Lori Vreeland

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Bedrooms 5
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Little Switzerland Cabin Rental Photos and Description

- 3 Level, 5 BDR, Loft w/ Futon, 3 Baths. Sleeps 13 Comfortably

Come enjoy our beautiful, log home in the quiet town of Little Switzerland, NC. Relax, unwind and reaquaint yourself with nature. Enjoy hiking, rafting, fishing, golfing, and horseback-riding . We're just off the Blue Ridge Parkway with nearby attractions including Gem Mines, Craggy Gardens, Linville Caverns and Falls, and Mt. Mitchell State Park. It's a beautiful drive and lots of hiking along the parkway. Grandfather Mountain is about 30 minutes away.

The cabin is at almost 4000ft elevation, providing pleasant summers with cool evenings and snowfall in the winter when surrounding areas may see no snow. It is a very quiet area without a lot of nearby homes. The nearest 'bigger' town for shopping and groceries is Spruce Pine, NC, less than 10 miles away, via the Parkway.

The cabin uses a well and septic, so we limit the number of guests to ensure the resources are not stressed. With larger parties, we recommend shower/bath times be staggered to avoid depleting the 2 hot water heaters. There is a King bed upstairs along with a twin in the loft area. On the main level, there are 2 bedrooms, both with queen beds and one also has a twin with trundle. Downstairs, there are also 2 bedrooms with the same set up of beds as the main level.. In total: 1 King, 4 Queens, 3 Twins , 2 with trundles. The trundles are youth beds and not intended for adults. We allow pets, with a fee, but do not allow smoking inside our home. There are lots of books for reading and games for the children to play. It is our privilege to share our home with you and we want you want you to feel as if you were at home while staying there, We ask that you treat our home with the same respect that you do your own.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Lori Vreeland (Owner)
Advertiser since 2006
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Lori Vreeland

Our cabin is a Southland Home. We are fortunate enough to have family members who build log homes, so our cabin was truly a labor of love!

Lori Vreeland purchased this cabin in 2006

Why Lori Vreeland chose Little Switzerland

Our love of the mountains and a desire to have a second home, in a cool, quiet mountain area, were our reasons for building our log cabin.

What makes this cabin unique

The cabin is all wood, with the exception of one tiny closet, under the stairs. For some reason, code required sheetrock! Otherwise, it's all wood; walls, floors and ceiling! It is located on a wooded lot. But every year we get a better view of the mountain from Mother Nature, as she thins the trees with ice and winds! There is a wrap around deck, with outdoor tables and chairs as well as a fire pit area for cool evenings and making s'mores.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for the use of your cabin. It was all that we hoped for, both the cabin and the peaceful, beautiful surroundings.The wrap around deck is great. We're looking forward to coming back in the summer when everything is green and lush.
Feb 2011
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 5
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.



based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Log Home near the Blue Ridge Parkway / Little Switzerland Pet Friendly
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 8 reviews
Beautiful Log Home near the Blue Ridge Parkway / Little Switzerland Pet Friendly
+1 -864- 634-2916
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains


  • 1 of 5
We arrived the place was dirty, had to scrape food off of the BBQ grill, there was dog hair in the corners of every room, there was moldy fruit under the bed in the master, there was trash under the sofas, Not to mention the condition of the sofas were horrible, they looked 20 years old, the material was peeling off where people has laid their heads over the yeras. NONE of the games in the basement worked, nothing was in decent shape, THE KICKER WAS WE HAVE YET TO RECEIVE OUR DEPOSIT BACK, IT HAS BEEN 2 MONTHS SINCE WE STAYED THERE AND WE HAVE NOT EVEN GOTTEN A PHONE RESPONSE, IVE EMAILE, CALLED EVERYTHING I COULD AND HAVE NOT GOTTEN ANY KIND OF REPONSE. IT IS UNFORTUNATE THE PLACE COULD BE WONDERFUL BUT THE OWNERS ARE DIFFICULT AND IRRESPONSIBLE COULD NOT EVEN CONTACT THEM WHILE WE STAYED TO DISCUSS ISSUES WE HAD. THIS WAS A VERY EXPENSIVE LESSON WE LEARNED.
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments , it gives us the chance to address your issues as well as ours. You signed a rental agreement that states that your deposit should be returned within 45 days. The reason for 45 days is that we do not live in the area and cannot always inspect the cabin immediately upon your departure. We own a business & usually work 6 days a week, so this clause is admittedly for our benefit. Considering that your rental payment was late, mad even later after being returned from the bank for insufficient funds AND you relentlessly demanded the return of the deposit, as soon as December 29th, the first day after you departed, we deemed an inspection was in necessary. In the end, your deposit WAS returned, in full. There was, however, sufficient cause for withhold some of your deposit. We found 3 lines of ghetto poetry carved into the outside log of the home, which had to be sanded out. The number of allowed guests was exceeded, for which there is a fee. Guest capacity is based on things such as seating & sleeping space, as well as water heater, septic and well capabilities. You disregarded the maximum number of guests allowed, provided no prior notification to us, and then complained the hot water heater was insufficient. When you move furniture to accommodate extra guests, you are likely to find dust, or worse, in my home, or yours. I do not expect the housekeeper to look under every piece of furniture to find something that a reasonable person should have picked up immediately, when it was dropped. You are right that there are some issues, MOSTLY caused by disrespectful guests. We have a dartboard and dart marks on the ceiling,walls & clock. The posted rules for grill use is "if you use the grill, please clean afterwards". The couches are 4 years NEW. Beware of buying "bonded leather". It a new type of leather furniture and it peels. Lesson learned, but the couches are comfortable, all 4 recliners work properly and the area peeling is being repaired. Homeaway allows ANY review, regardless of merit and when a deposit is withheld, for any cause, it almost always results in a bad review. Bottom line, you are correct, it IS a beautiful log home and could be better, especially if those who are not willing, or capable, of being respectful and treating our home as they would their own, would choose another property. It may not be 5 stars to you, but we have many repeat guests with whom we share our log home, that clearly have a differing opinion.
Beautiful Log Home near the Blue Ridge Parkway / Little Switzerland Pet Friendly
+1 -864- 634-2916
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Mooresville N.C.

weekend trip to the mountians

  • 3 of 5
House was just beautiful, we had a great time , just loved it. However we found that the house was not really kept up very well. I would suggest that the owner hire a new cleaning staff. We saw that so much of the house was very dirty,and unkept, left food in frig, and it was clear it hadn't been cleaned after last rental, even cigarettes butts had been left in ash trays on back deck......But the worst of it was the outside fire pit chairs were rotten and broken, I took a very bad fall, and had to be seen by a doctor. Was also very disappointed to find that the inside fireplace had not been serviced, and was not working. Did not know that the renters had to take all trash with them, or would get a $25 per bag fee. Would recommed that the owner check on the property to make sure it is ready to rent. This home could be all that and more, if TLC was given.
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your suggestions. Too often we are not aware of things that need replacing without guests input as it is strictly a vacation rental and we do not live in the vicinity. In regards to housekeeping, I've been assured the house was cleaned and linens replaced prior to your arrival. It is probable that the heating system created much of the dust as you were the first to turn on the system since spring and the ashtray went unnoticed, as it was outdoors.. While we discourage people from leaving food, you will find condiments, such as ketchup, mustard and dressings. I am sorry you found those offensive but I made a trip to the cabin after speaking with you and that was the extent of the "food", along with a couple of unopened, unused , frozen Birds Eye vegetables. The fireplace is not placed into service until temperatures drop consistently below 50 and you were fortunate to have pleasant weather, in the 60's and 70's. We used a lot of dirt and stone to make the area around the firepit flat. There are 8-10 new chairs on the deck that could have been used, rather than using a broken chair. I hope that you are healing nicely and that your injury was minor, as my call to you remains unanswered. Your trash can be disposed of nearby and I am sorry you felt inconvenienced. Unattended trash attracts animals, including bear. In spite of your objections, I am glad that you found the house beautiful and that you were able to have a great time...
Beautiful Log Home near the Blue Ridge Parkway / Little Switzerland Pet Friendly
+1 -864- 634-2916
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Charlotte, NC

In a word... 'WOW!!!'

In a word... 'WOW!!!'
  • 5 of 5
After reading the reviews we were a little skeptical to book this cabin, but after our stay...WOW!

We started out early with the crisp mountain air and a nice warm cup of coffee on the back deck. It reminded me of being a little kid and waking up in my tree house. No noise, no traffic just the sounds of nature.

The homeowner told us there were several waterfalls close to the cabin. It was almost hard to pick from all the choices, but we decided to go to Grassy Creek Falls since it was the closest to maximize our time. It was an easy hike with a beautiful scenery and a serene waterfall. I wish we could have stayed there longer but we were ready for grilled steaks and a friendly game of texas hold 'em. As it got later in the night it really helped having three levels, the kids had their own space, the adults had their own, and the people that couldnt hang were able to catch some ZZZs upstairs in the loft.

The next day we decided to take the jeep out and go for an off road adventures. The cabin is located near the backside of the old emerald mines. We found so many emeralds we are rich and want to build our own cabin nextdoor. Actually we got really lost and ended up on the other side of the mountain with more mud inside the jeep than outside the jeep, but we had a blast! We stumbled upon a pond full of blooming water lilies, beautiful site! It was near an animal shelter and one of our friends is an animal lover so we stopped in to check that out too.

For lunch we went to the Lil Switzerland cafe and tried Kudzu quiche! (It was actually really good) Their homemade pies and breads were so delicious! We also picked up so cheese and crackers and smoked salmon for a late night snack with wine.

With our trip coming to an end we hated that we had to leave in the morning. We have so many great memories now of our time at this beautiful cabin nestled in the woods.Our many thanks to the homeowners. We cant wait to return! It was well worth the money, Thanks again!
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're happy to hear you had such a wonderful time. It is truly a beautiful place.
Beautiful Log Home near the Blue Ridge Parkway / Little Switzerland Pet Friendly
+1 -864- 634-2916
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
New Port Richey, FL

Strongly recommend avoiding this one.

  • 2 of 5
The advertised photos are of the cabin in better days, not its current condition. We found the cabin to be in disrepair, with poor quality furnishings, particularly the beds in the basement and futon in the loft. It was also very, very, dirty and cluttered. Any drawers in the kitchen or cabinet spaces were full of junk. The basement was a very unpleasant place and included leaking pipes from above, unusable beds, mildew smell, dark, dirty, and cluttered. We had to repair water pipes and beds just to make them usable and safe. There were very few drawers or closet space to hang clothes or store belongings in. After 6 months the owner has ignored my emails and still not refunded the security deposit, even after many kind requests. We strongly suggest against this one, even if they offer it cheap
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again, I am sorry that our cabin was not to your liking, perhaps it was not the best choice for 14 adult guests. The cabin is 4 years old and the photos are an accurate representation, I am baffled at your statements to the contrary. We make it a point to call our guests the day of arrival to ensure that all is well. I have had to send the housekeeper in for a touch-up before and would have done so for you, had I been asked. I have learned that everyone has a different idea of what represents clean and find that a few have a higher expectation than the housekeeper. As for storage, there are empty dressers in each room and closets for hanging. Again, maybe not enough for a party of 14 adults, but for most. All drawers should be empty except for bathroom and kitchen. We do try to store items you may need, i.e. first aid supplies, light bulbs, basic tools, etc When something breaks or a pipe leaks, you have a responsibility to contact the owner immediately, as per the contract, to arrange for repair. Failure to do so can, and will, result in the loss of your security deposit. The housekeeper makes note of any deficiency when she cleans after you leave. If you have not informed us of any problems, the damages become your responsibility. We will reconsider the return of your security deposit in part or full.
Beautiful Log Home near the Blue Ridge Parkway / Little Switzerland Pet Friendly
+1 -864- 634-2916
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
South Carolina

Get Away From It All

  • 5 of 5
Pictures cannot capture the coziness of this lodge. The week prior to arriving I saw it was to rain my weekend there. No matter, my intent was not to explore the many hiking trails available, nor peruse the nostalgic book store in "downtown" Little Switzerland, or any of the other many cool things to "do".

I needed rest.

The lodge is beautifully constructed so one does not hear the Trivial Pursuit game being played in the game room. Don't bother bringing any games, they're all here. Everything is here, in this house. All you need is fresh food.

Built onto the side of a mountain, you are one with the trees.

Cudos to the owners, you can feel the love put into the construction abd decor of this home.

Traveled back down the mountain feeling rested.

All I forgot to bring was my typewriter.
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Beautiful Log Home near the Blue Ridge Parkway / Little Switzerland Pet Friendly
+1 -864- 634-2916
Little Switzerland High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Columbia, SC

Good Value, Great Location

  • 5 of 5
We arrived on Friday evening in early December after a leisurely trip from Columbia via Black Mountain, where we ate at a wonderful cafe in Cheshire Village called the Morning Glory Cafe. The directions were perfect and we had no trouble finding the property. The owners had let us know that a futon frame had gotten broken recently and that they were aware of it. We arrived in time to unpack, relax, visit Spruce Pine and stock up on breakfast supplies.

We had a wonderful dinner at the Mountain View Restaurant (NC 226 & NC 226A, where the Blue Ridge Parkway crosses - about 7-10 miles from the lodge - shorter when the Parkway is open). They make a great house apple walnut vinagrette and all the food was excellent, from Pasta Primavera w/shrimp to Chicken Parmigiana (a full chicken breast, not a cutlet) to a French cut pork chop to steak, service was attentive and helpful and just right. Prices are very good.

We went back to the lodge to plan our next day - studio hopping as part of the Toe River Arts Council (TRAC) studio tours. We visited Burnsville, loved the Yummy Mud Puddle (its owners have a band called Hot Duck Soup), the Amish store, and had a great time visiting the Energy Exchange which houses several studios (ceramics and glass) and a gallery on a former landfill. They use the methane from the landfill for power and have done so for about 10 years. We topped the day off with a visit to Nielander glass where we spent time with Joe and got to see his 12 year old son Duncan, who has been blowing glass since age 5. They are both great folks and very hospitable. Duncan is a charmer and has his work being sold at The Home of the Perfect Christmas Tree in Spruce Pine.

Our trip ended much too soon on Sunday as we had commitments at home. We went to St. Matthias Episcopal Church in Asheville, once a black church, but now a wonderfully welcoming melting pot for all.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge. The owners communicated clearly and frequently and everything was as described. If you love peace & quiet, this location is ideal, especially in winter. We would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants peace, quiet, and an out of the way location that is still close enough to a myriad of wonderful activities and beautiful scenery.
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Contact Me



Linville Gorge Wilderness
Switzerland Cafe and General Store
Crabtree Falls
Grandfather Mountain
Mount Mitchell State Park
Linville Falls
Altapass Orchard
Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Asheville NC
Car: necessary

Little Switzerland is the quintessential 'sleepy little mountain town'. There's a quaint downtown with a great cafe, bookstore, and general store. While it seems remote, you're with 20 minutes of 'civilization' for groceries, gas and shopping. The Blue Parkway is minutes away providing access to an array of activities.

Email Owner Contact Me



Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates


Little Switzerland Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 23 2014 - Nov 30 2014
6 night minimum stay
Christmas Week/New Year's Week
Dec 21 2014 - Jan 3 2015
5 night minimum stay
Week of 4th of July
Jun 29 - Jul 6
6 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 10.0%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me



Little Switzerland Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Master Bath
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , twin has trundle, intended for child only.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , twin w/trundle
    bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • The master bedroom is upstairs with a king bed, bathroom and loft area with double futon. On the main level there's a bedroom with a queen and a bedroom with 1 twin and a queen, and 1 trundle bed and a full bath. On the lower level there is a bedroom with a queen bed and a bedroom with a queen and a twin with 1 trundle bed and a full bath.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • whitewater rafting
Smoking allowed outdoors only. Any indication of indoor smoking will result in loss of security deposit.
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote