ORIGINAL 1954 RAILROAD CABOOSE WITH HOT TUB!!

Cabin Connection

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Cabin Connection

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ORIGINAL 1954 RAILROAD CABOOSE WITH HOT TUB!!

DeSoto Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Relive the old railroad days in this original 1954 Rail Road caboose! Secluded on five acres, this caboose features a kitchen, bath, fireplace and a private deck with its very own hot tub in a gazebo! Sit in the cupola of the caboose and read a book or scope out the wildlife from the wrap-around view. Sleeping is on a log futon and bunks. Will sleep up to four people (two to three adults and a child). This perfect for a couple or small family with young children. Book now - dates are filling fast! Thanks!

Ask about our Guided Caving and/or Rock Climbing/Ice Climbing trips to add some Adventure to your get-a-way stay!

Visit our FaceBook page at: CabinConnectionWI

Amenities: Fireplace, air conditioning, TV, VCR, stereo, CD player, full kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, cooking utensils provided, linens provided, private hot tub, charcoal grill (BBQ), No smoking. Pets allowed.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Guestbook comments from the owner
HI Joel,



Thank you! The rest of the stay was just fine.



It's a very nice place to stay, especially as a base camp when day

paddling! We loved the bird activity.



Jim and Peggy
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 3

Cabin Connection

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2004
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 60 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
average rating of 4.55 based on 60 reviews
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Chicagoland
3

VERY UNIQUE...BUT DISAPPOINTED :(

  • 3 of 5
We're sad our review isn't higher because we REALLY wanted to enjoy this unique place, but our experience was just not as expected.

First, here's what we LOVED about it:
*The deck, gazebo & surrounding areas are beautiful - grounds are very well maintained
*It was too hot & rainy for the hot tub/firepit, but looks like it would be LOVELY for colder weather
*The caboose got plenty cool after a few hours of a/c (in contrast to other reviews) & shower water immediately warms
*We were still able to "cook out" inside on the stove-top grill

But from the day of our arrival, we had a series of unfortunate events that made us leave a day early. Just that morning we received an email about repairs/painting on the outside, so to "Please pardon our dust as we strive the improve the experience for our guests". We assumed to see a couple paint cans or drop cloths - instead, there were chunks of red paint chips everywhere from where they scraped the old paint off, over half the caboose was primer WHITE, & the side that was painted red was sloppy/splotchy. I realize we're probably the only ones who will have this experience because it will be ready for the next group, but we were FULL-paying guests at that moment. The management apologized when we emailed our disappointment, but were not offered a discount for the state of the rental.

When we used the code given to access the cabin key, the lockbox was broken & we could not retrieve it. It's a 20 minute drive to get cell reception, and after 15 minutes of calling/leaving messages, finally got a hold of someone who told me we were supposed to have received an email with new instructions, which we didn't. An hour after we arrived, we finally got in.

Once in, the caboose was a bit musty (the a/c helped), & we had to wipe down a couple dry-muddy surfaces. We didn't use much in the kitchen since there were quite a few mouse droppings, and when we informed the management, they said they're aware of & try to fix the problem, but that "It is the woods and not the Hilton"...

The final event was when we noticed our tire was flat, put on the spare in the pouring rain to make it into town to get cell reception & discovered the closest open tire repair was 2 hours away. We drove back to pack up the car & left to get a new tire & go home. When they pulled the RED nail from our tire, we could only laugh to keep from crying.

I don't know what the caboose had against us, but we hope you have a better time! :)
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize to you Lisa, It is apparent that a series of unfortunate events happened to everyone with this reservation--- including rainy weather, broken key boxes, and not having your cell number to get a hold of you, discovering rusted out portions of metal after the sandblasting that had to be fixed before painting could begin (Our caboose is a 60 year old piece of Railroad history that needed to be restored after 10 years since we placed it on site), thus preventing the renovation being completed when anticipated(which was supposed to be done before you arrived). The restoration is now complete!!

We apologize, Lisa, for the Critter activity which is an ongoing battle that we just can’t win (we've been at it for 10 years now), nobody wants to see critter droppings, though they can re-appear within an hour of it being cleaned and the arrival of the guests- we are way out in the “woods” and nature so it’s glorified camping at best. :)

To future guests reading this-- We do our best to clean and the caboose will be clean when you arrive though possibilities that Nature provides may be seen… Please consider that there may be critter activity(all utensils are in covered sealed dish trays to keep them clean), snakes, ants, raccoons getting garbage, rain, heat, cold, snow, wasps, trees that fall down..

ALTHOUGH…. If you want a unique, quiet, secluded, relaxing experience…then book with us! Please see our MANY, MANY great reviews and you will agree that this is the place for your stay! Thanks for your flexibility and understanding in advance….

PLEASE CONTACT US BY PHONE OR E-MAIL IF YOU WANT TO CLARIFY OR DISCUSS THESE ISSUES BEFORE YOU RESERVE YOUR DATES. We ask that you to feel good about staying with us.

Thank you so much! :)
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
1

COCKROACHES - BE WARNED!

  • 1 of 5
I just returned from renting the caboose a day earlier than expected, unfortunately. I rented the unit from 7/2 – 7/6 (I had to forfeit my 1st night due to my dog being ill, initially I was very disappointed, however, given my time at the cabin, that would have just been one more unpleasant night). When I arrived at the caboose I was shocked to see the utter mess of the bathroom floor – black stuff all over the place (which the owner has surmised was paint from power washing). My first morning in the caboose I encountered a cockroach in the kitchen while making breakfast, and then 2 more the next morning. When I brought this to the owner’s attention he told me “While roaches are disconcerting, they do not mean that a place is unsanitary (just like a fly does not mean so)” and “They are part of the "natural" environment that the caboose finds itself in.” I have to say that I lived in Florida for a short time and Minnesota for most of my life and I have NEVER seen a cockroach in MN and they are not a part of MN “natural” environment. And yes, cockroaches are unsanitary and it usually means an infestation. The owner agreed to refund my cleaning deposit – which should be a given since the bathroom was in the shape it was. But that was IT. I asked if he would consider refunding my last night and was shot down immediately. I advised that given the situation I felt compelled to share this information in my VRBO review and this was his reply “If writing a poor review makes you vindicated, then maybe your vindictive heart is not in a good place.” Seriously??? Now he is telling me I have a vindictive heart because I am asking for a ONE night refund from a 4 night stay because the place has cockroaches and I didn’t want to sleep with them for one more night? I would not recommend this place to anyone, mainly due to the lack of professionalism and customer attitude the owner did NOT provide. My 4th of July weekend that I had looked forward to was completely ruined…if I could give ZERO stars I would.
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
NE IL
4

AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT!

  • 4 of 5
It's very, very quiet out there and yet you're only a few minutes from a state highway.

We arrived on a humid, summery day to find the AC already running and the coach clean and neat. The directions were good except that a right turn off of WI 35 puts you on a north-south road rather than turning east. It all works fine and the gravel roads were in really good shape, a good thing as there are a lot of them in any direction. Restaurants and touristy stuff are plentiful in pretty much any direction

The experience was described in another review as luxury camping. That pretty well nails it. There is a well-equipped kitchen and bath plus video and music equipment for rainy days. Be aware that you may be sleeping on the futon. Those over six feet might find it a bit short, and, let's face it, a fold out bed like that isn't going to deliver Hilton comfort. Still, it worked fine and the quiet out there helped induce quality sleep.

In the mornings the fog off the Mississippi creeps up the coulees. The view from the high points then is worth the long drive all by itself.

We'd do this again, and probably will. It would be really fun in Winter, when the hot tub would be a real attraction. Try it, you'll like it!
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Steve!
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
5

GREAT SECLUDED GETAWAY!

  • 5 of 5
We were looking for a quick secluded getaway and we found it here! It's definitely off the beaten path. When can you say you've stayed in a train caboose?! Now, we can.

The caboose is fully stocked with everything you'd possibly need. The weather was frigid, but we kept warm with the cozy gas fireplace. We enjoyed the hot tub, made a fire, made some s'mores and then relaxed with a movie!

The surrounding towns have great pubs and food! We found a hiking trail, winery and even a casino. No need to leave the caboose, though. It has everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. We were able to relax before the craziness of the holidays. Thanks so much!
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much!
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Saint Paul, MN
2

UNIQUE AND DIRTY

  • 2 of 5
Cool location, the hot tub was great, but the inside of the caboose was dirty. Very dirty. We didn't find a clean dish, pot, or pan in the entire kitchen. The blankets were dirty with visible spots and copious amounts of pet hair.
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is very upsetting to us and we are not sure how this happened. We take pride in our caboose and are taking measures to make sure this never happens again. We have over 50 Great reviews and this problem you had is unacceptable. Please make sure and let us know where to send it and we will refund your cleaning fee. Thanks and please accept our sincere apology.....
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
5

WONDERFUL, UNIQUE, RELAXING WEEKEND IN THE WOODS

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful experience at the DeSoto caboose. The owner was responsive and nice to work with on any questions or concerns we had, and we really appreciated that. We found the description from this site very accurate, and we'd definitely recommend this place to a friend. A few words of advice to others reading this: I found myself thinking that I'd love to take my folks here because I think they’d adore it. They are in their 70s and are in blessedly good shape, but I’m a *little* worried they may have difficulty with the caboose steps because they are standard train steps, i.e. fairly steep. For us, though, this just added to the charm of staying in a real, authentic caboose! The hot tub was in really good shape, and we really enjoyed using it. The grill and campfire area were very nice touches, too. I would almost call this experience “luxurious camping”, for lack of a better way to put it. It was very hard to leave!
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

DeSoto Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$160
$750
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50 + Tax
Pet Fee $40
Tax Rate 5.0%
Notes $199/night, $850/week
$199/night (2 night minimum)
$850/week (Full week rentals only Mid June - August-----Partial weeks at owners discretion)

50% of rent due with reservation - balance due 10 days before arrival

No smoking allowed

A security deposit of half the rent amount is due with final payment

Pets are welcome (one per)

Pet fee:
$45/weekend
$50/week
No refunds of pet fees

Cleaning fee
Email Owner Email

Amenities

DeSoto Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Sofa Bed
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Grill
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Notes:
1 futon and 2 railroad bunks. Trout Stream, hiking, 200 acres of wooded land!!.
Email Owner Email