Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

3 BEDROOM WATERFRONT COTTAGE W/ WI-FI

Charlie Boucher

Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Charlie Boucher

Advertiser since: 2006
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

3 BEDROOM WATERFRONT COTTAGE W/ WI-FI

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Hillsborough Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bath, Sleeps 7

Situated on cove to Emerald Lake in Hillsboro, New Hampshire. The enclosed screen/glass porch has a nice view of the cove leading into the 45 acre lake. Nice lawn area w/ campfire between cottage and cove. Take a paddle in our two canoes, fish for the annually stocked trout and bass, (The lake has a 5hp engine speed limit) (swim at the nearby community beach - 5 minute canoe or walk away) or walk down the street to the nearby Fox State Forest trails (1,445 acre forest with miles of trails and 400 year old) Only 25 minutes to Keene or Concord.Visit Franklin Pierce's Homestead (14th President USA), go the Christa McAuliffe Planetarium, explore the many mountains & hiking trails in the Monadnock area, go antiquing galore, visit country auctions & fairs, lots more to do. Many gorgeous back roads for leaf peeping in the fall. Pick your own apples at nearby orchards. The cottage has a kitchen, living room with wood stove, forced hot air heat, screened porch and three bedrooms. Full bathroom on first floor. Wireless high speed Wi-Fi internet available.

Rentor must be at least 25 years of age: We are always booked for the entire summer and most of the fall. We offer reasonable rates for a great place with many returning customers. See if there is room for you! Check out the calendar and book early.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Charlie Boucher (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Charlie Boucher

Charlie and Cherryl Boucher have owned and rented this rustic cottage on the cove for 8 years. They take pride in their place and love to share it with others. They have lived in the area for 19 years and choose this cottage because of the beauty and serenity that it offers.

Charlie Boucher purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Charlie Boucher chose Hillsborough

Having lived at summer camps for many years this cottage reminded them of the great times along the lake shore when they would sit back and enjoy the roaring campfire and watch the ducks, beaver, geese and blue heron paddle by. The lawn between the cottage and the cove offers a great space for hanging out with family and friends enjoying a cook-out, reading a good book, or taking an afternoon nap.

What makes this cottage unique

Folks return every year because of the great view, to take a paddle in the canoes, hike the miles of trails in the nearby Fox Forest, do some great fishing, and tour the Monadnock area.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The cottage was accurately described with privacy and peacefulness. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to others looking for a peaceful get away.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 5

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.6
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
3 Bedroom Waterfront Cottage w/ Wi-Fi
average rating of 3.5555556 based on 14 reviews
business
3 Bedroom Waterfront Cottage w/ Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137740
-603 464-9111
Hillsborough Monadnock Region
1

More "camp" than cottage!

More "camp" than cottage!
  • 1 of 5
I have to admit that we were all very excited when we arrived at the camp but that excitement soon disipated the minute we opened the door. A sweet waterfront "cottage" it isn't; it's really a man camp as a musty odor permates the place and I spent the first day of my summer vacation cleaning! It was very dirty, spiders and cobwebs in every crack and crevice and the furnishings are all old and beat. We luckily had extra sheets and blankets that we could throw over the furniture as everything was musty and extremely uncomforable. Ants came marching in two by two on the kitchen counters and the applicances all need to be either cleaned or replaced. The bathroom was scary and we hated to use it but what were our options at that point?

In all fairness, we did enjoy the pond, the front lawn and the firepit but having to cook in that kitchen and sleep in those musty, uncomforable bedrooms took away most of our joy.

Would I recommend this place for the amount of money they charge......not on your life!
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
3 Bedroom Waterfront Cottage w/ Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137740
-603 464-9111
Hillsborough Monadnock Region
Amesbury, Massachusetts
2

Not what we expected

  • 2 of 5
A very quiet house on the water and quite secluded. The lake itself was nice to swim in on those hot days. Neighbors were extremely nice. The stores in the area were about 7 minutes from the house.

Although it is a waterfront house, the water near the house isn't suited for swimming. (Unlike the view the pictures show.) It's more pond like. 2 Canoes were provided, however I'm pretty sure they had leaks in them.

I feel that the house could have been cleaned better. Behind two of the beds was trash. We smelled a terrible odor, and when we went to cook in the oven, we found something molding in a pan.

It was super hot and Muggy that week and there wasn't even 1 AC provided. The stairway had a light but it didn't work. Also, all of the light switches should be labeled because it took a while to figure them all out. The fire pit was very nice but it was close to the trees/bushes. Maybe they could cut them back a bit...?

The kitchen was fully stocked. Which was nice so we didn't have to take pots and pans.

However, for the amount of money we paid for the week, Things should be updated and/or fixed. One of the walls was missing drywall. The lights weren't plugged in and the house was too dark to see when we first arrived. (I'm glad I always have a flash light with me.) I feel that toilet paper should have been provided. (Glad I brought some just in case.) The shower door was tough to close. If you could even do it without it falling. And also the shower head wouldn't stay up, so it would fall occasionally. The bathroom door wouldn't close all the way or lock.

Overall we had a great week and made the most of it.

My advice: ask to view the property before sending the NON-REFUNDABLE down payment. Had we done that, we most likely would have tried to find another.

I am however thankful to them for letting us use their home for our vacation. And now we have some ideas of what to look for for our next vacation.

Thanks again. :)
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you had a nice vacation at our cottage. But we are saddened that it did not meet your full expectations. We work very hard to be sure folks are aware of all we offer such as fans in all the rooms but no AC. Pictures that do accurately portray the lake and cottage and written statements that say the swimming is best enjoyed at the nearby beach (5 minute walk away). I’m sorry that you missed availing yourself of the stocked maintenance closet which has plenty of toilet paper, light bulbs, cleaning supplies, etc. We always have plenty! The canoes are used by lots of folks and sometimes they are hard on them and thus we have to repair the bottoms to prevent leaky canoes. That is evident in the patches but we had repaired them the day of your arrival and there were no leaks. Thank you for letting us know about the concern about the fire pit. We have cut the brush back some so as to open the area more. We since replaced the broken shower head and could not find an issue with the bathroom door. We ask folks to complete an evaluation at the end of the week so we will know what any concerns are. Unfortunately no one had raised an issue about the shower so we were not aware of the need for repair.
business
3 Bedroom Waterfront Cottage w/ Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137740
-603 464-9111
Hillsborough Monadnock Region
5

Nice Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
This was a nice place to stay for our little three day fishing trip. The pictures do not lie; they portray quite accurately what the property looks like. Beautiful view of the lake, very quiet and private and the cottage was clean. Thank you Charlie for letting us enjoy your place. I would recommend this rental to anyone.
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you had a great stay. I love taking out our canoes and dropping a line. Some great fishing in Emerald Lake and the cove we are on. I saw a great blue herron yesterday in the cove. Love the peacefulness of the place.
business
3 Bedroom Waterfront Cottage w/ Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137740
-603 464-9111
Hillsborough Monadnock Region
5

Great Time!

  • 5 of 5
The cottage was just what we were looking for as a base camp for the annual fall fishing trip. We were looking for a place in the Monadnock area and this place filled the bill. The location on the cove and view out the front window is outstanding. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen has everything, I even found a nutmeg grater for the Fettuccine Bolognese. There is a Shaw's Supermarket close by and the owner had a Shaw's discount card hanging on a hook near the door, nice touch. We got some great steaks Saturday and fired up the charcoal grill, grilling with that view and a couple of beers is hard to beat. The living room had a good size flat screen with cable, a wood stove and a couch and enough comfortable chairs so that everyone could enjoy the baseball playoffs. The one thing I wished for was some brighter bulbs in the lamps, my eyes aren’t what they used to be and trying to rig up fishing gear at night was a challenge but just a minor inconvenience. We fished the North Branch and Contoocook rivers, conditions looked perfect but the fishing was sporadic, what can you do. The real gem (no pun intended) is Emerald Lake, right out the front door. I caught about a 1lb Largemouth off of the beach first cast. We took out the canoes and had a great time catching Largemouth Bass and a few Pickerel. The lake is stocked with trout and I did see a couple hanging around the inlet, but I imagine it is pretty much “put and take” after stocking. All in all a great time, looking forward to next years trip.
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you had a great time at our cottage. Looking forward to having you back in the fall!
business
3 Bedroom Waterfront Cottage w/ Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137740
-603 464-9111
Hillsborough Monadnock Region
4

very enjoyable lakefront cottage

  • 4 of 5
My family stayed in the cottage in October. We loved it! It was charming, cozy, and unpretentious. A rustic place, but with all of the basic necessities for comfort. We enjoyed the lovely view of the cove on the pond. That really makes the setting special. The listing description is accurate. The property was clean and inviting when we arrived. It really was just what I was looking for. A place for my family to gather and enjoy this beautiful section of New Hampshire. The kitchen was well equipped and we made some wonderful meals. The owner was responsive and there were many pamphlets of local sites and activities. There is great hiking in the state forest which is right near to the property. Be sure to take a map! I would recommend the cottage to anyone who enjoys lovely countryside and rustic settings. Advisory: There is no land telephone line and our cell phones were not working.
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ruth so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We really try to make our cottage to be a great place to get away from it all. So sorry that your cell service didn't work for you. We use US Cellular and Verizon and and it works for us. Thanks.
business
3 Bedroom Waterfront Cottage w/ Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137740
-603 464-9111
Hillsborough Monadnock Region
1

Where to begin..

  • 1 of 5
I rented this property with out taking a first hand look at it and that was my mistake!

The description of the property was accurate because if you notice there really is no mention of the CONDITION of the property. Smart marketing..

This property was dank, smelly and dirty! There was grime on the shower doors, mirrors, walls, floors, kitchen appliances etc. The curtains had stains, couch coverings smelled of mold, and that "nice view" from the enclosd porch was barely visible through the dirt and grime on the windows! The bathroom sink had one leg and it kept falling down!..lol..

The photograph of the little beach depicts somewhat of a nice watering hole, good enough to swim. The real picture is not like that at all. The whole area in front of his beach is covered with lilly pads, smells and looks like swamp water! I guess I had to read in between the lines when the owner stated "swimming is best enjoyed at the nearby beach"!!

In my opinion this property is barely maintained and it's obvious the owner does not take pride in ownership!!!!!!

If you like to stay in a place that is unsanitary, smelly and everything falling apart, this is the place for you.

I would not recommend this property to anyone!

PS. Charles, the cottage you own is off Melody street not Meghan Lane where you sent us out of the way. You really should learn where your property is located!!
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donna,

I am sorry that you felt like that you did not have a good experience at our cottage, and we were not able to meet your high standards. We know that we are not the Hilton and are not attempting to offer that. But rather, a charming cottage on the cove of a small lake. We try hard to offer a clean, cozy retreat atmosphere and know that your description of the maintenance of the cottage is unfounded. We have many people who come back year after year and absolutely love the place and the number one reason they offer is the view that they enjoy of the natural cove. We ask guests to leave us a completed evaluation form and over the years over 97% of responders indicate that they are extremely satisfied with the accommodations, location and costs.

I am sorry that you ran into a street detour that sent you around the entrance to our cottage on the day of your arrival. The bridge repair was quickly completed, and we now have a brand new bridge.

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Manchester, NH
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Tooky Mills Pub
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Angus Lea Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 9 & 202
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
High Tide Restaurant
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Pat's Peak Ski Area
Nearest Beach
0.03 Miles
Emerald Lake District Beach
Car: necessary

The Monadnock Region is the 'Currier and Ives' section of New Hampshire. Beautiful town greens, old colonial houses, scenic views, and fresh country air! Gorgeous scenery in the foliage season. Great apple picking locations in the area. Wonderful antique shops and country fairs. Wonderful hunting in the area. Enjoy the campfire pit outside or enjoy the ambiance of the wood stove. Just a 5 minute ride to grocery store. Just 25 minutes to Keene or Concord.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hillsborough Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
May 5 - Jun 27
2 nights
$140
From
$145
Fri, Sat
$950
 
 
Summer
Jun 28 - Jul 11
7 nights
$1,095
 
 
Last Minute Special
Jul 12 - Jul 18
7 nights
$895
 
 
Last Minute Special
Jul 19 - Jul 25
7 nights
$895
 
 
Summer
Jul 26 - Aug 22
7 nights
$1,095
 
 
Late Summer/Fall
Aug 23 - Dec 1
2 nights
$145
From
$155
Fri, Sat
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%
Notes Deposit is 50% with the balance to be paid in full one month prior to stay.
Deposit is non-refundable. Once the balance is received it is then non-refundable.
Dogs incur an additional fee of $40.00 per pet per week or $20.00 for a weekend.
Summer weeks begin and end on Saturdays only.
50% deposit due at reservation. Balance due one month prior to stay.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Hillsborough Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1275 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on first floor
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Though the bed configuration would sleep more than 7 people we have a maximum occupancy of 7 people.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Sand Box
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Pets are considered and incur an additional charge of $40.00 per pet for a week/$20.00 weekend. Smoking is only allowed outside. Floor fans provided. Renter must be at least 25 years of age.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote