OCEANFRONT LUXURY ESTATE - SPECTACULAR VIEWS FROM EVERY ROOM

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANFRONT LUXURY ESTATE - SPECTACULAR VIEWS FROM EVERY ROOM

Cutler Estate Rental Photos and Description

Estate, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

Private Luxury estate with spectacular ocean views from every room. Located near the small, working harbor village (buy your lobsters right off the docks) of Cutler, Maine. Our property encompasses a large tract of land adjoining conservation ground for HIKING and BIRDWATCHING, SILENCE and SOLITUDE. Back a private mile and half drive through fragrant spruce, firs and mosses walk right out onto a large, privately-owned stretch of BOLD COASTLINE including a PRIVATE PEBBLE BEACH.

This exceptional property hosts a heath (bog), pitcher-plants,grouse, bobcat. WHALES, BALD EAGLES, and SEALS are regularly observed from the deck of the house. MOOSE are often spotted in the driveway. Soak up incredible sunrises and sunsets, misty fogs, sparkling seas and sky. Storm spray can hit the windows of the house. Thunderhole. - Approx. hour and a half to Acadia Nat'l Park; 40 minutes to Quoddy Head State Park,Lubec,Campobella Island and Roosevelt's summer home. Minutes to local restaurants,shops,University of Maine campus and bookstore. Spectacular hiking at Western Head and Bold Coast Trails in Cutler.

This large home includes FOUR LEVELS. Bedroom one includes one KING POSTER BED, ANTIQUE ARMOIRE, SPECTACULAR VIEWS of sea and sky, wake up to the lobstermen pulling their traps in front of the property. Bedroom two includes TWO QUEEN BEDS, PRIVATE BALCONY, walk-in cedar closet, PRIVATE BATH with soaking tub, ITALIAN TILE OPEN SHOWER, views of treetops, sunrise and dramatic coastline. Bedroom three includes one queen bed,one daybed with trundle, walk-in cedar closet, SPECTACULAR COASTLINE AND SUNSET VIEWS, access to second story balcony. Bedrooms one and three share full bath with open Italian tile shower and SOAKING TUB WITH PICTURE WINDOW. Walk-out, oceanfront lower level with fold-out sofas, extra refrigerator and large deck.

Tastefully furnished throughout. GOURMET KITCHEN with custom-made cherry cabinets,tile floors,bar with seating, stainless gas range,open to dining area with large granite dining table and spectacular sunsets. Great-room well stocked with books, music, puzzles, videos/DVD's, maps, and nature guides. CEILING FANS and STUNNING VIEWS in every room.

Fourth floor OBSERVATION TOWER. Watch the stars cross the sky and whales,lighthouse and ships in the distance.Open all the windows and fall asleep to the sounds of waves and foghorns.

Kayak/canoe rentals, whale-watching, puffin/arctic tern, and seal spotting trips available nearby.

The siting of this house makes it inappropriate for very small children.

Keywords: Exclusive Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • limited accessibility
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the owner
Prepare to adjust your stress lever down several notches and enjoy God's creation as you have never seen it before and prepare to be wowed!



What a remarkable place and equally remarkable owner who was helpful and accomodating. The photos and explanations cannot do justice to the true beauty of Somerled.



The home is magnificent. The trails and scenery are incredible.

This is your own little private slice of the Bold Coast at its best!



You can see all manner of wildlife (sea, land and air). The open ocean is right at your back door, complete with crashing waves and ocean spray. The woods and excellent hiking trails are at your front door.



Once you arrive, you will not want to leave - and you don't need to leave. All other recommended tourist stops are mere imitations of this place.



The home will accomodate a few folks or larger groups without feeling crowded.



Our sincere thanks and deepest gratitude for the opportunity to spend an awesome week at what is now our favorite place on earth!
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2002
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We had never before seen stars like you will see from the deck of the house. It looks like you can reach up and touch the milky way. In the late fall, the northerrn lights are mesmerizing. The smell of the sea and pines soothe the soul and the quiet and respectful pace of life in this part of the country reminds us of the amazing beauty and kindness that it is still possible to find in very special places.

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanfront Luxury Estate - Spectacular Views from Every Room
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
business
Oceanfront Luxury Estate - Spectacular Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16699vb
+1 9372893101
Cutler Downeast and Acadia
5

The Blessing of Somerled!

  • 5 of 5
We made our second trip to Somerled in June/July 2013. It was more glorious than our first visit and best vacation, ever! The owners are very accommodating. The home is fabulous and spacious. We call it comfortable luxury - everything is really nice - but you also feel right at home!

A few paragraphs do not do justice to the experience. The home has incredible views from all rooms with the crashing ocean and sea critters at the back deck, then the Maine woods and wildlife in the front yard - and oh golly, the most remarkable sunrises, sunsets and moon shining over the ocean. The bedrooms are plushy and comfortable, bathrooms spacious, kitchen has everything you need.

During our two week stay, we saw and photographed all manner of birds and other wildlife, including almost daily sightings of eagles and nesting merlins. We had frequent sightings and shots of seal, moose, giant moths, and numerous dorsal fins. (Bring binoculars so you don’t miss a thing!)

Somerled provides your own private haven for hiking, rock climbing, fishing, exploring tide pools, and photography opportunities beyond belief. The house is sufficiently off the beaten path for privacy, with short drives for shopping, whale or puffin watching, antiquing, sight-seeing, restaurants, etc. We arrived in western part of Maine a few days early for other sight-seeing, but we could not wait to get back to the Cutler house and always hate to leave.

Relax, rest, play, recharge. The blessing of Somerled is never far from our hearts and minds.
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Luxury Estate - Spectacular Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16699vb
+1 9372893101
Cutler Downeast and Acadia
Where do you live?
1

Not a stay to remember

  • 1 of 5
This is the first time we felt the need to post a critical review about a house, but we feel we have to make other travelers aware of certain facts. The location of this property is indeed unique and secluded, above a rocky shore in Downeast Maine. In contrast, we were startled by the so called "luxury estate" looking plain and poorly built, with plastic decks that have seen better days, very dated fixtures and entertainment amenities, cheap looking ceramic tile floors, and barren landscaping. Several of the lavatories and the BBQ were obviously not cleaned from the last visit. The listing touts walking trails and a private beach but when we were there the "trails" turned out to be marshy bogs blocked with fallen trees and the "private beach" required a half a mile drive and then another half an hour hike through a similar tree blocked swamp. There is no way to access or use the ocean in any way from the house, and every outdoor activity requires a long drive. Rampant mosquitoes, the worst we've seen anywhere, made using the outdoor space impossible. We tried every commercial grade spray they had in the store to no avail. Eating in the house meant staying indoors or having to fight the mosquito hoards. Needless to say, our stay was most disappointing. But to top our experience, the owner "forgot" to return our deposit and when we asked for it, she made up cockamamie excuses, most of them too distasteful to be mentioned here. She then promised to "verify" the issues on her next visit. We are not holding our breath ...
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the above review, the guest's deposit was justifiably retained due to damages and the condition of the house upon departure. They were properly notified, through multiple correspondences in writing, that the deposit would be retained and the reasons for doing so.

During our 13 yrs. of family vacation rentals, we have greatly enjoyed our interactions with the families we have had the pleasure to get to know. We take great pride in our property and the level of professionalism and consideration shown to each and every guest. We will rely upon our record of excellent reviews from the many other families who have praised the property and location and let us know how much they enjoyed their stay, many of whom return year after year.

This is a unique and very private property offering comfort and access to nature, spectacular, bold ocean frontage, extensive Trex decking (chosen for durability and aesthetics, several times the cost of traditional treated lumber - not plastic!) lovely forest trails, a beautiful heath (not a swamp), containing a variety of wildlife and rare plant life and immediate and exclusive access to some of the most beautiful hiking and scenery on the East coast.

Our websites display many photos and text descriptions showing the nature and amenities of the property. We are always happy to answer any questions and do our utmost to ensure every guest has an enjoyable visit.
business
Oceanfront Luxury Estate - Spectacular Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16699vb
+1 9372893101
Cutler Downeast and Acadia
Lowville, NY 13367
5

Sue

  • 5 of 5
This is a beautiful property, both the house and the location! The pictures don't do it justice! The house is very clean and well maintained. The owner was very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this property if you want to get away from the tourist areas, very picturesque and quiet. We had a wonderful time.
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Oceanfront Luxury Estate - Spectacular Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16699vb
+1 9372893101
Cutler Downeast and Acadia
5

Unbelievable, unique property!

  • 5 of 5
What a fantastic, wonderful property! Words can't describe it and the pictures do not do it justice. It is even better than it looks! The home is large, but so very comfortable. The owners are fantastic and are always quick to reply to any questions or concerns.

We had a marvelous week here, and cannot wait to return. This is the first place we have vacationed where we could truly be alone as a family. The only sounds we heard were from the ocean, wildlife, and the occasional boat pulling up lobster traps.

We were never bored as there is always something to do. The trails were wonderful.
The view is amazing day and night. To watch the ocean crashing on the rocks all day to viewing the amazing stars at night was breathtaking. The only thing wrong with this place is having to leave!
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Oceanfront Luxury Estate - Spectacular Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16699vb
+1 9372893101
Cutler Downeast and Acadia
Elkins WV
5

Girlfriends Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
The four of us getaway every year and we LOVED this place!
We sat on the deck with feet propped up on the rail, taking in the beauty of this homes location. Tranquil and peaceful were our words to describe our stay. We were blessed by whales, eagle, loon, porcupine and so much more.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Oceanfront Luxury Estate - Spectacular Views from Every Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16699vb
+1 9372893101
Cutler Downeast and Acadia
NJ
5

Simply amazing and totally unique

  • 5 of 5
Somerled is an utterly unique place that has to be experienced to be believed. It is in an incredible location, quite apart from everything and everyone else, so this is a true vacation if you are looking for luxury in a peaceful and natural environment. The house is very comfortable and immediately feels like home. The view from every room and every window will leave you breathless and even from the shower is an amazing view. You will run out of superlatives! Everything was beautifully clean and house is very well equipped. You will not find another more spectacular, unique or peaceful environment anywhere! The owners were very business like and delightful in the reservation process and forwarded helpful local information. Enjoy!
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Whale-watching, cycling, birdwatching, stargazing, spectacular hiking just outside your door.

Casual dining, shops, lighthouses, historic attractions nearby.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cutler Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July, August, September
Jun 29 2014 - Sep 27 2014
7 night minimum stay
$5,500
 
 
October
Sep 28 2014 - Nov 1 2014
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.0%
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Cutler Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Towels Provided
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Washing Machine
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Heating
Kitchen:
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Blender
  • Lobster Pot
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Radio
  • Music Library
  • VCR
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Crow's Nest
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • waterfalls
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • whale watching
  • scenic drives
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • boating
  • walking
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • hiking
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • fishing
  • rock climbing
  • deepsea fishing
Notes:
Picnic tables and plentiful outdoor seating. Walk out lower level with two fold out couches - great for kids/teenagers. Card/game/puzzle tables. Watch-tower with day bed and rocker - views in three directions
Email Owner Contact Me