decent cabin, OWNERS ARE IMPOSSIBLE, BEWARE
We arrived the place was dirty, had to scrape food off of the BBQ grill, there was dog hair in the corners of every room, there was moldy fruit under the bed in the master, there was trash under the sofas, Not to mention the condition of the sofas were horrible, they looked 20 years old, the material was peeling off where people has laid their heads over the yeras. NONE of the games in the basement worked, nothing was in decent shape, THE KICKER WAS WE HAVE YET TO RECEIVE OUR DEPOSIT BACK, IT HAS BEEN 2 MONTHS SINCE WE STAYED THERE AND WE HAVE NOT EVEN GOTTEN A PHONE RESPONSE, IVE EMAILE, CALLED EVERYTHING I COULD AND HAVE NOT GOTTEN ANY KIND OF REPONSE. IT IS UNFORTUNATE THE PLACE COULD BE WONDERFUL BUT THE OWNERS ARE DIFFICULT AND IRRESPONSIBLE COULD NOT EVEN CONTACT THEM WHILE WE STAYED TO DISCUSS ISSUES WE HAD. THIS WAS A VERY EXPENSIVE LESSON WE LEARNED.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments , it gives us the chance to address your issues as well as ours. You signed a rental agreement that states that your deposit should be returned within 45 days. The reason for 45 days is that we do not live in the area and cannot always inspect the cabin immediately upon your departure. We own a business & usually work 6 days a week, so this clause is admittedly for our benefit. Considering that your rental payment was late, mad even later after being returned from the bank for insufficient funds AND you relentlessly demanded the return of the deposit, as soon as December 29th, the first day after you departed, we deemed an inspection was in necessary. In the end, your deposit WAS returned, in full. There was, however, sufficient cause for withhold some of your deposit. We found 3 lines of ghetto poetry carved into the outside log of the home, which had to be sanded out. The number of allowed guests was exceeded, for which there is a fee. Guest capacity is based on things such as seating & sleeping space, as well as water heater, septic and well capabilities. You disregarded the maximum number of guests allowed, provided no prior notification to us, and then complained the hot water heater was insufficient. When you move furniture to accommodate extra guests, you are likely to find dust, or worse, in my home, or yours. I do not expect the housekeeper to look under every piece of furniture to find something that a reasonable person should have picked up immediately, when it was dropped. You are right that there are some issues, MOSTLY caused by disrespectful guests. We have a dartboard and dart marks on the ceiling,walls & clock. The posted rules for grill use is "if you use the grill, please clean afterwards". The couches are 4 years NEW. Beware of buying "bonded leather". It a new type of leather furniture and it peels. Lesson learned, but the couches are comfortable, all 4 recliners work properly and the area peeling is being repaired. Homeaway allows ANY review, regardless of merit and when a deposit is withheld, for any cause, it almost always results in a bad review. Bottom line, you are correct, it IS a beautiful log home and could be better, especially if those who are not willing, or capable, of being respectful and treating our home as they would their own, would choose another property. It may not be 5 stars to you, but we have many repeat guests with whom we share our log home, that clearly have a differing opinion.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?