PEACEFUL, KID/PET-FRIENDLY, PRIVATE LUXURY CHALET WITH WIFI

Claudio Meira

Speaks english, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Claudio Meira

Speaks english, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PEACEFUL, KID/PET-FRIENDLY, PRIVATE LUXURY CHALET WITH WIFI

Berkeley Springs Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-6)

Did you know? You can book online, get breakdown of costs, view more photos and get more information about the cabin and Berkeley Springs by going to our newly redesigned website. The link to our new website can be clicked by scrolling down to 'Redesigned website For Jack Russell's Ridge Cabin (Book Online)'

Free Benefits for our guests

* We don't charge a booking fee

* We offer free early check in as early as 10 a.m. and late check out as late as 8 p.m if it's available. We will try our hardest to get you in as early as possible for check in and have as late as possible for your check out so you can enjoy the cabin.

* We provide guests with a 26 page Berkeley Springs information guide - this is an 'insider's guide' to where to shop, favorite restaurants and what to order, places to avoid, and “not to be missed” events and activities.

* Great Weekly Discount of $800 per week (normally $1090 per week)

* 10% discount for returning guests

Update: We have upgraded the main living room tv to a 50 LED HD with Roku that streams both Netflix and Hulu Plus. All TVs in the cabin have ROKU boxes with Netflix and Hulu Plus.

Jack Russell's Ridge, the sister property to the popular Retriever's Retreat, is located three miles from downtown Berkeley Springs, West Virginia. Berkeley Springs is an historic spa and art-filled town nestled in the West Virginia mountains. Famous for being the country's first spa, it was frequented by George Washington.

This vacation home is a bright and airy two-story chalet. The wrap-around deck opens to a fenced in yard--perfect for pets! The large back yard has a fire-ring and outdoor games and provides ample space for guests and pets to enjoy the beauty of the West Virginia foothills. Relax by the charming koi pond to the sounds of crickets, frogs, and birds. Prepare a gourmet meal using our new stainless steel appliances, and after a long day of hiking, biking, and rafting, curl up on the sofa to experience 5.1 surround sound and high-definition t.v.

During your stay at Jack Russell's Ridge, there are activities to please everyone in your group. For those who want to relax and pamper themselves, enjoy dining, antiquing, shopping, and soaking in the warm mineral waters. There are five full-service spas providing a variety of services such as massages, manicures, pedicures, wraps, acupuncture, reflexology, and reiki. At the Berkeley Springs State Park Spa you can take a soak in a Roman bath and have a half-hour massage for just $40 (Mon-Thurs), $45 (Fri-Sun).

Explore antique shops, craft stores, Berkeley Castle, and try the local coffee shops and restaurants. Saturdays and Sundays check out the Museum of the Berkeley Springs (11 am-4 pm).

While in Berkeley Springs, take in a movie at the Star Theater, a nostalgic movie theater where 50 cents will rent one of the velvet sofas, or take advantage of programs set up by the Morgan Art Council which range from free concerts in Berkeley Springs State Park every Saturday afternoon in July and August to an active Ice House Theater Project and exhibit gallery. The Ice House also offers concerts, art classes and youth theater.

If you prefer to spend your vacation outdoors, Jack Russell's Ridge is close to the 6,000 acre Cacapon State Park where you can enjoy basketball, tennis, miles of hiking trails, mountain biking, horseback riding, cross-country skiing (winter), rowing/paddle boating, swimming, fishing, and golfing on the course designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr. Be sure to hike or drive to the scenic overview.

Other nearby activities include canoeing and kayaking on the Great Cacapon and Potomac Rivers and biking and hiking on the C&O Canal.

The cabin is close to:

- Ski resorts such as White Tail

- Civil War battlefields such as Gettysburg and Antietam

- Historic Harper's Ferry

- Outlet shopping at Hagerstown

- Charles Town Races and Slots.

We also recommend that your group take a drive to the Berkeley Springs Panorama Overlook which is rated by National Geographic as one of the five best overlooks in the Eastern United States. It's stunning. Enjoy the Berkeley Springs Farmers' Market every Sunday morning from the end of April to October.

Friendly people, welcoming mountains and a sense of place mark Berkeley Springs, West Virginia as a vacation getaway for all seasons and tastes.

We also have other great rentals on VRBO

Luxurious Secluded, Pet-Friendly, Relaxing Log Cabin with Wifi - Berkeley Springs [#130256]

We now offer the following damage and travel insurance to our guests for a very minimal cost.

- Accidental Rental Damage Insurance $1500 Coverage

ARDI is an insurance plan that provides coverage for accidental damages to your vacation rental property during your stay, in place of a security deposit. ARDI covers unintentional damage to your vacation rental property during your stay, up to $1,500. Renters commonly use ARDI to cover things like carpet spills, furniture tears, broken lamps and more. With ARDI, you no longer have to worry about putting up a security deposit or how much will be returned when you get home.

- All Seasons Travel Plan

Don't let cancellations, interruptions, or delays ruin your vacation - purchase All Seasons Travel Insurance now. This insurance covers unforeseen circumstances such as weather, illness, injury or death. Coverage includes flight costs, vacation rental payments, lost baggage and much, much more.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
My partner and I had a restful, relaxing, “do-want-we-want” 3 days with our 2 fur kids. Everything was great. Especially being able to open the door & allowing the girls to explore. They loved it! Our only issue was the downstairs bed- too high to be comfortable. That said – thanks for offering such a wonderful place!



P.S. Nice big TV but couldn’t find closed captions which we need.
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 45

Claudio Meira

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We are in our 30's married and live in the D.C area. We love for you to be guests at Jack Russell's Ridge.

Claudio Meira purchased this chalet in 2008

On our first visit to Berkeley Springs, we were drawn to the character and charm that the town offers, and we soon found ourselves in the office of a local realtor ready to make an offer on a cabin near Cacapon State Park. The cabin had “good bones” but had been neglected by the previous owners. We spent the next year renovating “Retriever’s Retreat” and making it into our haven from our hectic schedules and pace of life in DC. Soon thereafter, Claudio found another home in need of some TLC, and we quickly began work on “Jack Russell’s Ridge.” Our third home, “Collie’s Centennial” was completed in the summer of 2010. As pet lovers, we are pleased to be able to share our pet-friendly homes with your family, and we hope that your time in Berkeley Springs offers you a chance to enjoy the company of family and good friends.

This vacation home is a bright and airy two-story chalet. The wrap-around deck opens to a fenced in yard–perfect for pets! The large back yard has a fire-ring and hammock and provides ample space for guests and pets to enjoy the beauty of the West Virginia foothills.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 34 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Peaceful, Kid/Pet-Friendly, Private Luxury Chalet with Wifi
average rating of 4.617647 based on 34 reviews
business
Peaceful, Kid/Pet-Friendly, Private Luxury Chalet with Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138293vb
+1 Toll Free: (800) 283-7134
Berkeley Springs West Virginia
5

AMAZING GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I stayed at Jack Russell's Ridge over the weekend and had an amazing time. The property is beautiful and just the right mix of secluded and accessible. Claudio and Lisa have thought of so many little details--the entertainment setup, the fire pit, the two grills, one charcoal and one propane, games, a towel warmer, and on and on. The novel approach to check-in/arrival also make it feel that much more like a really personal escape, rather than just house-sitting, as some vacation rentals can feel like.

Really cannot recommend this place highly enough. We can't wait to go back, and to check out their other property.
  • Submitted: May 12, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful, Kid/Pet-Friendly, Private Luxury Chalet with Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138293vb
+1 Toll Free: (800) 283-7134
Berkeley Springs West Virginia
Illinois
3

AUGUST STAY AT JACK RUSSELL'S RIDGE

August stay at Jack Russell's Ridge
  • 3 of 5
The cabin was very nice and comfortable. It had a well-stocked kitchen and the rooms were clean. Outside deck was overgrown with weeds and the small fenced-in enclosure for the dogs had not been mowed. Plus the light for that area did not work. I even changed the light bulb myself but it still did not work. We were unable to enjoy the koi pond also because it was almost completely overgrown with weeds and plants.
When we called about the lights and ceiling fan that did not work, it took about 24 hours for the owner to respond. We have contacted the owner numerous times trying to get a copy of the receipt for our charges, but thus far have not received anything.
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Peaceful, Kid/Pet-Friendly, Private Luxury Chalet with Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138293vb
+1 Toll Free: (800) 283-7134
Berkeley Springs West Virginia
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
1

BIRTHDAY LONG WEEKEND RUINED

  • 1 of 5
let me just first say that I've rented from "Vrbo.com" many times & have ALWAYS been very pleased, but this time was different & very, very disappointing. We arrived & found the property not clean to say the least. Lets start with the beds..human hair on the pillows, dog hairs imbedded in the blanket & sheets had holes in them. Kitchen: oven was filthy, food inside cupboards, sink was not clean. Windows: sliding door had lots of dog nose prints & slobber, through out the cabin windows & sills were filthy, wi-fi wall connection was completely ripped out of wall & just hanging. Bath: toothpaste spit all around the sink, shower curtain was really, really crusty. Koi pond looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a couple of years. Fenced yard was a 12x12 area, not "yard":( We packed up the dogs & our things & traveled two hrs back home:( The postive: the owners did refund our $$$, but my birthday get away was ruined and with gas prices I would have apprreciated being compensated. The owners did offer to put us up in a local hotel while they called the cleaning lady to come over, but it was 6pm, we had 2 dogs & a cooler full of food, so that wasn't a feaseable option to stay in a hotel. To clean the place properly would have taken the entire weekend & then some. My suggestion for the furture: Owners of these rental properties need to walk in them & say "would i bring my family here to stay, my kids, my parents, myself" ?? Oh, our parents were to come the next morning & stay the night, but no way was I going to let that happen. Some of the rental $$ should be put back into keeping the inside & OUTSIDE up to date & in good condition. The front screen door was also ripped up and bent & the bottom stripping on the back french doors was torn off, more than likely by a renters uncrated dog while they went out & enjoyed the sites. Also a note to renters, if your dogs are going to destroy the property DON'T BRING THEM ALONG or bring crates for when you go out!!!! This just ruins it for those of us that do have well behaved dogs & take care of how their going to act if we leave them by themselves!! I wouldn't blame Claudio & Lisa at this point if they decided to not allow pets. So hopefully this review will prompt some major overalls by the owners. Also, you really need to fire the cleaning lady Margaret, she actually left an envelope on the kitchen counter for a tip, right!
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had hundreds of guests come through this specific cabin rental and were surprised by this review.

After our initial contact with this guest, we checked out the property to verify her complaints. While some of the items she listed are correct and have been fixed since this review (e.g. screen door), most of the items listed could not be found or could have been easily fixed if our cleaning and handyman staff would have a chance to remedy the situation (We offered to have her go out to dinner on us or go have spa treatments on us while we addressed her complaints). For example, the shower liner, front screen and the few dog hairs we saw could have been fixed in under an hour. Furthermore, some of the items, this guest listed are simply incorrect. For example, this guest says the oven was filthy. We checked and this is a gross exaggeration. This guest also mentioned that there was food inside the cupboards. We checked and there was flour, salt, pepper, sugar and other spices so I'm not entirely sure what this guest was referencing. We try our best to provide staples such as these because 99 percent of our guests appreciate having these items when cooking. When we spoke with the guest, she made absolutely no mention of human hair, and we found none when we checked the cabin. The koi pond also was not mentioned when we spoke with the guest, but it is simply impossible to keep the filters running during the winters and thus does appear dark and not very lively. The koi pond is cleaned each spring.

Our handyman and cleaning staff do their best to maintain the cabins for us, and as with any rental property, issues do arise. This guest simply did not allow us a chance to remedy the problems which disappoints us. We even tried to compensate them by putting them up in a local hotel or other VRBO house that does accept pets in addition to the spa treatments or dinner; they refused and said they were going back home. When we spoke with them, they made absolutely no mention of being reimbursed for gas, and if they had preferred that over the offer of dinner or spa treatments, we would have offered that instead.

We try our hardest to fix all the issues this guest had and unfortunately this guest did not give us the opportunity. We gave them a full refund.
business
Peaceful, Kid/Pet-Friendly, Private Luxury Chalet with Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138293vb
+1 Toll Free: (800) 283-7134
Berkeley Springs West Virginia
Morristown, NJ
4

COMFY, WELL-EQUIPPED CABIN

  • 4 of 5
We stayed at JRR for two weeks in July 2010, with our 18-month old son and German Shepard Dog. Never got bored of things to do in the area -- I had counted on maybe going into D.C. for a day, but there was enough to do locally to keep us busy and entertained. The cabin was clean, comfy, well-equipped, and more than adequate for the four of us, for this length of stay.
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful, Kid/Pet-Friendly, Private Luxury Chalet with Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138293vb
+1 Toll Free: (800) 283-7134
Berkeley Springs West Virginia
Baltimore
4

RELAXING, WELL-EQUIPPED RETREAT

  • 4 of 5
Our stay at Jack Russell could not have been better. The location was a great getaway from our normal city life. The house had everything we needed and offered a great backyard for our dogs to play. We will likely return next year and I would recommend this to family and friends!
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Peaceful, Kid/Pet-Friendly, Private Luxury Chalet with Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138293vb
+1 Toll Free: (800) 283-7134
Berkeley Springs West Virginia
Washington, DC
4

JACK RUSSELL REVIEW

  • 4 of 5
I thought the cabin was well-taken care of and was very cozy. I liked that it was stocked with essentials. All in all a good experience.
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Rt 70
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
White Tail Resort
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Cacapon State Park Golf Course
Car: recommended

Jack Russell's Ridge is located in Berkeley Springs. Berkeley Springs is an historic spa and art-filled town nestled in the West Virginia mountains only 90 minutes from the Washington/Baltimore metro area. It boasts warm mineral springs, world class dining, dozens of unique shops, five full-service spas and more than 100 lodging choices from elegant B&B's and historic inns to cabins and resorts. Golf, hiking and swimming share the schedule with year 'round festivals, live music and theater.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Berkeley Springs Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season Rates
Apr 1 2014 - Dec 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$135
Fri,Sat
$800
$3,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
50% deposit of entire rental rate
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Sunday is charge as a weekday rate not weekend rate

We do not charge for a cleaning fee

Just $25 pet free for your entire stay with us

We offer early and late check out when available.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Berkeley Springs Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Heating ...
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Toaster
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Both queen beds is very plush and comfortable. It's also on a log bed. We also have an AERO queen bed on request for the third bed.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Games ...
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • walking
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • sledding
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • miniature golf
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • swimming
  • freshwater fishing
  • fishing
  • cycling
  • snowboarding
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • tennis
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • fly fishing
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • mountaineering
  • water tubing
Notes:
50 inch High Defintion LED Television, Dish Network with XM Radio, 5.1 Phillips surround sound including iPod player, CD/DVD players, Plush Queen beds, Log style table, Stainless steel appliances, Extensive Boardgames and latest DVD movies, BBQ grill, fire pit, linens and towels provided, 3 miles to Downtown Berkeley Springs and more. View full amenities, testionials and more can be seen at our website www.berkeleyspringsgetaways.com
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$150 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$200 - $235 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,386 per week
2 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7