Nice pool. Run down, for a vacation rental.
Submitted: July 26, 2012
Stayed: July 2012
To begin my review...I usually rent luxury homes in the Hamptons. Unfortunately I procrastinated and this was the only home available for the time I needed to be there. Also, with the shape of the home I didn't really think the owner had much care for this home and I figured the old adage of "You get what you pay for" held true so I did not bother contacting the owner about these things.
The pool is great. It was the pretty much the only positive thing. The house, unfortunately, isn't set up for a vacation home. It's "quietly" on the market so I assume the owner just doesn't want to bother with anything. If you have ANY thoughts of working from this place, it's not for you. There is no wireless (Come on...I ended up going to the store and getting a $29 wireless router) and the internet connection is in the smelly basement (which is also where the 3rd bedroom and bathroom are). Further, the telephones (cordless) are connected in that basement and are almost unusable anywhere but the basement. Their batteries are worthless so don't plan on having a conference call more than 20 minutes. And cell phone coverage is pretty much non-existent. For under $100 this owner could remedy these things...Obviously he doesn't care.
The three window A/C units (2 in the upstairs bedroom, 1 in the basement bedroom) are not adequate for this house and the fans were broken (I ended up buying a box fan and just leaving it for the next guest). If it's warm, expect an 80 degree house, especially in the Kitchen. The Kitchen is just plain ill equipped. Don't plan on making much of a breakfast with one frying pan. The outdoor grill is about 5 years past its useable life. 2 of the 4 burners don't light and the 2 that do are barely able to heat a hot dog. Of course the igniter doesn't work so plan on buying a long lighter.
If you're used to run-down houses and want a stay in the Hamptons, maybe this is for you, but I was embarrassed to have my friends there. I have rental properties, including vacation rentals, and I just kept adding the small things that could make this place nice but obviously, it's not a big priority to the owner.
In the end, the owner doesn't misrepresent the house. The pictures are accurate, as well as the description. It's just very run down and uncomfortable.
Owner's Response: I am always surprised at the variety of responses I receive. This guest rented in May, and the above review is the first I have heard about any issues he may have had. My desire is to make sure my guests receive a top notch experience, and as can be evidenced by the 60+ other positive reviews, that has definitely been the case. However, the customer is ALWAYS right, so as per this review, I have purchased a brand new laptop for the house and made the suggested additions. Should you decide to rent my house and an issue arises, I can be reached on cell 24/7 to make the appropriate adjustment immediately, and my house watcher is available to assist on a moment's notice, as he is less than a block away. I have the best cleaning crew in the Hamptons, and the house is always cleaned according to how I would enjoy being received as a guest. To further clarify, the grill was purchased new three years ago, is scoured after each guest's visit, and only has two burners. I would also add that the house is designed as a vacation home, and the amenities suited for that purpose. It is not set up as a conference room or business suite. Thanks very much for the above suggestions!
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?