RIVERFRONT LODGE, BANDERA, PEACE/QUIET IN THE HILL COUNTRY

Cathy Dillon

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Cathy Dillon

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

RIVERFRONT LODGE, BANDERA, PEACE/QUIET IN THE HILL COUNTRY

Bandera Cabin Rental Photos and Description

4 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 6 (actually sleeps 10 but we charge extra for more than 6)

This is a rustic stone riverfront lodge on a bluff above the crystal-clear Medina River, with steps winding down to the water. It sits on three picturesque acres overlooking the river; fireplaces in the kitchen and living room. This is an old house with quirks and character—if you want hotel perfection, this isn’t it. Awesome Hill Country atmosphere…swim, tube, canoe, fish, or sit on the patio or in the river and watch the water roll by. Near San Antonio, Austin, Fiesta Texas and Seaworld, Lost Maples State Park. Bandera is the 'cowboy capital of the world'...enjoy rodeos, horses, hayrides, and outdoor fun deep in the heart of the beautiful Hill Country.

We want all our guests to be happy! : Please read all the reviews before deciding to book, as they are quite enlightening. Most people love our place, but the ones who do not.....are typically expecting a more upscale, updated facility. It is quite comfortable, but it is an old house, and there will be 'issues' from time to time. So, we really love flexible people who will be cooperative and understanding when maintenance needs arise!

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered

Cathy Dillon

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We lived in Houston when we bought the house, as we spent many weekends coming to the Hill Country canoeing and camping. It's on a spectacular stretch of the Medina River, and we feel very blessed to have been able to get this great fun place. Our kids have grown up loving it just as we do.

Cathy Dillon purchased this cabin in 1980

It is one of a kind! Like country houses were when you were a kid. Once you've visited, you won't have to ask.

Rustic, private, peaceful setting......perfect for families. Very very restful. The view out over the river is wonderful. There is no phone, no wireless, and no cable TV at the house.....but there are lots of books and games and inner tubes and wineglasses :) We encourage you to come to the country and live in the moment, divorcing yourself for just a little while....from electronics and fast-paced anything.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 35 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
average rating of 4.3428574 based on 35 reviews
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
+1 1-512-353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
5

AWESOME PRIVATE RETREAT!

  • 5 of 5
We needed some time away from the big city, and we found it at this property! The cabin is old, rustic, and full of charm. It reminded me of a simpler time when people actually enjoyed being around each other and nature. We put away our phones, logged off Facebook, and the closest thing to modern technology we used was the radio. The king size bed in the main house was quite comfortable. We did not have any king size sheets to bring with us, but there were some on hand at the house which we used but just had to pay $10 for the housekeeper to wash. The back porch and the river down below were my favorite parts of the property. We also sat on the front porch both nights and just stared at the bright stars above us. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook, but we didn't do much of that because we didn't want to have to clean. The shower is not built for a tall person, but it works well. I was worried about insects coming in the house but did not see one! There was an issue with the key not being where we could find it, but the owner was very responsive and told us where to find another key. And I want to add that Cathy, the owner is very nice. I would love to come back sometime! Thank you so much!
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
+1 1-512-353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
Crystal River, FL USA
5

AWESOME PLACE!!

  • 5 of 5
First off I want to say THANK YOU to the owner for sharing your home. Without folks like you we would not get the opportunity to stay in amazing places. I personally would not have come here to stay in a hotel.
A group of us (3 couples) came up here for the weekend looking for some much needed rest and relaxation and we found it. Just as all of the other folks say, yes, it is a rustic home but don't let that worry you. This home is so charming. It more than met all of our expectations.The peace and quiet were just what we were looking for. The hike down to the river and around the river was just beautiful.
Come here with no expectations just your sense of adventure and you won't be disappointed.
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
+1 1-512-353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
5

BANDERA SUMMER 2012!!!!

  • 5 of 5
We returned to our favorite get away earlier this month and had a spectacular time! For those of you who are looking for something modern you need look elsewhere. This place is for people to get cozy and into nature. (This is not some fancy-smansy 5 star hotel, people) As I see everyone else wrote, there are plenty of deer in the front yard in the morning and afternoons. If you don't see them, I'm sure just a little corn in the yard will draw them out. This being our second trip to the Bandera house, we brought lots of people and had plenty of space. From the peaceful back porch view to the private river we had a much needed family vaca. And yes, I said private. This is the second year in a row we have came and seen no one else on the river. Very cool! Even with the rain almost non-existent, the river had plenty of water to splash around. If you walk a little while down to the left of the house, there is a great rope swing with safe, deep water. Our family grew up with weekends like this and now the newest addition to our family can. Amelia, 17 months, had the time of her life. The river right behind the house is heavily shaded so we could dip her in with no chance of a sunburn. Perfect! We highly recommend this place!!!!!!!
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
+1 1-512-353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
Houston, Texas
5

A BIT OF TEXAS HEAVEN

  • 5 of 5
This property gets our vote for heaven. The natural beauty of the river is undeniable. We love the property because it is rustic and vintage, reflects the beauty of the Texas Hill Country, is pet-friendly, and supports a myriad out-door activities. It is as though we were transported to a simpler time when all we had to worry about was enjoying long summer days on the river. There is nothing better than a lazy morning at the house, followed by a day tubing the river and playing near the waterfalls and on the rope swings, simply walking up the stairs back to the house direct from the river, grilling for dinner, and sitting in the front yard watching the deer and stars come out. This house makes enjoying the river so much easier.

The main house was hand-built in the 1930s so electricity, running water, a/c, and propane stove are 'after-market' additions. The furnishings go well with the character of the house and are comfortable.

Bandera has many good restaurants, including China Bowl and OST, and entertainment venues, including the iconic Arkey Blue's Silver Dollar and the 11th Street Cowboy Bar. The Apple Store in Medina has great lunches and outstanding apple ice cream. Unfortunately for us, we didn't make it to the weekly local rodeo.

The owners are a delight to work with and are only interested in their guests' happiness. We are a multi-generation group from mid-teens to mid-60s and everyone had a stellar time. We can't wait to return and are considering returning this fall.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
+1 1-512-353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
3

MIXED FEELINGS

  • 3 of 5
Wow where do I begin???
I'm just gonna break it down to the good and the bad.
Pro's:
Owner is very nice
Beautiful river
Lots of deer in yard
Cute rustic house
CONS:
Fleas- owner bought a vaccumm and flea bombs, we had to pick up in town and bomb house then Clean up after that. Housekeeper couldn't come till next day to vaccumm and that wasn't an option cause they were bad. My husband lifted up bed and that carpet just needs to be thrown out in master bdrm, there was so much animal hair and dirt and things people had left behind. We do have pics by the way of all this.
Scorpions everywhere, there are holes in the rocks of the interior of home and we found 5 one found my husbands foot one night. And in the other home one found my son in his bed.
I know the hill country is windy at night but it was not cool enough for that annex bldg. I just don't understand you can buy a window unit for $350.
The comforters are withering away on back side, for the first couple days I was picking up pieces of the lineing till I went to town and bought blankets. I brought our own sheets, didn't know I needed blankets too.
The lvrm furniture is old and falling apart they had blankets on them to cover it up.
The stairs leading to river are not safe for anyone!! They are crumbling and falling apart. We received a $50 discount for our flea problem but to me it felt like a slap in the face. We should not have had to worry about putting all our food away and clothes and then bombing two house and then cleaning up after it. Last thing is you need a new cleaning lady, she half way cleans. She also text me the day before we were to check out to see when we would be leaving so she could come clean so she could spend time with her family for fathers day, understandable but rude the way she put it, mind all you renters check out is 1pm I think. Needless to say I text her back told we were already gone. Yep paid till Sunday but we left Sat morning, when I saw that we were only given a $50 discount for our troubles I was so upset I just wanted to leave. I did not call and talk to the owner to tell her we were upset and leaving because she is really nice and can only do so much from far away. This house is just very neglected but could be so much more!!
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It always feel awful when people have a hassle at our house! Especially when their problems are just bolts out of the blue, which Lana's certainly were. It is a huge year for fleas in the Hill Country because of all the rain. But we've taken preventive measures, and had seen no signs as recently as the day this family arrived. Departing guests that day had no problem, and in fact, are the ones who left the "Much Needed Escape" review just prior to this. Apparently the flea bloom happened 3 days into Lana's stay and only in the master bedroom which was why these poor people disassembled the pillowtop bed and found the conditions they describe. (they said fleas weren't an issue in the rest of the house). We bought them a vacuum because this was an emergency and the problem needed tackled immediately, without waiting for housekeeper and exterminators.

I really like our new housekeeper. She's a hard worker, and people who've been there repeatedly say the house is as clean as they've ever seen it. Excluding, it now appears, the underside of that one bed! The comments about the bedroom rug are timely because we have actually bought a new one, just hadn't made the time yet to put it down. Regarding the 2 quilts with the problem lining. I knew about them, and we juggled linens while Lana's family was there to make room for new ones. Fyi, she brought her own sheets because all are asked to do that. (This is an economical private house, not a hotel). But we have lots of blankets. The living room sofas are covered with loose throws so that we can wash them frequently....necessary in a house as busy as this.

Can't remember the last time we saw scorpions--literally years. The place is exterminated regularly and it was only done a couple of weeks ago so maybe they had just been flushed out of hiding.

We haven't put an AC in the annex for reasons I won't yammer about, but it's not to save $350. Maybe someday. And finally, as sweet as these poor people were when the fleas exploded on the scene, I confess to misreading their stress level. That day and the next, it was "oh, it's no big deal, we solved it and we're having fun, don't worry". It was a relief to have them be kind because I was so embarrassed.

Our place is charming and quaint and far from neglected, but it's 1930's vintage and things happen in the country. We always leap through hoops to solve problems. I only wish those bolts out of the blue would ask first.
business
Riverfront Lodge, Bandera, Peace/Quiet in the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p142673
+1 1-512-353-3248
Bandera Texas Hill Country
Houston, Texas
5

MUCH NEEDED ESCAPE!!!!

  • 5 of 5
I have been here once before and both times it was awesome! It is a very calming place its natrual beauty is outstanding!!!! I was able to invite my brother who is not an outdoors type, his definition of fun is being indoors in front of a computer, but he fell in love with it after the first day! I took him down by the river and he could not believe how clear and beautiful the river was!!! He will be back again for sure and we just loved it! The kitchen is fully stocked, the restroom gave us no problems, and everything else about the house was awesome!!!! Thanks again!!!!
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Patricia, we loved having your group. Let's all just pray that the rains will keep blessing the Hill Country for 2012......you're right, the river really is just amazing right now. To those of you who may have read through prior years' reviews, please note that while nothing is guaranteed, both house and annex septic systems have now been replaced, so hopefully no more hassles in that department. That would be "hopefully" :) Cathy
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
San Antonio
Nearest Train
45 Miles
San Antonio
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Hwy 46 and Hwy 16, Bandera, Texas
Nearest Barpub
4.5 Miles
a bunch! All cowboy bars in Bandera!
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
watershkiing/Lake Medina
Nearest Golf
5.5 Miles
2 courses
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Car: necessary

Situated in one of the naturally beautiful areas of Texas, Bandera County beckons visitors to share a taste of the Old West set against a backdrop of the spectacular scenery of the Texas Hill Country. Bandera's title, 'Cowboy Capital of the World' originated when it became a staging area for the great cattle drives of yesteryear. When ranching fell on hard times in the 1930's, an enterprising rancher decided to take in 'dudes' to help him through the depression. An exciting new industry was born!

It continues to flourish today with a number of excellent Dude Ranches operating throughout Bandera County, Texas. Confirming Bandera as the 'Cowboy Capital of the World', a bronze monument, honoring the many National Rodeo Champions who call Bandera their home, stands on the courthouse lawn. Enhancing the western character, a working blacksmith's shop on Main Street recalls the horse-and-buggy era when the forge was the center of every town's activities.

Other Activities: Tubing, kayaking, canoeing, swimming, snorkeling.....all things 'river'!

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Bandera Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $25.00 + Tax
Pet Fee $50.00 + Tax
Reservation can be held briefly with a credit card number, but within (ask for time period, it varies), we require a check or money order equal to approximately 1/2 of the expected rental total. The second part of the rental total can be placed on a card, and is due prior to arrival at the property. Mail deposits to 1000 Burleson St., San Marcos Texas 78666.
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes For more than 6 guests, fee is $50 per person per stay. But this varies depending on the situation, so be sure to ask what affects your reservation. Fuel surcharges apply in winter. If available at all, holiday and special event periods have higher but variable rates. We rent it only by the week during the summer. There are occasional exceptions to everything, so always ask for specific quotes.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Bandera Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • River
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Toilet Paper
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Blender
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Grill
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Outside - outdoor shower
  • there is also an outdoor shower good for rinsing off when you come up from the river.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , sleeps 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , sleeps 2
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , trundles--sleeps 4
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , sleeps 2
  • The house actually sleeps 10, not 6.......but we charge extra for any number in excess of 6. The main house (master bedroom + sunporch, sleeps 6) has central air and heat, while the Annex (1 king bedroom, 1 queen bedroom, sleeps 4) has fans and space heaters but no air conditioning. All you Houston people, don't panic! Believe it or not, the Hill Country is cooler and drier than what you're used to, and with all the windows open and the fans going, you'll probably find yourself reaching for a blanket in the night.
Entertainment:
  • Books for Adults
  • Games
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Child's Swing
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • museums
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • autumn foliage
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • churches
  • caves
  • library
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • hunting
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • rafting
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • golf privileges optional
Notes:
This is a semi-rustic lodge 5 miles out in the country - no real amenities except for the beautiful setting....guests bring their own! Lots of uneven steps including steep stairs down to the river, so not ideal for crawling babies or the orthopedically challenged. The main house (master bedroom + sunporch, sleeps 6) has central air and heat, while the Annex (1 king bedroom, 1 queen bedroom, sleeps 4) has fans and space heaters but no air conditioning.
Email Owner Email