used for family Christmas
Submitted: December 20, 2011
Stayed: December 2011
Over all, we enjoyed the stay and there were many nice things about the house. The location was great: near activities yet quiet, the boardwalk to the beach and decks overlooking the beach were very enjoyable, the large windows in the living/dining areas added to the atmosphere, the large dining table with an extra table were great both for meals and for socializing. The rooms were smaller and the house older than expected from the photos. We would not classify it as “luxury”, but it was certainly comfortable. We did, however, have some complaints. The information on the website was deficient in descriptions of the bedrooms & baths so that we couldn’t make plans ahead of arrival. The “Things to bring” list was in the house, rather than being provided prior to arrival. The house actually sleeps 14-16, (not 18) but one bed is a fold out couch in the living room. Two of the baths are in “master suites”, therefore not readily available to others. Because of this arrangement, eight people upstairs must use the same bath. The house was “surface” clean, but was somewhat deficient in deep cleaning. ( ie: We found trash under beds and the windows were so dirty as to obstruct the beautiful view.) The neighborhood power went off during our stay and there was no alternate lighting (or other emergency supplies and information) available. The throw rugs had no “non-skid” backing, making them hazardous. There were a number of maintenance issues: several closet, bedroom, and exterior doors were dysfunctional; there was a rotten area on the upstairs deck; tub drains, garbage disposal, one microwave, and a toilet all needed attention. A functional can opener would have been nice. We were disappointed that the fireplace was closed for use. We had bought logs to brings, so that was an added expense. Even with these problems, we would consider renting the place again.G
Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: The home has a max of 17 add that is with pullout sofa and use of futon for 1 person . This in the detail of the listing. I would ask that all guests call re any cleaning or minor maintenance issues . Many of these problems could have been addresses by staff during the stay however , staff was not contacted during stay . The fireplace has never been operable and violates insurance policy . That is also true of candles etc . Unfortunately , The power will go off at the beach we have had a few northeastors in the past month . Blown sand on decks and windows are common problems particularly in the winter months. Again , please contact i believe many of these issues could have been resolved with little inconveince even to such a large group
Helpful votes: 7/8
Did you find this review helpful?