Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!

Cabin Connection

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Cabin Connection

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

DeSoto Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Relive the old railroad days in this original 1954 Rail Road caboose! Secluded on five acres, this caboose features a kitchen, bath, fireplace and a private deck with its very own hot tub in a gazebo! Sit in the cupola of the caboose and read a book or scope out the wildlife from the wrap-around view. Sleeping is on a log futon and bunks. Will sleep up to four people (two to three adults and a child). This perfect for a couple or small family with young children. Book now - dates are filling fast! Thanks!

Ask about our Guided Caving and/or Rock Climbing/Ice Climbing trips to add some Adventure to your get-a-way stay!

Visit our FaceBook page at: CabinConnectionWI

Note: The caboose is now a SELF cleaning cabin with NO cleaning fee. You will need to clean it up at the end of your stay and provide your own linens(full size or twin), towels. This will save you.

Amenities: Fireplace, air conditioning, TV, VCR, stereo, CD player, full kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, cooking utensils provided, linens provided, private hot tub, charcoal grill (BBQ), No smoking. Pets allowed.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Cabin Connection (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

HI Joel,



Thank you! The rest of the stay was just fine.



It's a very nice place to stay, especially as a base camp when day

paddling! We loved the bird activity.



Jim and Peggy
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 70 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Original 1954 Railroad Caboose with Hot Tub!!
average rating of 4.5142856 based on 73 reviews
5

Great secluded getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a quick secluded getaway and we found it here! It's definitely off the beaten path. When can you say you've stayed in a train caboose?! Now, we can.

The caboose is fully stocked with everything you'd possibly need. The weather was frigid, but we kept warm with the cozy gas fireplace. We enjoyed the hot tub, made a fire, made some s'mores and then relaxed with a movie!

The surrounding towns have great pubs and food! We found a hiking trail, winery and even a casino. No need to leave the caboose, though. It has everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. We were able to relax before the craziness of the holidays. Thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much!
4

Peaceful, secluded, fun warning, steps are steep for larger dogs

  • 4 of 5

We stayed last weekend and it was awesome!!!! So peaceful, secluded, away from everything!! Who can say they stayed in a caboose, we can!!!

It's is in the middle of no where, yes there are mice, you are in nature! We just made sure to put stuff away so they wouldn't be attracted to the counters no such.

We were allowed to bring our dogs, but we did not even think about them getting in, the stairs are real train stairs, hard on a pooches feet and steep, we have 3 very large dogs and they wouldn't even try the stairs, so be aware of that with dogs. We were lucky they could sleep in our van with their beds.

There are wineries and great eating places, have to drive a bit, but such beautiful country, it's a pretty drive!!

We will be back with our 2 grandchildren hopefully in the fall, loved it!!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Racine
1

Poor Communication

  • 1 of 5

What would have been a nice stay was ruined by the lack of communication from our contact for this rental.

We were supposed to receive the code for the keylock a week in advance. With only a couple days before the trip, I had to email our contact to get the code from him. It wasn't a big deal, but then more things kept coming up.

When we arrived, I couldn't get the gas fireplace to turn on, so I emailed the contact to figure out how it works. He replied quickly, but he told us that the gas fireplace was not working and a guy would hopefully come out to fix it in the next few days. The baseboard heaters were only able to keep the cabin at the mid to upper 50s.

That night we heard lots of scurrying and I woke up to find a couple mice in the kitchen area. I also found unbaited mice traps and a dead mouse under the sink. There was also a lot of mice droppings all over the cabin - in the sinks, on the towels, all over the floor. Supposedly this place was cleaned before we arrived. When I asked our contact about the mice, he said it has been a problem for ten years, isn't going away and was implying that we should have expected mice.

The next morning we woke up just in time to find that that the furnace repairman had arrived, which we were not given advance notice of. We also found that the shower pipes had frozen. I spoke to the contact indicating that I wanted out, but I agreed to stay one more night.

The second morning we woke up to find that all the pipes in the cabin are frozen. I left a message with our contact to let him know that we are checking out since the cabin is no longer fit for use.

TL;DR - Contact provided poor communication, cabin is not properly winterized, but hot tub was neat.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tom, thanks for your review. If you re-read my e-mails you will see that the code is to be sent to you the week OF your stay, not a week before. Sadly we had the gas fireplace fail just before you got there BUT we did get it fixed right away(though letting you know was not possible since you did not have cell signal due to not having Verizon phones). As for the pipes, the caboose is a big metal box and though we have done excessive pipe winterization, we have just begun to discover that a big metal box conducts cold way more than we thought it would and that it is very hard to heat. We are sorry about the cold Mother Nature brought while you were there. Plus, the fact that the heater was not heating for a day or so(we have other electric baseboard heaters)must have taken it's toll on the water pipes. We also gave you a free nights stay for the problems. Thanks again
4

Authentic and Quiet

  • 4 of 5

Location, location, location! Looking for a place to come home to in the evening and relax and enjoy a glass of wine? This is your place. Loved staying here! Such a beautiful unique piece of heaven. If you want privacy, you will get privacy when you stay here. And if you want darkness, you'll get it (it's so beautiful to look up at the stars on a clear night).

The only thing I would change would be the time of year I will go on my next trip. We like to fish and this would have been an ideal fishing spot.

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Chicago, IL, USA
5

Right on track!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at the caboose property to get a way from it all after some rock climbing adventures! A bit of a drive from the climbing site but that was the point, to get away! Set back in a place that's next to nowhere it was great to relax the muscles in the hot tub without anyone else around!

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Fun place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

It was a peaceful setting and very cozy. We enjoyed the campfire and hot tube. Fun place to stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

DeSoto Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$750
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $40
Tax Rate 5.0%
Notes $199/night, $850/week
$199/night (2 night minimum)
$850/week (Full week rentals only Mid June - August-----Partial weeks at owners discretion)

50% of rent due with reservation - balance due 10 days before arrival

No smoking allowed

A security deposit of half the rent amount is due with final payment

Pets are welcome (one per)

Pet fee:
$45/weekend
$50/week
No refunds of pet fees

Cleaning fee
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

DeSoto Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Notes:
1 futon and 2 railroad bunks. Trout Stream, hiking, 200 acres of wooded land!!.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote