Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Historic Plantation Home Downtown Charleston

Marshall Wakat

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Marshall Wakat

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
20%
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Historic Plantation Home Downtown Charleston

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Charleston House Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath With full kitchen and Living Room

This home is the Historic Gate House of the William Rett Plantation in Annsonboro. We are located just off Meeting Street. There are many excellent restaurants less than one block from the house. The Gate House is located in a beautiful garden which is often on the Charleston Garden Tours. You are shaded by ancient live oak trees with Spanish moss.You can walk to anywhere downtown.

History: The Gate House is part of the William Rett Plantation. The main house is considered by many to be the oldest house in Charleston. The market area is two blocks away. Carriage tours pass the house throughout the day.

Home Tours: This is the perfect location for the spring and fall Charleston Tours of Historic Homes. We are often on the tour. The garden outside the gate house surrounding a pond with water lilies, Koi fish and our fountain is one of the few gardens in Charleston visible from the street.

Shoping:

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Marshall Wakat (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
20%
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2014

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.8
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Historic Plantation Home Downtown Charleston
average rating of 3.75 based on 8 reviews
San Antonio, TX
5

Perfect choice for walkers....

  • 5 of 5

We returned today from two days at the Gatehouse and things went extremely well. There was a little difficulty communicating our needs since our plane was late and we did not have the phone number of the owner's assistant since the owner preferred being called directly, but she was on site and let us into the home. The house is three buildings away from Meeting Street and has a lovely garden with off-street parking so we could leave the car and walk anywhere we wanted to go. Hyman's, the highest-rated seafood restaurant in the south, is two blocks away and the open market is about three blocks in the opposite direction. The accommodations were comfortable and the artwork was local. An effort seemed to have been made to make the home comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Northwood NH
2

Gate House

  • 2 of 5

It was in a good location but a bit rundown for the price. Parking was difficult. Tv did not work for weeks at a time. Stairs to bedroom steep and no toilet downstairs. Kitchen stove looked awful. Like from goodwill. No drawers for silverware. Heat hard to adjust. I would never go back.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We had unusual weather for Charleston during Jan and Feb of 2014 with freezing pipes. Also, because of the weather Comcast was in and out .Sorry I do not understand much of the rest.. It does not sound like our place. I am sure their experience would have been quite different had the weather been more like normal for Charleston.
Rock Hill, South Carolina and York South Carolina
4

Great Location to see the sights

  • 4 of 5

We spent a month in the Gatehouse and it had all the comforts of home. The owners were very nice and we didn't know they were even there unless we had to ask them something. We were able to walk one block to the center of town and sight see and shop. And we could walk one block the other way and be at a grocery store. We didn't have to get our cars out very often to go anywhere unless we wanted to leave the area.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
5

Very charming, historic carriage house

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed here several times for extended periods and it's my "go to" place in Charleston. The house is centrally located in the very heart of the historic area and it's only two or three blocks from many of the best restaurants and sites. The grounds are beautiful and the historic gardens and fountain are shaded by massive live oaks. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. The authentic Charleston experience!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed your visit
1

Run down, dirty, over grown

  • 1 of 5

These owners don't deserve this place. Their lack of respect for a potentially great environment is appalling. Great location doesn't mean anything when the windows are so dirty you can't see out of them. I am not a neat freak but this was crazy. All the electrical is run with extension cords all over the rooms. The dorm sized refrigerator is askew on a box and rocks like it is about to fall over when you open the door. The towels are nicer at a hostile. The grounds unkempt. The hostess is crass and inhospitable. It's a real shame.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: During this period the construction of a new boutique hotel one block away was in the stage of driving pilings. This is very noisy. We had no control over the construction schedule and offered to refund all payment. They decided to stay but were clearly unhappy. This rental is over 200 years old. Our goal is for our guests to experience the feel of "Historic Charleston". Our favorite saying is "Gut Fish not Historic Homes".If they want modern there are three luxury hotels at twice the price within two blocks. The grounds are completely covered by multiple live oak trees,hundreds of years old, which constantly shed leaves. The weekly garden service can only do so much.
Kansas
5

Charming Enchanting!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED this place. Our time there was an experience we will not forget. It could not have been a better location to be on foot. the free trolley was one block away, grocery store 3 blocks and 5 star restaurant literally across the street with many others a block or tow away. The Gate House had everything we needed for our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Car: not necessary

Almost anything you can think of is close at hand

Photos

Rates & Availability

Charleston House Rental Rates

Notes

  • Monthly rate is $2000 to $4000 depending upon season, we are doing monthly rentals only
  • Monthly rate is $3000
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Amenities

Charleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote