but not accurately portrayed...
The house was decent, but not as nice as it is portrayed on this website. It is in need of maintenance, and some very basic maintenance at that.
I could tell that the owner had done a nice job choosing furniture and decorating, and the house was probably just as beautiful as the pictures at some point. It is an older beach cottage so I did not expect modern luxury, but it was not as pleasant when we arrived. Perhaps the issues were due to bad renters, but none the less should have been addressed prior to our arrival.
There were a noticeable number of Palmetto bugs in the house, the carpets were dirty, paint was needed, the refrigerator shelving was being held together with electrical tape, lights were burned out, some outlets were not working & hanging out of the wall without a wall plate, the batteries were removed from the smoke detector, front door framing was damaged and door could be opened without using the key pad, the sides of the trundle bed were partially broken, the crib was unstable, the pack n play was broken, noticeable dripping/condensation/mildew around the ceiling vents, patched areas on the ceiling that became wet with heavy rain, queen rooms/linens were not as nice as pictured, garage was dirty and not at all as pictured. The owner did address the outside lighting issues, provided a new pack n play, had pest control applied to the house, and the carpets were steam cleaned after our arrival, but the other issues were not addressed during our stay.
The house is nicely outfitted with technological amenities. The pool area was very nice, and the outside of the property was well maintained. The house was in a quiet location, close to the beach, and the golf cart was a nice amenity for trips to the beach with the kids. Despite some of the nice amenities, I can't honestly say that I would recommend this property to friends or family.
Owner's Response: We feel bad that this lady did not find the home up to her standards. As to her complaint about the Palmetto bugs: this home has had a contract with the local pesticide company for years and they do a great job, unfortunately these bugs will fly inside when doors are left open, but they do not survive indoors and die within a few days, the 10 inches of rain that week did not help. As she said we did replace the burned out porch light as soon as she notified us as well as sending a carpet cleaning company over to clean the carpets while they went out to lunch. Apparently a recent tenant must have broken the pack-n-play as we also replaced it the same day. It is true that the Linens in the photos are not always the same ones on the beds as we switch these out and wash them. The crib is a newer model and it may have seemed unstable if one of the legs was off the carpet and touching the tile floor next to the room, but otherwise it is secure. There is a broken shelf in the refrigerator and we have ordered a new one. Not sure when the battery was removed from the smoke detector, but glad we were told about this. The garage does look different than the pictures as we added a second refrigerator, switched out the sofas, and turned the pool table at an angle. The game room does get sandy when beach toys are brought into it, but it is more for recreation and not intended for sleeping quarters. We will be painting the home this winter as well as fixing the spot on the bathroom ceiling. We appreciate renters letting us know when they have any problems with our home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?