OCEANFRONT COTTAGE ON BEAUTIFUL MARTIN POINT

Peter Jones

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Peter Jones

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANFRONT COTTAGE ON BEAUTIFUL MARTIN POINT

Friendship Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

A charming classic summer cottage on the rocky shores of Martin Point in Friendship, Maine. Take the steps down to a private shoreline, ideal for mooring your boat or launching a kayak. A sandy beach is a two minute walk right around the corner. Ideal for a family of four vacation. One bedroom has a full-sized bed for a couple with single beds in each of the other two bedrooms. Bathroom, living room and full kitchen downstairs, fireplace, brand new Rinnai heater, deck. Only five minutes to the town of Friendship and half an hour to Rockland/Rockport/Camden area where amenities abound.

Muscongus Bay offers some of the best kayaking and boating on the Maine coast, practically off the front deck! Hike through the woods, fish off the shoreline or just relax on the deck, nestled among the pines.

The Charm of the Cottage: This rental cottage has all the classic charm of a Maine summer home. My own family rented this space for many years before acquiring the property in the late 1940's. I was fortunate to spend many happy summers there as a youth, thanks to my grandparents smart move. The fondness I felt from those memories was enough to make me move to Maine and raise my own family nearby. The memories that you will share by staying here will be those of pine and balsam, woodsmoke, crisp, clean sheets and salty ocean air, making it a place you'll want to come back to time and again.

Thanks for your interest and I look forward to hearing from you

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
Peter Jones (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.8
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanfront Cottage on Beautiful Martin Point
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Beautiful Martin Point
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150486
- (207) 236-6112
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Wonderful vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5
After several years of Maine vacation rentals, this is the one that we would love to go back to, year after year. Nice, quiet area, but close enough to travel out to area attractions. Don't miss "Sail Muscongus" on the Sarah Mead sloop in Bremen.
The pictures of this rental do not do it justice, this is a beautiful homey place, in a great kayaking area, with a nice beach area just short walk away.
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Beautiful Martin Point
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150486
- (207) 236-6112
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
4

lovely coastal getaway!

  • 4 of 5
My family and I stayed at this cottage for 5 nights and 6 days. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience - we found the property to be well kept and adequately furnished for all our needs. The kitchen had a wide variety of cookware and dinnerware (including the ubiquitous lobster pot!) The bedrooms were comfortable and cozy - actually the whole house is is very quaint, with its wood-paneling, and rustic furnishings. It's a two-minute walk to the beach and steps away from the coastline, so the location was quite ideal. Dave, who lives in the house right below, often came to check up on us and answered all of our questions. Would highly recommend this rental if you're looking for a classic Maine getaway. Only complaint is that the wifi is non-existent unless you're out on the deck or in the master bedroom - but that could be good if you're really looking to unplug!
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Beautiful Martin Point
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150486
- (207) 236-6112
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
United States
2

Martin Point Cottage

  • 2 of 5
Unfortunately, after 100% success of our stays in a number of VRBO listings across the country and in Maine, we ran into one that did not measure up. The listing was not accurate. At best, we could hear the waterfront and through over 12 trees and countless bushes, finally see glimpses of the ocean. The path to the waterfront on the property had a pile of brush which I complained about and it was then removed on the Tuesday after I arrived. Also a grill did not materialize until after I complained. Yes, there is a beach around the boulder and thank goodness. The cottage itself is fine for three people and it does NOT include utensils that can ALL be used. Quite a few of the items are of old and dark unknown metal that should be used as displays instead. A first aid kit would be beneficial especially if children are around and the driveway, Ah! the driveway is nonstop Busy. This cottage really has a very good view of 2 sheds and a driveway with all sort of activities from neighbors who share it. It is not an ideal spot for privacy and quiet. The cottage itself was very clean but the overall maintenance is minimal. The owners offered to let us off the contract but since we had paid for one week and I had handed them a check for the second week and since this was July, where was I to go for 2 weeks with only a week's refund? So, since I squawked about the situation I found myself on a two owners vs one renter back and forth online conversation. NOT how I like to spend my vacation. Thus, this property will never be recommended to a friend or relative. The overall location, Friendship, is fine, but one needs a different property. Maybe we have been spoiled by staying in VRBO properties that the owners also use, so I believe this is the main difference between our previous experiences and this last one. It feels as if the owners are very disengaged of the daily living within this property. They are emotionally and financially tied to it and not at all practical about how guests feel while looking at sheds from all but one room. Needless to say, we are very disappointed. We found the local market in Friendship helpful and pleasant. The owners of the market even recommended shops in Rockland, which is really very close. Thomaston has a great restaurant/bar on the water, The Slipway, which is right next to where the lobster boats bring in lobsters and a couple very good + reasonable book stores. We will go back to the Thomaston/Cushing area.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: One hardly knows where to begin. In 30 years of renting I have never had a more unpleasant experience than dealing with this renter, who was a walking complaint from the first minute she stepped from her car. Sensing this, not only did I offer her an immediate full refund of everything, including 100% her deposit (potentially leaving us with two weeks lost rent), I also offered to help her find another place to stay. Seeing the she had no plans to leave, I ended up offering her three FREE nights of stay until she found another place suitable for her, which she declined to do.
As to her ‘complaints’: where does one begin? She states that the web site is inaccurate. Hearing this, I immediately checked the web site to find that it very accurately displays the rental property, and I told her this. She complains about traffic at the neighbors: yes, at that time our neighbors were visited by a large family, but that house is usually empty or lightly visited. We don’t own or manage our neighbor’s house. She complained about no view. In fact, there is an ample view, but, as the photos clearly show, the cottage is set back somewhat from the shoreline. The property has 265 feet of private shoreline, easily accessed by steps. She complained about noise from a party on an island half a mile away, in direct view from the cottage, while at the same time insisting her remoteness from the ocean! The irony of that statement is self-apparent.
As to lack of maintenance, we'd be happy to show her the bills for the brand new roof, new deck, new porch post, new wallboards, etc? As to ‘sheds’, does she know what a classic Maine boat house looks like?; or a wood shed? Apparently not.
The two valid comments she makes were regarding a brush pile not being removed (which she nevertheless could not see from the cottage) and a lack of utensils. We had been bothering our local yard man for weeks about the brush issue, but he had had a family emergency. As to the utensils, sometimes items from the cottage end up back in the main house. We are indeed at fault if there are not pots, pans, and utensils sufficient for renters’ basic needs. All she had to do was ask, instead of complain.
We are engaged in the property, responsive to all requests, and typically mingle with and help our renters as much as we can. In this instance, we concluded that this apparently unhappy renter could not be satisfied through any reasonable efforts on our part.
business
Oceanfront Cottage on Beautiful Martin Point
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150486
- (207) 236-6112
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Fort Worth, TX
4

Coastal Maine, Very Campy

  • 4 of 5
Great location for exploring both up and down mid-coast Maine. Great views of the cove both from the porch and the rocks down below. Swimming beach down the street. Cabin is small but adequate. Very affordable lobster nearby. Cable and wireless were iffy at best during our stay which allowed for more "vacation time". Owner more than helpful in getting it up and running.
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ken is right that we had difficulties with establishing the internet and cable reception. The internet was switched from phone line based to cable this year and between troubles with getting it up and running in the beginning and a surprise power failure from a downed tree, it required rebooting to make it work. Once established, it was much stronger than the old system. The cable TV has been re-established as well. My thanks to Ken for mentioning that we were more than helpful in getting it going again. That is exactly what we try to do, to please our renters.

Map

Map

The midcoast region of Maine is truly 'Vacationland' and your cottage is right in the middle of it all! Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park are less than two scenic hour's drive to the north. Closer still are the beautiful seaside towns of Camden, Rockport, Rockland, Belfast, Damariscotta and Boothbay Harbor. You'll find more restaurants, galleries, museums, antiques and shopping opportunities than you could partake of during an entire summer's stay. If you'd rather just relax and get away from it all, the cottage is the perfect place to do just that. It's quietly nestled in the woods on the shoreline. Stay for a few weeks or stay for the summer. It's a place you'll never forget!!

Other Activities: Kayaking: Muscongus Bay is one of the best kayaking locations on the coast of Maine. Bring your own or rent a kayak in the town of Friendship just two miles away. Easy access for launching your kayak from many locations. Lots of islands, coves and inlets all around to explore.

Golf: There are many golf courses nearby in Rockland, Rockport, Damariscotta and Camden. Play golf on the ocean at the Samoset Resort in Rockport.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Friendship Cottage Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 7.0%
Cleaning USD75

Notes

  • Total rental per week with tax and cleaning is $1252.00
  • A deposit of 50% of the rental fee is required three months in advance. Balance is due on the first day of the rental. Rental fee includes cost of electricity, heating, basic cable service, water, septic and basic phone service. Long distance service is blocked but can be accessed by use of a phone card 800 number. Our rates are the same per week all summer long: $1100.00 plus 7% rental tax ($77.00) plus a one time cleaning fee ($75.00) at the end of your stay.

Amenities

Amenities

Friendship Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Dialup Access
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Gas Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom is downstairs. It is fairly small and comfortably accommodates only one person at a time.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , sleeps two
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
  • Bedrooms are small and cozy, all on the upstairs floor.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Smoking permitted outside the house. Please inquire about suitability of children, pets and those using wheelchairs. Two households depend on our water supply and septic system. We request that you use these conservatively and responsibly.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote