Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

PRISTINE OCEANFRONT PARADISE - 2 FREE AMENITY CARDS!

Steven & Lynn Herron

Advertiser since: 2002
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Steven & Lynn Herron

Advertiser since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PRISTINE OCEANFRONT PARADISE - 2 FREE AMENITY CARDS!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Fripp Island Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Watch the dolphins frolic and the shrimp boats sailing in the distance from our oceanfront - beachfront villa!

Welcome to the beautiful, private island paradise known as Fripp Island. With three and one-half miles of pristine, unspoiled beaches that offer sand dollars, seashells, hermit crabs, and starfish galore, Fripp Island is the perfect place to leave your worries behind! This 3000-acre gated resort is host to such diverse wildlife as deer, herons, pelicans, osprey, egrets, alligators, and occasional loggerhead turtles. Fripp's stunning natural beauty is evident all around and it is obvious why Hollywood chose to film 'Forrest Gump,' 'The Jungle Book,' and 'The Prince of Tides' on Fripp Island.

Besides its uncrowded beautiful beaches, the island hosts a unique variety of amenities. For the avid golfer, Fripp offers two exceptionally beautiful and challenging courses. One was designed by George Cobb and features spectacular oceanfront views (the 18th hole is located just steps away), while the other was designed by PGA champion Davis Love III.

Fisherman can spend their time along the meandering tidal creeks catching abundant fish, shrimp, and blue crabs.

For the shopper, there are numerous shops and boutiques on the island offering everything from casual wear and souvenirs to grocery items.

Guests have a choice of 5 different restaurants on the island (The Ocean Point Grill is located across the lane). As our guests, 2 amenity membership cards are included in the price as are all taxes and cleaning fees - NO HIDDEN CHARGES! There are numerous swimming pools on the island (one of them heated year round) that overlook the ocean. One of these is just steps away. There are 8 soft and 2 hard surface tennis courts for your enjoyment as well as jogging, bike and roller blade trails, and scenic nature paths. You can also rent boats, jet skis, kayaks, golf carts, bikes, mopeds, or book a seat on one of the regularly scheduled excursion boats for dolphin watching, shelling, and exploring!

Come stay with us in our charming, first-floor villa with palm trees and stunning ocean views from your bedroom and living room. Our condo was rated 'Excellent' by the Fripp Island Resort. The breakfast nook overlooks a beautifully landscaped courtyard featuring charcoal grills and tables surrounded by banana plants and hibiscus. Your villa features a large, comfortable living room and dining room area, fully-equipped kitchen with breakfast nook, a large bedroom with queen-sized bed, bathroom, patio, and parking garage. It also has a fold-down, full-sized, Murphy bed in the living room.

For the comfort of our guests, our unit is 'No Smoking' and 'No Pets'.

Fripp Island is located just 20 minutes from historic Beaufort, 45 minutes from Hilton Head, one hour from Savannah, and one and one-half hours from Charleston for those of you who love horse-drawn carriage tours, unique shopping, historic sightseeing, and all types of dining - from casual to elegant!

Keywords: Villa, Condo, Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Steven & Lynn Herron (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2002
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2014

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Steven and Lynn,

There is no place on earth like your home here on this beautiful, mercy island! Thank you so much for the way you keep the property in pristine condition and thank you for sharing it with us!

We so enjoyed this exquisite villa last year - but this year...God blessed us with a large window of brilliant, sunny weather EVERY singe day despite the weatherman's prediction!!

Thanks for providing the little blue beach chairs - our best fun was simply sitting ocean-side and enjoying the waves as they endlessly washed over us morning and evening!

We are aready planning forward for next year's visit! God bless you and make His face to shine upon you.



P.S. After 7 days in Paradise, we talk a little slower now! We are thankful for the impartation of peace we receive by sitting at the ocean absorbing the sunshine! Thanks for the memory - Thanks a milion. Many blessings to you and yours.
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 50

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Pristine Oceanfront Paradise - 2 Free Amenity Cards!
average rating of 4.181818 based on 61 reviews
business
Pristine Oceanfront Paradise - 2 Free Amenity Cards!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17552vb
Fripp Island Beaufort area
Maryland
5

A Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
Had a very enjoyable stay in your condo - the unit is comfortable and cozy. A great place to enjoy the views of the sunrise and sunset over the ocean. We also watched dolphins play right in front of us - while drinking our morning coffee! It is right on the beach - we were able to step off the deck and take long walks - we walked out to a sand island at low tide that was about 500 feet from the beach. We could not have had a more relaxing time. Hope to come back next year
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable time staying at our beachfront condo on Fripp Island! We also own a house on Fripp and have lived here full time now for about 10 years. We are in our early 60s and still feel that out of all the places we have visited in the U.S., Fripp Island is the most unique, beautiful, and pristine of them all by far! Steven & Lynn Herron
business
Pristine Oceanfront Paradise - 2 Free Amenity Cards!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17552vb
Fripp Island Beaufort area
-
2

Great location

  • 2 of 5
My wife and I rented almost a year later than the previous review. The microwave above the range (which is original to the condo from the 80s) still did not work. Still, the unit is functional and the location is excellent.
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: How does this guy know whether or not the microwave above the range is original or not and then how does he know what date it was manufactured? We have owned this condo for about 12 years and we don't even know either of those things! What he neglected to tell you is that there is a new countertop microwave oven in our condo that works just fine. We were always under the impression that you only need 1 working microwave oven - not 2! Actually, none of this really matters anyhow because all of the kitchen appliances - refrigerator, oven, stove, and dishwasher - are scheduled to be replaced in January or February of 2015.

What we also find interesting is that he forgot to mention in his critique the brand new $6,000. state of the art Carrier Coastal Edition heating and air conditioning system that had just been installed a couple of months before his arrival. And we know that he was aware of this because we told him all about the new Carrier system in a phone conversation that took place a month or two ago - before he ever wrote this review. Hope this helps! Steven & Lynn Herron
business
Pristine Oceanfront Paradise - 2 Free Amenity Cards!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17552vb
Fripp Island Beaufort area
Knoxville, TN
2

Needs updating

  • 2 of 5
I have just returned from this unit....many issues. The first thing I see upon entering is a BOX FAN sitting in the living room floor. Then we realize the note on the thermostat says to keep the condo at 78 degrees (a might warm for SC). The bathroom light and the bedroom lights both flickered when they were turned on. I was concerned there was a short and a fire hazard. The range was a very old model with an attached microwave. The microwave on the range did not work at all. There was a small counter model microwave there but if you used it for any length of time it cut itself off due to being too hot. I was somewhat afraid to use it. The seal on the refrigerator obviously did not work well as you could feel cool air around the door. This condo is in dire need of updating. The kitchen especially needs updating.

I had specifically asked if it was ocean front when I rented it. It was definitely ocean front, but I was NOT told that there is no beach for a good portion of the day. The tides come all the way in to the seawall so there is little to no beach for most of the day (depending on low tide times).
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, we find it truly sad that this woman would come to Fripp Island which is a beautiful, pristine island paradise and choose to spend her vacation inspecting refrigerator seals and complaining about a floor fan in the living room! Also, have you read the other 56 or so reviews - some from people who keep coming back over and over again? If what this woman said was true, why would they keep coming back? They could just rent a condo from someone else!

To address her "concerns":
1 - Stanley Steamer put the floor fan in the living room to make sure that the freshly cleaned rugs would be dry by the time she checked in.
2 - The note above the thermostat says to put the temperature at 78 degrees when you LEAVE to conserve energy between renters.
3 - In the 12 years that we have owned our condo the lights have never "flickered" and still don't.
4 - We went out and bought a brand new microwave oven while waiting for a replacement knob for the regular microwave that had been accidentally broken by the previous renter. It is technically impossible for a microwave to overheat since there is no heating element in a microwave! Microwave ovens will always turn off when the digital timer reaches "0".
5 - The refrigerator door seal is fine - all that is required is for the person using the refrigerator to be competent enough to shut the door all the way!
6 - Fripp Island has 2 low tides which are each 6 hours long and 2 high tides everyday. Not only is there a large beach at low tide but there are also sand islands that pop up out of the water that you can walk out to with your beach chairs and umbrellas. The worst case scenario during a high tide is that you have to walk down the beach about 50 yards to where the beach sticks out further.
Hope this helps!
Steven & Lynn Herron
business
Pristine Oceanfront Paradise - 2 Free Amenity Cards!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17552vb
Fripp Island Beaufort area
Ithaca NY
5

Our maiden voyage to Fripp -- planningt to return!!

  • 5 of 5
We stayed @ 644 New Haven for two weeks in May/June 2012. It was our maiden voyage to Fripp Island and The Low Country. We had the most wonderful vacation! In all the beaches, in all the resorts, in all the world, there is no place quite like yours. The beauty of your Villa is that the ocean is 30 feet away from the living room glass door! We could see the water from the couch, the dining table, the kitchen and the back deck day and night! No matter what we were doing, we could see and hear the ocean ... it was spectacular. There is a walkable beach at low-tide that stretches out about 500+ yards and if you plan it right, you could walk out your back door, down the steps onto the beach and walk the full 3.5 mile coastline of beautiful sandy beach. At night we fell asleep listening to the waves ... what a treat! The first few days we weathered a tropical storm and the ocean put on a show! When the tide was high, we went to the Beach Club beach which was pristine and never crowded.
New Haven offers the best of both worlds ... a beautiful sandy beach 2 miles away and and ocean-front view just a stone throw away! The location of your Villa is such that there are few people pacing back and forth across our view of the ocean and the neighbors were both friendly and quiet.

Our one complaint ... the restaurant food :( on the Island all owned by a mega-corp from mid-west. The people were fantastic but the food was poor quality. Local, privately owned entrapeneurs would be in better keeping with the ambiance of Fripp Island Vacation!

Since our departure, we regularly relive three things:(1) your Villa with a view, (2) the 3.5 mile pristine beach on Fripp and (3) Papaya's which is the only restaurant in Beaufort we really wish re-located to our home town!

I want to thank you for maintaining a well-kept, clean and beautifully decorated Villa. We so enjoyed our stay with you that we made reservations for a second visit in October. Due to unforeseen circumstances just 5 weeks before our scheduled return, we had to cancel our October visit and we very much appreciate your integrity in handling the cancellation. You are a man of your word and very honorable in your business practices! If things work out as we hope, we intend to re-visit Fripp next summer and since we discovered the best Villa on the Island we will book 644 New Haven for sure!!

Many blessings to you and your wife for providing a little piece of paradise in The Low Country!

Jill and Carol
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Papayas is a Thai food restaurant in Beaufort (about 25 - 30 minutes from Fripp Island) for those who are not familiar with the area. The restaurants on Fripp Island specialize in seafood. My wife and I both grew up in Annapolis, MD on the Chesapeake Bay so we consider ourselves experts when it comes to seafood and I've got to tell you that the restaurants on Fripp Island have some of the best seafood we have ever had!! We have always felt so lucky to live on Fripp because we can drive to any of the restaurants in 2 - 3 minutes and have our favorite seafood dishes that no one else would ever get to taste unless they came to vacation here. The "Pasta Island Style" that we get over at Bonita Boathouse is our favorite seafood dish in the world and the "Shrimp Wrap" that we get at the Ocean Point Grill is our favorite seafood lunch. But, these are very different than Thai food!!
business
Pristine Oceanfront Paradise - 2 Free Amenity Cards!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17552vb
Fripp Island Beaufort area
Jefferson, GA
4

Wonderful time!

  • 4 of 5
Fripp Island is a great place to relax!!!!! Steven was very helpful in answering all my questions prior to renting the condo. Definitely rent a gold cart!! It not the same without one. The deer are the biggest selling point! The condo was great. Perfect for 2 of us. We liked being at the end of the island away from everything. End of season, so very quiet - just what we wanted. Would've probably been disappointed had we gone earlier in the season when there were more people, kids and noise. Bonito Boathouse (on the island) is great - we ate dinner there almost every night. Bill, the bartender, is very friendly and helpful in giving suggestions of stuff to do. I kind of understand the comment written by the people back in April regarding the beach. The tides are very different than some other places I've been. There is a beach, but if what you're expecting is something like the Gulf or Carribbean, its not here. Tides come far in and then go way out...but its part of what made every day enjoyable and different. We'll be back!
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Pristine Oceanfront Paradise - 2 Free Amenity Cards!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p17552vb
Fripp Island Beaufort area
Charleston, SC
3

It's not beachfront

It's not beachfront
  • 3 of 5
My husband and I were looking forward to this "beachfront" condo on Fripp, but when we got there, the water came all the way up to the ledge/rocks. Even at low tide, there was no beach access. The owners should definitely make this more clear in their advertisement.
Beautiful views! We really enjoyed the Bonito Boathouse restaurant, biking, and other things on Fripp Island. However, we will definitely stay at another location next time.
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: About once or twice a year Fripp Island is subjected to what are called "astronomical high tides" that usually last around 3 days. Even during these extreme tidal events there is always a beach in front of our condo during low tide and there are usually 2 low tides every 24 hours. Also, during low tide there is a large sandbar island that pops up close to the shore that you can easily walk out to in knee deep water for extra fun! This couple was only here for 2 nights and must not have been around at low tide. We have been renting our condo for 10 years with couples coming back again and again year after year and no one has ever said this before!

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Savannah

Guided Boat Excursions, Nature Center, Game Room, Camp Fripp (activities for children through teens)

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Fripp Island Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 22 2014 - Feb 20 2015
3 night minimum stay
$150
$895
 
 
Spring
Feb 21 2015 - May 8 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,095
 
 
Summer
May 9 2015 - Sep 11 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes We accept MasterCard, Visa, Discover and American Express. 2 Amenity Membership cards are included in the price. Also, all taxes and cleaning fees are included in the price as well. There are no hidden charges! Summer rentals are Saturday to Saturday only.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Fripp Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 980 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Murphy Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Patio, Charcoal Grill (BBQ) No smoking inside unit please, Because this is a 1st floor unit, and there is an elevator from the parking garage to the first floor, it is handicap - accessible

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote