Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

VINTAGE WATERFRONT HOME ON PENOBSCOT BAY! Waterviews from Every room!

Maura Gammans

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps22
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Maura Gammans

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

VINTAGE WATERFRONT HOME ON PENOBSCOT BAY! Waterviews from Every room!

Sleeps22
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Stockton Springs House Rental Photos and Description

5 BR, 3 BA, with sleeping for up to 20 - great for family reunions!

This spacious classic waterfront home provides a large (seats 16!) kitchen, living room with French doors opening onto wraparound porches and deck furnished for dining and relaxing.. A path leads to a private beach. Fully furnished for family vacations with grills, outdoor furniture, outdoor games. Panoramic views toward Castine and Cape Jellison and beyond! Super spot for kayaking, biking, etc. Near Acadia National Park, Belfast and Camden. 45 minutes from Bangor International Airport. Private and quiet but near Route 1 shopping and dining. Large HD Cable TV and wireless internet. Visit our website http://www.herseyretreatcottage.com at the link below for more photos.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Maura Gammans (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015

Why Maura Gammans chose Stockton Springs

Classic, roomy with waterviews from nearly EVERY room! Wraparound porches and deck provide outside gathering space!

What makes this house unique

We loved the long views down Penobscot Bay, the unique spacious rooms (we have a large extended family), the original Franch doors to the porches. The very accessible waterfront, convenience to Route One.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps22
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
VINTAGE WATERFRONT HOME ON PENOBSCOT BAY! Waterviews from Every room!
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
Thousand Oaks, CA
5

Cozy Home in a Gorgeous, Peaceful Setting

  • 5 of 5

My extended family and I rented the cottage at Sandy Point for one week in early June. We were there to celebrate my mom's 80th birthday and she was thrilled with the home and the area around it. It is hard to imagine a better trip for her big event.

The home is even better than described on the website and the pictures of the exterior and the surrounding grounds do not reflect just how pretty it is. The cottage is comfortable and cozy while still giving people plenty of room to have their own space. We found the home very well appointed with pretty much everything we needed during our stay.

Nearby Belfast is scenic and charming and has a nice small-town feel, while still offering some of the conveniences of a bigger city. Lobster lovers may want to check out Youngs Lobster Pound, which provides fresh lobster at what seemed to us like great prices. Diners can eat in (the night we were there a group had red checkered table cloths and candles set up on a couple of the indoor picnic tables) or order for take out. We also enjoyed a great lunch at Darby's.

We found that the location of the cottage is convenient to a number of interesting tourist sites, including; Acadia National Park (1 hour drive), Fort Knox (not that Fort Knox, but only 10 minutes drive and well worth a trip to explore) and Camden (50 minutes drive). We even visited a couple of Maine wineries, with Cellardoor Winery (about 50 minute drive) impressing us with its dry (really) blueberry wine and a nice version of a GSM blend.

The area surrounding the cottage is very peaceful and serene. In fact the nights were so quiet that it took some getting used to for a few in our group (folks who thought they lived in quiet suburban areas). People who enjoy walking can walk for miles on the nearby beaches and there are also a few trails nearby.

The Cottage is a great choice for families and friends who want to reconnect in beautiful, quiet surroundings, whille still having the convenient option of leaving to explore all that Maine has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
North Fork, Long Island, NY
5

a beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

My extended family and I just returned from a stay at The Cottage. We were a party of 18 and highly recommend the property. The setting is incredibly beautiful and peaceful and surrounded by nature trails. We enjoyed our visits to Acadia, Belfast, Camden and Bath... highly recommend a windjammer cruise on the "Appledore" - one of the ships in Camden's windjammer fleet. The large kitchen table and wraparound porches worked beautifully for memorable dinners. Our lobster dinner from Young's was delicious and so convenient to simply pick up the cooked lobsters. Owner recommended restaurants & supermarkets... a great vacation spot.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Plymouth, MA
5

Great time had by all!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful setting, exactly as described. There were 15 of us from age 16 months to 60. Plenty of room for all. The house also provided plenty of indoor and outdoor activities to keep everyone busy and also comfortable areas for just relaxing and enjoying the breathtaking views. A great time was had by all. Dealing with the owners was a pleasure! The only suggestion we would have is possibly a second fridge in the basement.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
2

You do not get what you pay for

  • 2 of 5

All in all the house is OK. It is an a good location. Well kept and spacious There are certain things however, that should make you think twice before paying that kind of money and especially a very high security deposit.

This house really has one normal bathroom. The other two toilets that are claimed on the description are in the basement next to each other and sandwiched between the wall and the sauna. The second shower is next to the sauna as well and does not have the door, only the curtain making it unusable for anything but sauna.

For the house of that size one bathroom makes things very tight if you have more than one family.

There is no dishwasher, so prepare to designate someone to do the dishes

There is no broom or cleaning supplies.

Every house no matter how good it is is only as good as your dealings with the owner.

Beware of "excessive cleaning fees" that will be taken out of your security deposit.

My advice is when you leave the house take a picture of every room so you have the evidence on you side , otherwise you will get "the cleaners said the house looked dirty and we take excessive cleaning fee out f your deposit"

All in all the house is worth renting as long as all the necessary precautions of dealing with the owners are taken and you do not mind queuing for the bathroom in the morning.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are, of course, very disappointed to read this guest's comments. He was an unusual guest in two ways; we made a reduction in the rental in exchange for their laundering of bed linen (my husband and I were the next occupants) so that he could stay within budget and this was the only time in over seven years that we have ever retained any of the security/excessive cleaning deposit. We ask that these checks be sent separately, so they are never even deposited. We are pleased that the guest observed that the house is well-kept; finding and working with good, reliable cleaners is sometimes challenging, but I am glad that we have succeeded here. And I sometimes do wish that there was a polite way to photograph the house before and after guests and the housecleaners. I try to be as descriptive as possible about the downstairs bathroom within the constraints of the website's format. There are two toilets, each in it's own stall, a double sink and a shower with a shower curtain. The room these are in has a door! Also in this room is the sauna, behind its own cedar door. The last thing we want is for guests to arrive and be disappointed! The website allows us to check off amenities/appliances that the house has; I did not indicate that it had a dishwasher. When my husband and I arrived we found the usual cleaning supplies under the kitchen sink and in the downstairs bathroom. I always check. Did the housecleaners inadvertently lock all the brooms in their supply closet? I didn't notice, but if you called or emailed I would have suggested one of the two vacuum cleaners in the hall closet. Sorry!
long island new york
5

Our trip to The Cottage at Hersey Road

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from the Cottage. All 16 of us had a wonderful time. Three generations of all ages. The cottage was well equipped and very spacious. We found the cottage clean and comfortable. I would recommend this vacation area and the cottage to anyone and everyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Ft. Bragg, NC
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We loved our time spent at the cottage. The views are beautiful. The cottage had everything we needed and more. Very peaceful. If you are looking for a getaway, this is the place to stay. Close to great attractions.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Bangor International
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Conveniently Close to Route 1
Nearest Beach
Private Beach and Sandy Point State Beach
Car: recommended

A lovely area, 45 minutes from Camden, 45 minutes to Bar Harbor/Acadia. Lots to do or a great spot to gather or relax.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $600 Per night

Stockton Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer
May 1 2015 - Jun 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$600
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning $0
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes Three night minimum September - June. Rate based on number of guests.
$2800-$3500/week September-June depending on number of guests. This includes housekeeping and the cottage is fully furnished with linens, etc.
Weekly stays only in July and August. $3800 per week.
Paypal and personal checks are accepted

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Stockton Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Downstairs bath includes: t toilets, each in its own stall, large shower with two rainheads, double-sink vanity, washer and dryer, sauna.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 child bed , (bunkbed)
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 child bed , (bunkbed)
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 4 child bed , 1 baby crib , (bunkbeds)
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 3 twin/ single
  • Two of the bedrooms have sliding doors with Penobscot Bay views and open out to porches. The fifth bedroom is the entire second floor (27' x 21') with skylights.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Please contact us by phone or email if you have any questions.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote