ORIGINAL 1954 RAILROAD CABOOSE WITH HOT TUB!!

From
$175
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Cabin Connection

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ORIGINAL 1954 RAILROAD CABOOSE WITH HOT TUB!!

DeSoto Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Relive the old railroad days in this original 1954 Rail Road caboose! Secluded on five acres, this caboose features a kitchen, bath, fireplace and a private deck with its very own hot tub in a gazebo! Sit in the cupola of the caboose and read a book or scope out the wildlife from the wrap-around view. Sleeping is on a log futon and bunks. Will sleep up to four people (two to three adults and a child). This perfect for a couple or small family with young children. Book now - dates are filling fast! Thanks!

Ask about our Guided Caving and/or Rock Climbing/Ice Climbing trips to add some Adventure to your get-a-way stay!

Visit our FaceBook page at: CabinConnectionWI

Amenities: Fireplace, air conditioning, TV, VCR, stereo, CD player, full kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, cooking utensils provided, linens provided, private hot tub, charcoal grill (BBQ), No smoking. Pets allowed.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only

Cabin Connection

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2004
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

59 Reviews Write a Review
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
average rating of 4.6491227 based on 59 reviews
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
5

Great secluded getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were looking for a quick secluded getaway and we found it here! It's definitely off the beaten path. When can you say you've stayed in a train caboose?! Now, we can.

The caboose is fully stocked with everything you'd possibly need. The weather was frigid, but we kept warm with the cozy gas fireplace. We enjoyed the hot tub, made a fire, made some s'mores and then relaxed with a movie!

The surrounding towns have great pubs and food! We found a hiking trail, winery and even a casino. No need to leave the caboose, though. It has everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. We were able to relax before the craziness of the holidays. Thanks so much!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Saint Paul, MN
2

Unique and Dirty

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Cool location, the hot tub was great, but the inside of the caboose was dirty. Very dirty. We didn't find a clean dish, pot, or pan in the entire kitchen. The blankets were dirty with visible spots and copious amounts of pet hair.
Owner's Response: This is very upsetting to us and we are not sure how this happened. We take pride in our caboose and are taking measures to make sure this never happens again. We have over 50 Great reviews and this problem you had is unacceptable. Please make sure and let us know where to send it and we will refund your cleaning fee. Thanks and please accept our sincere apology.....
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
5

Wonderful, unique, relaxing weekend in the woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a wonderful experience at the DeSoto caboose. The owner was responsive and nice to work with on any questions or concerns we had, and we really appreciated that. We found the description from this site very accurate, and we'd definitely recommend this place to a friend. A few words of advice to others reading this: I found myself thinking that I'd love to take my folks here because I think they’d adore it. They are in their 70s and are in blessedly good shape, but I’m a *little* worried they may have difficulty with the caboose steps because they are standard train steps, i.e. fairly steep. For us, though, this just added to the charm of staying in a real, authentic caboose! The hot tub was in really good shape, and we really enjoyed using it. The grill and campfire area were very nice touches, too. I would almost call this experience “luxurious camping”, for lack of a better way to put it. It was very hard to leave!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Northfield, MN
5

Weekend family getaway was wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The caboose is a charming place to stay. The location is secluded, so even though the caboose has a nice bathroom and kitchen amenities, the stay has a camping experience element (especially given the nice grassy area with fire pit). Of course, the hot tub adds a luxurious element to the experience. The caboose size and contents were great for two adults and one child - there are some fun little features that were exciting for our 8-yr-old (like the sitting area in the "top" of the caboose). Lansing, IA (across the river) is a cute place with various restaurants. We'd love to go back to the caboose in the Fall some time!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119732
+1 708 341-3255
DeSoto Southern Wisconsin
Portage, WI
4

Great Girls Getaway stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We all enjoyed the caboose, even with the terrential rain with washed out roads, mudslides, etc. It was VERY remote, no cell phone reception, no reception for portable weather alert system, sincerely a GET AWAY! I only have a few negative comments, which the circumstances are fairly understandable: grill was in rusty, rough shape, provided wood was too large to burn, and the caboose had ants when we arrived. We have one lady that doesn't get around the greatest due to a bad hip, so stairs were a bit tough, but we managed. We were very surprised we didn't encounter swarms of mosquitos considering heat and humidity. The roads washing out, we were concerned we would not find a way out, but we managed. Thank you for providing such a great place to vacation.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you much for your review- Just so everyone knows a NEW in ground park model type grill has been installed now! Sorry we could not get it in in time for you Dina. Also, firewood is not provided. That wood was from a tree that fell on the caboose last year. we always ask that you BRING your OWN wood or an axe.. :) Thanks again
Helpful votes: 1/1
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

DeSoto Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
My Standard Rate
$175
$750
$1,500
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $40.00
Cleaning $50.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%
Notes $199/night, $850/week
$199/night (2 night minimum)
$850/week (Full week rentals only Mid June - August-----Partial weeks at owners discretion)

50% of rent due with reservation - balance due 10 days before arrival

No smoking allowed

A security deposit of half the rent amount is due with final payment

Pets are welcome (one per)

Pet fee:
$45/weekend
$50/week
No refunds of pet fees

Cleaning fee
Email Owner Email

Amenities

DeSoto Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Sofa Bed
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Grill
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Notes:
1 futon and 2 railroad bunks. Trout Stream, hiking, 200 acres of wooded land!!.
Email Owner Email