Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR in Town!!!

Karen Howland

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Karen Howland

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR in Town!!!

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Rehoboth Beach House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 12, 5 BR, 3 BA in South Rehoboth

Come as you are!

This renovated property sleeps 12 with 5 bedrooms + 3 full baths - all on one level - in South Rehoboth.

The prime location makes it unbeatable for its price point. Park the car in the driveway and walk to everything. Only 3+1/2 blocks to the beach/boardwalk, 1 block to Silver Lake & playground, 3 blocks to Rehoboth Avenue's restaurants, bars, and shops.

Our sister property is 'The Cottage' at 510 New Castle ( It sleeps 8.


If you prefer to stay in, the house is perfect for entertaining with its open, easy floor plan that flows out to the patio area, protected by a privacy fence. Cook in the large kitchen or grill out on the patio.

DR is open to the LR + kitchen. Table seats 8 comfortably - 12 if you are a close group.

Entertainment options abound with Cable TV/BluRay/DVD, WiFi, plenty of books and board games, even classic Nintendo.

Outside: Off-street parking for 2 - 3 cars; outdoor shower, large private patio in front; smaller patio in back.

Pet Friendly: Housebroken, flea-controlled pets are welcome. There is an additional, non-refundable cleaning charge for all pet rentals.


-Stays less than 3 nights = $125 cleaning fee

-50% rental deposit due at booking

-Balance due 30 days prior to occupancy

-$500 refundable damage deposit required

-Pet Rentals = $250 non-refundable cleaning charge

-Taxes are not included


Our sister property is 'The Cottage' at 510 New Castle ( It sleeps 8.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Karen Howland (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015

About Karen Howland

We have owned our beloved beach house for more than 15 years and have been Rehoboth Beach goers all our lives. Our goal has been to equip it and care for it as if we lived in it full-time. Keeping it maintained and comfortably furnished is important. We want our guests to feel at home.

The Hidden Oasis's sister property is the Cottage at 510 New Castle (

Why Karen Howland chose Rehoboth Beach

We bought this property after many years of renting others in Rehoboth. Having stayed in many parts of Rehoboth, we particularly liked South Rehoboth. It has trees, but is not overly shady. It doesn't get any more convenient in terms of walking to all the amenities. And it hasn't been over built with McMansions that attract large noisy party groups. It is ideal for a nice relaxed beach visit.

The Hidden Oasis's sister property is the Cottage at 510 New Castle (

What makes this house unique

Our house has some unique benefits that make it desirable over others. First, we are pretty much the only property that has been allowed to have a six foot privacy fence facing the frontage. Dinners and drinks on the patio do not endure the scrutiny of those strolling the neighborhood. Second - I believe we are also pretty much the only house that is all one level and does not require any steps to enter the property. Although not a main concern when we purchased the house, it has been a blessing as we and our family members have aged.

The Hidden Oasis's sister property is the Cottage at 510 New Castle (

Guestbook comments from the owner

I is so nice to be able to park the car and walk or bike to everything!
Mar 2005
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 37 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Hidden Oasis - Best Value for 5 BR in Town!!!
average rating of 4.7297297 based on 38 reviews

Great layout and location

  • 5 of 5

We traveled to Rehoboth Beach with our 3 dogs and 2 other couples, one having a 3 year old. This rental house was perfect for us! It really gave each couple their own private space. My in-laws had the master bedroom and bath in the front of the house, and my sister- and brother-in-law had bedrooms 2 and 3 on the side of the house. These 2 bedrooms share a hall bath, but it is set off from the living room, between the 2 bedrooms so it was like their own wing. We took the back 2 bedrooms, also with our own bath between the 2 bedrooms. These bedrooms both had doors that led out to the fenced yard which was perfect for letting out our dogs early in the morning without waking up everyone else. The yard was not huge, but had a nice patio area in front and some grass in back - and all fenced so it was great with the dogs.

The kitchen was big, updated and well stocked: seasonings if you want to cook, some foil and baggies to store things, etc. It opened to a large dining table and the living room so an easy space for all of us to hang out in.

The location was residential in an adorable neighborhood. There was a great playground/park only a few minute walk away and we could not get the 3 year old to leave it! Also a nice green space to walk our dogs with trash cans for easy clean up. Definitely a walkable distance to town and the boardwalk - about 10 minutes to each, but very helpful when parking is crazy!

Overall, a great place. The owner was easy to work with and willing to answer any questions. It is not easy to find somewhere that will let you bring your dogs, and we were thrilled to have them with us in such a great place. Our security deposit was returned within a few days of returning home - faster than other places we have rented. We would definitely return to Rehoboth Beach and this home away from home!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

The perfect place

  • 5 of 5

This place was perfect! We loves the neighborhood feel that was so close to the beach and boardwalk. We had 4 kids and the playground that was 2 blocks away was a perfect evening event. They had turtles and geese that they could feed too. So fun and such a great place and location.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Glenn Dale, MD

A great summer vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our annual trip to Rehoboth was made even better because we found the perfect place to stay at the "Hidden Oasis"! We arrived with our four children, two nephews, and our pug in tow, to find the home in immaculate condition.

There was more than enough room for all of us and the layout of the home was perfect for the teenagers who loved having their own space. Everything is on one floor making unpacking a full minivan and an SUV full of luggage, a real breeze!

The fenced in yard area is very private yet open enough to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning without feeling on display to the neighbors or to share lunch out in the sunshine. We were lucky to have such great weather so we loved being able to take advantage of that.

Karen was great to work with from beginning to end and provided more than enough information to help us get settled in, allowing us to enjoy a home away from home for a week.

On a few occasions we walked to the beach, which was a walk completely manageable for adults and teens but may be a bit much for little ones. Nevertheless, we loved having that option in order to avoid Rehoboth parking.

I would definitely recommend "Hidden Oasis" to friends and family! It is a beautiful home in a wonderful neighborhood and has everything you need to enjoy a week at Rehoboth. The owner was great and made sure we knew she was available if we needed anything. The home was so clean and welcoming when we arrived.

It's our fourth year at Rehoboth and once again we had a fabulous time, made possible this year by our perfect stay at "Hidden Oasis"!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Fabulous house, wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

It's taken me far too long to write this review -- in part because of my extremely busy life, with four teenagers, three dogs, a boyfriend to manage and a business to run. ALL of which fit comfortably into this fabulous home away from home in Rehoboth Beach (two out of the three dogs, at least. I left the puppy at the kennel for his own vacation.) This house was PERFECT for my end-of-the-summer vacation at the Delaware Shore. In previous years, we have stayed in Bethany Beach at Sea Colony, because of the comprehensive nature of the property. This past summer, however, my kids wanted a different experience -- one that offered more choice and opportunity to do what they wanted to do on their own, rather than just going to beach or hanging out in a condo. This house offered plenty of space for everyone -- all of my kids had a bedroom that suited them, including my teenaged son, who retreated into the bedroom in the back off the kitchen and made it his "man-cave." The set up of the house was perfect -- all on one floor, with a great kitchen (fully stocked with everything we needed) and dining room and living space. The walk to the beach was a little longer than the kids wanted but I was perfectly happy with my daily walk to and from the beach, and we walked to dinner (and for ice cream) in town most nights. My dogs LOVED the local beach where they could run and play every morning, and the gated yard at the house was an fantastic added bonus. My dogs were able to hang out in the yard, drying in the sunshine every day, after their "shower." The owner was fantastic to deal with -- very accommodating to our calls and requests. Shortly after we arrived, we encountered issues with the internet and network in the house -- a major issue with FOUR teenagers who need to be connected constantly and the need for me to keep tabs on my business. The owner was immediately responsive, even offering to order and have delivered a new router. Thankfully, one of my kids was able to reboot the network and get us up and running. The only other issue we encountered was that the previous tenants had not put the trash and recycling out at the required time, leaving a pile of trash in the trash area that was smelly, blocked access to the beach chairs, and became our chore to deal with. I also recommended that the owner invest in new beach chairs for this season -- the existing one were looking a little worn. This was a perfect house for my family. I hope to visit again.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the positive review. I always appreciate feedback no matter how long since your visit. As you've indicated, I do try to be responsive and take care of issues that might affect the enjoyment of my guests' stay. I'm glad you were able to reboot the internet. I exert significant effort in the off-season to prepare the house for the next season and always check to make sure the house and its amenities are in good order before my guests arrive. Inevitably, things do happen over the course of the summer. Beach chairs definitely take a beating in the salt air. Although I cannot guarantee the condition of beach items I leave out for guests use, I have added new beach chairs for the upcoming season as well as a beach cart to transport them and other items to the beach. Your and other guests feedback is taken seriously and I do take appropriate action to make future guests' experiences pleasant. I hope your family will return for another visit.


  • 5 of 5

After countless hours of me looking for a vacation house near the beach and roomy for me and my friends, finding 309 was equivalent to the sight of a new born baby. I loved my time there with plenty of room inside for fourteen people but also the outside. The patio and back yard were extravagant to say the least and to put the cherry on top of everything the provided outdoor shower in the back made it possible to enjoy every minute outside that was possible. I plan on returning soon!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway


  • 1 of 5

We were very disappointed to walk into a house that was dirty and not maintained to the level we expected. It was far from being in move in condition. We discovered the following: a refrigerator filled with old food and with spills and sticky messes on shelves; kitchen appliances covered with grease; dingy and stained mattress pads and pillows; bath tub mats black with mildew; throw pillows with crusty spills on them and a patio that hadn't been swept in weeks.

After several phone calls to the owner, she sent someone over with new bedding and the next day the cleaning service returned to address other cleanliness issues. While grateful for the response, we spent hours on the phone dealing with this, as well as cleaning out the refrigerator shelf by shelf so that we could unpack our groceries on Sat. This was not a fun start to our vacation.

Once we had clean beds to sleep in and a clean kitchen to cook/eat in, we enjoyed the lay out of the house and its proximity to the beach and to town. We loved walking into town every night for an ice cream or frozen custard.

Other maintenance issues we reported to the owner were the broken and rusty beach chairs (left as a courtesy?) and the shortage of coffee mugs. There were only about half a dozen in a house that can hold 12 people.

We have rented beach houses in a variety of places many times throughout the years and this is the first time we have ever posted a negative review. We would definitely not recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I expect my guests to be welcomed by a clean house, but your reaction was unprecedented. I did everything possible to address your grievances and it did not require “several calls” to fix them. I provided a myriad of solutions immediately. The “several calls” you mentioned were because you continued to dissect the house for every possible criticism and call me back to report them. The previous guests were shocked that you complained about the cleanliness of the refrigerator and their leaving a handful of non-perishable condiments in it -- as is allowed and not an uncommon practice. It is unfortunate that a previous guest left a soiled mattress pad. It is unfortunate that there were spills on some throw pillows. I am clear that laundering bedding is the responsibility of guests and if any become soiled to be courteous to the next guests and do so. This is a standard clause of all the realtors in town. Sometimes accidents happen, which is why I leave extra clean mattress pads and an excessive number of pillows in the house. None were acceptable to you and you refused to use them. Although I felt it unwarranted, I paid to have new bedding and pillows delivered. Bath mats and shower liners that get wet daily are bound to show some signs of mildew over the course of the summer. I say in my check-in note that there are replacements for them in the linen closet. My cleaning service took issue with your description of the kitchen as filthy. I have used them for more than 7 years and have never had a complaint. But to satisfy you, I paid to have them return the next day and do whatever you wanted done. After the second cleaning, my service called me to ensure that I should not expect them on turnover day to clean the inside of ovens, move beds, vacuum dresser drawers, or remove drawers and shelves from refrigerators. I know the condition of my home and that the stocking of the kitchen (I counted 22 mugs after you checked out), the amount and types of bedding, games, and entertainment options I provide is exceptional. I have rented this house for 13 years and your review stands alone. I have never received any complaints remotely like yours and I'm glad to say that all of my renters have expressed great appreciation for the house and its amenities and many of them have been repeat guests. I’m sorry that despite doing all I could, you remained dissatisfied.


Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Dog Fish Head & Many Others
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Cape May-Lewes Ferry
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 1 at 1A or 1B
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Any on the main avenue
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Car: not necessary

* Beach—best in Delaware! It is lifeguard-protected with chair/umbrella concession.

* Boardwalk—enjoy old-fashioned family arcades & mini-golf.

* Restaurants & Bars — there's something for everyone.

* Biking—bring your own or rent from nearby shops.

* Shopping—Tax-free! Shop the boutiques & novelty stores in-town or visit the large collection of discount outlets on Route 1.

* Golf—short drive to many high-quality courses.

* Kayaking/sailing/wind surfing/jet skis—available on Rehoboth Bay.

* Fishing—Ocean charters close by or fish modestly off the bridges over Silver Lake or Lake Gerar.

* Return home from any of these busy activities and enjoy the soothing privacy of the house! This could be the best part of your vacation!


Rates & Availability

From $400 Per night

Rehoboth Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Shoulder Season 4
Apr 8 2015 - May 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
Summer Warm-up
May 22 2015 - Jun 27 2015
4 night minimum stay
Summer Peak 2015
Jun 28 2015 - Sep 12 2015
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $250
Tax Rate 3.0%
Notes -Stays < 3 nights = $125 cleaning
-50% deposit at booking
-Balance 30 days out
-$500 refundable damage deposit
-Pet Rentals = $250 cleaning charge
-Taxes are not included
Personal Check or Cashier's Check
Enter dates to see total


Rehoboth Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Bath
    Middle Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Middle Bath
    Back Bath - toilet , shower , Back Bath
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • 10 garden chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
* 3 queens, 2 fulls, 2 twins * 2-3 off-street parking spaces * 1 on-street parking pass during high season * House is all on one level, which is ideal for guests who prefer not to climb stairs or those who use walkers, canes, or wheelchairs.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote