HIDDEN OASIS - BEST VALUE FOR 5 BR IN TOWN!!!!

From
$2,450
Enter your travel dates

Karen Howland

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HIDDEN OASIS - BEST VALUE FOR 5 BR IN TOWN!!!!

Rehoboth Beach House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 12, 5 BR, 3BA in South Rehoboth

Come as you are! -- This recently renovated property sleeps 12 with 5 bedrooms + 3 full baths - all on one level - in South Rehoboth. Its prime location make it unbeatable for its price point. Park the car in the driveway and walk to everything - only 3 1/2 blks to the beach, 1 blk to Silver Lake, 3 1/2 blks to the boardwalk, 2 blks to Rehoboth Ave's restaurants + shops. If you prefer to stay in, the house is perfect for entertaining with its open, easy floor plan that flows out to the patio area, protected by a privacy fence. Cook in the large new kitchen or grill out on the patio. Entertainment options abound with Cable TV/DVD or VCR in 4 rooms, WiFi, plenty of books and board games, even classic Nintendo. Central AC plus ceiling fans in every room. DR is open to the LR + kitchen. Table seats 8 comfortably - 12 if you are a close group. Washer/Dryer. Outside: Off-street parking for 2 - 3 cars; outdoor shower, large private patio in front; smaller patio in back. -- Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly: ---------- Housebroken, flea-controlled pets are welcome. There is an additional, non-refundable cleaning charge for all pet rentals.

Wireless High Speed Internet: ---------- Wireless high speed internet is available in the house.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Karen Howland

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2004
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We have owned our beloved beach house for over 10 years and have been Rehoboth Beach goers all our lives. Our goal has been to equip it and care for it as if we lived in it full-time. Keeping it maintained and comfortably furnished is important. We want our guests to feel at home.

We bought this property after many years of renting others in Rehoboth. Having stayed in many parts of Rehoboth, we particularly liked South Rehoboth. It has trees, but is not overly shady. It doesn't get any more convenient in terms of walking to all the amenities. And it hasn't been over built with McMansions that attract large noisy party groups. It is ideal for a nice relaxed beach visit.

Our house has some unique benefits that make it desirable over others. First, we are pretty much the only property that has been allowed to have a six foot privacy fence. Dinners and drinks on the patio do not endure the scrutiny of those strolling the neighborhood. Second - I believe we are also pretty much the only house that is all one level and does not require any steps to enter the property. Although not a main concern when we purchased the house, it has been a blessing as we and our family members have aged.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

35 Reviews Write a Review
Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR In Town!!!!
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 35 reviews
business
Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR In Town!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121350
301 775-6004
Rehoboth Beach Delaware
5

Fabulous house, wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It's taken me far too long to write this review -- in part because of my extremely busy life, with four teenagers, three dogs, a boyfriend to manage and a business to run. ALL of which fit comfortably into this fabulous home away from home in Rehoboth Beach (two out of the three dogs, at least. I left the puppy at the kennel for his own vacation.) This house was PERFECT for my end-of-the-summer vacation at the Delaware Shore. In previous years, we have stayed in Bethany Beach at Sea Colony, because of the comprehensive nature of the property. This past summer, however, my kids wanted a different experience -- one that offered more choice and opportunity to do what they wanted to do on their own, rather than just going to beach or hanging out in a condo. This house offered plenty of space for everyone -- all of my kids had a bedroom that suited them, including my teenaged son, who retreated into the bedroom in the back off the kitchen and made it his "man-cave." The set up of the house was perfect -- all on one floor, with a great kitchen (fully stocked with everything we needed) and dining room and living space. The walk to the beach was a little longer than the kids wanted but I was perfectly happy with my daily walk to and from the beach, and we walked to dinner (and for ice cream) in town most nights. My dogs LOVED the local beach where they could run and play every morning, and the gated yard at the house was an fantastic added bonus. My dogs were able to hang out in the yard, drying in the sunshine every day, after their "shower." The owner was fantastic to deal with -- very accommodating to our calls and requests. Shortly after we arrived, we encountered issues with the internet and network in the house -- a major issue with FOUR teenagers who need to be connected constantly and the need for me to keep tabs on my business. The owner was immediately responsive, even offering to order and have delivered a new router. Thankfully, one of my kids was able to reboot the network and get us up and running. The only other issue we encountered was that the previous tenants had not put the trash and recycling out at the required time, leaving a pile of trash in the trash area that was smelly, blocked access to the beach chairs, and became our chore to deal with. I also recommended that the owner invest in new beach chairs for this season -- the existing one were looking a little worn. This was a perfect house for my family. I hope to visit again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the positive review. I always appreciate feedback no matter how long since your visit. As you've indicated, I do try to be responsive and take care of issues that might affect the enjoyment of my guests' stay. I'm glad you were able to reboot the internet. I exert significant effort in the off-season to prepare the house for the next season and always check to make sure the house and its amenities are in good order before my guests arrive. Inevitably, things do happen over the course of the summer. Beach chairs definitely take a beating in the salt air. Although I cannot guarantee the condition of beach items I leave out for guests use, I have added new beach chairs for the upcoming season as well as a beach cart to transport them and other items to the beach. Your and other guests feedback is taken seriously and I do take appropriate action to make future guests' experiences pleasant. I hope your family will return for another visit.
business
Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR In Town!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121350
301 775-6004
Rehoboth Beach Delaware
n/a
5

Spectacular

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
After countless hours of me looking for a vacation house near the beach and roomy for me and my friends, finding 309 was equivalent to the sight of a new born baby. I loved my time there with plenty of room inside for fourteen people but also the outside. The patio and back yard were extravagant to say the least and to put the cherry on top of everything the provided outdoor shower in the back made it possible to enjoy every minute outside that was possible. I plan on returning soon!
business
Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR In Town!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121350
301 775-6004
Rehoboth Beach Delaware
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were very disappointed to walk into a house that was dirty and not maintained to the level we expected. It was far from being in move in condition. We discovered the following: a refrigerator filled with old food and with spills and sticky messes on shelves; kitchen appliances covered with grease; dingy and stained mattress pads and pillows; bath tub mats black with mildew; throw pillows with crusty spills on them and a patio that hadn't been swept in weeks.

After several phone calls to the owner, she sent someone over with new bedding and the next day the cleaning service returned to address other cleanliness issues. While grateful for the response, we spent hours on the phone dealing with this, as well as cleaning out the refrigerator shelf by shelf so that we could unpack our groceries on Sat. This was not a fun start to our vacation.

Once we had clean beds to sleep in and a clean kitchen to cook/eat in, we enjoyed the lay out of the house and its proximity to the beach and to town. We loved walking into town every night for an ice cream or frozen custard.

Other maintenance issues we reported to the owner were the broken and rusty beach chairs (left as a courtesy?) and the shortage of coffee mugs. There were only about half a dozen in a house that can hold 12 people.

We have rented beach houses in a variety of places many times throughout the years and this is the first time we have ever posted a negative review. We would definitely not recommend this property.
Owner's Response: I expect my guests to be welcomed by a clean house, but your reaction was unprecedented. I did everything possible to address your grievances and it did not require “several calls” to fix them. I provided a myriad of solutions immediately. The “several calls” you mentioned were because you continued to dissect the house for every possible criticism and call me back to report them.

The previous guests were shocked that you complained about the cleanliness of the refrigerator and their leaving a handful of non-perishable condiments in it -- as is allowed and not an uncommon practice. It is unfortunate that a previous guest left a soiled mattress pad. It is unfortunate that there were spills on some throw pillows. I am clear that laundering bedding is the responsibility of guests and if any become soiled to be courteous to the next guests and do so. This is a standard clause of all the realtors in town. Sometimes accidents happen, which is why I leave extra clean mattress pads and an excessive number of pillows in the house. None were acceptable to you and you refused to use them. Although I felt it unwarranted, I paid to have new bedding and pillows delivered. Bath mats and shower liners that get wet daily are bound to show some signs of mildew over the course of the summer. I say in my check-in note that there are replacements for them in the linen closet.

My cleaning service took issue with your description of the kitchen as filthy. I have used them for more than 7 years and have never had a complaint. But to satisfy you, I paid to have them return the next day and do whatever you wanted done. After the second cleaning, my service called me to ensure that I should not expect them on turnover day to clean the inside of ovens, move beds, vacuum dresser drawers, or remove drawers and shelves from refrigerators.

I know the condition of my home and that the stocking of the kitchen (I counted 22 mugs after you checked out), the amount and types of bedding, games, and entertainment options I provide is exceptional. I have rented this house for 13 years and your review stands alone. I have never received any complaints remotely like yours and I'm glad to say that all of my renters have expressed great appreciation for the house and its amenities and many of them have been repeat guests. I’m sorry that despite doing all I could, you remained dissatisfied.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR In Town!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121350
301 775-6004
Rehoboth Beach Delaware
5

Wonderful and Spacious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The layout of the house is well-designed for 12 people not to be on top of each other. Had 4 kids under 5, 8 adults, and a dog. We found everything we needed and enjoyed the Nintendo and some of the board games. We really enjoyed the patio and grill, and the back shower was great when coming off the beach. The location of the house is a little far from the beach for young kids to walk, but we made it work with drop-offs and pick-ups. Would consider renting again for a group of this size. Karen was very helpful in answering all of our questions through the entire process. My only recommendation is to get a beach cart for tenant use.
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. I really appreciate the feedback on how to make things better. You are not alone in your suggestion of a cart to haul things to the beach. I am shopping for one and hope to have it available for the 2014 season. I hope you'll return to use it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR In Town!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121350
301 775-6004
Rehoboth Beach Delaware
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had 4 kids (2 toddlers) and 8 adults. This house was wonderful and spacious even for us. The layout of the house was great. The fenced in yard was great as the kids could play outside. The kitchen table was big enough for us to eat together - we squeezed a few extra chairs in. There is a wonderful park just a block away that the kids loved. The walk to the beach was nice - we did rent a wagon for our load of toys and beach supplies. It was really nice that Hickman is toward the end of the boardwalk as it was a bit quieter there. Also, if you need to drive to the beach, one block down you can use the parking pass. There are many shops and bars within walking distance and wonderful grocery store that had amazing pastries for breakfast. This place was definitely a hidden oasis. We will definitely rent this place again in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1

Map

Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Cape May-Lewes Ferry
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 1 at 1A or 1B
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
beach
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Finn Bar & Dog Fish Head & Many Others
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Any on the main avenue
Car: not necessary

Beach—best in Delaware! It is lifeguard-protected w/ chair/umbrella concession. Public restrooms on boardwalk. --------- Boardwalk—enjoy old-fashioned family arcades & mini-golf. --------- Biking—bring your own or rent from nearby shops. --------- Restaurants/Bars — there's something for everyone. --------- Shopping—Tax-free! Shop the boutiques & novelty stores in-town or visit the large collection of discount outlets on Route 1. --------- Golf—short drive to many high-quality courses. --------- Kayaking/sailing/wind surfing/jet skis—available on Rehoboth Bay. --------- Fishing—Ocean charters close by or fish modestly off the bridges over Silver Lake or Lake Gerar. --------- Return home from any of these busy activities and enjoy the soothing privacy of the house! This could be the best part of your vacation!

Photos

Availability & Rates

Rehoboth Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Spring Retreat
Mar 1 2014 - May 16 2014
$2,450
3 nights
 
Notes: 3 night min. inquire for rate. $125 cleaning fee for stays less than 4 n    
 
Summer Warmup
May 17 2014 - Jun 27 2014
$2,900
3 nights
 
 
Summer Peak
Jun 28 2014 - Sep 13 2014
$3,400
7 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 3.0%

Notes

  • $1,800-$3,400 week
  • **********
    Multi-week rentals receive a discount. Call for details.

    Weekly rentals are Saturday-to-Saturday

    -50% rental deposit due at booking
    -Balance due 30 days prior to occupancy
    -All reservations require a $500 refundable damage / key deposit, which is due 30 days prior to occupancy
    -Pet Rentals require an additional $250 non-refundable cleaning charge
    -Taxes are not included in quoted price above (Taxes are 3% of the total rental rate)

Amenities

Rehoboth Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Spa
  • Family
General:
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Bath
    Middle Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Middle Bath
    Back Bath - toilet , shower , Back Bath
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • water parks
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • pier fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • surfing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
3 queens, 2 fulls, 2 twins ---------- 2 off-street parking spaces ---------- 1 on-street parking pass at start of season ---------- House is all on one level, which is ideal for guests who prefer not to climb stairs or those who use walkers, canes, or wheelchairs.