PRIVATE SHOREFRONT HOME W/2KAYAKS,BEACH PASS,RELAX,SWIM,FISH, BOATING W/MOORING

From
$2,450
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

William & Diana Welch

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PRIVATE SHOREFRONT HOME W/2KAYAKS,BEACH PASS,RELAX,SWIM,FISH, BOATING W/MOORING

Charlestown House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-9)

This is a Unique WATERFRONT New England Home :FREE WIFI internet, 47 inch flat screen high def TV & Blue Ray DVD Player,IPad or IPod stereo docking system, new leather sofa & love seat (2012) with Beautiful Views & Sunsets, Free Use of 2 Kayaks!!

Enjoy weekly Fireworks all summer long from the backyard the best display is on 4th of July week!

Charlestown Beach Pass included!

**Weekly sat. - sat.June to October**

**For Larger Groups see below**

By The Waters Edge....Just RELAX & ENJOY salty Ocean Breezes dramatic sunsets over the pond in this Spacious Air conditioned Three Bedroom, Comfortably Furnished House w/laundry room located on the Pristine Quonochontaug (Quonnie)Tidal Salt Pond in Charlestown.Spectacular Firework Displays can be seen all summer long from the house!

There is a Newer Ceramic Tiled Kitchen w/Breakfast Bar, Dishwasher & Dining Room.The Large Master Bedroom Offers a roomy King-size bed; the Two additional Bedrooms each have large Queen-size beds.

The Spacious Living Room offers BREATHTAKINGLY Dramatic Waterviews, Sunsets & MOONLIGHT on the Water,Big Screen High Def TV, two Sofas, one w/a full size pull-out bed, for those Unexpected Overnight Guests.There is a twin sized roll away.

The lg.level Grassy yard & Patio Area has Plenty of Room for Cook-Outs, Sunbathing or Games.Kite flying is fun activity. The yard is equipped with an umbrella, table & chairs, bench,gas & charcoal grills.

SWIM,SKI,CLAM,FISH,KAYAK,BOAT OR JUST RELAX & SOAK in the natural beauty that surrounds you. This is a Fantastic boating & watersports area.. Only 20 mins. to Block Island & many other places via your own boat..Also, there is a heated outdoor shower. Create your Memorable Moments here! The best variety of pristine sandy beaches & conservation areas anywhere!! Go for leisurely walks; read a book surrounded by serenity & beauty; listen to the waves lap against the shore or breathe in the fresh salt air.It's a jewel of area!! Enjoy Fireworks all summer long! ** Town (Blue Shutters) Beach Pass for 2 days Included for July & Aug weekly renters (owner will reimburse for beach sticker put on your windshield)!!**USE OF 2 KAYAKS & Boat MOORING! Don't forget to bring your camera, fishing gear, plenty of suntan lotion & beach chairs!

***Handicap Accessible,level, first floor, no stairs to climb ***

************************************************************************

Spend A ROMANTIC Weeks Get Away Here !! Dine on Succulent Lobster,Seafood or Steak by candle light. Stroll along the Seashore,listening to the Waves splash upon the shore.Enjoy the Romantic Moonlight dancing on the Water. Count the Shooting Stars, Making your All Wishes Come True!The dark skies create the best cosmic viewing anywhere! Relax & Enjoy a Quiet, Refreshing Breath away from it all! Curl up on the couch & watch a movie on the lg. Flat screen Hi-Def TV OR

Spice Your Life up with fun & excitement! Visit Block Is.,Newport, the 2 Casinos w/shopping malls, Pequot Indian museum, the Hard Rock Cafe @ Mohegan Sun. Treasure hunt at the beach,take a boat trip,shop,sail,swim,golf or hike.

Is it time for some quality Family time together? Enjoy playing & kayaking on a huge saltpond! Visit Scenic Block Island,Watch Hill,Wickford, Beavertail Lighthouse, Jamestown,Mystic Seaport Village & Aquarium, Nature Center & Zoo!!Go antiquing, shopping, sightseeing, to the theater or Star gaze at Frosty Drew Planetrium in Ninigret Park & Visit the Observatory. There's many hiking & biking trials & conservation areas. We have superb fresh & saltwater fishing.There's many country clubs for golfing,a shooting range (skeet & trap), bowling, tennis, gym. There's endless activities & events! There's plenty to see & do! Don't miss the Fun & for all ages!!

See Dramatically Colorful Fall Foliage, unique migrating birds during our Indian Summers with fewer crowds,warm days cooler nights. Swamp Yankee Festival,October Fest, Newport Boat Show,Winter Fest.Serenity & peace abounds as nature displays it's beauty. Enjoy country scenes,the wine trails & shops along the various rural routes in the area. Pick your own apples,pumpkins or go for a hay ride at nearby orchards. ******************************************************************************

CENTRALLY LOCATED,Two hours from Boston/New York City/Hartford/Springfield/Agawam/Plymouth Rock/Sturbridge Village:Cape Cod is nearby & Just 20 minutes to Most ATTRACTIONS & EVENTS: Watch Hill, Block Island & Long Island Ferries, MISQUAMICUT Beach & Rides, Mystic Seaport,& Aquarium, Abba's House of Prayer, Newport; Shops,Mansions, Dinner & Movie Theaters,Outlet Malls.Native American PowWows(Schemitzen),Foxwoods & Mohegan Sun Casinos w/shopping, entertainment for all!

Sightseeing,Fireworks, Nature Centers, Country Clubs,Spas,Dining,Antiques,Shopping,Tours, Flea Markets, LIVE Bands & dancing, Lighthouses,INDULGE Yourself In Spas & Massages, Museums, Fairs, Craft shows, Sailing,Boating,Surfing,

Sport Fishing Charters: 1/2 DAY & FULL Day: OFF SHORE Marlin,Shark, Tuna, etc.: So Much More!!A Hidden Paradise!

*******************

Note: Amenities DIFFER in off season rentals. Also, a security deposit is required. Call for details.

****** NOW YOU CAN HAVE IT ALL & BRING YOUR GUESTS******

For Larger Groups, Family Reunions,Corporate Getaways Consider renting the adjacent property #395655 It's right next door or VRBO Listing #482140 in Westerly!

You Can Have it All! **Make ALL Your Dreams Come True.**

************************************************************************

Interested in Shoreline,vacation, Properties,Buying,Investments,Land,Building Lots?

Visit Diane or Bill at Ocean Properties Real Estate located in Westerly, RI - you'll be pleased that you did!!

Keywords: Beaches Galore!,Waterfront on the Popular Quonnie Tidal Salt Pond- Air Conditioned one level ranch w/large level grassy backyard,ever changing expansive waterviews from your room WIFI, Big Screen HD-TV,Kayaks,Have Fun in the Sun Many Pristine Coastal, Barrier & Intercoastal Beaches, Beaches,Beaches Your Choice Kayak,Clam,Fish from the backyard!Lots of Activities,Fun & Fireworks

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed

William & Diana Welch

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2001
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We vacationed here for 10 yrs. before our dream came true of owning a place directly on the Quonnie Pond. We called it our giant aquarium when our daughter was young.WE love boating,clam bakes, beach combing,fishing & playing on/in the water. The scenic sunsets, moonlight& wide open sky are picturesque not to mention the ever changing water views are unsurpassed!The area boasts unique pristine beaches & water, activities,events,shopping,tall ships & just full of fun & variety.It's a great vacation spot in paradise!We just love it here!We encourage you to experience it,too!

Location,Location,Location! There isn't a better place to vacation than Quonochontaug! The water views & sunsets are gorgeous. Lot's to do, minutes to everything, a giant playground.

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

13 Reviews Write a Review
Private Shorefront home w/2kayaks,Beach Pass,Relax,Swim,Fish, Boating w/mooring
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 13 reviews
business
Private Shorefront home w/2kayaks,Beach Pass,Relax,Swim,Fish, Boating w/mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11446vb
(401) 322-2018 (Rhode Island, USA)
Charlestown Rhode Island Coastal
Warren, NH
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had the best stay here---return trip. There's so much to see & do. A highlight for me was sailing on the Adorondic sailboat out of Mystic. It was neat large square rigged sailboat that you cruise around the Mystic area
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Shorefront home w/2kayaks,Beach Pass,Relax,Swim,Fish, Boating w/mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11446vb
(401) 322-2018 (Rhode Island, USA)
Charlestown Rhode Island Coastal
Sussex, NY
5

Felt Like Home But With A Better View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family and I visited the area for a friends wedding and stayed at this home. We found it very homey and comfortable. The home was adequately supplied with everything we needed during our stay and were even able to stay in and cook dinner for my family. I missed the great view from the kitchen and living room after I got home and hope to visit the area again soon. I would recommend this home to stay at when visiting the area and I recently did to one of my friends vacationing to the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Shorefront home w/2kayaks,Beach Pass,Relax,Swim,Fish, Boating w/mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11446vb
(401) 322-2018 (Rhode Island, USA)
Charlestown Rhode Island Coastal
N. Branflord,Ct
5

Fun in the Sun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had a super time here! Great times- many special of guests & family. Enjoyed staying on the water, with breathtaking views of the water, boats, hearing the seagulls, smelling the wonderful salt air. Loved the fresh picked raspberries from the backyard. My husband & friend clammed & fished so we ate fresh grilled clams casino & fish---so delicious! We kayak-ed from our back yard! We lived in our bathing suits the whole time! There's nothing like it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Shorefront home w/2kayaks,Beach Pass,Relax,Swim,Fish, Boating w/mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11446vb
(401) 322-2018 (Rhode Island, USA)
Charlestown Rhode Island Coastal
Warren,New Hampshire
4

Loved our Stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
There is Nothing like the Quonnie, there's Nothing like the Quonnie, there's nothing like the Quonnie...I feel like Dorothy in Wizard of Oz. The water views are mezmerising you just can't take your eyes off of it.When the sun hits the water it looks like sparkling diamonds! I looooove the water!!! I wish I could live here! We kayaked in the cool of the morning, saw many unique water birds and picked up shells as well as enjoyed the scenery.
The house is nice and comfortable. There's plenty of room and is well furnished.The breakfast bar is handy and the beds are comfy.It's a summery home with tile in most rooms for easy clean up and anyone wearing beach clothes.The decor is nice. We loved the grassy backyard and the big open sky. It's like the pond is part of your yard.We grilled fresh fish & clams from pond to palette! Simply delectable and can't get any fresher than that!!
It is central to many activities( Flea Market), close to the stores, gas& food.We biked to nearby Ninegrit pond, Burlingame and nearby beaches.Our friends stayed down the street but seemed to be here with us more than their rental.
There are several restaurants & take out places to eat. Our big nite out was going to the casinos.A few of us even won money! It was fun!
We will be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Private Shorefront home w/2kayaks,Beach Pass,Relax,Swim,Fish, Boating w/mooring
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p11446vb
(401) 322-2018 (Rhode Island, USA)
Charlestown Rhode Island Coastal
Hamden, CT
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The description of the property in the listing is a little misleading.

One of the bedrooms that should have a queen mattress only has a double. The term 'spacious' is certainly a subjective one, but the bedroom with the double bed almost didn't have enough clearance to get around the end of the bed to the other side of the room.

The listing states that the cottage could accommodate up to 8 but there are only kitchen chairs for 5.

A lot of the appliances and furniture looks tired. The handle on the refrigerator is coming apart so it's kind of sticky. The towel holder in the bathroom fell off the wall (it wasn't screwed into anything) during our stay. The gas tank for the gas grill wasn't connected properly so when turning on the gas, you could hear and smell the gas hissing out around the tank. After screwing it back on properly and
lighting it, it blew out twice within 5 minutes so we had to abandon the barbecue and cook indoors.

Both of the kayaks clearly hadn't been flipped over in a while because when we turned them over, there were two different insect colonies that had infested the seat padding with insect larvae. We had to shake out all of the bugs that were crawling all over and use a combination of hot water and salt water to rinse the larvae out of all of the crevasses before using them.

The path to the pond from the cottage is mostly grass except for the last 30 or 40 feet where it's mushy tidal marsh. The amount of 'beach' is 10 feet long and between 3 and 10 feet wide depending on the tide. Not really enough room for more than 2 beach chairs (which will likely sink into the mud anyway).

Upon arrival, the remainder of our rental fee was due. The owner wasn't really interested in accepting credit card payment even though that is listed as a valid form of payment and when offered the
opportunity to take a personal check, she grudgingly accepted. It was an awkward way to start the stay.

The owners of the cottage live right next door which is either a plus or minus depending on your perspective.

The cottage was clean and the kitchen was equipped adequately. The water wasn't drinkable, but that was expected. Taking a shower was fine -- you were able to work up a good lather. The view of the pond is quite nice. There are no screens on any of the doors so if you want to have a nice breeze through the cottage, you need to be prepare to have some insect visitors.

Overall, we were disappointed with the accommodations and would not stay here again
Owner's Response: We take pride in our summer rental home and ensuring that our renters have an enjoyable stay is our priority. In this case, we believe that this group was dissatisfied because they did not wish to pay in advance for the rental property as per policy. Therefore, upon arrival they were asked to pay in cash before their stay began. They were also very disrespectful of the neighboring properties. This group of renters was composed of a mother with a large group of teenagers. They were shown through the house upon arrival and nothing was said about being unhappy with the accommodations.
The bedrooms do have one king and 2 queen beds. The sofa bed that pulls out is a full size as stated in the description. They are incorrect on this matter of the bed being a different size than stated. The kitchen is open and spacious and the master bedroom is large. The towel rack in the bathroom was forcefully pulled out of the wall.
The gas grill was tested and functional before arrival. We had actually replaced the lava rocks with new ones. If the hose was not connected properly no gas would come out of the tank due to the safety mechanism of the tanks. Sometimes it is not possible to grill outside with gas in very windy conditions and we recommend instead using the charcoal grill provided.
The kayaks were used a few days before by other renters and are stored in the garage when not in use. A hose with water is located nearby if needed and in this case would have made for a very easy cleanup. The water in the house is filtered drinkable well water. The kitchen table seats 6-8 people comfortably. And there is a breakfast bar which seats 2-3 people. There are also folding chairs in the closet and several other chairs that could be supplemented.
There are numerous screened windows in the house that could have been opened and an air conditioner all which keep the insects out. There is not a sandy beach located on the property and there is nothing stating that in the property description. This is a waterfront home on a tidal salt pond. There are many sandy beaches which are less than a mile from the house.
At checkout the mother stated that she enjoyed her stay and commented that it was not long enough.
Helpful votes: 6/8
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Westerly
Nearest Ferry
19 Miles
Pt. Judith to Block Island
Nearest Train
9 Miles
Westerly, RI
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
US RT 1/ I 95
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
State & Town
Nearest Barpub
Several Restaruants w/bars
Nearest Ski
Water ski in backyard! Snow Ski at Yago
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Several Golf courses & Driving Ranges
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Wilcox Tavern & Haversham
Car: recommended

46in.High Def Flat Screen Hi DEF TV, Record Weight Fish Caught On Premises!! Excellent Clamming & Boating from Backyard. Unique Shopping & Restaurants,Golf/Country Clubs, Tennis, Worship@Abba's House of Prayer, Antiques,Babcock-Smith House & other restored historical homes, Tall Ships, Sailing & cruise Boat Tours, Dinner Train, Newport Jazz Fest, Rhythm & Roots Music Fest, Seafood Fest, PowWows, Nature Centers & planeterium, Waterslides, Fireworks,Visit Block Island, Circus, Whale Watching, Beachcombing, Pequot Museum, Salt/ Freshwater Fishing & Tournaments, Skeet Shooting/Hunting, Unique Spectrum for Birdwatching of Rare & Migratory, CraftFairs,Auctions,Flea Market/Tag Sales, WalMart, NUMEROUS EVENTS & ACTIVITIES YEAR ROUND

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Charlestown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Summer
Jun 21 2014 - Sep 5 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
$2,450
7 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $126.00
Property Damage Protection $89.00
Refundable damage deposit $250.00
50% of Total rent to hold rental dates and a signed rental contract with copy of drivers license.
Balance due 30 days before rental date. If there in not 30 days before date the total is due.
We accept check, money order, or credit cards.
Notes We only rent weekly, sat. - sat. in the summer season - No exceptions!
Summer season check in sat. at 4:00PM - No exceptions!
Summer check out sat. at 10:30 AM - No exceptions!

E-mail for off-season rates!
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Charlestown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1306 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Budget
General:
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Heating
  • Living Room ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Wood Stove
  • Sofa Bed
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Hair Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Stove ...
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Freezer
  • Blender
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Grill
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower
  • 1 plus outdoor hot water shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , Pull Out Queen Sofa
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) Pull out sofa, Twin or Single Beds (1) rollaway
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player ...
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Games for Kids
  • Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Books
  • Toys ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Foosball
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • water parks
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • coin laundry
  • reefs
  • ruins
  • zoo
  • museums
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • gambling casinos
  • whale watching
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • miniature golf
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
  • boating
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • horseshoes
  • antiquing
  • shelling
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf privileges optional
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • water tubing
  • equestrian events
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • hunting
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • water skiing
  • sailing
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • rock climbing
  • jet skiing
  • tennis
  • parasailing
  • cross country skiing
  • hot air ballooning
  • surfing
  • mountain biking
  • wind-surfing
  • swimming
  • fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
Notes:
FREE WiFi/Hi speed internet & USE OF 2 KAYAKS!! July & Aug.weekly renters get a Free reimbursed 2 day, 1 car Town Beach Pass, Fully Equipped Kitchen w/cooking utensils, Microwave oven, Blender, Toaster, Cable TV w/VCR & DVD, Radio alarm clocks in Bedrooms The house is now air conditioned!,Great amenities! Outdoor hot water shower, Both GAS Grill, Patio, Large Level Grassy Yard- great for kids and activities, Picnic Table & Outdoor Bench, There is a BOAT MOORING(up to a 26 foot boat.There is plenty of room for your KAYAKS & WATER TOYS, Rafts, Inflatables Can Be Kept At Water's Edge. Note:Amenities differ in off season. Call for details.
Email Owner Email