You do not get what you pay for
All in all the house is OK. It is an a good location. Well kept and spacious There are certain things however, that should make you think twice before paying that kind of money and especially a very high security deposit.
This house really has one normal bathroom. The other two toilets that are claimed on the description are in the basement next to each other and sandwiched between the wall and the sauna. The second shower is next to the sauna as well and does not have the door, only the curtain making it unusable for anything but sauna.
For the house of that size one bathroom makes things very tight if you have more than one family.
There is no dishwasher, so prepare to designate someone to do the dishes
There is no broom or cleaning supplies.
Every house no matter how good it is is only as good as your dealings with the owner.
Beware of "excessive cleaning fees" that will be taken out of your security deposit.
My advice is when you leave the house take a picture of every room so you have the evidence on you side , otherwise you will get "the cleaners said the house looked dirty and we take excessive cleaning fee out f your deposit"
All in all the house is worth renting as long as all the necessary precautions of dealing with the owners are taken and you do not mind queuing for the bathroom in the morning.
Owner's Response: We are, of course, very disappointed to read this guest's comments. He was an unusual guest in two ways; we made a reduction in the rental in exchange for their laundering of bed linen (my husband and I were the next occupants) so that he could stay within budget and this was the only time in over seven years that we have ever retained any of the security/excessive cleaning deposit. We ask that these checks be sent separately, so they are never even deposited.
We are pleased that the guest observed that the house is well-kept; finding and working with good, reliable cleaners is
sometimes challenging, but I am glad that we have succeeded here. And I sometimes do wish that there was a polite way to photograph the house before and after guests and the housecleaners.
I try to be as descriptive as possible about the downstairs bathroom within the constraints of the website's format. There are two toilets, each in it's own stall, a double sink and a shower with a shower curtain. The room these are in has a door! Also in this room is the sauna, behind its own cedar door. The last thing we want is for guests to arrive and be disappointed!
The website allows us to check off amenities/appliances that the house has; I did not indicate that it had a dishwasher.
When my husband and I arrived we found the usual cleaning supplies under the kitchen sink and in the downstairs bathroom. I always check. Did the housecleaners inadvertently lock all the brooms in their supply closet? I didn't notice, but if you called or emailed I would have suggested one of the two vacuum cleaners in the hall closet. Sorry!
Helpful votes: 5/5
Did you find this review helpful?