|Minimum Stay||3 - 4 nights|
We call our place the 'Sunset House' because the sunsets from the master bedroom balcony are spectacular and you will want to reserve a time every evening to bask in the orange glow. PLEASE READ OUR REVIEWS. For the money, you won't find a better place!
For more pictures please send an email and we will supply a link for you. Please click on the calendar button to the right to check availability. One note, the new pricing mechanism by VRBO skews prices for longer stays. We discount so please email for pricing.
We are certain you won't find a better value anywhere. We have lowered some prices by up to 50% from four years ago. We have a first class 2300 sq ft house with prices better than local quality hotels. Our discounts for stays longer than a week are below. Please do not ask for further discounts. Depending on the season, we may discount 10% for stays longer than 15 days, 15% for stays longer than 30 days.
Dec $1250 week
Christmas/New Year's - $2100/week
Jan - $1250 week
Feb - April: $1200/week
4th of July Week: $1050
Why should you stay with us?
1A) Our prices are the best of any place for what we have to offer. Our beautiful 3bdrm spacious home will satisfy the most discerning traveler. WE WANT TO RENT!!!
1) Clear, magnificent, close unobstructed view of the mountains and ocean from a spacious patio, the pool, the master bedroom balcony/bed, one of the downstairs bedrooms, and a peek from the living area. You aren't looking across housetops or treetops.
2) Short ride by car to 3 beautiful beaches
3) Large spacious home (2300sf) with a beautiful infinity pool. All granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, and beautiful showers.
4) Top quality management who are from the USA and have lived there for years and speak the language fluently. They can assist you in whatever you wish to do
5) Water. We have a tank so you don't have to worry about whether the locals are going to turn off the water at the wrong time (believe me, it happens)
6) Our secure location in Los Altos de Cacique is excellent. Monkeys often come through. Every home is custom. Our neighbors are wonderful (they own one of the best restaurants in the area) and quite sociable if you wish.
7) 40 Minutes from excellent surfing in Tamarindo. A zipline is only 25 minutes from the house. A beautiful waterfall/swimming area is about 35 minutes.
8) We are 5 minutes between nightlife, good shopping, and good restaurants in Playa del Coco and a beautiful bluestar beach and elegant restaurants in Playa Hermosa.
9) A great blend of 1st and 3rd world cultures
We look forward to having you as our guest.
Tom & Helen
My daughter took this photo of me surfing for the first time in Tamarindo. The greatest thing about visiting my place in Costa Rica is the feeling of serenity. Of course there's much to do. At the same time, after a short period, one feels the tranquility of the country. I promise, it's hard to leave after just a week or so.
PS - when looking at the map, we are located on HWY 159 past the right angle turn on the first road to the left.
Bernie purchased this house in 2006
It was a bit of good fortune. A friend recommended the area and when visiting we were directed to the 'private' beaches that are part of Los Altos de Cacique. The water was so clear and warm with abundant fish that we decided, on the spot, to buy a house we had found in the development that was 60% completed. It took a bit of doing but we are extremely happy with how things turned out.
Thank you to the owner for sharing your home with us. And thank you to Bernie for making sure we were comfortable. The Sunset House is in a perfect location to explore beaches and the surrounding towns. The pool is wonderful and has a spectacular view of the ocean. The location is quiet, private and felt very safe. Everything you need is available at the home. We shopped at local grocery store, cooked at the home, ate a few restaurants, went to several beaches, did a half day catamaran cruise, snorkeled and relaxed. Excellent time. The only issue was ants, which was not unexpected and with Bernie's help were not a problem Bernie was always available by phone, and he checked back in with us by e-mail and in person. Again, this home is in a great location and as a spectacular view. Our adult granddaughter was with us. The pool was icing on the cake for her. It was an unforgettable trip.
This property is definitely not "High Quality" at the moment. The location, swimming pool and bones of the house are wonderful but all the furnishings, soft and hard are very tired and need replacing. The outdoor furniture was torn, stained and mostly unuseable. The linens were of very poor quality, no mattress covers on the beds, blinds not functional upstairs, master closet upstairs was full of stuff belonging to ?. Soiled bath mats and the house was generally not clean. The master shower was missing a handle so we had to use a pipe wrench to find the hot water setting. Such a shame as the property has such potential. Very disappointing response from the Owner who has been aware of some of these problems for quite a long time.
The Sunset House has a spectacular view, great proximity to conveniences in Playas del Coco (i.e. the nice supermarket and veggie/fruit market), and is in a very quiet private and secure residential neighborhood. We really enjoyed the pool from sunrise to sunsets (and what a sunset it is!).
The kitchen is well equipped. We had some minor problems with the dish washer leaking and the Manager had that fixed. We grilled out a lot, and if you plan to as well be sure to check to see if you have a full gas tank for the grill. Ours ran out and it was a Sunday so we had to wait for a refill. The neighbor was away and their dog was left out and yelped incessantly one night through. Hopefully you won't have to suffer through that.
We hope to visit the Sunset House again soon. Our three-year old refers to it as "our new house"... what more is there to say than that!
This is a really great house at a good price. When we got there we were immediately in love with the pool and 2 bedrooms. The 3rd bunk room is ok. The house is big and airy. The pool area is also great but needs chairs that are not broken. I really hate writing about the broken chairs but it was a bummer not to have a chaise to lay down on, next to that delicious pool. There are a few really close beaches that we drove to that I will remember forever. La plenca has beautiful sand, blue water and monkeys in the trees. Very private. Ocotal was my favorite. The sand was black on the beach and white in the water. The tidal pools kept the "kids" (12 and 20) busy for hours. Restaurant/bar right there! Ate at Ginger twice and thought I died and went the heaven. Oh, almost forgot....sailing with sunbird (I think that was the name of the company) was perfect. We snorked and swam and checked out some cool caves. Didn't find the town of Coco to be as charming as other travelers but... To each his own!!! Great house, though. You will love it. 4.5 stars!
Excellent value for the money. The house was beautiful, location perfect, sunsets lovely. My family and I stayed for 1 week at Sunset house. It was a perfect spot to have as base camp for day trips (sailing on the Sea Bird from Playa Coco, surfing at Playa Grande and snokling from Playa Penca). My two teens enjoyed the private bedrooms and internet while recovering from daylong activities. Close to both Playa Hermosa and Playa Coco, within driving distance of many other activities. There were a few problems with the pool and the internet that got resolved. Exterior furniture, deck chairs, hammock are a bit tired looking, but this did not hinder our enjoyment of the house, I would reccomend it.
Sunset house is amazing, it is the best place we have ever stayed while on vacation. It is a wonderful respite amid all the hustle and bustle of sightseeing. It is so nice to come home and sit in the pool after a long day...and the view is amazing. I don't know the owner managed to get this lot with this house, but wow, the view, the neighbors, everything is great.
Coco Beach and Tamarindo are cool too, although we did get suckered into sitting through a time share presentation before we knew what was happening at one point (haha). We were too polite just to walk out but did say no...but Sunset house is nicer (and cheaper) than anything that they could compare it too.
We only ate in one restaurant that wasn't very good, but we were hungry driving back from Palo Verde and just stopped somewhere on the side of the road. Ginger's was great though, good food, excellent wait staff.
The weather has even been great, mostly rains in the afternoons. It has been so nice that we leave the air conditioner off a lot of the time. A couple of nights we opened the large patio doors and let the air in (though the screens stay shut because of the bugs - haha). We got a 4X4 but haven't had to use the 4 wheel drive yet. One local person told us the paces we should go and driving has saved us over 50% on the tourist packages.
We wanted to thank the owner of Sunset House for his kindness in renting out this great home. We are leaving some paper towels, hand soap, and various kitchen things that we picked up while here. We hope the next people use them :-) It has been a great experience.
The location shown on the map is incorrect. We are not in the town of Coco. Rather we overlook the town of Coco by about 1/2 mile NE as the crow flies. We are off of Hwy 159 about halfway between Hwy 151 going to Coco and Playa Hermosa. You can get to Coco via a road that goes down the cliff or going back to the hwy.
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Spring to Summer
May 1 2015 - Jul 31 2015
4 night minimum stay
Summer to Fall
Aug 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2015 - Nov 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
|Notes||Half due 60 days in advance if possible. Balance due 30 days before rental if possible. We prefer either a regular or cashiers check. Paypal accepted w/ a 3% fee added (they charge us this when it is used).|
* Approximate monthly rate. Actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay.
Payment is usually accepted in the quoted currency (USD) unless the currency and the amount is specifically agreed in advance with the owner / advertiser.