I do not recommend this property
Submitted: February 16, 2011
Stayed: July 2010
I booked for two weeks,and was told it was non-smoking. We had to find our own way into the cottage, as the owners were not there to meet us. I had to walk through an adjoining porch that had an overflowing ashtray.
We contracted for two weeks, at one price, and were forced to pay another price once we got there. I have emails stating we wanted two weeks, and were sent a contract with the two weeks listed in the detail. The owners then tried to say that they didn't know that the contract was for two weeks. That is at odds with the wording they placed on the Homeaway website once I booked the two weeks. Their headline read: "Already booked two weeks, hurry before the cottage is fully rented!" These people are licensed realtors and SHOULD know contract law.
The place was clean, except for the sofa bed. The mattress was moldy and could not be used. My 6"1" son had to sleep on the sofa without the use of the pullout bed. The internet didn't work for several days. The owners showed up over a day later and said that people that know them, know how they operate. . While at a barbecue, the owner actually told me not to fall into the fire pit before paying him the extra money. They still have not paid the deposit back to me. I have pictures that show an immaculate cottage, just the way I left it, but now the owners say it was a mess. This is untrue, as I thoroughly cleaned the cottage, and have the pictures to prove it.
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate that we can not please everyone, though we try our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as we can...I just don't know how to respond to this review! She rented in July and submitted feedback in February! The renter never mentioned any issues and in fact socialized with us and our children played together during their stay...we are a smoke-free property and have new mattress (every year or two) and the sleep sofa is just a few years old! We have a very clean and comfortable property and proud of what we offer to you for your stay. I think if you read our other reviews you can get a true sense of what we are about. Thanks
Helpful votes: 4/7
Did you find this review helpful?