LARGE COLONIAL WITH IN-LAW SUITE, DEEDED BEACH RIGHTS

Rick Bolton

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Rick Bolton

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LARGE COLONIAL WITH IN-LAW SUITE, DEEDED BEACH RIGHTS

South Dartmouth House Rental Photos and Description

7 bedrooms, 4 full baths, 1 half bath, sleeps 17+

This is a large Colonial with attached in-law suite with deeded rights to Stoneledge Beach, a private residents-only beach located just a few hundred yards away. The second floor of the main house has a master suite including full bath and two walk-in closets and three large bedrooms plus an additional full bath. The first floor features a large gourmet kitchen, dining room, living room, family room with fireplace, office/spare bedroom, a full bathroom, a half bathroom, a 250 sq. ft. activity room, and a laundry room. There is also an attached 1,000 sq. ft. in-law suite that adds two full bedrooms and a full bathroom bringing the sleeping capacity to 18+ people. All floors are either hardwood or tile and the facility is maintained as a no-pets, hypo-allergenic, fully air-conditioned environment. The main house has a full deck and the in-law suite adds a 400 sq. ft. roof deck.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed

Rick Bolton

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.1
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Large Colonial with in-law suite, deeded beach rights
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
business
Large Colonial with in-law suite, deeded beach rights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138499
203 375-8493
South Dartmouth SE Massachusetts & Buzzard's Bay
5

YOUR FAMILY REUNION SPOT!

  • 5 of 5
We spent a wonderful family reunion week at this house. It was very large and accommodating for 18+ people. The kitchen is very well stocked from muffin pans to crock pots to a mixer. There were plenty of clean bath towels and the washer and dryer were life savers for all our beach wear. The in-law suite was wonderful for the grandparents... they were able to have their quiet time when needed. The local, private beach was fantastic but if you want bigger surf, Horseneck beach is a 14 mile drive away. The owner was very helpful and accommodating too. Would definitely recommend this house and would consider coming back in future years.
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Large Colonial with in-law suite, deeded beach rights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138499
203 375-8493
South Dartmouth SE Massachusetts & Buzzard's Bay
1

VERY DISAPPOINTING

  • 1 of 5
Our family had stayed here a couple of times several years ago and had a satisfactory experience. What we found on this trip was far different. The house has not been kept up and when we arrived, found holes in the walls, a dirty kitchen and bathrooms, and linens that did not smell fresh and clean. At the end of our stay when we tried to negotiate a partial rent reduction with the owner, he was extremely unreasonable to the point of shouting at my 78 year old great aunt. We wouldn't stay here again even if you paid us.
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Traveler,

As the first review we have ever had that was not 4 or 5 stars, it is a great disappointment to us after 7 years of offering summer weekly rentals. Upon arrival, 5 hours before our agreement stated, the first 3 guests immediately began a tirade of mostly irrational complaints to my brother who had let them in. He called me and I drove 150 miles on Father's Day to address the situation. Their complaints included spare linens not folded well, beach chairs not stacked neatly and the sight of a single mosquito even though they kept leaving doors open. One of our cleaning people was there and they became openly disparaging stating "they did not like the way she looked" and refused to allow her to complete her work before their scheduled arrival time.

The house was not perfect. There were no holes in the walls, but there was a recent repair that was not yet painted. I painted it as soon as it was dry. The kitchens and bathrooms were meticulously clean and all linens had been freshly washed within a few days of their arrival as they always are. They accused me of posting false pictures, even though all but the picture of the beach was recent. I offered to pay for them to stay at a local Marriott, but they declined and instead they asked for a $1,500 reduction in the rental fee.

There were other imperfections. The outside furniture cushions were bleached and there were a handful of blemishes on the walls. I took an unscheduled vacation day, stayed over and purchased new cushions and made a few minor repairs. And even though it was not needed, I brought a different professional cleaning service into the house for 6 hours after they had stayed there for a few days as I had promised I would.

After the first day, we received numerous compliments from them and this very large group appeared to have a very good stay. Then 2 hours before they were due to leave, they called me and told me they still wanted at least a $1000 refund. When I arrived at the house, there was dog hair on the rugs in multiple rooms and I admit, I did get angry and I did yell about the dog, but at the 8 people who were attempting to force me to give them a refund after they willfully had a dog in the house. I refused the $200 cleaning fee they had not yet paid and I declined to charge them the $500 fee the contract allows for bringing pets into the house and I asked them to immediately leave.

Members of this family are no longer welcome. Other landlords beware.
business
Large Colonial with in-law suite, deeded beach rights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138499
203 375-8493
South Dartmouth SE Massachusetts & Buzzard's Bay
5

INCREDIBLE VACATION HOME!

  • 5 of 5
My family enjoyed an amazing vacation at this rental. It easily accommodated 10 adults and 3 children. The luxuries of central air, washer/dryer, in-law suite, well-equipped kitchen, and 5 bathrooms made it feel more like a home than a vacation rental. The private beach is just a few blocks away, saving you the time and hassle of driving. The neighborhood is very inviting and the surrounding areas provide great restaurants and shopping. It was also a pleasure communicating with the owner and his brother, who provided assistance locally, if needed. I don't often write reviews, but felt compelled to in this case because I was 100% satisfied and highly recommend it.
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large Colonial with in-law suite, deeded beach rights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138499
203 375-8493
South Dartmouth SE Massachusetts & Buzzard's Bay
Massachusetts
5

GREAT RENTAL PROPERTY

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful time at our recent stay at this property. The property was large enough to comfortably accommodate our entire group of friends which included 8 adults and six kids. However, there was still plenty of additional space available for additional guests. The house is much larger in size than what is captured in these pictures. The owners were extremely professional and prompt in addressing any questions we had. I would highly recommend this property and look forward to spending time at this location again. It was more than a house or rental property it felt like our home.
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Large Colonial with in-law suite, deeded beach rights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138499
203 375-8493
South Dartmouth SE Massachusetts & Buzzard's Bay
Richmond, VA
4

PERFECT FOR A FAMILY GATHERING

  • 4 of 5
This house (w/in-law) was perfect for our large family. We fit up to 20 people (some were children) very comfortably. The AC in the upstairs was not working when we arrived, but it was repaired within hours of our arrival. Close to a private, well-maintained beach, maybe a five minute walk.

We did have visitors from the critter family most nights...but they did no harm. (besides a bit of stink from the skunk). Would recommend this property without hesitation.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Laura and her family were terrific guests and we very much hope they stay with us again. We were surprised that on the Sunday afternoon they arrived, they discovered the AC had developed a minor problem. It had been working well for the previous guests, who had checked out that morning. One of the advantages of growing up in Dartmouth is that many of the people who own the local service companies have been life-long friends. We were able to have someone at the house in less than an hour to resolve the problem. Unfortunately, being so close to the beach and a lot of naturalized areas, we have less influence over the local fauna. This particular critter has never visited us before, appears to have moved on, and we hope never returns.
business
Large Colonial with in-law suite, deeded beach rights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138499
203 375-8493
South Dartmouth SE Massachusetts & Buzzard's Bay
Wellesley, MA
4

PLENTY OF ROOM

  • 4 of 5
This house was perfect for our family because of all of the sapce available. The original date promised ended up not being available but the owner was very accommodating and gave us an alternate date at a discount which was appreciated.
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
New Bedford
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Martha's Vineyard/Nantucket
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Providence
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Rte 195 & Rte. 140
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Stoneledge Beach
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Several
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
New Bedford Municipal
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Several
Car: necessary

This property has most of the benefits of Cape Cod properties without the hassle of getting there. Deeded rights to a private beach on Buzzards Bay. Easily accessible from Boston, Central Massachusetts and New York. Ferry to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket is only 5 miles away. The New Bedford Whaling Museum is a unique attraction located in nearby historic New Bedford.

Other Activities: Easy ferry access to the Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, Whaling Museum

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

South Dartmouth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,195
 
Email Owner Email

Amenities

South Dartmouth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 4250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Broadband Access
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Garage
  • Parking Off Street
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking
  • Local Maps
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking On Street
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , 2nd Floor Master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd Floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , 1st Floor
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , 1st Floor
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In Law Suite
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2nd Floor Master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd Floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2nd Floor
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 2nd Floor
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , 1stFloor
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , In law Suite
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen , In law Suite
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Beach Chairs
  • Small Cooler
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Beach Towels
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • winery tours
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • recreation center
  • water parks
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
Email Owner Email