OCEANFRONT LAE NANI LUXURY FIRSTFLOOR CONDO WAILUA BAY KAUAI

Alan Harris

Speaks french, english, some Spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Alan Harris

Speaks french, english, some Spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANFRONT LAE NANI LUXURY FIRSTFLOOR CONDO WAILUA BAY KAUAI

Wailua Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

BEAUTIFUL, OCEANFRONT, GROUND-FLOOR CONDO! Lae Nani #413 has rare high ceilings and the landscaped grounds make Outrigger Hotels Luxury Collection Lae Nani Oceanfront Resort Condos one of Kauai's finest (can be seen at Outrigger Hotels' website). Book directly with owner and save! Ultra large pool and Ocean Views, Views, Views!!! Walk out the door from the wood floors to a nearly private cove and sandy beach.

An ancient Hawaiian temple graces the point at the tip of Wailua Bay in the capital of the Kingdom of Kauai. Many interesting sites are located nearby as well as shopping and restaurants. This well maintained, non-smoking unit (the entire Outrigger resort is non-smoking; the beach is public) has been owned by our family since it was built.

Join our Ohana of repeat visitors who have enjoyed this conveniently located luxury condo time and again. The eastside of Kauai is halfway to Poipu Beach and scenic Princeville and Hanalei Bay on the Northshore and has the most diverse choices for restaurants and other attractions on the island.

We got married in the Heiau (Hawaiian Temple) and have many fond memories to which we add each time we stay in our island home. We hope you create many of your own memories and enjoy a stay at the Harris Ohana Condo at the Lae Nani Resort.

A hui hou and Aloha!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Alan Harris (Owner)
Advertiser since 2004
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks french, english, some Spanish

About Alan Harris

As a photographer I have lived in NY and LA and travelled all over and no place is finer than Kauai. Although I moved to Marin County from Kauai 7 years ago, I loved that tropical country living. My #2 son was born there! I visit my island home often.

Why Alan Harris chose Wailua

Lae nani is a special place and has been in my family since it was built. We have countless memories of special times spent there and I got married in the heiau along the beach and the lived in Princeville for 7 years. My sons enjoy their time there and feel at home- 3 generations now!

What makes this condo unique

Walk to a beautiful beach or pool without stairs. Have an unobstructed ocean view from your lanai.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Welcome! My wife and I have used this often and we are into our 2nd

generation of ownership. Many people have honeymooned here, including

ourselves who actually got married out in front in the ancient Heiau by the

sea. This is a new listing for owner direct rentals. We welcome your

comments, suggestions, and questions.

We have 2 young boys, 4 and 8 years old, and moved to Kauai 6 years ago.

Chris is a homemaker and Alan is a former professional photographer who

lived and worked in LA and NY, and currently produces fine art, some

assignment work, writes, and is involved in the real estate profession in CA

and Hawaii.

Mahalo for your interest in our Hawaiian condo home.
Sep 2004
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanfront Lae Nani Luxury Firstfloor Condo Wailua Bay Kauai
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
business
Oceanfront Lae Nani Luxury Firstfloor Condo Wailua Bay Kauai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150734
+1 8086523203
Wailua Kauai
Salt Lake City
4

Great central location

  • 4 of 5
We really liked the property. Great central access for the island. The property is very nice. This unit has super close parking and a beach view. Just a walk across the lawn to the pool and beach. First floor access is nice because you just walk out the lanai. Unit is a great size for two, could even have two more on the sofa. Full size kitchen is nice. Unit does need updating, but it was clean and worked for us.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Oceanfront Lae Nani Luxury Firstfloor Condo Wailua Bay Kauai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150734
+1 8086523203
Wailua Kauai
Fort Collins, CO
4

Owner very good to work with, good unit location, but very worn condition

  • 4 of 5
I put off writing this review because the owner was very good to work with, and the unit location is very good, but the unit is very worn and needs a serious upgrade. The refrigerator door is rusted, and the ice maker doesn't work. The upholstery is pilled. The carpet is stained and matted. Etc. The unit is listed with Outrigger, and they don't seem to maintain the standards they should. I'm sorry to have to say this because, I repeat, the owner was very good to work with, and the unit location is very good.
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I would like to respond to Sue's comments by first pointing out that she gives us 4 out of 5 stars, and not just because I am a nice guy. Our previous guest Carol stayed a few days before Sue and her review is positive and accurate and says more in response than what I can add.
That said, I want to point out that saying the refrigerator is rusty is not true. Since it is vinyl covered, it is impossible. But in Hawaii often the metal areas around where the screws attach the handle, for example, may have some rust. It is not a "rusty" appliance. Also it is true the ice maker no longer works because my kid broke of a plastic piece, so it was disconnected. Since I love to make my own maitais over ice, we make sure that the 5 or 6 ice trays are full for every guest upon arrival! We sincerely hope that isn't too "old school" for anyone, but we've never had a complaint about it. We have, as noted in our description, dark wood cabinets and tile counters. We are very open about not having a generic granite and stainless steel appliances- not our look or vibe. There are photos posted which show what our place looks like and they are exactly what it looks like with one exception: we have not posted a new photo of the larger, new king size bed and comforter. Again, please read Carol's comments from a few days before Sue's stay. The carpets are gone and replaced with beautiful wood flooring.The pilling on the newly upholstered (within last 3 years) sofa and chairs? Well, can't say that is a significant critique, but what is there has been cured. The furniture is very expensive and hard to find rattan and there are few if any other units with such a high quality item.
We also do not have track lighting, white walls and white floor tile, or granite counters, or anything else generically hotel-ishness.
If her review- posted 6 months after her stay!- throws anyone off, please feel free to call and chat about it. I will be able to forward comments from the Outrigger management, etc. They have not had any complaints from their bookings.
Aloha,
Alan Harris
Owner
business
Oceanfront Lae Nani Luxury Firstfloor Condo Wailua Bay Kauai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150734
+1 8086523203
Wailua Kauai
montara, california
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
Just got back from our first trip to Kauai. This unit was beautiful; we loved being downstairs so we could walk right out onto the grounds. The place was very clean and the owner was so helpful and responsive to ALL my questions (and I had a lot of them!) I was nervous about crowds and noise, as we stayed 12/25 - 1/1, but this place was as peaceful as could be. Family-friendly, really lovely pool and gardens and beach. What I also enjoyed was being near shopping and lots of restaurants, and also an easy drive to the north shore and west shore. We saw the Waimea Canyon and also Hanalei, and went on a catamaran out of Port Allen where we saw a whale breach right near the boat! After all these activities, we loved coming home to this unit. The staff was also very friendly and helpful and considerate. It was nice having two bathrooms, and there was plenty of room for my daughters aged 8 and 15 to sleep in the living room in the fold-out bed. King-sized bed in master bedroom was super comfortable. High ceilings were also nice. We can't wait to return to this place!
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Lae Nani Luxury Firstfloor Condo Wailua Bay Kauai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150734
+1 8086523203
Wailua Kauai
Seattle
5

Stayed in December, was very nice. Great Views!

  • 5 of 5
Was a little concerned based on the one bad review. My wife and I were very pleasantly surprised by the clealiness and condition of unit. Having owned a vacation condo I know haw they can be treated, but this was very well appointed and maintained. There was a brand new bed that was very comfortable. All pots, pans and dishes were provided with redundancy. Our kids loved the large grassy area in front of patio as well as the child friendly swimming pond carved out of the ocean. Large pool and bbq's a plus.We walked to the stores a couple doors down for meals and supplies. Un beatable location. All in all will repeat.
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, you are welcome back anytime!
business
Oceanfront Lae Nani Luxury Firstfloor Condo Wailua Bay Kauai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150734
+1 8086523203
Wailua Kauai
Alameda, CA
5

AWESOME CONDO! GREAT TIME

  • 5 of 5
Just got back from a 4 island tour of Hawaii. The best time was on Kauai, and our stay at our Lae Nani condo was perfect. The condo was perfect and the view of Wailua Bay and having the boulder enclosed pool constantly beckoned my kids to go back and forth. They spent tons of time in the clean, well kept pool also. The unit provided everything we could ask for and the staff was very friendly. The hardest part was to get the kids out and about because they had such a blast at the condo and the beautiful grounds.
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad to report kids love our condo- being on the ground floor let's them run around more, and there are no balcony safety issues. My kids were running back and forth all day fishing, boogieboarding and swimming in the pool.
business
Oceanfront Lae Nani Luxury Firstfloor Condo Wailua Bay Kauai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150734
+1 8086523203
Wailua Kauai
Ottawa, Canada
2

BADLY in need of renovation.

  • 2 of 5
My wife and I stayed 8 nights in February 2011 and were very disappointed with the condition of this condo. It is badlly in need of renovation - the woodwork is filthy and yellowing, the cupboards are old and warped and the flooring and countertops are cracked and chipped. There is mould growing on the wallpaper. We had to get the bedroom carpet cleaned to get the smell of stale urine out. I've stayed in nicer fishing camps in the Canadian wilderness!

Lae Nani resort is beautiful - well located and beautifully kept with helpful staff.
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WARNING: INACCURATE REVIEW BY DISGRUNTLED GUEST!!!!
Reality: I spoke with the manager in the front office and verified that the guest made many unfounded statements in his review. There are many reviews online and this is the only one which is negative. There was no bad smell for example but the manager's staff re-shampooed the carpet which had been cleaned just before their arrival anyhow. Also, I had management walk through the condo and there are no maintenance issues to resolve. There is a hairline crack in one tile in the corner of the kitchen by the dishwasher. That's my full disclosure. Additionally, we installed new carpet a couple of years ago, had it repainted, reupholstered with new cushions the very expensive rattan sofa and chairs, barstools, and dining room chairs (see the photos), installed a new dining room chandelier with a pineapple theme it took me years to find, and have new art well placed throughout. Our guests have had honeymoons there, over one month stays, and many are repeat visitors. Read the rest of the reviews for an accurate description of the condo. If it were such a "fishing camp" experience, I think we would have had many disgruntled honeymooners! Then again, I went salmon fishing on Campbell River (near Vancouver, BC) a few years back and stayed at Painter's Lodge. It was a pretty first class operation so maybe the fishing camp comparison ain't a slur...
I am sure future guests will contribute other reviews and I expect they will be positive.
Meanwhile, I have planned that during my annual island stay this summer I will be further upgrading our place with a wood flooring that will really be fantastic.
I don't want to disappoint my future and past guests, but I will NOT be putting in granite counters and a high tech look throughout; I prefer my cozy island digs with dark wood, not shiny hotel white cabinets, and my island furniture will not be modern Italian. I guess we'll stay the Lae nani on the beach, not the Montage or St. Regis.
Hope you enjoy the island and your stay. Anyone who is put off by the negative review and has read this far may contact me for a stay at an extra 10% discount- until I have the new floors in anyway!
Aloha,
Alan
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Oceanside on the beach at the north point of Wailua Bay between Hanalei/Princeville and Poipu, Lae nani resort is the Jewel on the Coconut Coast.

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, boating

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Wailua Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holiday
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$219
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$169
$1,095
$4,195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75
Notes BONUS: We pay the 11.5% tax and $75 cleaning fee!
Special rental rates= $169/night, $1095/week, $4,195/month.
Internet bonus: save 11.5%+! We pay the tax and $75 cleaning fee (2 night minimum).
Extra bonus savings: stay 2 weeks save 5%, 1 month min. Save 10%+!
Holiday rates; 12/19 to 1/5= $219/night.
Free parking!
Free internet for Homeaway!
Call or email for details.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Wailua Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Beachfront
  • Beach View
  • Water View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Parking ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking Off Street
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Laundry Soap
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Freezer
  • Blender
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Additional - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • VCR
  • Stereo ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Radio
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Beach Towels
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis Court
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • botanical garden
  • forests
  • library
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • coin laundry
  • reefs
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • bay/sound
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • whale watching
  • scenic drives
  • luaus
  • eco tourism
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • kayaking
  • golf privileges optional
  • water skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • water tubing
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
Notes:
Beautiful wood flooring. Living Room Cable TV w/vcr/dvd, Bedroom TV not on cable- only vcr/dvd, 2 Stereo/Tape/CD Players, Blender, etc, Coin Laundry, Extra Large Pool, Poolside Gas Grills, Sorry- No Smoking, Shoe free zone (Hawaii style). The Outrigger Resorts are non-smoking; the public beach across the lawn is the closest area without restriction (no littering, please!), or the street area off the parking lot. Daily linen and trash service available though Outrigger management paid direct. Also, maid service available for hourly fee.
Email Owner Contact Me