Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home

Linda

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Linda

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Lake Jocassee House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Newly remodeled kitchen as of June 29, 2014!! African granite and new stainless steel appliances. We have also added a stand-up paddleboard for your enjoyment down at the dock.

This cozy 2000 square foot cottage, is located directly on Lake Jocassee with a lovely view of the lake and the mountains. This 4BR, 3BA house sleeps 9 people comfortably without feeling crowded, and is perfect for 2 families to share! There are 2 main levels to the house. The house is furnished with unique, handcrafted mountain furniture, and a warm mountain atmosphere is what you experience when you walk through the front door. There is an extra large dock which is always on deep water, and can fit up to 3 boats. Even if you don't bring a boat, the house is located in Fisher Knob, and with the classic Grumman canoe provided with your rental, you can still easily canoe to some of the best waterfalls on the lake.

All linens are provided and for the low price of $2275/week in the summer, this is the best value on the lake!

People come from all over the world to experience Lake Jocassee and all it has to offer. Activities in the area include: spectacular waterfalls, kayaking, golfing, horseback riding, world class fishing, motor boating and hiking. Watch the stars at night. See deer and plenty of wildlife. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you!

Very quiet and serene! Seasonal snow skiing. Food, shopping, and entertainment at local restaurants can be found in the little mountain village of Cashiers, only a scenic 25 minute drive away. Canoe is provided.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Linda (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.1
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

Two years ago I rented this cabin for my baby brothers bachelor weekend. My dad, two brothers, brother in law and two friends stayed the weekend. We brought three boats, two kayaks a lot of food and maybe an adult beverage or two. We left left two trucks and all the boat trailers at the boat ramp as parking is limited at the house. It was the best weekend I have had in a long time. Awesome memories were made that will last until I pass. Before we left the family sat on the deck and took a photo that quickly became a favorite for all of us. To top the weekend off, my baby brother caught a big bass that he brought home and had mounted. So, whenever some asks about that fish, he has an awesome story to tell! I liked the lake and cabin so much that I came back today to see about renting it again! Be warned, the steps arent for the weak. No complaints at all!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. We are glad you had a great time and we love to have people return!
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautiful and very comfy. The steps were challenging being that I had to carry my 2 year old the entire time. The soft spots in a few steps and the lack of railing concerned me. I had a huge case of tram envy after realizing all of the other homes in the cove had a tram system and we were the only ones "roughing it!" The motivational signs did make me giggle! I was not pleased with the trash rule, especially since we didn't learn of it until our arrival. All trash must be removed or you pay $ 75-$100 fine, depending on which notice you read. The closest trash facilities were 30 mins away either direction. The one we chose to utilize due to the direction of our travels ended up being closed on the day of our departure. We were not happy!! A trash service should be included due to the check out time and the trash facility locations. Otherwise, this was the most relaxing vacation I have ever taken!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the house and had the most relaxing vacation ever!
Florida
5

Had a great time and wanted to stay longer!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time during our recent stay here. The house was comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and the price was reasonable. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the lake from the porch, and we had absolutely no problem with the steps. Also, there are no steps from your car to the house, so it was easy to load and unload all the stuff we brought. We love the location of the house because there are 2 really great waterfalls that are about a 30 minute paddle away by canoe, and the house is only a 25 minute drive to Cashiers. This is a very healing place. The house has a relaxing mountain feel with all the handcrafted mountain furniture, and you just feel great after being here. We've stayed here several times and will continue coming back!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a great time at Lake Jocassee. We appreciate you visiting us again!
Raleigh, NC
3

Great Lake - Repairs Needed!

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying that we had a wonderful family vacation. The cabin was rustic and the stairs were just as described. The lake was beautiful and my family had a great time discovering all of the waterfalls. My only negative is the stairs and the dock are in extremely poor condition. I would not stay at this property until they were all replaced, many were cracked and rotting. My son was walking on the dock and a board broke, luckily he was not injured. I contacted the number provided, NO ONE has even acknowledged my phone call. I also left a note regarding the situation when we left. Again, no response.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you had a great family vacation at the house! We are one of the closest houses to the best waterfalls on the lake, and that is the main reason people come to Jocassee --- to discover the beautiful waterfalls. The house is managed by a professional management company. After each vacationer, the property, including the steps and the dock, is inspected by a maintenace person. Maintenance people are also available for emergency repairs during your stay. Although we never received your call about your son breaking the step, the step was fixed anyway because the maintenace person discovered the broken board during his walkthrough that is always done after every vacationer leaves. It is important to us that everyone has a fun and safe time during their stay, and we make every effort we can to ensure that. We appreciate when someone lets us know when there is a problem with something, so that we can promply take care of it.
Greenville, SC
5

great girls getaway

  • 5 of 5

Had a great girls weekend away with a number of friends. The absence of traffic on the lake allowed for a wonderfully peaceful atmosphere and provided much needed relaxation. We also enjoyed the short drive into Cashier for lunch at Cornucopia...highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Summerville, SC
5

What an amazing week!

  • 5 of 5

Having read the only review available worried us a little as we prepared for our vacation. I would agree that the home could use a more thorough cleaning, but that is my only negative. If you are looking for a picture perfect HGTV updated home, this is not the one for you. The home was probably originally built many years ago and the "treehouse" master and second kids room are nice additions. It had plenty of room and functionality for our two families. Our families came to enjoy the lake and we absolutely did enjoy it. I counted 178 stairs to the dock. This was no impediment for our active families and was viewed as a challenge with bragging rights for all. I made the trip 11 times one day, so it can be done (yeah, my legs felt it!!!). I would agree that very young or old or limited stair climbing ability would have a problem, but the ad does tell you this. The lake is fabulous and the dock accommodated our motor boat, paddle boards, the 3 kayaks and the canoe. The canoe was a joy! Jocasse is a well hidden secret and a fabulous family getaway. The drive is hilly, but no problem for our 4 cylinder vehicles; you will use up those brakes if not in low gear. Again, not a problem for us. If communication with the world is important, make sure you have a Verizon mobile device. Sprint and AT&T did not connect. We were happy to disconnect from the world, but recognize that safety necessitates some form of device and there is no land line in the home. Overall, an excellent experience and I look forward to another vacation at Jocasse in the future. Oh, one more thing; there is a book filled with happy reviews in the home. Maybe this is a new listing for VRBO, but the house has been a vacation rental for years with very few documented complaints. In fact, most noted the challenge of the 178 stairs as a positive!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating! We work very hard to try to give our guests the best stay possible and we have many repeat guests.

Map

For 2015, we are including linens, but we are asking people to bring their own towels!!

Steps from house to the water.

Not suitable for small children, elderly or infirmed.

$500 fine for any pet brought on the premises or smoking inside the house.

To reserve the house, we require half the rental amount. 30 days prior to your arrival, the remaining half of the rental amount is due along with a separate check of $250 for the damage deposit.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $186 Per night

Lake Jocassee House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 30 2015 - Jun 26 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,275
 
 
July
Jun 27 2015 - Jul 31 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
Summer2
Aug 1 2015 - Sep 4 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,275
 
 
Off-Season
Sep 8 2015 - May 28 2016
2 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250.00
Tax Rate 7.0%
Notes Linens included in the price. Please bring your own towels.
You can either pay a cleaning fee of $150 or just clean up when you leave.
Please Email for pricing over holidays and Clemson games. Generally holidays are $200 per week more.
Canoe and stand up paddle board included.
Absolutely no pets allowed. Fine of $500 for any pet on premises.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Lake Jocassee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
Please be aware, this is a mountain home and there are steps from the house to the water. This property is not suitable for small children, the elderly or infirmed. $500 fine for any pet brought on the premises or smoking inside the house. To reserve the house, we require half the rental amount. 30 days prior to arrival we require the remaining half along with a damage deposit of $250. 7% tax added to rental amount.

Other Vacation Properties

$2,100 per week
3 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$795 - $999 per week
2 - 7 night min stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote