CARIBBEAN COTTAGE, MAR- MEM DAY , 2012, $1500/WK OR $4K/MO ,PETS OK, YARD WIFI

Mireya Schmidt

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Mireya Schmidt

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CARIBBEAN COTTAGE, MAR- MEM DAY , 2012, $1500/WK OR $4K/MO ,PETS OK, YARD WIFI

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description

3 BR, 2 BA sleeps 8 plus, fully fenced in yard, beach close,WIFI,HBO,SHOWTIME

Walk to world famous Windan Sea Beach from this cottage. home. This lovely Cottage is secluded behind a tall fence for privacy. The master suite has its own private separate remodeled bathroom. Entertain and barbecue on the deck or have coffee on the front porch while enjoying La Jolla's perfect year round weather. The yard is professionally landscaped and is fully fenced. Two TVs are available for your enjoyment, both with cable and offering HBO, and Movie-On Demand. DVD and Stereo are available as well as high speed internet access for your lap top computers. A garage is available for one car with additional parking in the driveway. The Cottage is steps away from SK Sanctuary for all your Day Spa needs. Restaurants, cafes, and shops are all steps away. All linens, towels and beach towels are provided. A 50 meter heated pool and free public tennis courts are only a block away! A bike trail and dog park are also close by.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the manager
We loved the cottage you rented us. We like the privacy of the master bedroom being on the opposite side of the house from the other two bedrooms. The kitchen had everything we needed. We loved the location, easy walk to the beach, and comfortable walk to restaurants, etc. The stereo and cable channel choices and DVD made evenings with the kids entertaining and inexpensive. Thanks also for the helpful poster your kids made of the fun and useful venues around your house. We especially enjoyed the Farmer's Market on Sunday. We did our best shopping there, not just for food, but for jewelry and frameable photography. Thanks too for your hospitality. We had a wonderful vacation, and your cottage played a big part in that.
Jul 2004
  • 1 of 1

La Jolla Cottages

Mireya Schmidt

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Mireya Schmidt, Owner and Manager of La Jolla Cottages, Inc. offers the Caribbean Cottage as well as 35 plus other La Jolla area homes for year round vacation rental and longer term lodging

Mireya Schmidt purchased this house in 1998

This comfortable cottage home is affordable, yet close to the beach, the Village, a community swimming pool, bike trail in La Jolla and has been welcoming happy returning Guests since 2000.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Caribbean Cottage, Mar- Mem Day , 2012, $1500/wk or $4K/mo ,pets ok, yard WIFI
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
Caribbean Cottage, Mar- Mem Day , 2012, $1500/wk or $4K/mo ,pets ok, yard WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126420
+1 858 349 2500
La Jolla San Diego County
Redondo Beach, CA
5

WARM, INVITING & VERY SPECIAL

Warm, Inviting & Very Special
  • 5 of 5
We rented the Caribbean Cottage along with the California Classic which is the front house for a graduation celebration. There were a total of 14 of us sharing the 2 homes. The 1st thing we noticed is that the house is really a HOME! We have rented places before that feel very sterile from the moment you walk in but this place felt like you were visiting an old friend. We found EVERYTHING we needed PLUS more. A wonderful collection of books to satisfy everyones desires, DVDs, Videos, and lots of great music. We loved that everything was at our fingertips. Kitchen fully equipped in both places. The backyard was cozy and enchanting including a height chart from the owners own family. Jacuzzi was warm and inviting and used quite a bit. We loved the nice big table great for family dinners. All the beds were comfortable with fresh clean linens, plenty of extra towels, pillows and heavy blankets for the cooler nights on the patio. Brand new appliances. Tons of extras in the house, sand toys, wagons, surfboards, boogies. Seriously, it was like your best friend loaning you their house for the weekend. Plenty of parking, close (walking distance) to downtown La Jolla and Pacific Beach just a 10 min drive. Legoland and Sea World within 20 minutes.

We would stay here again and are already planning our next trip.

Thank you for making our trip so special, warming and memorable by sharing your family home with us.
  • Submitted: May 27, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the two homes rented together. Please come back to visit one of our La Jolla homes soon!


Mireya
business
Caribbean Cottage, Mar- Mem Day , 2012, $1500/wk or $4K/mo ,pets ok, yard WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126420
+1 858 349 2500
La Jolla San Diego County
Tucson, AZ
4

GREAT COTTAGE WITH YARD

  • 4 of 5
This is a great cottage for families and anyone with pets. The owner is super helpful and came quickly when one of the ceiling fans wouldn't work. The location is perfect; 2-3 blocks from the ocean. We walked to the beach everyday and walked to some restaurants at night. We were very close to the Sunday farmers market which is very extensive and a great source of local and organic produce. Many days we sat on one of the two porches and just enjoyed the cool weather. The cottage has some wear and tear from renters but overall the place is well kept.
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Caribbean Cottage, Mar- Mem Day , 2012, $1500/wk or $4K/mo ,pets ok, yard WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126420
+1 858 349 2500
La Jolla San Diego County
Clovis, New Mexico
5

WONDERFUL GETAWAY! FROM CLOVIS, NM

  • 5 of 5
Spent a fantastic week at this wonderful cottage!
Cool ocean breezes cooled off the house during the day, and we spent the evenings on the comfortable deck. La Jolla is the place to be for fantastic cuisine and the Wind and Sea beach is just steps away! The area is quiet and peaceful. Much needed after a day of sightseeing! The comfy beds call your name in this cozy house. It has everything you need for your vacation...Even a surfboard!!
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Caribbean Cottage, Mar- Mem Day , 2012, $1500/wk or $4K/mo ,pets ok, yard WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126420
+1 858 349 2500
La Jolla San Diego County
Dallas, Texas
3

CHRISTMAS AT THE COTTAGE

  • 3 of 5
My family and I (4 adults and 2 children) spent our Christmas holiday at the cottage. PROS: The location is excellent. The beach and Busy Bee Bagels are just a block away. There also is a Mexican food place open 24/7 within walking distance that makes delicious burritos. The master bathroom is lovely. It has been redone and has a wonderful rain-down shower head. Between all of us showering--and doing laundry--we never ran out of hot water. When we arrived, the wall heater/furnace was broken, and the owner was very responsive in making sure it got fixed ASAP. CONS: There is need for updating. The window coverings, linens, pillows, and light fixtures need to be replaced and the furniture is humble. The tablecloth on the kitchen table was dirty when we arrived. The coffee maker in the kitchen didn't have a matching carafe so we couldn't make coffee. The picture of the house shown on the website isn't accurate--it's a picture of a larger house next door, which is also for rent. Overall, this place could really "shine" but it misses the mark in several departments (especially in light of the rate we paid).
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We were glad to be able to repair the furnace the following morning after trying to repair it ourselves that evening. It worked fine for the prior tenants who left the day you arrived. We were glad to provide three new oscillating space heaters and several "Crackle" fire logs to keep the home warm over night until the furnace could be repaired. The photos of the Caribbean Cottage are accurate. There is one page on my website that describes both homes, the California Classic and the Caribbean Cottage together, as both homes can and have been rented together for large family gatherings. The photo of the California Classic corresponds to a detailed description of that home, and the photo of the Caribbean Cottage corresponds to a detailed description of the Caribbean Cottage with additional photos of each home completely separate. The furniture is also accurately photographed in the photos of the Caribbean Cottage in all the websites. The Bauhaus sofa in the living room was recently added and is very comfortable seating and includes a comfortable sleeper sofa. Two of the beds are Danish Teak and the Dining Room Table is a very sturdy, butcher block table that comfortably seats six people. We will certainly look into the other items mentioned in this review including the coffee maker, table cloth, etc, as we strive to improve our homes and appreciate the feedback.
business
Caribbean Cottage, Mar- Mem Day , 2012, $1500/wk or $4K/mo ,pets ok, yard WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126420
+1 858 349 2500
La Jolla San Diego County
Phoenix
5

WE LOVE THE COTTAGE, THIS IS OUR 3RD VISIT!

  • 5 of 5
My family and I love the Caribbean Cottage. The location is great, close to the beach, the swimming pool, restaurants and Busy Bee Bagel for breakfast! This will be the third year we have enjoyed the Cottage for our family vacation. This home is clean, comfortable, private and so much better than an expensive hotel, it has become our home in La Jolla!
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Caribbean Cottage, Mar- Mem Day , 2012, $1500/wk or $4K/mo ,pets ok, yard WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126420
+1 858 349 2500
La Jolla San Diego County
california
5

CARIBBEAN COTTAGE, LA JOLLA, CALIFORNIA

  • 5 of 5
This cottage was perfect for us.........2 grandparents, 4 adult children and 2 grandchildren, ages 3 and 4. It is homey, has all the features we wanted and contained absolutely everything, from 2 bathrooms down to a cheese grater!

The feeling is one of comfort........nice, family-friendly furniture, extremely child-friendly but comfortable and well- appointed. It is about a 2 1/2 block walk to the beach but with great weather, who cares??????????
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Caribbean Cottage. We offer $100 off coupons to our repeat Guests, so please use this on your next visit to La Jolla or give it as a Gift to a friend or relative. If you return with more family members or friends, please also consider the larger home next door, the California Classic.

Both homes rented together are perfect for family reunions or Wedding Guests. The two homes share a 10,300 s'f' lot and offer 6 bedrooms, 4 baths in 3000 s'f' of living space with plenty of fully fenced in yard space, patios and a deck for outdoor entertaining as well as a private jacuzzi.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your Winter visit to the Caribbean Cottage, one of our La Jolla Cottages.

Mireya and Christopher
Email Manager Email

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
San Diego
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Solana Beach Train Station, Coaster
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 5
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
WindanSea Beach
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
The Shack, Promiscuous Fork
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Torrey Pines
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Su Casa, Busy Bee Bagels, Vahik's Cafe, Manadarin
Car: not necessary

The Caribbean Cottage is a delightful family home just 3 blocks from world famous WindanSea Beach in La Jolla. Walk to the beach or to shops, restaurants, coffee shops and more. A world class heated swimming pool is only one block away with swimming classes for children. The SK Sanctuary is just steps away for massages, manicures, facials and many other services. Walk to Busy Bee Bagel for breakfast before heading to the beach or to Su Casa for margaritas on your way to watch the sunsets and surfers.

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

La Jolla House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 17 2014 - Sep 6 2014
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
$10,000
 
 
Christmas and New Year's
Dec 13 2014 - Jan 10 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
$10,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
50% of the total rent plus the $500 deposit and the $150 cleaning fee due to book. The balance of 50% of the rent plus the 11.05% tax due two weeks prior to arrival.
Tax Rate 11.05%
Notes Please call or email for Spring Break, as dates may vary, and prices may be lower than listed.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

La Jolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Town
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Adventure
General:
  • Parking Off Street
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
  • Garage
  • Parking
  • Activities Guide
Kitchen:
  • Pantry Items
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Toaster
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Master bathroom private and nicely remodeled
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
  • 3 rooms with one king/queen and child beds, 1 baby crib
Entertainment:
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Books
  • Games for Kids
  • Toys
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Barbecue
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • theme parks
  • live theater
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
  • restaurants
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • recreation center
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • whale watching
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • pier fishing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The fully fenced in private yard is safe for children and pets. You will find everything you need in this fully stocked home.
Email Manager Email