BEACH COTTAGE - RIGHT ON THE SAND ON MINOT BEACH!

Jonathan Wye

Advertiser since 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Jonathan Wye

Advertiser since 2006
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEACH COTTAGE - RIGHT ON THE SAND ON MINOT BEACH!

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Scituate Cottage Rental Photos and Description

- 4 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with showers, sleeps 11

Beach house, right on the beach! You walk through sand to get to the house. Children love it, and parents, too. Large deck, grill, large house size, rocks line the water's edge giving children hours and hours of endless fun. Large deck provides cooling shade. Dishwasher, cable, WiFi, parking for two cars included with rent, additional parking may be available on a 'space available' basis. House has charcoal grill and outside shower with hot water. This is a family friendly basic cottage on one of the most scenic beaches on the Eastern Seaboard.

We rent on a weekly basis, from Saturday to Saturday. WE DO NOT RENT FOR WEEKENDS

Incoming guests arrive anytime after 2:00 pm in the afternoon on the arrival Saturday and departing guests are asked to be out by 11:00 am on the departure Saturday.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jonathan Wye (Owner)
Advertiser since 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Jonathan Wye

My brother and I are the fourth generation to own and rent these cottages since 1902, when my great grandmother bought them.

Why Jonathan Wye chose Scituate

It is hard, if not impossible to find a more picturesque setting on the eastern seaboard to relax, and you avoid most of the Cape Traffic.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beach Cottage - Right on the Sand on Minot Beach!
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Beach Cottage - Right on the Sand on Minot Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121528
+1 -7815453727
Scituate South Shore Massachusetts
5

Location location location

  • 5 of 5
I caught every sunrise but one. This actually isn't the cottage I rented I rented the one next door but for some reason this one is coming up. The beach was beautiful and it was easy to have dogs and children there. Scituate is beautiful with plenty to do. I would bring all my own bed linens including mattress pads and the living room furniture should be changed to more comfortable seating other than that the trip was excellent and we will be sure to return every chance we get
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beach Cottage - Right on the Sand on Minot Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121528
+1 -7815453727
Scituate South Shore Massachusetts
5

One of the Best Times of my Life

  • 5 of 5
For years I have walked my dogs passed this quaint cottage, dreaming of spending a week sitting on the porch with my extended family. This past week my dream came true! Our week long family gathering held at Oshers Cottage was one of the best times of my life and I can speak for many of my family members who feel the same way. The location of this wonderful beach cottage could not have been more perfect - smack dab on the beach with a view of Well Rock and Minot Light. From the porch we watched the tide come in and go out, the sun rise, storms pass, families picnicking, children frolicking, dogs playing, and boats sailing in and out of Boston Harbor. The location of the cottage also provided for many activities. We enjoyed swimming, snorkeling, canoeing, fishing, playing in the surf, beach combing, and building sand castles. There was plenty for the children in our group to do. The convenience and shade of the porch made it easy for the parents in our group to hang out with the adults while watching their children swim, play in the sand, and climb on Well Rock. The ample sleeping arrangements suited our needs well and the two bathrooms - one upstairs and one downstairs - made it easy to accommodate company. The house is filled with windows, making the living space bright, breezy, cheerful, and full of views of the ocean at every turn. Every night my family was lulled to sleep by the sounds of the ocean. We all felt welcomed and appreciated by our landlord. The house was clean upon arrival and was easy to keep clean throughout our stay due to its simplicity and durability. The kitchen was well stocked with kitchenware to make meal preparation convenient. Our hats are off to Oshers Cottage and we hope to return for many years to come. Thank you for one of the happiest weeks of my life. My only recommendation is for anyone who plans on using the pull out couch in the living room - bring an extra pad or air-mattress as the mattress on the pull out couch is rather thin. Other than that everything was wonderful!!!
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beach Cottage - Right on the Sand on Minot Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121528
+1 -7815453727
Scituate South Shore Massachusetts
Grand Island.NY
5

Awesome for families

  • 5 of 5
Your kindness and generosity made our vacation one of the most memorable stays we have experienced in a long time. I can't begin to tell you how much the grandchildren loved the ocean, In fact they still talk about it and want to return next year. The family believes the protected beach is perfect for the kids to have an eexciting adventure yet offer a great deal of security and safety.
Your comfortable and casual house brought us peace and joy. We loved the new floor and freshly painted walls. We took the downstairs bedroom next to the bathroom and allowed the kids to sleep in the upstairs rooms and have their own bathroom. I believe that the beach goers all envied us sitting on the back proch while watching the kids make sandcastles and play in the ocean. If your have very young kids bring a safety gate and if you have older kids bring pails,nets,and boogie boards.
We took two day trips to Boston and Plymouth.
Thanks for going out of your way to make our stay so pheasant.
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Beach Cottage - Right on the Sand on Minot Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121528
+1 -7815453727
Scituate South Shore Massachusetts
massachusetts
1

recent stay

  • 1 of 5
The beach was lovely and pets are allowed. Both bathrooms are in pretty good shape and there is plenty of room.

Sadly to access the cottage you must walk through a construction site filled with paint cans, cigarette butts, sawdust, wood pieces and the like. They are updating property within maybe 3 feet of the cottage and promptly at 9:00am sawing and hammering begin. The neighborhood access runs immediately beside the cottage and the beach is not private, (reminded me of the opening scene in "Jaws" it is so packed on weekend withing 10 feet of your steps), so all day you hear people coming and going plus the ice cream truck with it's lovely music arrives 2-3 times daily.

Probably the worst issue is parking. You are allowed 2 spaces both under trees filled with birds who's droppings drop on your car - not just a few droppings either - your car will be totally covered. The owners believe this is ok and looked at me funny when I complained and made no effort to switch their ';clean' spot with me.

The furnishings are below par. Many of the prices broken. The master bed closet had no door but it did have a piece of plywood and a single mattres leaning up against the wall.

I rent in different locations annually and I can assure you I will never rent here again nor recommend the cottage to a friend. Other cottages have been nicer, less expensive, the furniture newer and nicer, the beach private, no construction sites to navigate through to the door, no massive bird droppings, no sawing and hammering going on, no neighborhood kids screaming and crying on the beach - I had hoped for peace and quiet on a lovely private beach and was sadly disappointed.
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: It’s certainly frustrating to receive a review like this, because it’s our wish that everyone have a good time while vacationing here. But, we can't be responsible for unrealistic expectations. This guest’s final sentence says a lot about why she was unhappy "I had hoped for peace and quiet on a lovely private beach and was sadly disappointed." If she had ever said anything remotely like that in our exchanges, prior to booking, I would have steered her away. She asked few, if any questions.

We can't diaper the birds, my brothers and my car were parked right beside hers. Neither my carpenter nor I smoke. Unhappily, we couldn’t control the starting time of an addition being framed across the street or work going on in the house behind us, but I can promise that my carpenter never started a saw, or swung a hammer prior to 10:00 am. In our welcome note we ask to be notified of anything found broken, or that breaks while they are there, this guest offered nothing while present.
She would obviously have been happier in one of the many houses advertised with matching curtains, bedspreads and towels, and furniture bought in "bedroom sets".
Our target market is a family or a couple of families together with a group of kids coming to play on the beach, outside, in the water on the rocks, wanting a relaxed atmosphere, not worrying about bathing suits on the deck furniture and sand in the house. Adult guests can sit in the shade of the porch watching their kids play on the beach all day if they like, one of our stronger drawing cards. Unlike many owners, we "almost" do not care how many are in the group as long as you are having a good time, creating fine family memories.

This cottage, in our family since the turn of the last century, was a replacement for one that disappeared entirely in the Blizzard of 1978. Much of the furniture is older, slightly worn Victorian, bought new in our family a century or more ago. Some of the filagree might be missing after all this time, but we make sure every thing has legs and handles.
This cottage is meant to be kid proof and distracted tenant proof, not a candidate for Better Homes and Gardens. It, and its predecessor, have been beach rentals for the past 90 years. My mother, now 85, sits out front on nice days is regularly visited by folks walking up off the beach to tell her about renting from my Grandfather, or Great Grandmother before her and sharing happy memories of vacations spent there.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Logan
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Jamies Pub
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Hingham
Nearest Train
2 Miles
North Scituate, MA
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Rt. 128
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Gannett Grille
Nearest Beach
3 Metres
Out the front door
Car: necessary

Swim in the water, lie in the sun. Fish off the rocks for blues, striped bass. 1 hour drive North into Boston if you want to play tourist 45-55 minutes drive South to Plymouth Plantation and the Cape Cod Canal. Great area for kayaks or sailboards.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Scituate Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 11 - Sep 30
7 nights
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Summer $3,450.00/week-----
Summer rentals are from Saturday to Saturday, one week minimum, at $3,450.00 per week.
Payment is due 60 days in advance of rental week(s)
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Scituate Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Exterior - outdoor shower , Outdoor shower has hot water
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 3 twin/ single
  • 3 rooms with one double or larger bed, 1 room with 3 twin beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
1 sleep sofa. WiFi.
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote