THE HIBISCUS BEACH HOUSE AT LEWIS BAY

Robert Goodwin

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number

Robert Goodwin

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE HIBISCUS BEACH HOUSE AT LEWIS BAY

West Yarmouth House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath Sleeps 5

PLEASE NOTE: Our minimum nightly rate is $110 Per Night and we only rent nightly in the Off season. If you have any difficulty please email and we will clarify. Thank you.

Park your car in the sparkling white clam shell driveway at the Hibiscus Beach House and you're done. Everything else you need is here. While the folks back home swelter in the summer heat, you take a leisurely stroll to Colonial Acres Beach. You sip chilled lemonade and feel the cool sand between your toes while you relax in a beach chair. Seagulls and sailboats delight in the gentle breezes as they zigzag the harbor. Your children splash and play in Lewis Bay, taking a break only when Dad asks them to help him catch minnows and fish in the channel. You feel all your cares float away as you enjoy some summer reading or just sit and relax. Later, you return to the cottage and take an exhilarating outdoor shower. You satisfy your appetite, that has been peaked by the salt air, by enjoying a sumptuous backyard barbecue. The Hibiscus Beach House is a short walking distance to several fine casual restaurants which offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy your Cape Cod

Experience!

Nearby Attractions (Most within 3 mile radius): Arcade center, Bowling, Billiards, Boat trips, bicycle rentals, Comedy Club, Church, Dinner train, Cape Cod Mall,

Fine Arts Museum, Melody tent, Cranberry Bogs, Clambakes (to go), Coffee houses, Duck mobile tours, Fishing, Flea

market, Golf, Go-Karts, Gift shops, Gold's gym, Ice cream shops, John F. Kennedy Museum & Memorial, Kayak rentals, Library, Liquor stores, Main street Hyannis, Movie theatres, Motorcycle rentals, Nightclubs, Outlet shopping, Restaurants,

Racquetball, Road races, Sailing, Tennis, Trampolines, Triathlons, Walking trails, Whale watching, Windsurfing, Zooquarium.

Other Attractions: Boston is 1 1/2 hours away.

Plimoth Plantation and The National Seashore are about a 1 hour drive..

Nauset Lighthouse, Nobska Light, Chatham Lighthouse,

Cape Cod Light, Race Point light are all within 1-2 hours driving distance.

At the house you will find brochures, a map for your use, printed directions to the supermarkets and the beaches.

Other details:

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the owner
(Review left by a guest on an alternative site)

This was such a wonderful cottage, everything you could think of, or perhaps forgot, was already there. There were four of us. It fit us with no problem. Including our dog. It felt like a home, so cutely decorated. The beach was beautiful, and such a great walk. Bob and jean have compiled so much information, so if you have never been to the Cape, you'll feel like you have a better idea of where to go. We loved our visit and can't wait to return.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 6

Robert Goodwin

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Hibiscus Beach House at Lewis Bay
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
business
The Hibiscus Beach House at Lewis Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121033
508 778-4557
West Yarmouth Yarmouth
5

FALL GET AWAY AT HIBISCUS BEACH

  • 5 of 5
This charming home is perfect for a fall get away. October is an excellent time to visit the Cape and we had perfect weather. Hibiscus Beach House is a short walk from the beach, where our dog exhausted himself retrieving his tennis ball from the water. Dogs are allowed on most beaches on the Cape after Labor Day. At the other end of the street is a cranberry bog and we bought plenty of FRESH berries back for the holidays. There is an excellent fish store just a short drive away and with a grill in the backyard we made some excellent meals. There are also wonderful restaurants in the area especially 4 Seasons, a new one. The backyard at Hibiscus Beach home is very comfortable and you can enjoy all the birds at the feeder. We even saw a red bellied woodpecker there one morning. Our favorite beaches were Nauset in Orleans, Coastal Island in Wellsfleet and Race Point up in P'town. We saw a large group of seals very near the shore at Race Point. P'town is very dog friendly and has many great restaurants as well. Hibiscus House is centrally located so it was easy to head out for the day and visit many places.

Although we never met Jean, Bob is great and very helpful with all the info provided at the house, dog beaches, restaurants, bikes, whale watching. Something for everyone here. If you've never visited the Cape in the fall you might want to give it a try, no crowds either.

We definitely recommend Hibiscus House and look forward to returning next October.
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mary. We appreciate the feedback
from our guests point of view. Thank you for the
compliment-sorry you did not get to meet Jean-
she is responsible for most of the charm.
The cranberry harvest is always in October, and
this is the first year that we have seen them
being sold retail out front to the public.
It fascinating to watch the harvest, but even
better when you get to take some home.
We would love to have you stay with us again.

Bob and Jean
business
The Hibiscus Beach House at Lewis Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121033
508 778-4557
West Yarmouth Yarmouth
Brookline, Massachusetts
3

OK, BUT THE OWNER IS VERY NIT-PICKY

  • 3 of 5
The place is pretty good overall. Beds are comfortable, there is cable TV, Internet, air conditioners and washer/dryer, which are all big pluses. The bathroom needs towel hooks. Owners provide a lot of games, books and they even have a website with directions to nearby attractions. But the house was a bit dusty when we arrived and there were not enough cleaning supplies to leave it in the same "perfect condition" that the owner expects. Bring your own floor mop, vacuum cleaner and cleaning supplies, because the owner will charge you extra cleaning fee for the spills on the kitchen floor.

Here is an example of the things that the owner picked on in the end and charged us extra clelaning fee:
- dirty dishes left in the sink (I left one dish, because we were rushed out)
- spills over most of the stove area. I remember wiping the stove...
- failure to wipe up spills on the kitchen floors (there was no mop in the house)
- chewed gum left on the table and nightstand
- the dryer lint filter was full
- the grille was not cleaned after final use
- a wine glass was broken and spilled wine was left on the floor. Again, there was no mop, but I cleaned the floor as much as I could with paper towels.
- the dresser door had to be repaired (that door must have already been broken, because the dresser was really old).
- burnt teapot. The teapot had a broken whistle, so my husband didn't hear it.

Alltogether the "damage" came to over 100 dollars.

Last year we rented from a different guy, who didn't have cable TV and washer/dryer, but he was very nice and didn't charge us any money for the broken table lamp, not to mention the small nit-picky stuff like chewing gum.
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely appreciate our valued guests. Regrettably, we had to keep part of the security deposit in this case. This is the first time in 11 years. - Bob and Jean
business
The Hibiscus Beach House at Lewis Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121033
508 778-4557
West Yarmouth Yarmouth
Ocean, NJ
5

GREAT VACATION RENTAL

  • 5 of 5
My family was very pleased with Hibiscus House. The owners, Bill and Jean, live nearby and are friendly, informative and prompt in responding to questions. The property is well maintained, very clean and nicely decorated (with a nautical flair of course). Bring your own bed linens and towels but just about everthing else you may need is there including toilet paper, a roll of paper towels, a fresh dish sponge, Dawn dish soap, laundry detergent and Softsoap in the bathroom. The kitchen had all the dishes, cookware and utensils we needed and the refrigerator was pristine. The bathroom was also very clean - there is a tub with shower but we only used the delightful outdoor shower. One funny thing about the bathroom is that the toilet is very close to the tub making it a challenge for longer legged people to sit down but we all managed just fine. The yard is relaxing with an outdoor table and plenty of seating, a hammock and a vegetable/flower garden. The basement access (with washer/dryer) is only from the yard and has storage space for bikes if needed. There are also some outdoor games stored down there.
It is in a very good mid Cape location - a short walk up the street to the quiet bay beach and within biking distance to the Nantucket ferry, tennis courts and Sea Gull Beach. Plenty of restaurants, shopping and minigolf/arcades within a few miles and some within walking distance. There are binders with local attraction and restaurant info in a kitchen cabinet. We had excellent weather but on the one rainy day there were plenty of movies, games and magazines at the house to keep us busy as well as good wireless internet service.There does not seem to be a landline phone anymore but with cell phones none is needed.

If we return to the Cape we would not hesitate to stay here unless we had too large a group.
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind remarks. You were very considerate
guests, as everything was in good order and we would love to have you
return any time your schedule permits.
For far away travelers and guests traveling by air, we do make
professionally laundered linens available for an additional fee.
Visit our web site at: www.CapeCodFunAndSun.com
or follow the link to the owners website at the bottom of our Homeaway
listing, where you will locate our fun page with links to many of the
more popular activities, and also a link called "Cape Cod Rainy
Day Guide-what to do on Cape Cod when it isn't a beach day."
Thank you for visiting Cape Cod - Bob and Jean
business
The Hibiscus Beach House at Lewis Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121033
508 778-4557
West Yarmouth Yarmouth
Scotland, UK
5

FABULOUS HOLIDAY AT THE CAPE

  • 5 of 5
My partner and I are just back from Cape Cod and I have to say it was just perfect! The cottage was as described - it was a real home from home - we would recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to visit New England. The location is excellent for exploring the area and it has lots of facilities nearby eg restaurants, food stores and a handy liquer store for that all important bottle of wine! When there we also travelled to NYC by local bus (Hyannis) ok, it was quite long..but the bus was really comfortable and took us to the center of New York in around 6hrs. We spent 2 days there and had a fantastic time!! Well worth the journey.
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Hibiscus Beach House at Lewis Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121033
508 778-4557
West Yarmouth Yarmouth
Syracuse NY
5

A HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5
The Hibiscus Beach House was like a home away from home. The cottage was exactly as advertised in the photos displayed on the website. When we walked in it was just like coming home. The property was clean and very homey. The owner was there to greet us and show us anything we needed to know that was not included in the property description. We would definately recommend this to a friend. It was better than a motel room because you had a separate living room to relax in with comfortable furniture. Your bed was not also you relaxing sofa or chair because these were separate areas, unlike a motel room. We had planned on cooking some meals in, and everything was there to make that doable, but with the schedule we put ourselves on we ate all evening meals out. We did eat breakfast in on the days when we were not out of the house early for site seeing. We will definately choose the Hibiscus house on our next visit to the Cape because of its central location to everything on the Cape.
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Hibiscus Beach House at Lewis Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121033
508 778-4557
West Yarmouth Yarmouth
Fort Collins, CO
5

NURTURING ATMOSPHERE

  • 5 of 5
The Hibiscus Beach House is such a comfortable, lovely home its like the nurturing atmosphere associated with Grandma's house. The location is prime for enjoying various activities all within driving distance. The house is very clean and well maintained, complete with any household item you could possibly think of. Bob and Jean are honest, delightful people who really care about their renters. We have rented the house twice so far and will hopefully be renting it a third time this year!
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Barnstable Municipal Airport
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Hyline, click link below for info
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Cape Cod Rail Train, click link below for info
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Colonial Acres Beach
Car: recommended

We are located in the Mid-Cape, 24 miles from the bridges to the west, and 70 miles from Provincetown to the east. We are near 8 Yarmouth beaches including the main beach - Seagull 2.7 miles away. Colonial Acres Beach near us is 900 feet long and is on the protected waters of Lewis Bay/ Hyannis harbor. The advantage

of the Mid-Cape is that all parts of the Cape are just a day trip away.

Other Activities: Miniature Golf, Craft Shopping, Horseback Riding, Whale Watching, Seal Watch, Historic Kennedy Museum, Plimoth Plantation) Hidden Beaches of Cape Cod Information at House.

Road Races, Oyster Festival, Provincetown Carnival Week, Fireworks, Chowdah Festival, Melody Tent Music, Petting Zoo,

Cape Cod Potato Chips Tour, Dancing, Billiards, Bowling, Amusement Park, Duck Tours, Go Karts, Raquetball, Wellfleet Drive in Theater, Motorcycle Rentals, Bike Rental & Trails, more.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

West Yarmouth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Summer
Jul 5 2014 - Aug 22 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,175
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 23 2014 - Aug 29 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,100
 
 
Sept wks 1 2 & 3
Aug 30 2014 - Sep 19 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$975
 
 
Late Fall
Sep 20 2014 - Oct 18 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$675
 
 
To end of Year
Oct 19 2014 - Jan 3 2015
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$135
Fri,Sat
$675
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes $675-$1175/week Checks Preferred & Online Payments Available
Rentals are Saturday to Saturday-except in the off season. Check in time is at 3P.M. Check out time is at 11 A.M.
Linens are available for far away travelers at an additional $35. Trash pickup is on Wednesday and Saturday. A $100
to $200 (depending on season) refundable security deposit is required. Above rents include all taxes-no
Email Owner Email

Amenities

West Yarmouth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Parking Off Street
  • Broadband Access
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Toilet Paper
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Heating
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Local Activities Guide
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Ice Maker
  • Pantry Items
  • Blender
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The house also has an (enclosed) Outdoor Shower with hot/cold water, which guests enjoy using after going to the beach, or just to enjoy a shower in the Summer air.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master - 1 queen
    Guest - 3 twin/ single , 1 twin 1 bunk beds
  • Futon in living room opens into a double Second bedroom has 3 twins (which is 1 twin and 1 bunkbeds)
Entertainment:
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Video Library
  • Books for Adults
  • Games for Kids
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
  • CD Player
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Large Cooler
  • Small Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Barbecue
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Binoculars
  • Raft
  • Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
Attractions:
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
  • botanical garden
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • whale watching
  • sight seeing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • golf privileges optional
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • pier fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
1 queen, 1 twin, 2 bunk bed twins, 1 sleep futon. Pack and Play Crib, 2 TV's, 2 VCR's & Dvd Players. CD & Stereo, Electric Fans, Outdoor shower w/Hot &Cold, hammock; patio table; kids picnic bench, lawn furniture; beach chairs; beach coolers; Li'l Red Wagon; spare BBQ tank with gas; Blender; Coffee Grinder, Coffee maker, iron & ironing board; portable radio; Trash Bags, Trash Bin, Dish Towels.
Email Owner Email