Carol

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Carol

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANFRONT BEACH HOUSE

Little Compton House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

The rate for 2014 season is $2900 per week.

WE HAVE A CANCELLATION FOR THE WEEK OF AUGUST 30-SEPT. 6tH EHICH INCLUDES LABOR DAY WEEKEND. Contact us about September rental availability. Thank you!

See the ocean from every room in this Oceanfront Beach House situated on a slight bluff with breathtaking panoramic views of Cuttyhunk Island and the cliffs of Martha’s Vineyard. There are stairs leading down to the rocky shoreline that is perfect for skipping stones into the water. Build a small campfire between the crevices of the rocks and toast s'mores while relaxing on the large flat rock that nature provided for seating. It's your own private view of cormorants, gulls, and ospreys at work.

The capacity of the property is 8 overnight guests. The Beach House has two first floor bedrooms both with twin beds and two oceanfront second floor bedrooms, one with a king bed and one with a double bed. There is a half bath on the second floor; a full bath with tub and shower on the first floor; and, an outside shower. Two family rooms provide ample space for everyone to relax and enjoy their favorite activity. Relax in front of the flat screen TV, play your favorite DVDs, or enjoy a board game with your family.

Enjoy a spectacular sunrise and moonlit nights on the expansive deck surrounding the entire oceanfront side of the home. Fall asleep listening to the peaceful sounds of the waves 300 feet from your window. Have your lobster bake or clamboil either on the deck or in the eat-in kitchen while enjoying the oceanfront view. Fly kites in the large yard or watch ospreys fishing as they travel along the coast that is your front yard.

The Beaches

While you can observe Goosewing and South Shore beaches from your Adirondack chair on the deck, take a short 15 minute walk to South Shore & Goosewing Beach with its magnificent ecosystem of pristine coastal pond, beach and dune environments. The picturesque beach is ideal for walking and swimming during those leisurely summer days. For a change of 'beach scene,' drive to Horseneck Beach and State Reservation in nearby Westport, MA, one of the most popular facilities in the Massachusetts State Forests and Parks system.

Little Compton is summer!

The village of Little Compton is a bucolic New England town without the commercialism and traffic of Cape Cod. Ride your bike down flat country roads past miles of stone walls surrounding fields of corn and hay. Explore country stores and antique shops as you go. Stop at the local farm stands for fresh produce and sweet corn. Smell the salt air.

Nearby

When you are ready for a change of pace, travel to nearby Newport for area festivals, shopping, and sailing charters. Tour the Mansions of the Gilded Age and homes of colonial Newport. Visit Fort Adams and take in the spectacular view of Newport Harbor. Sample clam chowder in one of the waterfront dining establishments.

Travel the Coastal Wine Trail visiting award winning local wineries. Taste the wines while you enjoy a picnic lunch on the lawn.

Stop at the quaint village of Tiverton Four Corners to browse through the more than 20 shops. Complete your day with an ice cream cone at Gray’s Ice Cream. In the evening, enjoy dining at the many nearby restaurants or have your own lobster bake on the deck of the Beach House while the ocean provides the sound effects.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
We have had a lovely stay. Thank you so much for the use of your wonderful home. Thanks so much again! What a wonderful area Little Compton is!
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 8

Carol

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

My husband and I live in Massachusetts and manage the Beach House for my parents who purchased the property in 1966.

Our family has a long history of spending days at the beach in Little Compton, starting with my grandparents and now passing on the tradition to our grandchildren.

The view is magnificent, looking out over beaches and the Elizabeth Islands. Lobster bakes on the oceanfront deck are amazing. And the grandkids, and our kids too I think, love the rocky shore below the house and flying kites in the yard (sometimes the kites fly loose and end up taking a swim).

The beach is a short walk away down a quiet street and there is also the Coastal Wine trail with Sakonnet Winery in Little Compton. It's a great place for a wine & cheese break!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanfront Beach House
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
business
Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147321vb
508-769-6844
Little Compton Rhode Island Coastal
Virginia
5

Sweet

  • 5 of 5
This house is so sweet and charming. I felt my stress slip away. Thank you so much for a beautiful home where we felt very relaxed and nourished.
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you had a wonderful vacation at the Beach House. Being by the ocean seems to put everything in perspective! Thank you for your review.
business
Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147321vb
508-769-6844
Little Compton Rhode Island Coastal
St. Louis, MO
5

C.P.

  • 5 of 5
Go to the beach. Play football. I like this place. And play monopoly.

This is a great place to relax, go to the beach, play sports, and bond with your family. Max.

We all loved the expansive ocean view and day-long running, biking, swimming and football. The town is such an amazing mix of open land & stone walls. Weather was perfect! Wally.
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147321vb
508-769-6844
Little Compton Rhode Island Coastal
St. Louis, MO
5

Medfield MA

  • 5 of 5
Another great week at the Beach House! Beautiful weather & views. Hope we can come back next year.
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147321vb
508-769-6844
Little Compton Rhode Island Coastal
St. Louis, MO
5

Providence RI

  • 5 of 5
In a word: Idyllic!
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147321vb
508-769-6844
Little Compton Rhode Island Coastal
Westchester, NY
1

This place sucks ....

  • 1 of 5
Where should I start? First off the whole house reaked of mildew. Half of the beds had dirty sheets and there was no dehumidifiers or a/c units so as soon as the sun went down everything was coated with a film of dew (had to leave the windows open becuase it was so hot). Kitchen cupboards were full of Raid, anti-freeze, and cleaning materials that were commingled with pots and pans. Didn't even bother to stay the night ... owner promised to refund rent but reneged once consulting "attorney". House was billed as a great locaction for a family ... unfortunately it is not safe or sanitary enough for a family. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra $$$ if you want to stay in LC.

Also, this great rock beach they mention is nice but full of huge boulders and not suitable for children (supervised or not).

This place is a legitimate dump!
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that the house did not meet their expectations, however exaggerated they might have been. All our guests over the past five years have been very complementary in their reviews.
business
Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147321vb
508-769-6844
Little Compton Rhode Island Coastal
Medfield, MA
5

Vacation time

  • 5 of 5
This was our third summer here at the Beach House. We never get tired of the view! It's so peaceful and beautiful. we had a hot week and were glad to be so close to the beach to cool off! We hope to be back again next year!
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
PVD
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Goosewing
Car: necessary
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Little Compton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 21 2014 - Sep 2 2014
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Personal check, money order, cashiers check
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Little Compton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Internet
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Garage ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Broadband Access
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone
Kitchen:
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Toys ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Games
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Bicycles ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • zoo
  • museums
  • live theater
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • winery tours
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • antiquing
  • horseshoes
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • walking
  • boating
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • surfing
  • fishing
  • wind-surfing
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • golf
Notes:
Beach chairs & umbrellas available
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$2,200 - $2,750 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$1,540 - $2,870 per week
4 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,800 - $2,000 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 7