REFINED CABIN ON ISLAND LAKE, UNCOMMONLY BEAUTIFUL, IDYLLIC

Enter your travel dates

Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

REFINED CABIN ON ISLAND LAKE, UNCOMMONLY BEAUTIFUL, IDYLLIC

Williamsburg Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

--Excellent Location--

Spring and Fall are beautiful seasons to vacation in Traverse City. Many who frequent the Traverse City area prefer spring and fall vacations to the late June thru August 'high season'.

Save significantly on rental cost and discover the quiet natural beauty that TC offers in the spring and fall.**

Looking for the perfect rental for your family vacation? You may have found it. But in your search don't forget about mom and dad -they deserve a great vacation too. This cabin's layout actually allows mom and dad to enjoy time together on their family vacation (continue reading for more information).

For your consideration:

A refined and spacious 4 bedroom cabin on beautiful Island Lake. This well appointed and thoroughly updated cabin comes fully equipped and will exceed your expectations.

At approx 2300 square feet the cabin will comfortably accomodate your family. The floorplan is family-friendly with two large common areas. Mom and dad also have space of their own in the private beach-facing master bedroom with an attached bath. This master bedroom is approx 40 feet away from the other group of bedrooms. This allows mom and dad the ability to wake early and enjoy coffee alone in the beautiful kitchen while watching the sun rise over Island Lake. I feel that this parent-friendly cabin layout really allows mom and dad to relax on their vacation (something that I value as a father of 4 young kids :) )

The cabin is located less than 30 feet from the beautiful and private Island Lake (with no steps to walk down to get to the water). Enjoy 100 feet of your own sandy beach. Two new kayaks and a 14' row boat are included for your use. Island Lake does not have public access - this means the people who use the lake are also homeowners on the lake. This results in a quiet, peaceful and safe lake for you to enjoy on your vacation.

Some more info about Island Lake:

Island Lake is very clean lake approx 120 acres in size.

One thing to note is that , due to shallow depth of water, some of Island Lake is not well suited to adult swimming, this includes the area in front of cabin. For vacationing families with younger children this shallow water (approx 3 feet deep at end of dock) is a big benefit and adds a margin of safety for your kids.

There are large areas of the lake (inc an area to the left of the island) that are quite deep (approx 60 feet) and great for adult swiming - just not right in front of the cabin. As far as sand quality the beach area is top notch with a large amount of quality beach sand just brought in. Lake sand quality is good (not mucky) to the end of the dock (about 25 feet out). Past the end of the dock the lake floor condition gets soft.

The location of this cabin is ideal for your vacation enjoyment - approx 11 miles from downtown Traverse City yet it lies in the Traverse City wilderness and borders Pere Marquette State Forest. Cabin is very near the VASA Pathway. See listed websites that offer information on area activities.

**This Cabin is located on a very nice private lake. The area is kept nice by owners who care and are considerate of others. Noise restrictions are in effect on Island Lake after 9pm and before 10am. This ensures a positive, enjoyable, AND PEACEFUL vacation experience for you and your family.

:)Besides a great vacation here is something else you can be happy about: 10% of all rental proceeds are donated to three Christian charities: Teen Challenge USA, Shared Hope International and International Justice Mission.

I feel you will be hard pressed to find a cleaner, better appointed, more ideally located Traverse City rental.

Here is a email quote from a recent guest 'Do you rent in the Winter? What does the summer schedule look like? We stayed a week in Aug and loved it!'

A couple of rules and guidelines:

- Please don't use any outside boats/watercraft in Island Lake other than those I provide for your use. (The lake is very clean and one of the few in the state that is free of the dreaded 'Zebra Mussel'.)

- No use of motorcycles/ATVs directly around the lake. ATVs can be easily trailered to one of the great trails in the area.

- Please no parties

- Please no smoking anywhere on property, inside or outside the cabin.

- Please no pets on property, inside or outside

The Grand Traverse region of Michigan is a fantastic place to vacation. I feel the cabin's location is ideal. This Cabin is in a quiet forested location that provides the full 'up north' feel of northern Michigan. Yet, the many activities of downtown Traverse City are only minutes away.

Call me with questions. I look forward to hearing from you.

Keywords:

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • limited accessibility
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Married with 4 young children. Live in Midland, MI

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2006

We had looked at many places before deciding on this Cabin.

We knew we wanted a well-taken-care-of place proximal to Traverse City with major updates completed. Also preferred 4 bedrooms. Last, we wanted a lakefront location in an area that maintains the true 'up-north' northern Michigan feel. We didn't expect that it would be difficult to locate such a place. It was :).

Most all of the three to four bedroom places that were in the condition we were looking for were very 'residential' in feel and did not convey the up north feeling at all.

Some places were reasonably close to what we were looking for but the areas had a number of ramshakled places nearby.

The peaceful lake we sought was nowhere in sight. Instead we found early morning competitive jetskiers, profanity shouting drunken boaters and the like - behavior that is common on lakes that have public access (many people have no reservations about behaving badly in someone elses backyard). We also have four young kids and didn't want them subject to that type of role modeling.

What we were looking for seemed reasonable enough at the start, but after many months we came to the conclusion that what we were looking for didn't exist.

When we were made aware of this Cabin on Island Lake I fully expected to again encounter some fundamental issue in one of the common themes detailed above. Total surprise - it was exactly what we were looking for!

I am very confident that you will be very happy if you choose this Cabin on Island Lake for your Traverse City vacation.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Refined Cabin on Island Lake, Uncommonly Beautiful, Idyllic
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Refined Cabin on Island Lake, Uncommonly Beautiful, Idyllic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139210vbi
231-492-0104
Williamsburg Northern Michigan
Grand Rapids, MI
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What more could I ask for, an updated four bedroom home right on the lake, minutes from downtown Traverse City. What really made this work for our large family was the fully updated kitchen that was even larger than ours at home, the formal dining area overlooking the lake and the sandy beach area for the kids. The location was perfect, very quiet with easy access to miles of hiking and biking trails. Thank you to the owners and to Cottages North for letting us visit this terrific lakefront home on Island Lake.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting and we hope to have you back next year. Let us know anytime if you have questions or need any assistance.

Cottages North
business
Refined Cabin on Island Lake, Uncommonly Beautiful, Idyllic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139210vbi
231-492-0104
Williamsburg Northern Michigan
5

Can't wait for next summer!

Can't wait for next summer!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I just booked our 3rd summer at this house! Great house and great lake! What a wonderful place to stay in Michigan! We will continue to book as long as they will have us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Liz, thank you and your family for visiting us these years. We really appreciate your visits and hope you make it back for many years. We look forward to your 2014 trip and hope it is sunny and warm the entire stay. Thanks again

Ken Weaver Cottages North LLC
business
Refined Cabin on Island Lake, Uncommonly Beautiful, Idyllic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139210vbi
231-492-0104
Williamsburg Northern Michigan
Appleton, WI
2

Overpriced

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family rented the Island Lake property 8/17-8/24 this summer. The lake is beautiful and quiet, and the location is very good. Unfortunately we overpaid considerably for this rental - the problems we encountered are more expected / somewhat acceptable for a place in the lower price range, however we paid too much and got no help from the owners/management company. Since they did not respond to my several calls and emails I feel my only recourse is to warn others about it. The MB toilet was leaking, forcing us to change a disgusting sopping wet towel on bathroom floor every day to prevent the nasty smell that greeted us on arrival.
The kids bathtub/shower was out of order because it had a clogged drain and the drain plug was broken. The fire pit was overflowing with ash and fire pit area filthy with ash and debris/garbage that we had to clean up and I had to evacuate loads of ash before being able to have our own fire. No firewood available. This has always been included at rentals we've stayed at where there was a fire pit. The back patio/beach entrance lock was out of order so we could not lock it during our stay. This was pretty unsettling both at night and when we left because we had to gather up all of our valuables and take them with us every time out. The sliding patio door was broken, again I had to fix it. The dishwasher was falling out of the frame and we could not load or unload it without having to prop something under the door while it was open. The dish scrubbers were filthy and old with no new ones available and only 2 dish rags available. A rental in this price range needs to furnish a new dish scrubber for every owner - this is really unpleasant. The cleaning staff left several perishable and opened food items in the refrigerator, including some meat that was gray and smelly, an opened yogurt container, and a few other produce / fruit items that were well past their prime. We had to deal with disposing of this. This was pretty disgusting and we had to wipe down the inside of the fridge before being able to use it. The row boat had no oars that worked. There are a pair of aluminum oars that have no connectors/anchors, and then the wooden oars are too short and one of them had no connector/anchor, so I had to fix it to use it. Again the oars are too short for that row boat.
-There is no window shade on the kids / bunkbed room.
The mgr email replied on Tuesday of our stay and then never fixed any of the problems. Sad.
Owner's Response: There are no issues or concerns with this home. All but this guest were very happy and content. We have had no issues or concerns in the past two years. Regarding our rate, it is very fair and we get significant repeat renters. This renter did call afterwards wanting a refund. Unless there is a specific problem during a rental (loss of power, etc) we do not refund just because someone did not like the rate they contractually agreed to. That is our policy and it has worked well for guests.
business
Refined Cabin on Island Lake, Uncommonly Beautiful, Idyllic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139210vbi
231-492-0104
Williamsburg Northern Michigan
Chicago, IL.
5

The pictures don't do it justice!

The pictures don't do it justice!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My friends and I rented this lovely home to have a getaway from our hectic lives in Chicago. The home itself is much larger than the pictures indicate. The kitchen is amazing, quite spacious, and stocked with all the basic dishes, utensils, and cookware. The lake is small and quiet with very still water. It is very shallow for a good distance, so probably good for kids. The sand doesn't extend out too far though.

Cottages North, which manages the property, was easy to work with and their employees are responsive and polite.

We will likely rent this home again next time we head to Traverse City.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Refined Cabin on Island Lake, Uncommonly Beautiful, Idyllic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p139210vbi
231-492-0104
Williamsburg Northern Michigan
Royal Oak
4

Posting response

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I thought the cabin was very nice and the size was great for our group. My complaint would be the same about the beach as far as the beach not being what we expected. There was also sand in the bathtub in the second bathroom so that might be something that needs to be checked into after the cleaning crew leaves. As far as posting a message about our group being a bunch of drunks who spent our entire vacation drunk that is both inaccurate as well as uncalled for. I am an adult well over the legal limit to drink alcohol and if I want to sit on a beach chair and drink a cocktail on my vacation then that is my business. I was not getting in a vehicle and putting anyone else in harms way, we were not running up and down the beach like a bunch of hooligans and were respectful of those around us. It seems as if there was some defensiveness to the post and that the comment posted by no means warranted such a nasty response. It simply stated that as renters we were unhappy with the beach and that we paid quite a bit to stay at the cabin and we had different expectations.
Helpful votes: 19/22

Map

× This manager has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the manager.

VASA Trail, a beautiful 13 mile mountainbike loop, is very close to the cabin. If you enjoy mountainbiking be sure to bring your MTB.

Photos

Availability & Rates

This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the manager for availability.

Williamsburg Cabin Rental Rates

Notes

  • From $375/wknd - $800/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Sep(post Labor Day)-Oct and April-May .....$375/weekend .. $800/week
  • Jun-Labor Day ...... $290/nt(three nt minimum) .. $2500/wk
  • :)**10% of all rental proceeds are donated to two Christian charities: Youth Haven
  • Ranch and Shared Hope International**:)
  • Deposit required to hold dates
  • Note: Add 6% State Tax to rates. Additional Cleaning Fee is Required
  • Call or email for early and late season specials.

Amenities

Williamsburg Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Beachfront ...
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (2) Two King Full Log Beds, Bunk Beds (2) One twin over full Cedar Log bunkbed - Sleeps 3 One twin over twin Cedar Log bunkbed - Sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Stereo
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • zoo
  • theme parks
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • sledding
  • shopping
  • boating
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • antiquing
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseshoes
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snowboarding
  • hunting
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • cross country skiing
  • water skiing
  • sailing
  • hiking
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
  • golf
  • fishing
  • snowmobiling
  • hot air ballooning
  • racquetball
  • parasailing
  • kayaking
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • jet skiing
  • basketball court
  • mountain biking
Notes:
Includes use of 2 new kayaks and 14' Polar Kraft Rowboat Attn: Parents of young children - the following is available for your use at the Cabin: a good selection of young childs beachtoys, childs toys and games for inside, two strollers, Kelty Kid Backpack (young child is carried in it:)

Other Vacation Properties

$5,350 - $5,950 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 15
$1,100 - $1,950 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$850 - $1,900 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7